Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-1999
Creator: Chapman, Kathleen Halloran (1937- )
Extent: 8.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0263
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Attorney and Democrat who served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1983 to 1992 and again in 1996.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 367) were donated by Kathleen Chapman in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

State representative and attorney Kathleen "Kay" Halloran Chapman was born January 19, 1937 at Estherville, Iowa. A lifelong resident of Cedar Rapids, she attended the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa), earning a bachelor's degree in political science and English in 1959. She married Allen R. Chapman in 1961. As a wife and mother of two young sons Chapman returned to the University of Iowa to attend law school, graduating with distinction in 1974.

When Kay Chapman began her practice of law in 1974 she was the first woman attorney to enter private practice in Cedar Rapids. A Democrat, she was elected to the Iowa General Assembly from the forty-ninth district and served from 1983 to 1992. During her tenure in the Iowa House of Representatives, Chapman served as chair of the rules and administration committee; vice-chair of the ways and means, judiciary and ethics committees; on the commerce committee; and on the legislative council. After serving five terms in the legislature Chapman lost her reelection bid in 1992, but won election from the fifty-third district in 1996 and retired from the House of Representatives in 1999 after serving one term.

Accession 1 of the Kathleen Halloran Chapman papers ( boxes 1-9) contains material dating from 1977 to 1996 and measures 3.75 linear feet. Accession 2 (boxes 10-20) dates from 1986 to 1999 and measures 5 linear feet. Accession 1 is arranged in five series: Political campaigns, Iowa General Assembly, Local community involvement, Law practice, and Photographs.

The Political campaigns series (1977-1998) contains documents relating to Chapman's campaigns for a seat in the Iowa House of Representatives. Also included are facsimile messages and materials pertaining to Bonnie Campbell's 1994 campaign for governor of Iowa which if successful Chapman would have served on the transition committee. A large portion of the series contains campaign contribution finance records from 1992-998.

The Iowa General Assembly series (1978-1993) contains materials concerning Chapman's tenure as a state representative. The majority of the documents fall into two subseries: correspondence and legislation. The series also contains documents concerning Chapman's work on spending and tax reform in the General Assembly and on a Governor's Committee on Spending Reform.

The Local community involvement series (1983-1999) documents Chapman's involvement in local government reform, including her service on the Cedar Rapids Efficiency and Reform Committee; her work on a study of gender equity and sexual harassment in Iowa high schools; and her efforts for economic development through a proposed tourist railroad between Cedar Rapids and the Amanas. Also included are records from Chapman's service on the Board of Tanager Place and All Saints Parrish during her time away from the House of Representatives.

The Law practice series (1989-1998) documents Chapman's concern with issues of family and juvenile law as a member of committees for the Iowa and Linn County bar associations including the local Inn of Court group.

The Photographs series (1984-1998 and undated) contains proof sheets and photographs used in campaign pamphlets, photographs of bill signings with Governor Terry Branstad and snapshots of a 1992 presidential campaign stop in Cedar Rapids by candidates Bill Clinton and Al Gore. Also included are photos of Kay Chapman with Al Gore and Hilary Rodham Clinton during Chapman's last years serving in the House.

The Accession 2 is arranged in four series: Campaigns, Iowa General Assembly, Community and Law.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS ACCESSION 1
Series 2: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY ACCESSION 1
Series 3: LOCAL COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT ACCESSION 1
Series 4: LAW PRACTICE ACCESSION 1
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS ACCESSION 1
Series 6: CAMPAIGNS ACCESSION 2
Series 7: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY ACCESSION 2
Series 8: COMMUNITY ACCESSION 2
Series 9: LAW ACCESSION 2

