Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-2005
Creator: University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program
Extent: 20.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0211
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Started in 1949 and was one of the earliest such programs in the United States.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in boxes 50 and 51
11 audiocassettes [AC1080-1090]
9 videocassettes [V325-333]
Photographs in boxes 44-46, 48-49
Slides in boxes 45-47

Arrangement: Contents History in Box 1. Administrative Files in Boxes 1-18. Curriculum in Boxes 18-26. Students in Boxes 26-31. Alumni in Boxes 31-32. Dental Hygiene Profession in Boxes 32-43. Photographs in Boxes 44-49. Theses in Box 48. Artifacts in Boxes 50 and 51. Audiocassettes Jerome Lysaught, "Implications of need for Change in Baccalaureate Dental Hygiene Education: Characteristics of Growth or Deterioration of a Profession," May 10, 1976 [AC 1080] Larry Hornsby, "Role of Behavioral and Social Sciences in Health Care Provision, May 10, 1976, side one; David Chambers, "Objectives of the Second Conference Explanation of Conference Agenda," May 10, 1976, side two [AC 1081] J. Larry Hornsby and Nancy Sisty, "Presentation of Behavioral Science: Curriculum Model," May 11, 1976 [AC 1082] James Clark, "How Could the Behavioral and Social Sciences Significantly Influence Future of Baccalaureate Dental hygiene," May 10, 1976 [AC 1083] David Chambers, "Analyses of Educational Challenges and Decisions- Planning for Positive Change," May 11, 1976, side one; James Clark and Martha Fales, "Presentation of Public Health Curriculum Model," May 11, 1976, side two [AC 1084] David Chambers, "Methods of Implementation: Basic Factors to Consider in Curriculum Development," May 12, 1976 [AC 1085] Margaret Ryan, "Implications of Accreditation Policy and of ADA Expanded Function Workshop On Implementation of Curriculum Models: Council on Education," May 12, 1976 [AC 1086] Martha Fales, "Presentation of Position Paper and Summary of Actions Proceedings of Conference Deliberations to Date," May 13, 1976 Final Discussion [AC 1087] Community Term Application Session- Head Start [AC 1088] Keynote Speaker, Second National Dental Hygiene Research Conference (side B, start at 20mm) [AC 1089-1090] Videocassettes Dental Hygiene Class of 1989 [V 325] Dental Hygiene Class of 1995, 15 min. [V 326] Dental Hygiene at the University of Iowa: A Career on the Move, 1987 [V 327] ADHA District VII Students, "Your Voice Counts," 1993 [V 328] Health Beat with Dean Borg Beth Pelton, Rinses and Oral Hygiene, 1988 [V 329] Beth Pelton, Choosing a Toothbrush and Nancy Lepeau, Food for Healthy Teeth [V 330] UI Dental Hygiene Credit- Video spot announcements by Dental Hygiene seniors [V 331] Non-traditional Hygiene Practice: Vigil of Jenny Fay waiting for dental care [homebound chronically ill patients [V 332] 88:105, Fall 1990 Student Presentations: Conflict Management Assignment [V 333]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright is held by the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 293) were donated by Pauline Brine, Beth Pelton and Nancy Thompson in 1995 and in succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Dental Hygiene program at the University of Iowa (then the State University of Iowa) was begun in 1949, when the Board of Regents approved the development of a dental hygiene program at the State University of Iowa. The first class of twenty-four students launched the program in 1953. Students spent two years in this early program and received a certificate in dental hygiene from the College of Dentistry. Students who wanted a bachelor's degree in addition to their certificate could earn a Bachelor of Arts or Science degree with a general science major from the College of Liberal Arts. After 1967 all students received a bachelor's degree. In 1964, a Master of Science degree program was started for dental hygiene students. In 1969 the Board of Regents approved a dental hygiene major, allowing students to receive a Bachelor of Science degree in dental hygiene from the College of Liberal Arts.

In 1986, budget cuts in the College of Dentistry resulted in the loss of some full-time faculty. In the fall of 1991, an ad hoc committee was appointed by University and College of Dentistry administrators to review the Dental Hygiene program. This committee made a unanimous decision to recommend closure of the program. In 1992 the Board of Regents voted to close the program even though faculty from the Department of Dental Hygiene and dental hygiene students protested. Later three dental hygiene faculty members filed a lawsuit alleging sexual discrimination, retaliation, and lack of due process. The last class of dental hygiene students graduated from the University of Iowa in May 1995.

