Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lileah Harris papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1995
Creator: Harris, Lileah (1931-)
Extent: 3.10 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0256
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professional volunteer active in several arts, civic, educational, and religious organizations in Cedar Rapids.

Alternate Extent Statement: 2 audiocassettes [AC496, AC497].

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 359) were donated by Lileah Harris in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Lileah Harris papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

(Evelyn) Lileah Harris was born and raised in Waterloo, Iowa, one of the five children of Lee B. and Lily Furgerson. Lee Furgerson was a physician; Lily Furgerson became an elementary school teacher after she was widowed in 1948, earning a teaching certificate and finishing college at Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa). Lileah Furgerson's interest in music was encouraged by her parents, and at Iowa State Teachers College, she studied piano.
 
Lileah Furgerson married Percy Harris at age nineteen. They lived in Washington, D.C. from 1950-1957 while Percy Harris studied medicine at Howard University. During that time, their first children were born and Lileah Harris worked as a clerk typist at the Pentagon and elsewhere. They returned to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where they raised their twelve children and Percy Harris practiced medicine.
 
Lileah Harris was engaged in a wide range of community activities, particularly those that tackled problems of inequality. She served on the Cedar Rapids Human Rights Commission until 1975, resigning when pregnant with her last child. She was on the Commission's team that investigated a sex discrimination charge by two teachers who were required to stop teaching at the end of their fifth month of pregnancy.
 
Lileah Harris was active with the Washington High School PTA from 1982-1988 and served as president in 1984-1985. She was a member of the Multicultural Nonsexist Committee in the early 1980s, which successfully attracted black teachers to the district and introduced an integration plan for the Cedar Rapids School System. Lileah Harris was part of a committee that examined and brought about changes in the selection criteria for cheerleaders at Washington High that discriminated against minority students. Harris received a number of awards and honors recognizing her service to the Cedar Rapids schools.
 
Lileah Harris also served on the advisory board of the Jane Boyd Community House, which offered a wide range of community services for at-risk individuals of all ages, and Minnesota Early Learning Design, 1986-88, which addressed the problems of parents in crisis. She and her husband were avid supporters of the arts; Lileah Harris was publicity chair for the Cedar Rapids Symphony in 1973-74.
 
Like her mother, Harris returned to school at midlife, enrolling in the University of Iowa in 1988. In 1993, at the age of sixty-two, Harris earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Russian and received the Dean's Achievement Award from the College of Liberal Arts.

The Lileah Harris papers date from 1961 to 1995 and measure 3.1 linear feet. They are divided into three series: Biographical information, Education activities, and Cedar Rapids community activities.
 
The Biographical information series includes speeches, correspondence, clippings, and the tapes and transcript of a heated 1961 meeting at which members of St. Paul's Methodist Church voted to allow the Harrises to purchase a lot from the church on which to build a home.
The Education activities series documents Lileah Harris's involvement with a number of committes and organizations of the Cedar Rapids schools, including the district's Multicultural Non-sexist Advisory Committee and the Washington High School PTA.
 
The Cedar Rapids community activity series contains a wide range of materials relating to Harris' extensive community involvement.
Betty Jean Furgerson papers (IWA) and Martha Nash papers (IWA): Lileah Harris's sisters.
 
Penny Furgerson papers (IWA): Lileah Harris's sister-in-law.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: EDUCATION ACTIVITIES
Series 3: CEDAR RAPIDS COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Awards - 1969-1999
  • Correspondence - 1974-1995
  • Newspaper clippings: B.A. degree and honor roll - 1990-1998
  • Percy Harris: Newspaper clippings: St Paul's Methodist Church meeting - 1961
  • Percy Harris: Transcript: St Paul's Methodist Church meeting
  • AC496-AC497: St. Pauls Methodist Church Conference - 1961
    [shelved in audiocassette collection]
  • Speeches - 1983-1989
  • Series 2: EDUCATION ACTIVITIES
  • Box 1:
  • Issues: Cheerleading - 1980-1981
  • Issues: Maternity Leave - 1972
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - Pre-1982
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), Jan- April - 1983
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), May-Dec. - 1983
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - c. 1983
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1984
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - c. 1984
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1982
  • Box 2:
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), Jan- Aug. - 1985
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), Sept- Dec. - 1985
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1986
    [Personal notebook included]
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), Jan-April - 1986
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA), May-Dec. - 1986
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1987
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1988
  • Washington High School Parents Teachers Association (PTA) - 1984-1988
  • Box 3:
  • Calendar Advisory Committee - 1982
  • District Communications Committee - 1985-1986
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 1) - 1969-1989
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 2) - 1981
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 3) - 1981
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 4) - 1982
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 5) - 1983
  • Multicultural Non-Sexist Advisory Committee (folder 6) - 1984-1988
  • Box 4:
  • Integrated Education Report (folder 1) - 1980
  • Integrated Education Report (folder 2) - 1981
  • Cedar Rapids Community School District Foundation - 1985-1991
  • Facilities Committee - 1985-1986
  • Facilities Committee Planning and Development Manual
  • Fine Arts Advisory Committee - 1985-1990
  • Box 5:
  • Cedar Rapids Schools: "The Window" - 1979-1981
  • Cedar Rapids Schools: "The Window" - 1982-1983
  • Cedar Rapids Schools: "The Window" and "Key Communications Network" - 1982-1984
  • Iowa Department of Public Instruction (DPI): Minorities in education - 1982-1983
  • Iowa Department of Public Instruction (DPI): Task Force, Teacher Education and Certification - 1984
  • Series 3: CEDAR RAPIDS COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES
  • Box 5:
  • Citizens Jail Advisory Committee - 1981
  • Human Rights Commission: History - 1963-1973
  • Human Rights Commission: Annual Reports - 1970-1972
  • Human Rights Commission: Annual Reports - 1973-1974
  • Human Rights Commission: Employment survey - 1972
  • Box 6:
  • Human Rights Commission: Miscellaneous - 1970-1975
  • Symphony publicity committee - 1973-1974
  • Jane Boyd Community House: Jane Boyd Bugle newsletter - 1979-1983
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1975-1977
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1978
  • Jane Boyd Community House: Minutes - 1979
  • Jane Boyd Community House: Finances - 1979
  • Box 7:
  • Jane Boyd Community House: Minutes, letters of support - 1980
  • Jane Boyd Community House: Finances - 1980
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1981
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1982
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1983
  • Jane Boyd Community House: General - 1984-1985
  • Box 8:
  • Minnesota Early Learning Design (MELD) - 1986
  • Minnesota Early Learning Design (MELD) - 1987