Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Constance Frick Irwin papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1918-1995
Creator: Irwin, Constance Frick (1913-1995)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0208
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Author, librarian, and professor of library science who was a WAVE during World War II.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in boxes 29 and 30.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Constance Frick Irwin papers (donor no. 289) were donated by  William A. Irwin in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Constance Frick Irwin papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Author, librarian and university professor, Constance Henrietta Frick was born in Evansville, Indiana, in 1913 to Herman and Wilhelmina (Minnie) Lauenstein Frick. She grew up in a large household and enjoyed life as a young child playing with her brother and cousins or accompanying her grandmother on errands in a horse drawn carriage.

In 1930 Frick earned a scholarship to attend Indiana University (IU). Because of financial hardship she missed one semester, but by finishing three semesters work in two she graduated with her class in 1934. During the economic depression Frick had difficulty finding a job until she was hired as bookstore clerk in Evansville. Frick obtained a position as a librarian and journalism instructor in an Indianapolis suburb high school. She eventually landed the same position in her hometown of Evansville. In 1942 after taking summer classes she earned her M.A. in English literature and began writing. Frick's first book was her master's thesis The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan published by both the Cornell University Press and Oxford University Press in 1943 (Box 13: Writings, For adults, Books, Published). Frick volunteered for the Women's Naval Reserve on the day its organization was announced in 1942. Lieutenant Frick served on active duty until December 1945. She spent a year earning a library science degree from Columbia University in New York before returning to her previous employment in Evansville in 1947.

In 1954 Constance Frick Irwin married William R. Irwin, a State University of Iowa (later University of Iowa) English professor. In Iowa City Irwin continued her writing and also taught for four years at the Library School from 1963 to 1967. Irwin died in 1995 at the age of 82.

The Constance Frick Irwin papers date from 1918 to 1995 and measure 11.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in six series: Biographical information, Librarianship, Writings, United States WAVES, Photographs, and Artifacts.

The Biographical information series (1921-1995) provides insight into Irwin's interests apart from her professional work. One of her interests was ceramics. She helped found the Hoosier Craft Guild (Box 1: Biographical information, Clubs and organizations, Hoosier Craft Guild). Irwin's autobiographical sketches tell of the importance of her family and education in shaping the writer she became. Irwin's personal correspondence comprises the bulk of this series, containing mostly family letters in the earlier years and fan mail from her readers in the 1960s and 1970s.

The Librarianship series (1934-1967) documents Irwin's work as a high school librarian in Indiana and her professorship at the State University of Iowa Library School.

The Writings series (1927-1991) is the largest series in the collection. The series contains Irwin's lifetime of literary works. She wrote for both children and adults. The topics ranged from legends to the news of the day. In addition to manuscripts the series includes correspondence.

The United States WAVES series (1942-1954) chronicles Irwin's life in the Navy during World War II. The correspondence with family and friends provides a personal view of the period. Stationed in Washington, D.C., Irwin was an eyewitness to life in the capital. Her vivid descriptions in letters to her parents are full of sights and sounds of Washington during the war years.

The Photographs series (1918-1970) contains portraits and snapshots of Irwin from childhood through adulthood and pictures from her travels to New York, Mexico and Europe.

