Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-2014
Creator: Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre Of The Hemispheres (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0265
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Cedar Rapids dance studio founded in 1951 by Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett.

Alternate Extent Statement: 21 videocassettes [V97-99, V143-161]
Photographs in boxes 9-15

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 369) were donated by the Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres in 1996 and 1997.

Preferred Citation: Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The internationally renowned Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres began in 1951 when Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett rented a room in the Cedar Rapids YWCA to give dance lessons.

Edna Dieman, a native Iowan, received a B.A. in music from Coe College, Iowa, and continued the study of dance at institutions around the world. She studied classical ballet, Spanish dance, and Indian dance among many other styles and became a member of the Ethnologic Ballet Company, dancing in New York City under the direction of La Meri.

Julia Bennett, born in Chittagong, India to English parents, is an alumnus of Lowther College, North Wales, and studied voice and classical ballet in London, England. She was auditioned by Sir Henry Wood and accepted at the Royal College of Music, London. Later she studied voice with Julian Kimball and ballet with Madame Legat and Preobrazhenskaya in Paris. During her early career, Bennett made many singing appearances in India with Julia Wortman, including performances with the Bombay Symphony Orchestra.

Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett met in New York. Initially the two women returned to Cedar Rapids from New York each summer to teach dance. Dieman and Bennett pointed to their encounter with a twelve-year-old student, who sadly told them at the end of the session, "It's all right for you to come and give us a month, but we have to stay here without anything," as planting the seed for them to form a studio in Iowa. In 1950 they moved permanently to Cedar Rapids and began teaching dance year round.

The credo of Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres was "Diversity in Dance," a philosophy reflected in the many cultural influences from which their instruction was drawn. Their repertoire included classical Indian and Spanish dance, contemporary tap and jazz, court dances from the 11th through the 18th century, and classical ballet. The company offered concerts for children and adults, lecture-demonstrations, dance history, teaching seminars, and master classes with visiting dancers. Among these visitors was Dieman's mentor La Meri, who gave to Edna Dieman her choreography of Swan Lake, "translated into the dance-idiom of India," which became a feature of many of the Dance Theatre's performances.

The Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres closed its doors permanently in 1997. Edna Dieman died in 1999 at the age of ninety-five. Julia Bennett died in 2014 at the age of ninety-seven.

The Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres records are arranged in twelve series: Biographical Information, Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres, Festivals, Productions, Programs and recitals, Workshops and classes, Miscellaneous, Photographs, Scrapbooks, "Chest of Jewels" Manuscript Audiovisual, and Artifacts and Books.

The Biographical Information series is primarily concerned with the education and early careers of Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett. Included are programs and promotional materials for Dieman's work with Ethnographic Ballet and La Meri, newsclippings about Bennett's vocal performances in India and the United States, awards and honorary degrees presented to both women, and materials from their joint song and dance performances. Also included is a videocassette of a 1995 interview with the two concerning Carl Van Vechten's dancers.

The Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres series documents the formation and development of Dieman and Bennett's dance school in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Included are written histories of Dance Theatre's founding, fundraising and administrative materials (including the establishing of a scholarship in connection with the school), newspaper clippings and magazine articles reviewing Dance Theatre performances, calendars of concerts and workshops for students to attend, letters inviting the Dance Theatre to perform at area events, and promotional materials advertising the company.

The Festivals series documents the Dance Theatre's participation in dance festivals at home and abroad. This series primarily concerns the company's work as part of the Scottish-American Ballet performance at the Edinburgh festival in 1988, and contains funding correspondence, newspaper clippings of performance reviews, and workshop and performance programs. Also reflected in this series is the Dance Theatre of the Hemisphere's choice to celebrate their twentieth anniversary by hosting the Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival in 1982, as shown in letters of congratulations and thanks, financial records of the festival, and promotional material.


