Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vergene Donovan papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1975-2012
Creator: Donovan, Vergene
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0232
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Spencer, Iowa, resident active in the Iowa Federation of Republican women.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 319) were donated by Vergene Donovan in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Vergene Donovan papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Vergene Donovan, an active member of the Republican Party in Iowa, grew up in Spencer, Iowa, and graduated from Spencer High School in 1941. She has been very active in her church and community of the Spirit Lake area on local boards and committees. A member of the Iowa Federation of Republican Women, she edited the Federation's newsletter, The Iowa Indicator. In 1995, Donovan was presented the John McDonald award for outstanding service to the Republican Party by Iowa Governor Terry Branstad. She has helped steer campaigns for Republican candidates on both the local and state levels.

The Vergene Donovan papers date from 1975 to 2012 and measure 1 linear inch. The papers consist of several issues of The Iowa Indicator (1987-1989) as well as several photocopied letters, including one from Barbara Bush, a magazine article about Donovan,and a program Donovan hosted for Representative Fred Grandy. Also included is the cookbook Donovan compiled to commemorate her fiftieth wedding anniversary.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Donovan, Vergene

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989

Topics:
Political participation

Occupations:
Political activists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Spirit Lake

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Newsletters
Cookbooks

Browse:
Women, Politics and the Law