The University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program records date from 1913 to 2005 and measure 20.25 linear feet. The records are arranged in nine series: History, Administrative files, Curriculum, Students, Alumni, Dental hygiene profession, Photographs, Theses, and Artifacts.

The History series (1953-1971), which is quite small, consists of memos, correspondence, reports, and proposals from the early years of both the undergraduate and graduate programs. A 1934 textbook for dental hygienists completes the series; this textbook includes an appendix entitled "The Dental Hygienist Movement" which explains the origin of, and rationale for, the profession of dental hygiene.

The Administrative files series (1953-1994), one of the largest series in the collections, includes correspondence, planning documents, reports, and meeting minutes of both the Dental Hygiene Program and the College of Dentistry. The series includes information on the research and grants of dental hygiene faculty members, and the personnel files that were in the possession of the dental hygiene program at the time of closure. This series includes the records of the controversial Experimental Expanded Function Study, a pioneering study coordinated by a member of the dental hygiene faculty on the feasibility of training hygienists to perform a wider array of dental procedures. The records show the resistance from members of the dental profession to the concept of expanding the scope of dental hygienists' duties.

The Curriculum series (1956-1995) consists of undergraduate and gradate curriculum materials such as reading lists, syllabi, assignments, manuals, and handouts used in coursework. Most of the materials relate to the undergraduate program and date from the 1970s and 1980s.

The Students series (1958-1994) includes information about admissions, enrollment, student life, and financial aid. The series includes a scrapbook of newspaper clippings about the students in the dental hygiene program during the 1950s, and photographs of all the students in the first dental hygiene class.

The Alumni series (1956-2005) includes surveys, newsletters, and correspondence between faculty members and alumni.

The Dental Hygiene Profession series (1913-1996) includes scholarly articles about the profession, and records related to the professional activities of the American Dental Hygiene Association, the Iowa Dental Hygienists Association, and the American Dental Association. Records relating to licensing and the national and state regulatory agencies are also included in this series.

The Photographs series (1950s-1995) includes photographs of dental hygiene students in class, working with patients, and posed in groups. The photographs from the 1950s through 1980 are mainly 5x7 or 8x10 black and whites; photographs from later years are color snapshots. The series includes color slides depicting dental hygiene students in the classroom, displays or booths set up and staffed by dental hygiene students, and presentations made by dental hygiene faculty members. Most of the slides and photographs are identified. Class photographs complete the series.

The Theses series (1966-1977) includes six master's theses written by University of Iowa dental hygiene students and two doctoral dissertations written by students at other institutions.

The Artifacts series (1984 and undated), including carved wax teeth, a trophy, and an instructional skull, completes the collection.
Brine, Pelton, and Thompson v. The University of Iowa records (IWA): University of Iowa Dental Hygiene Program's lawsuit to prevent closure.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES, College of Dentistry
Series 4: CURRICULUM
Series 5: STUDENTS
Series 6: ALUMNI
Series 7: DENTAL HYGIENE PROFESSION
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: THESES
Series 10: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Undergraduate program origin (2 folders) - 1953-1969
  • Graduate program origin - 1964-1971
  • Alfred C. Fones, "Mouth Hygiene: A Text-book for Dental Hygienists," 4th ed. [shelved with the printed works collection] - 1934
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa administration
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1969-1984
  • Academic planning - 1972
  • Sub-Series: College of Liberal Arts
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1970-1991
  • Strategic Planning - 1989
  • Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES, College of Dentistry
  • Sub-Series: Faculty and departmental structure
  • Box 1:
  • Organizational charts - 1994
  • Dean - 1966-1972
  • Dean - 1973-1979
  • Dean - 1980-1992