The Productions series contains materials related to the full-scale performances put on by the Dance Theatre, including cast lists and rehearsal schedules, handwritten and typed choreography and production notes, scripts and scores, lighting and music cue sheets, costume sketches and fabric samples, programs, and correspondence. The productions in this series reflect the Dance Theatre's investment in cultural diversity, including A Digit of the Moon and Swan Lake, both performed in the "dance idiom of India." This diversity is reflected in their range of Western influences as well, as shown through the company's multiple Elizabethan-themed productions, as well as individual years in which their recurring Nutcracker was performed in the style of Commedia dell'Arte. A more traditional Nutcracker, performed in 1976, was filmed for television broadcast, and the records include the script for this production.


The Programs and Recitals series documents smaller-scale performances and guest appearances by the Dance Theatre. This series includes programs and promotional materials, correspondence with organizations and venues hosting performances, rehearsal schedules, handwritten and typed choreography and production notes, performance scripts, and musical scores. The performances in which the company participated range from larger events like "Carl Van Vechten: Contributions of a Century" to smaller events, including services, ordinations, and dedications at area churches.


The Workshops and Classes series documents the Dance Theatre's ongoing classes in Ballet, Contemporary Dance (including Jazz), and Ethnic Dance (featuring Indian Dance), as well as workshops hosted by the Dance Theatre. The series includes course listings, typed histories of dance and music for course instruction, and schedules for individual workshops and performances. Also documented in this series is "Big 'D' for Dance," a program in the early and mid-1980s that bussed nearly 1,000 sixth grade students from area schools to the Paramount Theatre in Cedar Rapids, where Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre demonstrated the warm-up and training process that dancers undertake, culminating in a live performance for the students by the company. Material from this event includes organizational and funding correspondence, performance schedules and notes, and letters to the company and teachers from the sixth graders themselves.


The Miscellaneous Materials about Dance series contains book lists, magazine advertising correspondence, and application correspondence for the National Endowment for the Arts. Also included are project descriptions, budgets, and correspondence regarding a proposed trip to India during the 1970s.


The Photographs series includes photographs of productions, festivals, classes, and students of the Dance Theatre, as well as photographs of founders Dieman and Bennett.


The Scrapbooks series is primarily concerned with the history of Dieman-Bennett Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres, recorded in fourteen scrapbooks dating from 1941-1990. Also included are early scrapbooks documenting Julia Bennett's performance career in India, Edna Dieman's work with La Meri and Ethnographic Ballet, and the score, script, and production notes for the Dance Theatre's 1980 production of Stravinsky's The Soldier's Tale.


The "Chest of Jewels" Manuscript series contains a multivolume biographical manuscript by Julia Bennett and Edna Dieman. Interspersed frequently with photographs, memorabilia, and short essays on historical and cultural topics, these volumes begin with Edna Dieman's childhood in Iowa and her early career with La Meri, as well as Bennett's youth in India, her education in England and early performance career in the East and West. The volumes continue through Dieman and Bennett's meeting, collaborations, and the evolution of Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres. There is some chronological overlap among the early volumes (World War I, for example, is discussed in two separate volumes), and the later volumes include less manuscript material, functioning more as scrapbooks. Although some volumes and individual sections are attributed to Dieman, the majority appear to have been written and assembled by Bennett.


The Audiovisual series contains materials in audiocassette, videocassette, and film formats, including recordings of music used in dance productions.


