Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rosemary Sackett papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1996
Creator: Sackett, Rosemary (1940-)
Extent: 3.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0230
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Lawyer and justice on Iowa Court of Appeals.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: With the exception of published writings, copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 316) were donated by Rosemary Sackett in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Rosemary Sackett papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Rosemary Shaw Sackett, Iowa lawyer and judge, was born in 1940 to Frank W. and Irene Rafferty Shaw in Fort Dodge, Iowa. Shaw received her B.A. from Buena Vista College, her J.D. from Drake University Law School, and her L.L.M from University of Virginia Law School. She married Robert "Bill" Sackett in 1964 and went into law practice with him in the firm of Sackett and Sackett. She was appointed to the Iowa Court of Appeals in 1983, and was elected chief judge in 1996. Sackett is the first woman to occupy the position in the court´s 20-year history.

The Rosemary Sackett papers date from 1960 to 1996 and measure 3.5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Personal and Professional.

The Personal series consists mostly of Sackett's writings for children along with the Morgan family history which contains information about Josiah and Lucy Jane Smith Shaw. Also included is "One of Us," Sackett's memories of her teenage years in Pocahontas, Iowa, and of her acquaintance with the serial killer Robert Hansen whose story is related in the book Butcher, Baker by Walter Gilmour and Leland E. Hale (1991). A copy of Butcher, Baker is included in the collection.

The Professional series makes up the bulk of the collection and consists of newspaper clippings concerning Sackett's court cases and legal interests.
Edith Sackett papers (IWA): Edith Sackett was Rosemary Sackett's mother-in-law.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Sub-Series: Biographical
  • Box 1:
  • Morgan family history, undated
  • "One of Us," by Rosemary Sackett - 1993
  • "Butcher, Baker: A True Account of a Serial Murderer," by Walter Gilmour and Leland E. Hale [shelved in printed works collection] - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological - 1983, 1987
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 1:
  • "Buena Vista Today" - 1991
  • "Kappa Beta Pi Quarterly" - 1963
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological (3 folders) - 1960-2001
  • Sub-Series: Organizational interests
  • Box 1:
  • Metropolitan Dinner Club of Greater Spencer - 1972
  • Women Early Bird Strategists - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 1:
  • "Bozer Bunny Comes to Lake Okoboji" [shelved in printed works collection] - 1995
  • "The Little Cottage's First Christmas Tree," undated
  • Sub-Series: Photograph
  • Box 1:
  • Kappa Beta Pi legal sorority 17th biannual convention - 1961
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Conferences - 1986, 1987
  • Iowa Women Lawyers Association speech, undated [history of women lawyers in Iowa]
  • Newspaper clippings: Cases - 1983-1995
  • Newspaper clippings: Court related - 1976, 1986
  • Newspaper clippings: Male domination of the court system - 1986
  • Newspaper clippings: Party affiliation in the court system - 1986
  • Writings: "Alimony: A Retreat from Traditional Concepts of Spousal Support," "Drake Law Review" - 1986
  • Writings: "Terminating Parental Rights of the Handicapped," "Family Law Quarterly" - 1991