Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Germaine Mayer Blake papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1997
Creator: Blake, Germaine Mayer
Extent: 1.70 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0271
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Elementary school teacher who taught for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation High School in Stacyville, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette [AC531]
1 record album [RA1]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 375) were donated by Germaine Mayer Blake in 1996 and 1997.

Preferred Citation: Germaine Mayer Blake papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Germaine Mayer Blake was an elementary school teacher for over forty years. She worked for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation School in Stacyville, Iowa.

The Germaine Mayer Blake papers date from 19481948 to 1997 and measure 1.7 linear feet. The papers are arranged in two series: Teaching materials and professional materials.

The Teaching materials series (1948-1997 and undated) contains lesson plans, learning activities, and educational materials for elementary school students. Also contained in this series is a collection of papers Blake wrote for children's education courses she took at the University of Northern Iowa during the late 1960s and early 1970s. These papers include the following: "Learning Styles of Children," "Problems of Reading 'Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development,''' "Providing for the Gifted Child," "The Art of Teaching," "Behavior Modification, Pavlovian Theory, Skinnerian Theory, Gestalt Theory," "Systematic Instruction of Learner Centered Programmed Paradigm," "Teaching Bright and Gifted Children," and "Life in the Netherlands: Education of the Slow Learner."

The Professional materials series (1953-1997, and undated) contains teaching contracts, classroom journals, teaching evaluations, faculty meeting notes, and materials from a variety of educational organizations, such as the Literary Leaders Reading Council.
Debra Blake papers, Iowa Women's Archives

Debra Blake is the daughter of Germaine Blake.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: TEACHING MATERIALS
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS

  • Series 1: TEACHING MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Learning center materials, undated
  • Reading activities, undated
  • Reading activities, undated
  • Profile charts - 1966
  • Vowel 'I' material - 1975
  • Vowel 'l' learning center - 1975
    See also, "Sounds of 'l'" AC531
  • Math materials, undated
  • Math materials, undated
  • Math materials, undated
  • Math materials, undated
  • Language arts, undated
  • Box 2:
  • Parents' night presentations, undated
  • First grade orientation - 1983
  • Daily plans grades 2-3 - 1987-1988
  • Substitute teachers folder - 1987-1988
  • Enrichment reading - 1989-1990
  • Map skills, undated
  • Grandparents day - 1989, 1995
  • Student portfolio materials - 1994-1996
  • Community of faith themes - 1994-1997
  • Grade 3 language - 1995
  • Grade 1 religion - 1995, 1997
  • "Happy Birthday, Dear Author" - 1996-1997
  • Reader of the week - 1997
  • Grade 2 poetry, undated
  • Grade 2, spelling, undated
  • Class marks, undated
  • Iowa R.O.O.T.S. [Read and Observe Our Terrific State] - 1996
  • Iowa elementary teachers handbook Elementary Literature - 1948
  • Folk tales collection, undated
  • The Instructor, calendar - 1964-1965
  • Children's books author file - 1995
  • Education papers - 1968-1978
  • Box 3:
  • Poetry index cards - 1951
  • Science activities index cards, undated
  • Physical Fitness for Primary Children record album, undated
    shelved separately RA1
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS
  • Box 4:
  • Teaching contracts - 1953, 1991-1992
  • Teaching certificate renewal - 1959
  • Job analysis - 1967-1968
  • "Life in the Netherlands" - 1968
  • Philosophy and goals of Visitation School - 1976-1996
  • "My Teaching Philosophy" - 1977-1978
  • Professional Refinements In Developing Effectiveness (PRIDE) - 1981
  • First grade journal - 1982
  • "World, Take my son by the hand" - 1982
  • Distinguished teaching award nomination - 1983
  • Communications to parents - 1983-1995
  • Personal goals - 1986-1997
  • Literary Leaders Reading Council - 1988-1997
  • Program Review and Evaluation Process (PREP) - 1990-1994
  • T.A.L. [Teacher as Leader] leadership program - 1991
  • Learning outcomes - 1991
  • Children's literature update - 1992
  • Faculty meeting notes - 1993-1997
  • Visitation School endowment committee - 1997
  • "A Day in Room 105," undated
  • Lessinger, Leon M., "A Job Description for the School Teacher," undated
  • Elementary guidance program, undated
  • Elementary guidance program, undated
  • Elementary guidance program, undated
  • V.I.P. card, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Blake, Germaine Mayer

Corporate Names:
Catholic Visitation School

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women in education

Occupations:
Elementary school teachers
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Staceyville

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal papers
Archives

Browse:
Teachers and Teaching