The Artifacts and Books series contains books on subjects relating to dance, including reference texts, histories, teaching materials, and biographies of famous dancers. Also included are small costume accessories from dance performances, handheld and miniature instruments, and a set of eleven plaster figurines from India.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: DANCE THEATRE OF THE HEMISPHERES
Series 3: FESTIVALS
Series 4: PRODUCTIONS
Series 5: PROGRAMS AND RECITALS
Series 6: WORKSHOPS AND CLASSES
Series 7: MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS ABOUT DANCE
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 10: "CHEST OF JEWELS" MANUSCRIPT
Series 11: AUDIOVISUAL
Series 12: ARTIFACTS AND BOOKS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Sub-Series: Bennett, Julia
  • Box 1:
  • Contracts - 1940-1942
  • "A Dancer's Journey to India: Pilgrimage of the Heart and Spirit" - 2000
  • Newspaper clippings - 1936-1947
  • Programs - 1942-1947, 1973-1974
  • Resume, undated
  • Reviews - 1947, 1956
  • Items removed from scrapbook - 1940-1947
  • Box 40:
  • Written by Margaret Browning Huey, undated
  • Father, mother, brother of Julia Bennett - 1950-1962
  • Box 48:
  • Art work by Julia Bennett
  • Sub-Series: Dieman, Edna
  • Box 1:
  • Charcoal drawing of Dieman teaching - 1949-1950
  • Coe College Alumni Award - 1975
  • Edna Katherine Diemen Studio of Dance scrapbook - 1929-1939
    [disbounded]
  • Mu Phi Epsilon Sorority - 1926
  • Newspaper clippings - 1945-1947, 1981
  • Obituaries - 1999
  • Programs - 1943-1947
  • Scrapbook (with LaMeri in New York) - 1946-1949
    [disbounded]
  • Miscellaneous - 1943, 1956, 1986
  • Box 49:
  • Edna Dieman diaries, journals - 1956-1996
  • Box 50:
  • Edna Dieman diaries, journals - 1938-1996
  • Sub-Series: Dieman and Bennett
  • Box 1:
  • Advanced studies: Bath Summer School of Baroque Music, undated
  • Advanced studies: Institute of Court Dances - 1971
  • Receipts - 1970-1982
  • Summer schools - 1963-1969, 1980
  • Biographical backgrounds, undated
  • "Dance", undated
  • Edna Dieman and Julia Bennett Day - 1990
    [shelved in map case]
  • Hancher Guild Cookbook - 1982
  • Honorary degrees: Cornell College: Correspondence - 1979
  • Honorary degrees: Cornell College: Diplomas
  • Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing - 1971-1974, 1988
  • V97: Interview with Dieman and Bennett about Carl Van Vechten's dancers - 1995
  • Programs - 1951, 1954
  • Newspaper clippings - 1951, 1956
  • Ted Shawn and Ruth S. Denis - 1964
  • Series 2: DANCE THEATRE OF THE HEMISPHERES
  • Box 1:
  • History, undated
  • Administrative: Articles of Incorporation - 1970
  • Administrative: By-laws, undated
  • Box 2:
  • Administrative: Calendars - 1959-1991
  • Administrative: Capezio Foundation - 1977-1996
  • Administrative: Contributions - 1988-1990
  • Administrative: Correspondence - 1986-1996
  • Administrative: Dance Theatre Guild - 1996
  • Administrative: Financial - 1982-1988
  • Administrative: Grant Proposal, undated
  • Administrative: Legal - 1983-1987
  • Administrative: Minutes - 1977, 1983, 1984, 1988
  • Administrative: Policy, undated
  • Ad ministrative:Reports - 1982
  • Administrative: Scholarship Fund [Penny Tanase] - 1981-1983
  • Administrative: Stationery, undated
  • Promotional: Advertising: Information - 1983-1985
  • Promotional: Advertising: Newspaper - 1972-1995
  • Promotional: Advertising: Other media - 1956-1992
  • Promotional: Advertising: Posters - 1977-1995
    [shelved in map case]
  • Promotional: “Iowa Arts Community,” radio commentary, WSUI - 1979
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 1) - 1956, 1964, 1965
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 2) - 1970-1979
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 3) - 1980-1989
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 4) - 1990-1999
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 5), undated
  • Magazine articles: Feature stories - 1964-1982
  • Magazine articles: Brief stories - 1972-1995
  • Reviews, undated
  • Students: Broderick, Maureen - 1975
  • Series 3: FESTIVALS
  • Box 2:
  • Dance Festival - 1979
  • V143: Dance Gala - 1993
  • Box 3:
  • Edinburgh Festival: Correspondence - 1984-1989
