Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Janet Shipton papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1936-1991
Creator: Shipton, Janet (1923- )
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0264
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 368) were donated by Janet Attlee Shipton in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Janet Shipton papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Janet Attlee, politician, was born in 1923 in England to Clement and Violet Attlee. She married Harold Shipton in 1947 and moved with him and their two daughters to the United States in 1958, settling in Iowa City. They relocated to St. Louis, Missouri in 1980. Her life's work has involved advocacy for community well-being wherever she has lived. As an articulate speaker and concise writer, she was an early organizer of the Hoover Health Council, was active in the Johnson County Health Council, and was Johnson County coordinator of Iowa 2000. In 1976 she ran for the position of Johnson County Supervisor and lost, but won the position in 1978. She announced her candidacy for the 1980 election but withdrew when the move to St. Louis presented itself. Other organizations in which Shipton provided leadership include the League of Women Voters in both Iowa and Missouri, the Missouri Women's Network where she established a Voter's Registration Project and a state-wide mammography conference, and the Missouri Older Women's League.

The Janet Attlee Shipton papers date from 1936 to 1991 and measure 3 linear feet. The papers are arranged in three series: Biographical, Political, and Business.

The Biographical series contains many letters to Shipton at boarding school and college, and while a member of the Women's Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF) during World War II. Upon her move to the United States Shipton maintained an active correspondence with many people in England, both family and friends. Shipton corresponded extensively with her long-time friend, Joan O'Donovan, a British poet and novelist. Included are two letters from her father, Clement Attlee, Prime Minister of Great Britain from 1945 to 1951. There is correspondence and other material regarding Shipton's daughters, Ann Shipton and Susan Collins, as they matriculated through public school and college and then into marriage and family.

The Political series concerns Shipton's activity in the political arena, beginning with her volunteer work with the Hoover Health Council and the Johnson County Health Council and her elected position on the Johnson County Board of Supervisors. The collection contains complete minutes and assorted correspondence of the Board of Supervisors for 1979-1980, papers and programs from the League of Women Voters, the Iowa 2000 Project, the Missouri Women's Network, and the Older Women's League.

The Business series reveals Shipton's business involvement. She built a fourplex in West Branch, Iowa, which she rented only to low-income people. In Missouri she invested in and managed the ABC Condominiums.

The Artifacts are two handbags dating from the early 1940s.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: POLITICAL
Series 3: BUSINESS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1936-1945
  • Correspondence, undated (2 folders)
    [written from England pre-1947]
  • Correspondence - 1947-1961
  • Correspondence - 1964-1966
  • Correspondence - 1967-1968
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence - 1972-1975
  • Correspondence - 1976
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1977
  • Correspondence - 1978
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1979-1981
  • Correspondence - 1977-1990
  • Christmas cards - 1957, 1972-1978
  • Correspondence: wedding, November 20 - 1947
  • Correspondence: silver wedding - 1972
  • Correspondence: Clement and Violet Attlee (parents) - 1962, 1964
  • Correspondence: Clement Attlee death (father), October - 1967
  • Correspondence: Harold Shipton (husband), undated
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence: Susan Collins (daughter) - 1964-1974
  • Correspondence: Susan Collins - 1974-1983
  • Correspondence: Ann Shipton (daughter) - 1964-1978
  • Correspondence: Ann Shipton, undated (2 folders)
  • Diaries, licenses, photographs, and biographical articles, Janet Shipton - 1939-1990
  • Newspaper articles: Felicity Attlee (sister) and Martin Attlee (brother) - 1946, 1970
  • School records: Ann Shipton - 1958-1969
  • School records: Susan Collins - 1958-1968
  • Wedding, Ann Shipton - 1969
  • Series 2: POLITICAL
  • Sub-Series: Hoover Health Council (southeastern Iowa)
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1966, 1969
  • Minutes, correspondence (2 folders) - 1970
  • Minutes, correspondence (2 folders) - 1971
  • Minutes, correspondence (2 folders) - 1972
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Box 5:
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1978
  • Cash transactions - 1971-1973
  • Ambulance Service - 1970-1972
  • Licensing applications, undated
  • Sub-Series: Johnson County Health Council
  • Box 5:
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1969-1974
  • Minutes, correspondence - 1975-1979
  • Sub-Series: Iowa 2000 Johnson County Coordinator
  • Box 5:
  • General - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Johnson County Board of Supervisors
  • Box 5:
  • Campaign, general - 1975-1976
  • Campaign newspaper clippings - 1976
  • Campaign, general - 1978
  • Campaign newspaper clippings - 1978
  • Box 6:
  • Campaign contributions (2 folders) - 1978
  • Campaign financial records - 1978
  • Campaign pamphlets - 1978
  • Campaign photographs - 1978
  • Minutes (2 folders) - 1979
  • Minutes: Jan.-Feb. - 1980
  • Box 7:
  • Minutes: Mar.-Dec. (5 folders) - 1980
  • Campaign - 1980
  • Sub-Series: League of Women Voters, Iowa
  • Box 7:
  • General - 1963-1980
  • Sub-Series: League of Women Voters, Missouri
  • Box 7:
  • General - 1984-1989
  • Box 8:
  • General - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Missouri Women's Network
  • Box 8:
  • Minutes - 1985-1991
  • Educational Fund - 1985-1990
  • Mammography Conference - 1989
  • "Women Networking" (newsletter) - 1984-1991
  • Vote Project - 1984-1986
  • Sub-Series: Older Women's League, Missouri
  • Box 8:
  • General - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Other civic involvement
  • Box 8:
  • General - 1964-1990
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 8: Writings
  • General - 1944-1977
  • Series 3: BUSINESS
  • Box 8:
  • Letters - 1982-1984
  • Attlee apartments, West Branch, Iowa, records - 1972-1976
  • Attlee apartments records - 1977-1980
  • Box 9:
  • Attlee apartments records - 1980-1981
  • Attlee apartments tenant records and expense accounts - 1976-1980
  • ABC Condominium, St. Louis, Missouri - 1986-1988
  • ABC Condominium newsletter "ABSEEING" - 1987
  • Box 10:
  • Artifacts: Handbags (2 items) - 1940-1949