Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Polk County Women Attorneys records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1986-1995
Creator: Polk County Women Attorneys
Extent: 9.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0219
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Association to promote the professional growth of women in the law.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 303) were donated by the organization in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Polk County Women Attorneys records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Polk County Women Attorneys was organized in 1986 to promote the professional growth of women in the law through educational programs, job placement programs, and other activities which enhance the stature of women in the law. This professional association serves its members and the community by promoting awareness and acceptance of women in the legal profession and by seeking to formulate laws that are conducive to women's welfare.

The Polk County Women Attorneys records date from 1986 to 1995 and measure 9 linear inches. The records are arranged in three series: Administrative records, Related organizations, and Reports.

The Administrative records series (1986-1995) includes articles of incorporation and by-laws, sporadic minutes and correspondence, and photographs of a tea held to benefit the Equal Rights Amendment campaign.

The Related organizations series (1989-1993) contains information about events and activities of the state and Polk County bar associations, including a 1989 report of the Women and Minorities Study Committee of the Iowa State Bar Association.

The Reports series (1986-1993) contains studies having to do with women's equality in the practice of law and other subjects of concern to the PCWA. Included are testimony and reports of the Equality in the Courts Task Force appointed by the Supreme Court of Iowa in 1990 to examine racial, gender, and other forms of bias in the state's court system; a survey on part-time work of Polk County firms employing lawyers,along with the final report of the PCWA's Part-Time Work Committee; and an informational videocassette and pamphlet prepared by the PCWA to help prevent shaken baby syndrome.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
Series 2: RELATED ORGANIZATIONS
Series 3: REPORTS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Articles of incorporation - 1986-1987
  • By-laws - 1986
  • Correspondence - 1992
  • Correspondence - 1993
  • Correspondence - 1995
  • High Tea benefiting ERA Iowa [includes photographs] - 1992
  • Mansfield Foundation - 1992-1993
  • Mentoring program - 1993
  • Minutes - 1991
  • Minutes - 1993
  • Series 2: RELATED ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys (IOWA) - 1991
  • Iowa State Bar Association: Women and Minorities Study Committee: Final Report - 1989
  • Iowa State Bar Association: Young Lawyer Division - 1991
  • Polk County Bar Association summer picnic - 1992
  • Polk County Bar leadership breakfast - 1993
  • Series 3: REPORTS
  • Box 1:
  • Discriminatory country clubs - 1991-1992
  • Box 2:
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force [Iowa] Final report: Complete - 1993
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force [Iowa] Final report: Executive summary - 1993
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force [Iowa] Interim report - 1991
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force [Iowa] Minority opinion - 1993
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force [Iowa] Testimony by the Council of Judicial Selection by Roxann M. Ryan - 1991
  • Part-time lawyering: General - 1986-1994
  • Part-time lawyering: Final report of the PCWA Part-time Work Committee - 1989
  • Part-time lawyering: Press releases - 1989
  • Part-time lawyering: Survey of Polk County employers - 1988
  • Shaken baby syndrome: General - 1992
  • Videocassette V127: "The Hidden Tragedy: Shaken Baby Syndrome Is No Accident" - 1992