  • Series 1: POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS ACCESSION 1
  • Sub-Series: Bonnie Campbell for Governor
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence with county coordinators - 1993-1994
  • Facsimile messages - 1994
  • Linn County organization - 1994
  • Newspaper clippings - 1994
  • Sub-Series: Campaign for State Representative, advertising
  • Box 1:
  • Calendars of radio commercials - 1984
  • Calendars of radio commercials - 1992
  • Commercial scripts - 1992
  • Consultant recommendations - 1992
  • Media proposals - 1990-1992
  • Videocassette V124: Television commercial, "Iowa's Future" - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Biographical sketch and resume
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical sketch and resume - 1977-1987
  • Sub-Series: Campaign committee
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign committee - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Endorsement letter
  • Box 1:
  • Endorsement letters to the editor of the Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Expenditures
  • Box 1:
  • Printing and postage - 1992
  • Radio and Television advertising - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Fundraising
  • Box 1:
  • Contributors - 1981
  • Contributors - 1982-1990
  • Contributors - 1991-1992
  • Events, fall fundraiser - 1987-1988
  • Box 2:
  • Events, in-kind contributions - 1992
  • Events, LEGSBRAI (Legislators' Short Bicycle Ride Across Iowa) - 1990
  • Events, neighborhood gatherings - 1992
  • Finance disclosure form (7 folders) - 1978-1992
  • Box 3:
  • Political Action Committees (PACs) (4 folders) - 1988-1992
  • Notes - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Campaign for State Representative, general
  • Box 3:
  • Videocassette V125: "Kay Chapman for State Representative" (KGAN news story) - 1992
  • List of caucus attendees - 1992
  • Newspaper clippings - 1991-1992
  • Nomination papers - 1988
  • Nomination papers - 1992
  • Opponent file: Scott Overland - 1988
  • Poll results - 1992
  • Printing (3 folders) - 1984-1992
  • Questionnaires and position papers (2 folders) - 1982, 1992
  • Statistics - 1982
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches: Equal rights amendment (ERA) - 1978-1979
  • Speeches: Women's issues - 1992
  • Volunteers list - 1982
  • Yard signs (2 folders) - 1984-1992
  • Series 2: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY ACCESSION 1
  • Sub-Series: Constituent mail correspondence
  • Box 4:
  • General (4 folders) - 1986-1990
  • Attorney General opinion request (2 folders) - 1984-1986
  • Bill and research request - 1986
  • Churchill, Malcolm H. - 1987-1988
  • Frey, Garret - 1988
  • Fur farming - 1986-1987
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS) - 1985
  • Meth Wick Manor - 1989
  • School finance - 1989
  • Svoboda, Kevin - 1988
  • Sub-Series: Legislative correspondence
  • Box 5:
  • Legislative correspondence (8 folders) - 1985-1990
  • Sub-Series: Commission on Judicial Districts
  • Box 6:
  • Commission on Judicial Districts - 1987-1989
  • Sub-Series: Governor's Committee on Spending Reform
  • Box 6:
  • General - 1991
  • Blue ribbon committee - 1991
  • Public financing task force (4 folders) - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Legislative topics
  • Box 6:
  • Abortion - 1991-1992
  • Archer Daniels Midland Company: Co-generation facility certification (2 folders) - 1989-1992
  • Avionics security interest - 1991
  • Government ethics - 1993-1994
  • Illicit drugs: Employee testing - 1989-1990
  • Illicit drugs: Forfeiture of real property - 1989
  • Illicit drugs: Stamp tax - 1990
  • Box 7:
  • Living will - 1986
  • Nuclear medicine technologist licensure - 1992
  • Open meeting law - 1978-1980
  • Taxation: Alternative minimum tax - 1988
  • Taxation: Bill [response to Fisher Commin and the tax law] - 1992
  • Taxation: "Impact of the Tax Reform Act of 1986 on Iowa," submitted by the Policy Economic Group of Peat Marwick Main and Company - 1987
  • Taxation: Income - 1984-1992
  • Taxation: Services tax--auto leasing - 1985
  • Taxation: Special session - 1986-1987
  • Taxation: Tax theory - 1986
  • Taxation: Taxpayers' rights amendment - 1989-1993
  • Temporary injunction of property disposal in marriage dissolution - 1990-1991
  • Tort reform - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Legislative council minutes
  • Box 7:
  • Legislative council minutes - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 7:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Tax Fairness and Equity Interim Study Committee
  • Box 7:
  • "Examples of Tax Model Output and Proposed Tax Study Outline" - 1992
  • Minutes - 1991-1993
  • Pension taxation equity - 1989
  • Box 8:
  • Reports - 1992-1993
  • "A Study of the Iowa State and Local Tax Structure" - 1993
  • Series 3: LOCAL COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT ACCESSION 1
  • Sub-Series: Cedar Rapids Efficiency and Reform Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Inter-governmental relations subcommittee - 1993-1994
  • Master project plan - 1993
  • Minutes - 1993-1995
  • Remarks by Mayor Larry Serbousek, June 24 - 1993
  • Sub-Series: Gender equity
  • Box 8:
  • Iowa American Association of University Women - 1992-1994
  • Sexual harassment in Iowa high schools: Study committee - 1993-1994
  • Videocassette V123: "Stop It! Students Speak Out About Sexual Harassment"
  • Vocational education gender equity advisory board - 1994-1995
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 8: The Renaissance Group Downtown School Task Force
