Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lemme Family papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1970-1998
Creator:Lemme Family
Extent:5.00 items.
Collection Number:IWA0260
Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:Traces the family history of Helen Lemme, a civil rights activist who was named Iowa City's first Woman of the Year in 1955.

Frances Helen Renfrow Lemme, known as Helen Lemme, a civil rights and community leader in Iowa City, Iowa, was born on February 25, 1905 in Grinnell, Iowa. She was a research technician in the Department of Internal Medicine at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) and was active in many organizations, including the League of Women Voters of Johnson County and the Iowa City Area Council of Churches. During the 1930s and 1940s, she and husband Allyn Lemme opened their home to African-American male students (and occasionally to African-American female graduate students) when they were not allowed to live in University of Iowa dormitories. In 1955, Helen Lemme was elected the first Woman of the Year in Iowa City. Lemme died in a house fire on December 15, 1968. The Helen Lemme Elementary School in Iowa City, Iowa is named in her honor.

Helen and Allyn Lemme had two children, Lawrence and Paul.

The Lemme Family papers date from 1970 and 1998 and consist of five items: an undated genealogy of the family; two newspaper clippings; an article in Everybody magazine regarding the opening of the Helen Lemme Elementary School in 1970; and questions and answers concerning Helen Lemme.  The questions relating to Helen Lemme were addressed to the Lemme family by students at Lemme Elementary School on the twenty-fifth anniversary of the school's founding.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 362) were donated by Lawrence Lemme in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Lemme Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5068
Curator:Kären Mason
Email:lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lemme, Helen

Corporate Names:
Helen Lemme Elementary School (Iowa City, Iowa)

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
African American women

Occupations:
Civil rights workers
Community activists

Geographic Names:
Iowa City (Iowa)
Grinnell (Iowa)

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Family papers

Family Names:
Lemme family

Browse:
African American Women in Iowa