Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Erin Rollenhagen papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1994-1995
Creator: Rollenhagen, Erin
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0209
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Ames middle-school student who helped organize a protest against sexist Hooters restaurant t-shirts being worn at her school. Her account of the incident and the subsequent public forum on free speech, dress code, and sexism was published in Seventeen magazine.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 291) were donated by Erin Rollenhagen in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Erin Rollenhagen papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

As an eighth-grader in Ames Middle School in Ames, Iowa, Erin Rollenhagen spoke out against sexism in her school. In response to the Hooters restaurant t-shirts the boys in her school were wearing, which showed an owl whose eyes resembled women's breasts and the words "More than a Mouthful" written on the back, Rollenhagen and several friends created their own parody t-shirts, "Cocks--Nothing to Crow About," with the graphic of a rooster on the front. Several of the Ames students were suspended when they refused to turn the "Cocks" shirts inside-out while they are at school. Eventually both shirts were banned from the school, and the suspended students were allowed back to school. The incident received national attention and Rollenhagen was asked to write an account for Seventeen magazine.

The Erin Rollenhagen papers date from 1994 to 1995 and measure 1 linear inch. The collection contains photographs, newspaperclippings, correspondence, and one of the t-shirts from Rollenhagen's campaignagainst sexist t-shirts in their school. Several drafts of the article Rollenhagen wrote about the incident for Seventeen magazine are also included.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rollenhagen, Erin

Corporate Names:
Ames Middle School (Ames, Iowa)

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
Sexism
Schoolgirls
Schoolboys
Freedom of speech
Dress codes

Occupations:
Middle school students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Ames

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Photographs
Personal papers
Correspondence