Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of Women Voters of Sioux City records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-1993
Creator: League of Women Voters of Sioux City
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0229
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 315) were donated by the League of Women Voters of Sioux City in 1995.

Preferred Citation: League of Women Voters of Sioux City records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The League of Women Voters of Sioux City was founded in 1920. It went out of existence during World War II, but was later revived. Established as a nonpartisan political organization, the purpose of the League was to provide a forum for women to discuss political issues, and to create an informed and active electorate.

The League of Women Voters of Sioux City records date from 1978 to 1993 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The bulk of the collection consists of newspaper clippings from the Sioux City Journal and the Des Moines Register chronicling local debates in the late 1970s about Sioux City's urban renewal and city government structure. Clippings on how other Iowa cities were handling these issues in their communities are included.

The home rule charter folder includes the proposal submitted by the Sioux City Charter Commission to the mayor and city council, which called for re-structuring the city's government; among other things, the new charter would have given more power to the mayor. The proposed charter was hotly debated for several months and defeated in a narrow vote; the League opposed the charter.

The urban renewal newspaper clippings describe conflicts over how to maintain a vital business sector, and an investigation into charges that a developer had misused federal funds. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings include an article on the Equal Rights Amendment. A few League documents including an issue of the Sioux City Voter and records from two annual meetings complete the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Sioux City Voter, May - 1979
  • Annual meetings - 1992-1993
  • Home rule charter - 1979
  • Newspaper clippings: Home rule charter - 1978-1979
  • Newspaper clippings: Housing and urban renewal - 1978-1979
  • Newspaper clippings: Miscellaneous - 1978-1979