Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gretchen Anton Coy papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1995
Creator: Coy, Gretchen Anton (1923- )
Extent: 7.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0234
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Artist and teacher in Okoboji, Iowa, who participated in the Curtiss-Wright Aeronautical Program during World War II.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 321) were donated by Gretchen Anton Coy in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Gretchen Coy papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Gretchen Anton Coy was a participant in the Curtiss-Wright Aeronautical Program during World War II. The Curtiss-Wright Program trained college women in aeronautical engineering to replace men who were serving in World War II. Coy was enrolled in the program at Iowa State University and was transferred to the University of Texas for her training. She subsequently worked at the company's plant in St. Louis, Mo. She works as an artist and teacher at the Lakes Art Center and resides in Okoboji, Iowa.

The Gretchen Anton Coy papers date from 1943 to 1995 and contain 7 items. The papers consist chiefly of photocopies of selected issues of The Cadetter, a newsletter published by engineering cadets of the Curtiss-Wright Corporation. Also included are a brochure entitled "The Artistry of Gretchen Greta Coy" and two newspaper clippings.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Coy, Gretchen Anton, 1923-

Corporate Names:
Curtiss-Wright Corporation

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women and war
World War, 1939-1945

Occupations:
Aerospace engineers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Missouri -- Saint Louis
United States -- Iowa -- Okoboji

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
Women and War