  • Task force - 1994-1995
  • Sub-Series: Tourist Railroad [Tissel Hollow-Amana Railroad]
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1984-1985
  • Box 9:
  • Boone Railroad Historical Society - 1984
  • Grant application materials - 1984
  • Incorporation documents - 1983-1990
  • Series 4: LAW PRACTICE ACCESSION 1
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence - 1993-1994
  • Curriculum vitae - 1996
  • Iowa State Bar Association Family and Juvenile Law Section Dissolution committee - 1993
  • Iowa State Bar Association Family and Juvenile Law Section Juvenile law committee - 1993-1995
  • Iowa State Bar Association Family and Juvenile Law Section Legislative committee - 1993-1995
  • Linn County Bar Association - 1989-1994
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS ACCESSION 1
  • Box 9:
  • Bill signings with Governor Terry Branstad - 1984-1990
  • Campaign photographs and proof sheets - 1984-1990
  • Lucas Elementary School (Cedar Rapids) tour of the State Capitol - 1992
  • Portraits, undated
  • Bill Clinton and Al Gore campaign stop in Cedar Rapids - 1992
  • Series 6: CAMPAIGNS ACCESSION 2
  • Box 10:
  • Bonnie Campbell transition (2 folders) - 1994
  • Absentee Voting - 1996
  • Affidavit of Candidacy - 1996
  • Candidacy Announcement - 1996
  • Correspondence - 1996
  • Finances: Bank Statements (3 folders) - 1992-1999
  • Finances: Contributions - 1992-1996
  • Box 11:
  • Finances: Contributions (3 folders) - 1997-1998
  • Finances: Disclosure - 1996
  • Finances: Expenses - 1997-1998
  • Finances: Iowa Campaign Finance Reporting System - 1997
  • Legislative districts - 1991
  • Lobbyist list - 1992
  • Mailings - 1996
  • Box 12:
  • Membership lists - 1996
  • Miscellaneous - 1996
  • Newspaper clippings - 1996
  • EPIC Questionnaires - 1996
  • General Questionnaires - 1996
  • Iowa State Education Association Questionnaires - 1996
  • Uncompleted Questionnaires - 1996
  • General Research - 1996
  • Opponent Research - 1996
  • Speech Materials - 1996
  • Series 7: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY ACCESSION 2
  • Sub-Series: Committees
  • Box 12:
  • Consortium for Substance Abuse Research and Evaluation (2 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Intermediate Sanctions Policy Group - 1997-1998
  • Judicial Budget - 1996
  • Mediation Task Force
  • Sub-Series: Constituent Correspondence
  • Box 12:
  • Constituent Correspondence (4 folders) - 1996-1999
  • Sub-Series: Conferences
  • Box 13:
  • Democratic National Committee Women's Forum - 1998
  • Dollars and Scents - 1998
  • Midwestern Legislative Conference (2 folders) - 1998-1999
  • National Conference of State Legislatures AFI/ASI Joint Meeting - 1997
  • National Conference of State Legislatures (2 folders) - 1998
  • Offender Control in the States - 1998
  • Box 14:
  • Women in Government - 1998
  • Sub-Series: Legislative topics
  • Box 14:
  • Department of Transportation - 1997
  • Early childhood education - 1997
  • "First in the Nation in Education" - 1997
  • Education: Reform - 1998
  • Federal Communications Commission - 1999
  • Healthcare, Medicaid - 1996-1999
  • Hog confinements - 1998
  • Juveniles: Delinquency - 1996-1997
  • Juveniles: Justice - 1997
  • Box 15:
  • Mediation
  • Victim-offender - 1998
  • Metro Area Housing Project (2 folders) - 1996-1998
  • Mid-America Housing Partnership (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Box 16:
  • Pro-choice, Emily's List - 1996
  • Radioactive waste - 1986
  • Taxation - 1997
  • Tort reform - 1998
  • Utilities: Acquisition costs - 1996
  • Utilities: Cogeneration, undated
  • Utilities: Electricity restructuring - 1998-1999
  • Utilities: Financing - 1984
  • Utilities: Municipal - 1986
  • Box 17:
  • Utilities: Retail - 1996
  • Y2K - 1998
  • Sub-Series: Legislative reports
  • Box 17:
  • Legislative reports (2 folders) - 1998-1999
  • Series 8: COMMUNITY ACCESSION 2
  • Box 17:
  • All Saints Parrish
  • Building and grounds committee - 1995
  • By-laws, undated
  • Council binder - 1995-1997
  • Directory - 1995, 1997
  • Education - 1995-1997
  • Education Technology plan - 1997
  • Finance committee: Budget proposal - 1996-1997
  • Finance committee: Income statements - 1995-1997
  • Finance committee: Fiscal report - 1995-1996
  • Box 18:
  • Finance committee: Fiscal report - 1997
  • Finance committee: Minutes (2 folders) - 1995-1997
  • Finance committee: Stewardship - 1995-1997
  • Cedar Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce - 1997-1999
  • Democratic Leadership Council - 1995
  • Linn County Democratic Central Council
  • "Neighbors" (2 folders) - 1992-1997
  • Box 19:
  • Tanager Place Background information
  • Tanager Place Board Meeting Agendas - 1997-1999
  • Tanager Place Director's Manual
  • Tanager Place Finance - 1991-1998
  • Southside neighborhood - 1997
  • Wellington height ordinance - 1995
  • Series 9: LAW ACCESSION 2
  • Sub-Series: Conferences
  • Box 19:
  • Conferences
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 19: Effective dispute resolution
  • Effective dispute resolution (2 folders) - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence - 1997-1998
  • Sub-Series: Inn of Court
  • Box 20:
  • The Dean Mason Ladd - 1996-1999
  • Mailings - 1996-1999
  • Membership directory - 1997
  • Pamphlets - 1994
  • Professional creed, undated
  • Sub-Series: Mediation and arbitration
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence - 1995-1997
  • Dispute Resolution - 1995-1998
  • Divorce and Family - 1996
  • Proposal for Iowa Mediation Initiative
  • Sample forms
  • Standards - 1995
  • Victim-offender - 1996-1997