  • Edinburgh Festival: Information and schedule, undated
  • Edinburgh Festival: Newspaper clippings - 1988
  • Edinburgh Festival: Poster - 1988
    [shelved in map case]
  • Edinburgh Festival: Programs - 1988
  • Edinburgh Festival: Proposal, undated
  • Edinburgh Festival: Receipts - 1988
  • Edinburgh Festival: Reviews, undated
  • Fort Dodge Area Fine Arts Festival - 1972
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Article for Dance
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: News - 1982
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Correspondence - 1982
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Financial records and participants - 1982
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: General (folder 1) - 1982
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: General (folder 2) - 1983
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Overview - 1982
  • Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Review, "Dance News"
  • Summer Festival at Brucemore - 1982
  • Box 40:
  • Pickett’s Pageant, early music - 1989
  • Series 4: PRODUCTIONS
  • Box 3:
  • "Ash Wednesday": Production notes, undated
  • "Ash Wednesday": Programs - 1971
  • "Ash Wednesday": Story, undated
  • "Ballet Fantasy": Score by Louise Crawford
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Ballet Suite" - 1961
  • "Beauty and the Beast": Production notes, undated
  • " Beauty and the Beast" : Story and program - 1953
  • "Bye Bye Birdie", undated
  • "Cantata Pastorale", undated
  • "Carmen", undated
  • "Christmas Fantasy" - 1987-1988
  • "The Christmas Story in Dance": Correspondence - 1961
  • "The Christmas Story in Dance": Production notes, undated
  • "The Christmas Story in Dance": Programs - 1972
  • "The Christmas Story in Dance": Story, undated
  • "Crisis at Quiet Springs", undated
  • "Dance of the Furies", undated
  • Box 4:
  • "D.B. #4", undated
  • "A Digit of the Moon": Cast and schedules - 1954
  • "A Digit of the Moon": Costumes, designed and drawn by J. Bennett, undated
  • "A Digit of the Moon": Cues - 1954
  • "A Digit of the Moon": Miss Dieman's copy - 1961
  • "A Digit of the Moon": Scripts and programs - 1954
  • "Disclosure of the Secrets": Production notes, undated
  • "Disclosure of the Secrets": Production notes, undated
  • "Disclosure of the Secrets": Score, undated
  • "Disclosure of the Secrets": Story, undated
  • "Divertimento", undated
  • "Elizabethan Masque" - 1973
  • "Elizabethan Twelfth Night" - 1973
  • "Entertainment for Elizabeth": Production notes, undated
  • "Entertainment for Elizabeth": Programs - 1975, 1983
  • V144: "The Fairy Queen": Excerpts - 1988
  • V145: "The Fairy Queen" - 1993
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Band notes - 1965
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Production notes - 1989
  • Box 5:
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Props - 1989
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Schedules and programs - 1989-1996
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Scripts: Cameo script, undated
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Scripts: J. Bennett’s copy - 1989
  • "Hansel and Gretel": Scripts: E. Dieman’s copy, - 1989
  • V146: "Hansel and Gretel" - 1989
  • V147: "Hansel and Gretel" - 1990
  • "Iphigenia in Tauris" - 1966
  • "Nativite:  Nine Meditations for Organ": Production notes, undated
  • "Nativite:  Nine Meditations for Organ": Scores, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Les Indes Galantes": drawing - 1982
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Les Sylphides": Choreography, undated
  • "Les Sylphides": Production notes, undated
  • V148: "Les Sylphides": Promotional video, undated
  • "Les Sylphides": Score, undated
  • V98: "Les Sylphides" - 1986
  • "Miracles of Faith": Score, undated
  • "Motet Persichette Percussion": Production notes - 1963
  • "Motet Persichette Percussion": Scores, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Motet Persichette Percussion": Story, undated
  • "Nutcracker": Budget - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": Financial reports - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": Mini-grant proposal - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": Publicity - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": Timeline - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": Miscellaneous - 1995