The Artifacts include a WAVES hat and numerous small pins, medals, and awards Irwin received.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: LIBRARIANSHIP
Series 3: WRITINGS
Series 4: UNITED STATES WAVES
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 6: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Sub-Series: Autobiographical sketches
  • Box 1:
  • General, undated
  • Literary - 1977, 1993
  • Sub-Series: Bible class lectures
  • Box 1:
  • Bible class lectures - 1933
  • Sub-Series: Biographical sketch of Herman C. Frick (father)
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical sketch of Herman C. Frick (father), undated
  • Sub-Series: Board game idea "Dummy"
  • Box 1:
  • Board game idea "Dummy" - 1948-1949
  • Sub-Series: Clubs and organizations
  • Box 1:
  • American Association of University Women - 1938-1942
  • The Hoosier Craft Guild - 1948-1951
  • Delta Kappa Gamma - 1950, 1967-1982
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Announcements - 1974-1976
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Award certificates - 1976
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: By-laws - 1978-1979
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: History - 1964, 1977
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Membership invitation - 1963-1964
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Program guides - 1965-1982
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Talks: Library research - 1975, 1981
  • The Iowa City branch of the National League of American Pen Women, Inc.: Talks: On writing - 1942-1944, 1973-1974
  • Iowa City Norwegian Society, Gloria Dei Lutheran Church: Norsemen speech, undated
  • Nineteenth Century Club (Iowa City): Program guides - 1976-1983
  • Nineteenth Century Club (Iowa City): Talks: Early Iowa history - 1986
  • Nineteenth Century Club (Iowa City): Talks: "People of Poland" - 1985
  • Box 2:
  • Nineteenth Century Club (Iowa City): Talks: "Sidelights on History" - 1995
  • Nineteenth Century Club (Iowa City): Talks: "Sidelights on Russia" - 1979
  • Sons of Norway Lodge 548, Cedar Rapids, Iowa: Turk-Fest speech, October 1 - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 2:
  • Chronological - 1921, 1923
  • Chronological - 1930-1941
  • Chronological - 1946
  • Chronological - 1947-1949
  • Chronological - 1950-1955
  • Chronological - 1956-1959
  • Box 3:
  • Chronological - 1960-1962
  • Chronological - 1963-1964
  • Chronological - 1965-1969
  • Chronological - 1970-1973
  • Chronological - 1974
  • Box 4:
  • Chronological - 1975-1979
  • Chronological - 1980-1988
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 4:
  • High school papers, undated
  • Post-secondary: Columbia University transcript - 1947
  • Post-secondary: Course work: "A.B. Degree--So What?," undated
  • Post-secondary: Course work: Book arts term paper, undated
  • Post-secondary: Course work: "Ceramics: a discussion of reference material suitable for a library in a ceramics factory" - 1947
  • Post-secondary: Course work: Library service - 1946-1947
  • Post-secondary: Course work: Literary criticism - 1937
  • Post-secondary: Course work: Victorian literature - 1939-1940
  • Post-secondary: Commencement program and invitations - 1934, 1941
  • Post-secondary: Scrapbook - 1934
  • Sub-Series: Fulbright trip to Germany
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence: January-March - 1959
  • Correspondence: April-June - 1959
  • Correspondence: July-September - 1959
  • Correspondence: October-December - 1959
  • Correspondence: January-March - 1960
  • Correspondence: April-June - 1960
  • Correspondence: July-September - 1960
  • Lauenstein family reunion information - 1958-1959
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 5:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1931-1959
  • Sub-Series: Obituary
  • Box 5:
  • Obituary - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Passports
  • Box 5:
  • Passports - 1958-1987
  • Series 2: LIBRARIANSHIP
  • Box 5:
  • High school librarian: "Handbook for Student Librarians at Reitz High School" Indianapolis, Indiana, undated
  • High school librarian: Job inquiries - 1934-1936
  • Box 6:
  • High school librarian: Speeches - 1939-1953
  • High school librarian: "A Survey of the Evansville College Library" - 1947
  • High school librarian: Teaching license - 1938-1949
  • High school librarian: "A Vertical File for Beech Grove," undated
  • Associate professor of library science, State University of Iowa: Curriculum vitae and faculty personnel data - 1963-1967
  • Associate professor of library science, SUI: History of the book and libraries: Course outline - 1964-1967
  • Associate professor of library science, SUI: History of the book and libraries: Lecture notes, undated
  • Associate professor of library science, SUI: List of courses taught at the State University of Iowa - 1965-1967
  • Associate professor of library science, SUI: Library workshop for public and school librarians - 1961
  • Associate professor of library science, SUI: Proposed masters of arts program in library science - 1967
  • Series 3: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: For juveniles: Articles and short stories
  • Box 6:
  • "Beneath the Hood," undated
  • "The Editor," undated
  • "Early All-American" - 1941
  • "Frazier: The Tale of a Lion for Young and Old" - 1972
  • "The Little Dog That Purred": Critiques - 1949
  • "The Little Dog That Purred": Manuscripts - 1949, 1969
  • "Monkey," undated
  • "Moral Victory" - 1927
  • "The Panama Hat," undated
  • "Pansy" - 1941
  • "Something About a Camel" - 1959
  • "With Mingled Seed" - 1941
  • Sub-Series: Children's books
  • Box 7:
  • "Comeback Guy " - 1961
  • "Comeback Guy ": Working draft, undated
  • "Comeback Guy ": Galley proofs - 1961
  • "Comeback Guy ": Reviews - 1961
  • "Five Against the Odds" - 1955
  • "Five Against the Odds": Handwritten draft - 1954
  • "Five Against the Odds": Manuscript - 1956
  • "Five Against the Odds": Reviews - 1955-1956
  • "Jonathan D." - 1959
