Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cassie Thompson Ford papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-1996
Creator: Ford, Cassie Thompson (1889-1966)
Extent: 8.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0245
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Homemaker who farmed with her husband near Central City, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 342) were donated by Pauline Ritter in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Cassie Thompson Ford papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Cassandra R. Thompson Ford, known as Cassie, was born on September 8, 1889 in Wisconsin. She went west to teach school after completing the Normal School Training Course at the Richland Center (Wisconsin) High School. She met her future husband, Charles "Manly" Ford, in Wyoming, and they were married in 1914 in Stanton, Iowa. They lived on a farm just northeast of Central City, Iowa.

Ford and her husband lived on this small farm for 44 years raising cattle, sheep, horses, pigs, and chickens. Ford gardened, canned, cooked, and sewed for her family in addition to teaching Sunday School and working with the Ladies' Aid.

The Cassie Thompson Ford papers date from 1937 to 1996 and contain 8 items. The papers consist of biographical information, newspaper clippings, and one photograph. Two items written by Ford, a poem and a play entitled "The 18-acre Kitchen", are also included.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Ford, Cassie Thompson, 1889-1966

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Rural women

Occupations:
Teachers
Farmers
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Stanton
United States -- Iowa -- Central City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Teachers and Teaching