  • "Nutcracker": KCRG-TV - 1976
  • "Nutcracker": Programs - 1973-1992
  • V99: "Nutcracker": Videocassette - 1986
  • V149: "Nutcracker": Videocassette - 1991
  • V150: "Nutcracker": Videocassette - 1992
  • V151:"Nutcracker": Cameo videocassette - 1992
  • Box 6:
  • "One Hundred Ways", undated
  • "Orpheus and Euridice": Production information - 1990
  • V152: "Orpheus and Euridice" - 1990
  • "Pal Joey" - 1961
  • "Puppet Show", undated
  • "The Star in the West": Children's Symphony Project with the Cornell College Choir: Promotional materials - 1954-1955
  • "The Star in the West": Score, undated
  • "The Seasons" - 1967
  • "Show Boat" - 1956
  • "Sieta Canciones Populares Espanolas", undated
  • "Sinfonia Menuda", undated
  • "Sleeping Beauty Fantasy": Production notes, undated
  • "Sleeping Beauty Fantasy": Story - 1962
  • "The Soldier's Tale": Costumes - 1979
  • "The Soldier's Tale": Production notes - 1978-1979
  • "The Soldier's Tale": Tour information (with the Coe College Orchestra) - 1979
  • "The Soldier's Tale": Score, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Solomon Oratorio" - 1963
  • "South Pacific" - 1965
  • "Stations of the Cross": Correspondence - 1971-1981
  • Box 7:
  • Choreography - 1981
  • Poem, undated
  • Production notes, undated
  • Programs - 1972-1981
  • "Swan Lake": Production information - 1988
  • V153: "Swan Lake", undated
  • "Symphony in Dance, USA": Costumes, undated
  • "Symphony in Dance, USA": Production notes, undated
  • "Symphony in Dance, USA": Programs - 1969
  • "Symphony in Dance, USA": Story, undated
  • "Twelfth Night Masque", undated
  • Miscellaneous scores written for Dieman-Bennett: "Deep Freeze", "Eagle Flight", "It's Windy" and "Leviathan", undated
  • Box 39:
  • Productions
    oversize
  • Box 40:
  • London Town, undated
  • London Town, notes and music (folder 1)
  • London Town, notes and music (folder 2)
  • London Town, percussion score
  • London Town, script and sheet music
  • Orfeo and Euridice - 1990
  • Swan Lake, undated
  • Series 5: PROGRAMS AND RECITALS
  • Box 7:
  • Programs: A Baroque Happening: Music - 1967
  • Programs: A Baroque Happening: Production notes - 1967
  • V154: Programs: The Art of Bullfighting, undated
  • V155: Programs: Beethoven Club poetry/dance presentation - 1990
  • Programs: Carl Van Vechten: Cultural Contributions of a Century  - 1979-1980
  • Programs: Celebration of the Arts - 1993
  • Programs: Dance Week - 1996
  • Box 8:
  • Programs: Dedication of the Temple Organ - 1970
  • Programs: First Presbyterian Church Forum - 1965
  • Programs: Iowa Composer's Program (folder 1) - 1974
  • Programs: Iowa Composer's Program (folder 2) - 1979
  • Programs: Isadora Duncan Cameo: Production information - 1980
  • V156: Programs: Isadora Duncan Cameo - 1990
  • Programs: Life in the Spirit: Correspondence - 1971-1975
  • Programs: Life in the Spirit: Music
  • Programs: Life in the Spirit: Production notes
  • Programs: Life in the Spirit general
  • V157: Programs: Life in the Spirit
  • V158: Programs: Liturgical Dance - 1986
  • Programs: Meditation on Christ's Suffering - 1976
  • Programs: Ordination of Nan Hirleman - 1977
  • Programs: Ottumwa Area Arts Council, Discover India Project - 1991
  • Programs: Renaissance Fair - 1974
  • Programs: Some Meanings of Christmas - 1969
  • V159: Programs: Three Cameos: Renaissance, Baroque, Romantic - 1989
  • Programs: The View From the East - 1986
  • Program lists - 1972-1980
  • Recitals (folder 1) - 1952-1970
  • Recitals (folder 2) - 1972-1980
  • Recitals (folder 3) - 1981-1996
  • Box 9:
  • Recitals (folder 4), undated
  • Box 40:
  • Articles - 1965-1999
  • Box 41:
  • Cameo of the opera Carmen, undated
  • Isadora Duncan cameo script - 1977-1978
  • Series 6: WORKSHOPS AND CLASSES
  • Box 9:
  • History: Dance: General - 1973
  • History: Dance: Ballet, undated
  • History: Dance: Baroque - 1981
  • History: Dance: Indian, undated
  • History: Dance: Jazz, undated
  • History: Dance: Patterns, undated
  • History: Dance: Timeline, undated
  • History: Music: General, undated
  • History: Music: Outline, undated
