Guide to the Louane Newsome papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-2004
Creator: Newsome, Louane (1906-2004)
Extent: 4.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0213
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Armed Services librarian during World War II, and University of Iowa professor in the School of Library and Information Science.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 296) were donated by Louane L. Newsome in 1995 and in succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Louane Newsome papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Louane Leech Newsome, a librarian, was born in Orange, California, in 1906, and graduated from Orange High School. In 1938, she married Ellis Henry Newsome. Louane "Jerry" Newsome was an armed services librarian during World War II. She took a leave of absence from her position as director of the Petaluma Public Library in Petaluma, California, to be the army librarian at Camp Lockett in Campo, California, near the Mexican border. After she left Camp Lockett, Newsome became a navy librarian and remained as an armed services librarian for three years. Newsome and her husband moved to Iowa City in 1950 when he joined the University of Iowa journalism faculty. She served twenty years as professor in the University of Iowa's School of Library and Information Science. A lifelong member of the Iowa Libraries Association, Newsome served as president for the 1941/42 year. Newsome also served on the ALA Newbery and Caldecot Committee in 1965. She served on the Iowa City Board of Public Library Trustees from 1973 to 1979.

Newsome was an active member of the community. She served as chairperson of the Mercy Hospital Foundation Board and worked as a guide at the Old Capitol for nine years. She was also involved with the Iowa City Community Theater, was on the speakers bureau of the Iowa City Hospice, and was a storyteller. In 1994, the Iowa City/Johnson County Senior Center honored Newsome as a "Woman of Distinction." Louane Newsome passed away at the age of 97 in 2004.


Content Description

The Louane L. Newsome papers date from 1938 to 1997 and measure 4 linear inches. They consist of a 1943 photograph of Newsome in her Army Librarian uniform, a description of the photograph and her experiences in the army written by Newsome in 1995, and several newspaper clippings. Also included are personal papers pertaining to her civic activities and her career as a professor of library science, and talks she gave about children's literature. In addition, material regarding Newsome's retirement from the School of Library Science and also her nameplate that sat on her desk throughout her career are included.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Newsome, Louane, 1906-2004

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science
United States Navy
United States Army

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Women and war
World War, 1939-1945
Women in higher education
Women in library science
Social participation
Library science
Children's literature

Occupations:
Librarians
College teachers
Volunteers in social service

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City
United States -- California -- Campo

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Photographs
Personal papers

Browse:
Women and War
Teachers and Teaching