  • Box 2:
  • Executive committee minutes - 1985-1988
  • Executive committee minutes - 1989-1991
  • Executive committee minutes - 1992-1995
  • Executive committee/collegiate committee graduate program directors - 1988-1991
  • Executive committee/collegiate committee subcommittees - 1975, 1983
  • Faculty meeting minutes - 1979-1994
  • Faculty retreat - 1973, 1990
  • Faculty proposals - 1966
  • Faculty proposals - 1969, 1985
  • Faculty reports and strategic planning - 1980-1991
  • Dental Hygiene presentations and proposals - 1968-1983
  • Box 3:
  • Dental Hygiene presentations and proposals - 1970
  • Dental Hygiene presentations and proposals - 1976-1980
  • Dental Hygiene presentations and proposals, undated
  • Goals - 1979-1982
  • Catalog material - 1964-1976
  • Department Heads - 1956-1970
  • Department Heads - 1971-1982
  • Department Heads - 1983-1995
  • Graduate program directors - 1968-1992
  • Faculty correspondence - 1960-1995
  • Faculty meeting minutes (2 folders) - 1977-1991
  • Box 4:
  • Faculty qualifications and demographics - 1969-1991
  • Personnel file: Biller, Ilene - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Brine, Pauline - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Buchanan, Sally - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Burns, Janet - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Damon, Meffie - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Eldridge, Janis - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Davis, Catherine C. - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Edd, Pamela - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Graham, Suellen - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Hall, Barbara - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Jacobsen, Glenn - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Jenny, Joanna - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Jepsen, Karen - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Lancial, Lynette - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: McLeran, Hermine Hayden - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Maxant, Judith - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Miller-Eldridge, Julie - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Newell, Helen [includes photos] - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Oldsen, Evelyn - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Pelton, Beth - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Rowe, Dorothy Jean - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Schwindt, Sharon - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Scott, Lois - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Sisty-LePeau, Nancy - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Taylor, Marjorie - 1964-1991
  • Personnel file: Tilliss, Terri - 1964-1991
  • Retreats/research sessions - 1977-1987
  • Box 5:
  • Grants and contracts index - 1966-1994
  • Grants and contracts - 1966-1976
  • Grants and contracts - 1967-1971
  • Grants and contracts - 1970-1971
  • Grants and contracts (2 folders) - 1970-1977
  • Grants and contracts - 1971-1972
  • Grants and contracts - 1972
  • Grants and contracts - 1972-1973
  • Grants and contracts - 1972-1992
  • Grants and contracts - 1976
  • Box 6:
  • Grants and contracts - 1977
  • Grants and contracts - 1978, 1985
  • Grants and contracts - 1983
  • Grants and contracts - 1985
  • Grants and contracts (3 folders) - 1987
  • Grants and contracts - 1990
  • Grants and contracts - 1994
  • Sub-Series: Experimental Expanded Function Study
  • Box 6:
  • Experimental Expanded Function Study background materials - 1951-1987
  • Box 7:
  • Experimental Expanded Function Study background materials - 1951-1987
  • Experimental Study general correspondence - 1971-1974
  • Experimental Study general correspondence - 1973-1979
  • Experimental Study Kellogg Foundation correspondence - 1971-1979
  • Experimental Study origin - 1969-1972
  • Experimental Study personnel - 1971-1975
  • Responses to Experimental Study - 1972-1974
  • Experimental Study Advisory Committee meetings - 1972
  • Box 8:
  • Experimental Study Advisory Committee meetings (2 folders) - 1975
  • Experimental Study Origin Budget worksheets - 1971-1976
  • United States Public Health Service supplemental grant - 1972
  • United States Public Health Service Continuation grants - 1972
  • United States Public Health Service Continuation grants - 1973-1974
  • United States Public Health Service Continuation grants - 1974-1975
  • United States Public Health Service Continuation grants - 1975-1976
  • United States Public Health Service Continuation grants renewal - 1976