  • History: Music: Spirituals, undated
  • Baroque workshop - 1976
  • Big 'D' for Dance project: General - 1983-1984
  • Big 'D' for Dance project: Correspondence
  • V160: A Glimpse of India - 1991
  • A Glimpse of Spain: General - 1992
  • V161: A Glimpse of Spain - 1992
  • Humanities in Dance - 1969
  • Introduction to Dance, undated
  • Listings of classes - 1972-1992
  • Summer extension classes, undated
  • Box 41:
  • Baroque dance, master book - 1973-2000
  • Book on popular dance - 1976
  • General, undated
  • Grade examinations for classical ballet (folder l)
  • Grade examinations for classical ballet (folder 2)
  • Music for beginners, undated
  • Music for exercises in classical ballet - 1957
  • Music for teaching dance, undated
  • Music for training students, undated
  • Music scores for older students, undated
  • Music scores, miscellaneous, undated
  • Box 42:
  • Quirey, Belinda - 1972-1992
  • Research on dance - 1981-1999
  • Research on history of dance
  • Box 43:
  • Royal Academy of dancing, elementary examinations
  • Photographs, undated (slides also)
  • Box 48:
  • Musical scores used in teaching
  • Series 7: MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS ABOUT DANCE
  • Box 9:
  • Dance books - 1990
  • "Dance Magazine" - 1983-1984
  • Dance aposations, undated
  • Dance research foundation proposal - 2000
  • Dancers who have influenced Dieman and Bennett, undated
  • National Endowment for the Arts - 1970-1974
  • Proposed tour of India - 1972
  • Programs - 1950
  • Box 39:
  • Promotional
    oversize
  • Box 48:
  • Magazines on dance
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 9:
  • Bennett, Julia, undated
  • Diemen, Edna: Coe College Merit Award - 1975
  • Diemen, Edna: Miscellaneous, undated
  • Diemen and Bennett: Honorary Degrees, Cornell College - 1979
  • Dieman and Bennett: High Renaissance and Spanish Solea costumes, undated
  • Box 10:
  • Dieman and Bennett: Triumvirate interpretation of Schumann's song cycle "Dichterliebe", undated
  • Dieman and Bennett: Miscellaneous, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Beginnings - 1953
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Dance Theatre Associates, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Ballet positions, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Indian hand positions, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Indian Stanaka position, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Cornell students, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Soloists: Maureen Broderick, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Soloists: Miscellaneous, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Students, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Indian dance class, undated
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres: Wardrobe, undated
  • Festivals: Celebration of the Arts, Brucemore, undated
  • Festivals: Dance Festival - 1985
  • Festivals: Edinburgh Festival - 1988
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: "Gigue", French baroque technique - 1982
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: "Les Indes Galantes" - 1982
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: "May I Have the Pleasure", French baroque technique - 1982
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Miscellaneous - 1982
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: "Sinfonia Minuda", undated
  • Festivals: Mid-States Regional Ballet Festival: Miscellaneous, undated
  • Spring Festival, undated
  • Productions: "Afternoon of Dance", undated
  • Productions: "Ballet Fantasy", undated
  • Productions: "Ballet Suite", undated
  • Productions: "Beauty and the Beast" - 1950s
  • Box 11:
  • Productions: "Blue Danube": Gala benefit for the Cedar Rapids Symphony, undated
  • Productions: "The Boyfriend": Cedar Rapids Community Theatre, undated
  • Productions: "Cabalgata", undated - [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Capelia", undated - [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Carmen: arranged by J.Bennett, undated
  • Productions: "Christmas Cantata": Cedar Rapids Symphony Chamber Group, undated
  • Productions: "The Christmas Story in Dance", undated
