Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Women in Natural Resources records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1987-2007
Creator: Iowa Women in Natural Resources
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0222
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa chapter of the national organization.

Alternate Extent Statement: 6 videocassettes [V89-V95]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records were donated by Iowa Women in Natural Resources (donor no. 307) in 1995 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women in Natural Resources records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Iowa Women in Natural Resources (IWINR) became an official chapter of the Women in Natural Resources organization in 1988. IWINR works to encourage women to enter careers in natural resources which in the past have been traditionally male-dominated fields. IWINR's primary goal is to promote communication among all persons in natural resources careers. IWINR members serve as a mentoring body and a networking and support system. IWINR also provides career enhancement training for all its members as well as the community every year at its state conference.

The Iowa Women in Natural Resources records date from 1987 to 2007 and measure 5 linear inches.  The records are arranged in six series: History, Conferences and programs, Directories and membership lists, Minutes, Newsletters and correspondence, and Publicity.

The History series (1987-1988 and undated) consists of a copy of the initial action strategies for IWINR compiled at the first state conference and drafts of the articles of incorporation used by IWINR to become an official state chapter of Women in Natural Resources. The Conferences and programs series (1987-2002 and undated) contains information and programs from each of IWINR's annual conferences from 1987 to 2002.  Included are videocassettes of selected programs presented at the conferences.  Also included is information about the community projects with which IWINR was involved, such as the "Outdoor Journey for Girls" and "Outdoors Women" projects.

The Directories and membership lists series (1988-1997 and undated) contains information about directories of women in science and engineering, water and wastewater treatment operators, and Midwest natural resource professionals, as well as membership and officer lists of IWNIR. 

The Minutes series (1988-2002 and undated) consists of minutes of board meetings and the Iowa Network for Women guidelines which was discussed at one of the executive board meetings.  This series also contains the treasurer's report, the IWINR accounts ledger, and the summary of checking accounts from 1988-1998.  Reports from several IWINR committees are also included.

The Newsletters and correspondence series (1988-2001 and undated) contains copies of the IWINR newsletter, IWINR News, from 1988 to 2001 and correspondence to and from the executive board.

The Publicity series (1988-1995 and undated) consists mostly of newspaper clippings about the certification of the chapter.  Information about job opportunities provided by IWINR and upcoming conferences is also included, along with a promotional flier for IWINR membership.  Also included in this series is a photograph of IWINR members at the 75th Anniversary of Women's Right to Vote Celebration.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: CONFERENCES AND PROGRAMS
Series 3: DIRECTORIES AND MEMBERSHIP LISTS
Series 4: MINUTES
Series 5: NEWSLETTERS AND CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: PUBLICITY

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Action Strategy - 1987
  • Articles of incorporation - 1987
  • By-laws - 1988
  • Series 2: CONFERENCES AND PROGRAMS
  • Box 1:
  • Annual conferences: Women in Natural Resources - 1987
  • Annual conferences: A New Beginning--Expanding Networks - 1988
  • V91: Annual conferences: Balancing our Energies: Program presentations: Men and Women in the Workplace, Kevin Pokorny - 1989
  • V92: Annual conferences: Balancing our Energies: Program presentations: Non-Verbal Communication, Pat Bodie - 1989
  • V94: Annual conferences: "Moving Forward into the Nineties": Program presentations: The Glass Ceiling, Nancy Exline - 1990
  • V95: Annual conferences: "Moving Forward into the Nineties": Program presentations:Self-Esteem and the Imposter Syndrome, Pat Bodie - 1990
  • Annual conferences: ...Accepting the Challenge - 1991
  • Annual conferences: Networking our Resources for the Environment - 1992
  • Annual conferences: Get the Potential of Working for Environmental Resources - 1993
  • Annual conferences: At the Turning Point - 1994
  • Annual conferences: Keeping the Balance - 1996
  • Annual conferences: Rest and Rejuvenation - 1997
  • Annual conferences: Reasons to Celebrate - 1998
  • Annual conferences - 1999-2005
  • V93: Annual Conferences: Program presentation: "Ecofeminism," Karen Warren, undated
  • Programs: Outdoor Journey - 1993-1995, 1997
  • Programs: Iowa's "Becoming an Outdoors Woman" workshop report - 1994
  • V89: Programs: Iowa's "Becoming an Outdoors Woman" workshop: Public Television film, undated
  • Programs: Iowa's Becoming an Outdoors Woman - 1997-1998
  • Programs: I.O.W.A.: Iowas Outdoor Womens Adventures - 1997
  • Programs: Video/curriculum project - 1990-1993
  • Programs: Miscellaneous Affiliate Meetings
  • Series 3: DIRECTORIES AND MEMBERSHIP LISTS
  • Box 1:
  • Directories - 1987-2004
  • New member materials - 1994
  • Officer and membership lists - 1998-1997
  • Miscellaneous - 1989
  • Series 4: MINUTES
  • Box 1:
  • Annual meeting and executive board agendas and minutes - 1990-2005
  • Committees: Listing of IWINR committees - 1988
  • Committees: Education committee notes - 1988, 1989
  • Committees: Department of Natural Resources women's program committee notes - 1989, 1990
  • Committees: Issues committee notes - 1988
  • Committees: Long range planning committee notes - 1989
  • Box 2:
  • Committees: Membership committee notes - 1988, 1994
  • Committees: Membership committee notes: Treasurers Reports - 1991-1993, 1995-1998
  • Committees:Ledger - 1988-1997
  • Committees:Summary of Checking Accounts - 1996-1997
  • Series 5: NEWSLETTERS AND CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • IWINR News (folder 1) - 1988-2005
  • IWINR News (folder 2) - 1988-2005
  • Correspondence - 1988-1997
  • Stationery, undated
  • Series 6: PUBLICITY
  • Box 2:
  • "Women in Forestry" - 1986
  • Newspaper clippings - 1988-1989, 1993, 1995
  • Job opportunities announced by IWINR, undated
  • Women in Natural Resources - 1988
  • Narrative for Plaza of Heroines brick at Carrie Chapman Catt Hall, Iowa State University - 1995
  • Promotional materials - 1997
  • Miscellaneous news articles - 1987-1996
  • Miscellaneous news articles: Photograph and negatives: Iowa 75th Anniversary of Woman Suffrage March, Des Moines, Iowa - 1995
  • Administrative - 2005-2007