  • Kellogg Foundation annual reports - 1972
  • Box 9:
  • Kellogg Foundation annual reports - 1974
  • Kellogg Foundation annual reports - 1975
  • Kellogg Foundation supplemental grants - 1973
  • Kellogg Foundation supplemental grants - 1975
  • Evaluation of student performance (2 folders) - 1977
  • Student evaluation program - 1973-1974
  • Student placement - 1974-1976
  • Human subjects correspondence - 1969-1976
  • Proposal to expand research - 1975-1976
  • Final report - 1976
  • Reports and publications - 1972-1978
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 9:
  • Publications and presentations - 1974-1986
  • Publications and presentations - 1976-1980
  • Box 10:
  • Publications and presentations - 1981-1988
  • Publications and presentations - 1982
  • Publications and presentations - 1989-1990
  • Publications and presentations - 1994
  • Computerized clinical evaluation, undated
  • Developmental leaves - 1979-1982
  • Baccalaureate conferences: First conference (3 folders) - 1975
  • Baccalaureate conferences, Correspondence - 1976
  • Baccalaureate conferences: Purpose and outcome - 1975
  • Box 11:
  • Baccalaureate conferences: Second conference (2 folders) - 1976
  • Baccalaureate conferences: Final outcome - 1976
  • Baccalaureate conferences: Related materials - 1977-1980
  • Referral Study: Background reading - 1977-1984
  • Referral Study: Design - 1981-1983
  • Referral Study: Sample and analysis - 1983
  • Box 12:
  • Referral Study: Findings - 1984
  • Research conference: Planning - 1986-1987
  • Research conference: Conference materials - 1987
  • Research conference: Presentations, undated
  • Research conference: Post-conference correspondence and evaluation - 1987
  • Reports and proposals: Annual reports (2 folders) - 1953-1989
  • Box 13:
  • Reports and proposals: Post-certificate re-entry study - 1990
  • Reports and proposals: Long range planning - 1976-1986
  • Reports and proposals: Reallocation proposals - 1986-1988
  • Reports and proposals: Strategic plan - 1989-1990
  • Reports and proposals: Financial reports (3 folders) - 1968-1990
  • Reports and proposals: Pew National Dental Education proposal - 1987
  • Accreditation reports - 1955, 1959
  • Accreditation reports - 1965-1966
  • Box 14:
  • Accreditation reports - 1966-1982
  • Accreditation reports (2 folders) - 1973
  • Accreditation reports - 1978
  • Accreditation reports - 1980
  • Box 15:
  • Accreditation reports - 1980
  • Accreditation reports - 1982
  • Accreditation reports (2 folders) - 1983
  • Accreditation reports - 1984-1985
  • Accreditation reports - 1985-1986
  • Accreditation reports - 1986-88
  • Accreditation reports - 1989-90
  • Accreditation reports - 1990-95
  • Box 16:
  • Accreditation Appendix: Course outlines (2 folders) - 1987-1989
  • Accreditation Appendix: Faculty professional biographies - 1988
  • Accreditation Appendix: Evaluations and continuing education - 1988
  • Accreditation Appendix: Exams - 1987-1988
  • Self-study reports: Accreditation standards - 1989
  • Box 17:
  • Self-study reports: Auxiliary course outlines - 1989
  • Graduate program - 1964-1968
  • Graduate program - 1974
  • Graduate program (2 folders) - 1983
  • Graduate program - 1985
  • Graduate program - 1989-1990
  • Graduate program: Position paper, undated
  • Professional service - 1965-1993
  • Box 18:
  • Professional service - 1975-1987
  • Staff job procedures (2 folders) - 1963-1993
  • Series 4: CURRICULUM
  • Sub-Series: Undergraduate
  • Box 18:
  • Goals - 1969-1994
  • Design - 1970-1990
  • Overviews - 1975
  • Scheduling - 1975-1985
  • Course descriptions - 1994
  • Texts and reading lists - 1971-1994
  • Summer program: Calendar and correspondence - 1978-1984
  • Summer program: Course outlines - 1982-1985
  • Box 19:
  • Research component - 1990-1991
  • Non-departmental courses: Anatomy, anesthesiology - 1969-1990
  • Non-departmental courses: Animal biology - 1969-1987
  • Non-departmental courses: Biostatistics - 1970-1996
  • Non-departmental courses: Chemistry - 1982
  • Non-departmental courses: Ethics, geriatrics - 1981-1992
  • Non-departmental courses: Head and neck anatomy - 1979-1990
  • Non-departmental courses: Media course, microbiology - 1967-1990
  • Non-departmental courses: Nutrition - 1967-1988
  • Non-departmental courses: Oral pathology, oral histology - 1987
  • Non-departmental courses: Periodontics - 1980-1993
  • Non-departmental courses: Pharmacology - 1976-1988
  • Non-departmental courses: Physical education, physiology - 1963-1986
  • Non-departmental courses: Radiology - 1974-1990