  • Productions: Community performance, undated
  • Productions: Concert at the Coliseum, undated
  • Productions:Concert at the Coe Auditorium - 1964
  • Productions: Concert for the Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra - 1963
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: Dances of the High Renaissance - 1981
  • Productions: "D-B 4", undated
  • Productions: "A Digit of the Moon" - 1955
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Disclosure of the Secrets" - 1978
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Elizabethan Coronato" - 1973
  • Productions: "Elizabethan Coronato": An Evening of Baroque Dancing, undated
  • Productions: "The Fairy Queen" - 1988
  • Productions: "Die Fledermaus", undated
  • Productions: "Hansel and Gretel", undated
  • Productions: High Renaissance Dances, undated
  • Productions: Isadora Duncan Cameo - 1980
  • Productions: "Les Sylphides", undated
  • Productions: Madrigals and Dances, undated
  • Productions: "Miracles of Faith", undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": General, undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Jefferson Choir - 1955
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Lowe, Joanne, undated
  • Box 12:
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Proof sheets, undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Proofs, ballet choreographed by Robin Hynd (folder 1), undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Proofs, ballet choreographed by Robin Hynd (folder 2), undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Miscellaneous (folder 1), undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Miscellaneous (folder 2), undated
  • Productions: "Nutcracker": Oversize, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Oklahoma", Jefferson Sr. High School, undated
  • Productions: "Orpheus and Euridice", undated
  • Productions: "Seven Spanish Folk Songs", undated
  • Productions: "Six German Dances" - 1975
  • Productions: "Sleeping Beauty", undated - 1975
  • Productions: "The Soldier's Tale": Coe College Orchestra - 1979
  • Productions: "The Soldier's Tale": Narrator's book, undated
  • Productions: "Solve Flos Tusce Gentis" and "Renaissance 2000": Cedar Rapids Orchestra (folder 1) - 1963
  • Productions: "Solve Flos Tusce Gentis" and "Renaissance 2000": Cedar Rapids Orchestra (folder 2) - 1963
  • Productions: "Star in the West": Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra - 1955
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Swan Lake": Benita Braggioti as Hamsa Rani, undated
  • Box 13:
  • Productions: "Swan Lake": La Meri and Matteo at Jacob's Pillow, undated
  • Productions: "Swan Lake": Miscellaneous, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • Productions: "Symphony in Dance USA" - 1975
  • Productions: Miscellaneous Spanish, undated
  • Productions: Miscellaneous, undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • Summer School: Bath Summer School of Baroque Music, undated
  • Summer School: Seal Cove, Maine, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Carmen, Philip, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Comstock, Kenneth, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Exter, Renita, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Fagin, Norman, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Federico, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Giordano, Gus, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Goya, Carola and Matteo, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Horne, Katheryn, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Howard, David, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Jones, Jeff, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Kaiser, Roy, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Kathak-Jaipur, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Kivitt, Ted, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Laxman, Kamala
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: La Meri, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: McConnell, Joan and Teena, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Shawn, Ted, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Starrett, William - 1982
