Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hazel Rogers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1987
Creator: Rogers, Hazel
Extent: 1.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0214
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Teacher who attended the Iowa State Teachers College between 1939 and 1941.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 298) were donated by Ruth Rogers in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Hazel Rogers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Hazel Rogers of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, a teacher, grew up during the Great Depression. She attended Iowa State Teachers' College from 1939 to 1941, where she was a member of Kappa Phi Upsilon. Rogers married Le-Roy Rogers in 1941. In 1942, she was elected president of the Kappa Phi Upsilon Alumnae organization.

The Hazel Rogers papers date from 1932 to 1987 and measure 1.5 linear inches. The materials pertain to Rogers' time at the Iowa State Teachers' College and her teaching career, as well as her life as a homemaker. They include clippings, booklets, advertisements, party games played at women's gatherings, an account book full of receipts, and newsletters. A small cloth WPA banner from the Iowa Art Program completes the collection. Kitchen Klatter Klippings, a booklet compiled by Leanna Field Driftmeir in 1932 was transferred to the Evelyn Birkby Collection of Radio Homemaker Materials at the Iowa Women's Archives.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Account book - 1956-1987
  • Iowa State Teachers' College - 1939-1943
  • WPA banner, undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1941, 1955, 1966

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rogers, Hazel

Corporate Names:
Iowa State Teachers College

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Home economics
Great Depression, 1929
Family life
Teaching
Women in education

Occupations:
Teachers
College students
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Falls

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
Teachers and Teaching