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental History - 1956
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental anatomy - 1980-1992
  • Box 20:
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core I - 1971-1972
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core I - 1972-1973
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core I - 1983-1984
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core I - 1991-1994
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core II - 1972-1973
  • Departmental clinical courses: Dental hygiene core II - 1973-1994
  • Departmental clinical courses: Manuals - 1986
  • Departmental clinical courses: Manuals - 1988
  • Departmental clinical courses: Senior seminar - 1975-1995
  • Box 21:
  • Departmental clinical courses: Senior clinical course (2 folders) - 1978-1993
  • Departmental clinical courses: Clinical Concepts of Dental Hygiene Practice - 1972-1973
  • Departmental clinical courses: Clinical Concepts of Dental Hygiene Practice pre-1994 (2 folders) - 1974-1993
  • Box 22:
  • Departmental clinical courses: Clinical Concepts of Dental Hygiene Practice (2 folders) - 1994-1995
  • Departmental clinical courses: Senior clinical manual - 1973
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Quizzes and assignments - 1967-1991
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Clinical competency exam, undated
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Table clinic projects - 1985-1995
  • Box 23:
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Complex treatment planning and treatment outcomes assessment - 1984-1994
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Clinical evaluation forms - 1964-1995
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Student perceptions - 1982-1984
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Evaluations, undated
  • Departmental clinical courses: Student evaluation, Rotation evaluation forms - 1958-1972
  • Faculty scheduling and correspondence - 1977-1994
  • Faculty clinical manual - 1981-1987
  • Patient services: Brochures and handouts - 1975-1992
  • Patient services: Correspondence and publicity - 1963-1994
  • Community health: General - 1975-1993
  • Community health: Schedules - 1974-1995
  • Community health: Forms - 1978-1982
  • Box 24:
  • Community health: Seminar and Practicum combined course - 1972-1975
  • Community health: Seminar outlines - 1974-1986
  • Community health: Seminar evaluations - 1974-1995
  • Community health: Practicum course materials (2 folders) - 1974-1995
  • Community health: Practicum assignments - 1982-1992
  • Community health: Practicum syllabus - 1994-1995
  • Community health: Practicum evaluation
  • Community health: Service to individuals - 1980-1995
  • Community health: Service to groups - 1974-1995
  • Box 25:
  • Community health: Service to groups - 1974-1995
  • Sub-Series: Graduate
  • Box 25:
  • Curriculum design - 1974-1990
  • Courses: Student projects - 1968-1975
  • Courses: Syllabi - 1965-1988
  • Courses: Manual for teaching manual dexterity, undated
  • Courses: Dental Hygiene Literature Review - 1976-1991
  • Courses: Social Factors in Oral Health - 1976-1981
  • Courses: Independent study - 1989
  • Courses: Evaluation of Dental Hygiene Research - 1979-1990
  • Courses: Health Services Administration - 1989
  • Courses: Research Methods - 1989
  • Box 26:
  • Comprehensive exams - 1966-1975
  • Research and theses: Summary information - 1966-1990
  • Series 5: STUDENTS
  • Sub-Series: Recruitment
  • Box 26:
  • Brochures - 1986
  • Committee - 1988-1990
  • Correspondence - 1958-1990
  • Planning: General materials - 1968-1991
  • Planning: Pre-dental hygiene social - 1980
  • Planning: Alumnae recruiters notebook - 1989
  • Planning: Correspondence with Iowa colleges and dentists - 1971-1990
  • Recommended courses for transfer students: Four year institutions - 1988-1989
  • Recommended courses for transfer students: Two year institutions - 1987-1990
  • Recommended courses for transfer students: Illinois two year institutions - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Admissions
  • Box 26:
  • Criteria - 1982-1991
  • Process - 1955-1994
  • Committee - 1963-1993
  • Graduate - 1975-1992
  • Registration - 1963-1994
  • Graduate registration - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Advising
  • Box 26:
  • Faculty advising (2 folders) - 1954-1993
  • Sub-Series: Enrollment
  • Box 26:
  • University of Iowa data - 1953-1993
  • UI Dental hygiene undergraduate demographics - 1967
  • UI Graduate data - 1959-1962
  • National data - 1959-1962
  • Sub-Series: Student life organizations
  • Box 26:
