Guide to the Catherine Lewis papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1995
Creator: Lewis, Catherine
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0217
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Interviews and field reports prepared by Lewis for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklore.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Nine audiocassettes [AC344-AC352].

Access: Users of the collection must review restrictions on use of interviews related to women's softball.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 301) were donated by Catherine Lewis in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Catherine Lewis papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

During the summer of 1995 Catherine Lewis, an American Studies graduate student at the University of Iowa, completed an oral history project for the Smithsonian Institution's Festival of American Folklife and the Iowa Festival of Iowa Folklife for the Sesquicentennial celebration in 1996. She interviewed members of women's softball teams, quilters, 4-H members, hand spinners, and a chain-saw artist about how their art or sport related to their life, and community, in Iowa.


Content Description

The Catherine Lewis papers date from 1995 and measure 2 linear inches and nine audiocassettes.  They include field reports and demographic information on the people Lewis interviewed, as well as eleven interviews on audiocassette tape.  The taped interviews are with softball players, a rural women's chorus leader, and members of a quilters' guild.

Related Materials

Beverly Everett papers (IWA).

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lewis, Catherine

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
Artists and community
Softball for women
Twentieth century
Women and the arts
Rural women

Occupations:
Softball players
Artists
Quiltmakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Oral histories (Document genres)
Sound recordings
Photographs
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
Girls' and Women's Sports
Women's Clubs and Organizations