Guide to the Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1993
Creator: Grow, Esther Mae Christensen (1891-1993)
Extent: 38.00 pages.
Collection Number: IWA0210
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Reflections on growing up in western Iowa and Nebraska include experiences in country school, college and as a teacher.

Administrative Information

Arrangement: One folder shelved in SCVF.

Access: The memoir is open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The memoir (donor no. 292) was donated by Sally Kenney in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Esther Mae Christensen Grow was born in 1891 to Andrew and Mary Christensen, two Danish immigrants. She and her eight siblings grew up on several farms in western Iowa and Nebraska. At sixteen, she passed the state teacher's examinations and began teaching in a one-room country school. After four years as a social worker in Chicago and Omaha, Grow returned to Iowa and received her college degree from Iowa State Teacher's College (now the University of Northern Iowa). During the time she was a teacher and a principal in an Iowa consolidated high school, Grow married and had four children.


Content Description

The Esther Mae Christensen Grow memoir, written circa 1993, is 38 pages in length and is made up of seven essays and seven poems.  The essays describe Grow's family, her childhood, and her experiences in country school, in college, and as a teacher.  The memoir was transcribed by Grow's granddaughter, Sally Kenney.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Grow, Esther Mae Christensen, 1891-1993

Corporate Names:
Iowa State Teachers College

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
Rural schools
Twentieth century
Family life
Farm life
Rural families
Rural girls
Women in education
Danish American women

Occupations:
College students
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Nebraska

Genre/Form of Materials:
Memoirs

Family Names:
Grow family

Browse:
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories
Rural and Farm Women
Teachers and Teaching