  • Officer lists - 1981-1995
  • Student American Dental Hygienists Association (SADHA) - 1966-1983
  • Box 28:
  • Student American Dental Hygienists Association (SADHA) (2 folders) - 1984-1994
  • Expense registers - 1984
  • Big Sisters/Little Sisters - 1978-1994
  • American Dental Hygienists Association (ADHA) District VIII Student-Faculty Conference (2 folders) - 1990-1991
  • Iowa Student Member Organization (of ADHA) - 1977-1985
  • Iowa Student Member Organization (of ADHA) - 1985-1990
  • Sigma Phi Alpha - 1966
  • Alpha Kappa Gamma - 1954-1990
  • Box 29:
  • Alpha Kappa Gamma - 1954-1990
  • General University newspaper clippings - 1955-1987
  • General University scrapbook
  • General University scrapbook - 1953-1959
  • General University Selected scrapbook items [photocopies] - 1953-1979
  • Box 49:
  • Alpha Kappa Gamma scrapbook
  • Sub-Series: Student life, Financial aid and costs
  • Box 29:
  • General information - 1963-1992
  • Box 30:
  • Dental hygiene fund - 1984-1992
  • Helen Newell Memorial Fund - 1970-1995
  • Patricia Heichel Frajman Award - 1983-1991
  • Wettach-Halverson Scholarship - 1991-1995
  • Susan McGinnis Memorial - 1976-1991
  • John and Louise Roalson Scholarship - 1989-1992
  • Oral B. Scholarship - 1965-1971
  • Iowa Dental Hygienists Association - 1986-1995
  • Wylene Feick Memorial Loan - 1967-1969
  • Womens Auxiliary Loan Fund - 1967-1971
  • Attendance costs - 1962-1991
  • Graduate costs - 1974-1991
  • Teaching Assistantship - 1979-1991
  • Academic Performance committee - 1968-1991
  • Sub-Series: Awards
  • Box 30:
  • General - 1976-1992
  • Felecia Wix Memorial Award - 1983-1995
  • Helen Newell Achievement Award - 1985-1995
  • Sub-Series: Commencement/Convocation
  • Box 31:
  • General materials - 1959-1995
  • Professional Pin - 1988-1995
  • Addresses - 1983-1994
  • Programs (2 folders) - 1955-1995
  • Series 6: ALUMNI
  • Box 31:
  • General correspondence - 1980-1984
  • Graduate program alumni - 1971-1992
  • Newspaper clippings - 1958-1994
  • Newsletters - 1960-1995
  • Iowa Dental Bulletin - 1970-1974
  • Continuing education - 1960-1992
  • Meetings - 1984-1992
  • Faculty/Alumni correspondence - 1956-1993
  • Box 32:
  • Faculty/Alumni correspondence (2 folders) - 1956-1993
  • Awards and honors - 1970, 1984, 1993
  • Surveys (2 folders) - 1966-1985
  • Employment - 1956-1993
  • Series 7: DENTAL HYGIENE PROFESSION
  • Sub-Series: History
  • Box 32:
  • Early Dental Hygiene Curriculum - 1913-1965
  • United States Department of Health booklets - 1966-1967
  • United States Department of Health: Interview with Dr. Robert J. Collins, (date)
  • Iowa State Health Department Brochure - 1973
  • Articles and research: National Levels of Education for Dental Hygiene Faculty - 1963
  • Articles and research: "A Place for Dental Hygiene Education" - 1967
  • Articles and research: Northwest (Chicago) Dental Study Club survey - 1968
  • Articles and research: "Assessment of Dental Hygiene Faculty Manpower Needs" - 1973
  • Articles and research: ". . .Dental Practice in the Year 2000" - 1975
  • Box 33:
  • Articles and research: "Professional Socialization in Dental Hygiene Education" - 1977
  • Articles and research: "Perceived Differences and Distinguishing Characteristics Between 2 year and Baccalaureate DH programs" - 1981
  • Articles and research: "Dental Hygiene's Concerns from one perspective" - 1982
  • Articles and research: "Issues Arising from Growth Patterns in DH ed." - 1985
  • Articles and research: "Dental Hygiene Education: The case for currently" - 1990
  • Newspaper clippings - 1990-1991
  • Sub-Series: American Dental Hygiene Association conferences, workshops and reports
  • Box 33:
  • History of the American Dental Hygiene Association - 1923-1953
  • Conference on Trends in Dental Hygiene Education - 1955
  • Third workshop on Dental Hygiene (2 folders) - 1955
  • Fourth workshop on Dental Hygiene - 1961
  • Workshop on Dental Hygiene education and licensure - 1964
  • Box 34:
  • Workshop on Dental Hygiene education and licensure - 1964
  • Committee on Dental Hygiene Education (2 folders) - 1964-1972
  • Workshop for Dental Hygiene educators - 1967
  • Conferences for Dental Hygiene educators (2 folders) - 1964-1972
  • Correspondence - 1965-1993
  • Box 35:
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1968-1990
  • Long range planning - 1967-1977
  • District X meeting minutes - 1967
  • Policies on Dental Hygiene education - 1991-1993
  • Position statements - 1968-1971
  • Regional Consultants' workshops - 1969-1975
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Curriculum - 1970