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: St. Denis, Ruth, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Taylor, Burton, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Terry, Walter, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Weiss, Robert, undated
  • Summer School: Guest artists and instructors: Wilde, Patricia, undated
  • Miscellaneous, undated
  • Talagra position - 1961
    [shelved in map case]
  • Box 14:
  • Slides: Arnold Genthe photographs of Isadora Duncan, undated
    [originals donated to Cedar Rapids Museum of Art]
  • Slides: Ballet--Lully - 1961, 1962
  • Slides: Historical dance - 1969
  • Slides: Indian dance - 1959-1962
  • Slides: Kamala - 1960
  • Slides: Nutcracker (folder 1) - 1973
  • Slides: Nutcracker (folder 2) - 1979
  • Slides: Seal Cove, Maine - 1983
  • Slides: Spanish dance - 1960
  • Slides: "Stations of the Cross" - 1973
  • Slides: "Swan Lake", Ted Shawn Estate - 1964
  • Slides: Miscellaneous (folder 1) - 1958-1960
  • Box 15:
  • Slides: Miscellaneous (folder 2) - 1962-1964
  • Slides: Miscellaneous (folder 3) - 1965-1973
  • Slides: Miscellaneous (folder 4), undated
  • Box 39:
  • Photographs
    oversize
  • Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 16:
  • Bennett, Julia - 1940-1947
  • Box 17:
  • Dieman, Edna - 1944-1945
  • Box 18:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1941-1958
  • Box 19:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1951-1956
  • Box 20:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1959-1961
  • Box 21:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1962-1964
  • Box 22:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1965-1966
  • Box 23:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1967-1971
  • Box 24:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1972-1975
  • Box 25:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1975-1976
  • Box 26:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1978-1979
  • Box 27:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1979-1980
  • Box 28:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1981-1982
  • Box 29:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1983-1986
  • Box 30:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1986-1988
  • Box 31:
  • Dance Theatre of the Hemispheres - 1988-1990
  • Series 10: "CHEST OF JEWELS" MANUSCRIPT
  • Box 44:
  • "Chest of Jewels" 1-3
  • Box 45:
  • "Chest of Jewels" 4-6
  • Box 46:
  • "Chest of Jewels" 7
  • Box 47:
  • "Chest of Jewels" 8-9
  • Box 48:
  • "Chest of Jewels" 10-11
  • Series 11: AUDIOVISUAL
  • Box 33:
  • Audiocassettes
  • Box 34:
  • Reel to reel tapes
  • Videocassettes
  • Box 35:
  • Films: 35 mm films
  • Box 36:
  • Films: 16mm films
  • Box 37:
  • Films: 16mm films
  • Box 38:
  • Films: 8mm films
  • Box 51:
  • Saint Francois of Assisi opera, DVD
  • Saint Francois of Assisi book of writings, undated
  • Audio tapes of music for production, 6 undated
  • Box 52:
  • 26 audio tapes of music (Spanish, Indian, Renaissance, Baroque, etc.)
  • Series 12: ARTIFACTS AND BOOKS
  • Box 53:
  • 11 plaster figurines from India
  • Box 54:
  • Advanced Historical Dances, Melusine Wood - 1960
  • The Art of Terpsichore, Luigi Albertieri - 1923
  • The Ballet Lovers Pocket-Book, Kay Ambrose - 1953
  • Choregraphie, Raul-Auger Feuillet - 1968
  • Classical Ballet, Lawson - 1964
  • Classical Dances and Costumes of India, Kay Ambrose - 1950
  • The Dance in India, Enakshi Bhavnani - 1965
  • The Dance in Spain, Anna Ivanova - 1970
  • Dances of Spain and Italy, Mabel Dolmetsch - 1954
  • Box 55:
  • The Fundamentals of Ancient Hindu Dancing - 1971
  • History of Ballet, Lawson - 1964
  • Life at the Royal Ballet School, Camilla Jessel - 1979
  • More Historical Dances, Melusine Wood - 1956
  • Operette, Noel Coward - 1938
  • Some Historical Dances, Melusine Wood - 1952
  • Pavlova, Lazzarini - 1980
  • Spanish Dancing, La Meri - 1948
  • The Teaching of Classical Ballet, Joan Lawson - 1973
  • Teaching Young Dancers, Joan Lawson - 1975
  • Box 56:
  • Ankle bells
  • Heeled shoes, gray
  • Wooden clappers in woven case
  • Four wooden strikers, elevated block
  • Hand chimes
  • Box 57:
  • Miniature instruments in green box
  • Box 58:
  • Embroidered cloth with tassles