  • Community Dental Health Teachers' Institute - 1972
  • Proposal for Program for Dental Hygiene educators - 1973
  • Box 36:
  • American Dental Hygiene Association Career options approach to dental education - 1973
  • Educational Assessment Project - 1974
  • Workshop on Dental Auxiliary Expanded Functions (2 folders) - 1976
  • Conferences on Dental Assisting and Dental Hygiene (2 folders) - 1978
  • Box 37:
  • Distinguished Dental Hygienists - 1982
  • Conference on Dental Hygiene research - 1982
  • Practice of Dental Hygiene in Canada: Report - 1986
  • Ninth annual International Symposium on Dental Hygiene - 1983
  • Proposal for Improved Access to Preventative Dental Care - 1983
  • Issues arising from Growth Patterns in Dental Hygiene education, undated
  • Dental Hygiene education workshops (2 folders) - 1984-1989
  • National Agenda on Dental Hygiene Research (2 folders) - 1984
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene education - 1984
  • Box 38:
  • Self-regulation reports - 1985-1986
  • Utilization of dental hygienists in institutional settings - 1986
  • Articulation: Alliances for the future - 1987
  • Educational Standards Task Force (2 folders) - 1987
  • Recruitment conferences - 1988-1989
  • Health manpower pilot project - 1987-1989
  • Box 39:
  • Report on the status of health personnel in the United States
  • Manpower special committee - 1989
  • District VIII strategic plans - 1989-1990
  • 67th Annual Session - 1990
  • Dental Hygiene Education Program Study - 1990-1991
  • Policies on education - 1991-1993
  • Report on Dental Hygiene Education costs - 1994
  • Retention of Dental Hygienists in the Workforce - 1992
  • Theory Development Panel - 1993
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Dental Hygienists Association conferences, workshops and reports
  • Box 39:
  • Constitution - 1962
  • Membership Lists - 1967-1986
  • Workshop - 1972
  • Legislative Involvement
  • Sub-Series: American Dental Association conferences, workshops and reports
  • Box 39:
  • Legislative Involvement - 1985-1986
  • Legislative Involvement - 1987-1989
  • Standards Development - 1990-1994
  • Box 40:
  • Positions - 1965
  • Correspondence - 1965-1995
  • Faculty contributions: Activities reports - 1989-1990
  • Dental students' register - 1958-1967
  • Dental Hygiene Program Lists - 1951-1982
  • Dental Hygiene Education Cost Study Report - 1978
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Requirements/standards - 1947-1992
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Brochures, undated
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Data on Dental Hygiene enrollment - 1962
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Policies and guidelines for the training of dental auxiliaries - 1966
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Manual of evaluation procedures - 1966, 1980
  • Box 41:
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: List of accredited programs - 1994
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Correspondence and reports (2 folders) - 1967-1994
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Manual of Policies and procedures for Dental Auxiliary Consultants - 1976
  • Accreditation of Dental Hygiene programs: Helen Newell letter re: accreditation standards - 1964
  • Sub-Series: American Association of Dental Schools
  • Box 41:
  • Report - 1985-1992
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 41:
  • Dental Hygiene aptitude testing pilot study - 1956
  • Graduate Dental Hygiene data - 1966-1995
  • Box 42:
  • Degree completion programs - 1984-1995
  • Data on Iowa's licensed hygienists and dental workforce - 1966, 1972
  • Comparison of Dental services, urban and rural Iowa - 1968
  • Division of Health Affairs - 1972, 1985
  • Newspaper clipping, undated
  • Entry-level recommendations - 1985
  • "Thoughts on Dentistry" - 1987
  • Articulation programming - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Board of Dental Examiners and Iowa Dental Association
  • Box 42:
  • Manpower data - 1989-1990
  • Sub-Series: Licensure
  • Box 42:
  • Statistics: Licensed hygienists in Iowa - 1966-1967
  • Correspondence - 1982-1988
  • Credentialing: Guidelines for continuing education - 1976
  • Credentialing: Academic freedom - 1989
  • Credentialing: Dental Practice Act - 1966-1967
  • Credentialing: Licensure
  • Dental Practice Act - 1966-1967
  • Statutory definition of the practice of dental hygiene - 1962-1967
  • Rules of the Iowa State Board of Dentistry - 1967
  • Legislativeaction packet - 1985
  • Local anesthesia - 1988-1989
  • Audiocassette: Wisconsin Dental Association Presidents message [AC: ]
  • Sub-Series: National Board
  • Box 42:
  • History - 1976-1980
  • Pilot tests - 1959-1960
  • Box 43:
  • Released Exams - 1965-1988
  • Performance evaluations (2 folders) - 1962-1996
  • Performance analyses - 1971-1974
  • Attrition rates - 1971-1972
  • Dental hygiene committee Chairman's report - 1975
  • Dental hygiene directors' conference report - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Regional/state boards
  • Box 43:
  • Correspondence - 1977-1994
  • Correspondence - 1986
  • Commission of Education Regulation - 1959
  • Performance evaluations - 1962-1977
  • Performance evaluations - 1978-1996
  • Performance evaluations - 1979-1985
  • Requirements and registration - 1969-1989
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 44:
  • Photographs (2 folders) - 1950-1969
  • Photographic displays - 1972
  • Photographs (5 folders) - 1970-1989
  • Box 45:
  • Photographs (4 folders) - 1990-1995
  • Slides (15 folders) - 1968-1984
  • Box 46:
  • Slides (13 folders) - 1985-1989
  • Box 47:
  • Slides (7 folders) - 1990-1995
  • Box 48:
  • Class photographs (4 folders) - 1954-1995
  • Series 9: THESES
  • Box 48:
  • Lorna J. Bonnet, "Predictive Analysis of the Dental Hygiene Aptitude Testing Program as Compared with other Indices of Scholastic Aptitude" - 1966
  • Mary Dunn Brown, "Identification of Behaviors Considered Effective Administration of Dental School Department Chairmen" - 1972
  • M. Diane Curl, "A Comparative Study of Dental Hygiene Educational Environments and Student Preferences" - 1966
  • Mary Kathryn Dunn, "Student Evaluation of Instruction, Understanding, and Integration in Baccalaureate Dental Hygiene Programs" - 1967
  • Jill Louise Hewett, "A Survey of Psycho-Social Characteristics of Students in Two-Year Programs of Dental Hygiene" - 1967
  • Nanette L. Little, "Characteristics and Role Perceptions of Baccalaureate Dental Hygiene Programs in the United States" - 1977
  • Kathleen M. Lukken, "Survey and Evaluation of Dental Hygienists' Role in State Departments of Health" - 1975
  • Dorothy J. Rowe, "Prevalence and Extent of Alveolar Bone Loss on Mesial Surfaces on Left Mandibular First Molars in 15 and 19 Year-Olds" - 1968
  • Series 10: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 50:
  • Iowa Dental Hygienist Clinicians Trophy
  • Pins - 1984
  • Carved wax teeth
  • Box 51:
  • Instructional skull
  • Audiocassettes
  • Jerome Lysaught, "Implications of need for Change in Baccalaureate Dental Hygiene Education: Characteristics of Growth or Deterioration of a Profession," May 10 [AC1080] - 1976
  • Larry Hornsby, "Role of Behavioral and Social Sciences in Health Care Provision," side one; David Chambers, "Objectives of the Second Conference Explanation of Conference Agenda," side two, May 10 [AC1081] - 1976
  • J. Larry Hornsby and Nancy Sisty, "Presentation of Behavioral Science: Curriculum Model," May 11 [AC1082] - 1976
  • James Clark, "How Could the Behavioral and Social Sciences Significantly Influence Future of Baccalaureate Dental hygiene," May 10 [AC1083] - 1976
  • David Chambers, "Analyses of Educational Challenges and Decisions--Planning for Positive Change," side one; James Clark and Martha Fales, "Presentation of Public Health Curriculum Model," side two, May 11 [AC1084] - 1976
  • David Chambers, "Methods of Implementation: Basic Factors to Consider in Curriculum Development," May 12 [AC1085] - 1976
  • Margaret Ryan, "Implications of Accreditation Policy and of ADA Expanded Function Workshop On Implementation of Curriculum Models: Council on Education," May 12 [AC1086] - 1976
  • Martha Fales, "Presentation of Position Paper and Summary of Actions Proceedings of Conference Deliberations to Date," May 13 Final Discussion [AC1087] - 1976
  • Community Term Application Session--Head Start [AC1088]
  • Keynote Speaker, Second National Dental Hygiene Research Conference (side B) [AC1089-1090]
  • Videocassettes
  • Dental Hygiene Class of '89 [V325] - 1989
  • Dental Hygiene Class of '95 [V326] - 1995
  • Dental Hygiene at the University of Iowa: A Career on the Move [V327] - 1987
  • ADHA District VII Students, "Your Voice Counts" [V328] - 1993
  • Health Beat with Dean Borg, Beth Pelton, Rinses and Oral Hygiene [V329] - 1988
  • Health Beat with Dean Borg, Beth Pelton, Choosing a Toothbrush and Nancy Lepeau, Food for Healthy Teeth [V330]
  • UI Dental Hygiene Credit- Video spot announcements by Dental Hygiene seniors [V331]
  • Non-traditional Hygiene Practice: Vigil of Jenny Fay waiting for dental care [homebound chronically ill patients [V332]
  • 88:105, Fall '90 Student Presentations: Conflict Management Assignment [V333] - 1990