  • "Jonathan D.": Correspondence with publishers - 1953-1959
  • "Jonathan D.": First draft and revisions - 1953-1958
  • "Jonathan D.": Picture book - 1959
  • Box 8:
  • "Patch" - 1957
  • "Patch": Manuscript - 1957
  • "Patch": Reviews - 1957-1959
  • "Tourney Team" - 1954
  • "Tourney Team": Correspondence: Fan letters - 1954, 1971
  • "Tourney Team": Correspondence: Publishers - 1951-1954
  • "Tourney Team": Handwritten draft, undated
  • "Tourney Team": Illustrations, undated
  • "Tourney Team": Manuscript - 1952]
  • "Tourney Team": Reviews - 1954-1955
  • Sub-Series: Poems
  • Box 8:
  • Poems, undated
  • Sub-Series: For adults: Articles: Factual
  • Box 9:
  • "A. E. Housman," undated
  • "Andy Jackson's Red-Haired Mother" - 1957
  • "Jehudi Ashman," undated
  • "Bugaboo Back Again" - 1938
  • "Chickens Pointing Inward," undated
  • "The Citizen, His Privileges and Duties Under the Constitution," undated
  • "Cleopatra's Needle": Correspondence with editors - 1977-1979
  • "Cleopatra's Needle": Manuscript - 1977-1978
  • "Cleopatra's Needle": Notes, undated
  • Condensed version of Edgar Snow's "Red Star Over China" - 1938
  • "Criticism in a Top Hat" - 1942
  • "Paul Dresser," undated
  • "The Fighting Lady" - 1952-1953
  • "Fighting Women of the Revolution," undated
  • "How's Your Football I.Q.?" - 1948
  • "Khomeini, Man of the Seventh Century" - 1979
  • "The Lepers Give Thanks" - 1952-1953
  • "Life in Britain" - 1979
  • "Lincoln Pioneer Park" - 1936
  • "Madam Housewife on White Bread" - 1934
  • "Magazines: The Great American Habit" - 1942
  • "The Menace of a Dying President" - 1979
  • "The Mystery of Oak Island": Correspondence - 1952-1954
  • "The Mystery of Oak Island": Manuscript, undated
  • "The Mystery of Oak Island": References and notes, undated
  • "A New Test for Gluten Strength" - 1933
  • "The Partnership of Ideas," undated
  • Box 10:
  • "The Reluctant President," undated
  • "Ships That Came to America Early" - 1972
  • "Stephani Sulamite," undated
  • "Undersea Warfare:Background of Submarining" - 1951
  • "The Viking-Age Settlement in America": Correspondence with editors - 1990-1991
  • "The Viking-Age Settlement in America": Manuscript, undated
  • "The Viking-Age Settlement in America": Notes, undated
  • "What Darwin Never Told Us" - 1981
  • "What Their Freebies Cost the Russians" - 1978
  • "Whooping Cough" - 1947-1948
  • "Why Not Subsidize Brains" - 1948-1949
  • "Year-round School Program" - 1956
  • Sub-Series: For adults: Articles: Literary
  • Box 10:
  • "Black Gold," undated
  • "The Checklist Rejection Slip" - 1952
  • "The Church of the Fearful Dragon" - 1961-1988
  • "Come September," undated
  • "Cyrano DeBergerac, Himself," undated
  • "The Dog That Came to Eat" - 1963
  • "Down By the Riverside," undated
  • "Even a Bloke" - 1941-1942
  • "Excursion" - 1948
  • "Frivolous Frank the Bear," undated
  • Box 11:
  • "Goats to the Slaughter," undated
  • "The Golden Wedding" - 1951-1953
  • "Holiday Rush" - 1938
  • "How to Dominate Your Dog" - 1953
  • Review of "I Want to be Like Stalin" translated by George S. Counts - 1948
  • "And the Land Shall Be Filled With Singing" - 1946-1949
  • "Life Among the Mugginses," undated
  • "Man With the Pipe," undated
  • "Minute Dramas in American History," undated
  • "Our Uneducated Teachers" - 1934-1935
  • "Pavane for a Dead Sailor," undated
  • "Pigeons in the Park" - 1944
  • "Preparing the Book Manuscript" - 1948
  • "Pull the Chain" - 1958
  • Review of "Martin Luther: Germany's Angry Man" by Abram Lipsky, undated
  • "Round Trip Ticket," undated
  • "Sleep Like a Dog" - 1948
  • "Saint Francis and the Wolf," undated
  • "The Swarming of the Slavs" - 1946-1951
  • "Tim Takes a Walk," undated
  • "To Elf and Valor" - 1988
  • "Tuxedo the Fearless," undated
  • "Visitors Please Note" - 1942
  • "Waiting" - 1947
  • "Where Wisdom Blossoms" - 1939-1941
  • "Your Posture is Your Figure" - 1948-1949
  • Sub-Series: For adults: Plays
  • Box 11:
  • Original untitled musical - 1968
  • Rewrites for radio: "Gods of the Mountain" by Lord Dunsany - 1941
  • Box 12:
  • Rewrites for radio: "Tamburlaine" by Christopher Marlowe - 1946
  • Rewrites for radio: "The Women" by Clare Boothe - 1943
  • Sub-Series: For adults: Poems
  • Box 12:
  • Anthology of women poets (letter of proposal), undated
  • Published works - 1932-1940
  • Published works - 1955-1956
  • Unpublished works, undated (4 folders)
  • Sub-Series: For adults: Books: Published works
  • Box 12:
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan " - 1943
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Correspondence: George Jean Nathan - 1940-1942
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Correspondence: Reprint edition - 1970-1987
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Correspondence: Master's thesis research - 1940-1942
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Manuscript of thesis: Rough draft - 1940
  • Box 13:
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Manuscript of thesis: Submitted copy - 1940
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Manuscript of thesis: Pages added for Cornell University Press - 1941
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Note cards, undated (7 folders)
  • "The Dramatic Criticism of George Jean Nathan ": Reviews - 1943
  • "Gudrid's Saga" - 1974
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Correspondence with publisher - 1957-1961
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Illustrations: Book jacket cover, undated
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Illustrations: Maps and sources - 1974
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Illustrations: Reproduction permission request - 1974
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Appendices: Appendix A: Where in North America, undated (2 folders)
  • Box 14:
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Appendices: Appendix B: The Saga As History, undated
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Appendices: Appendix C: Chronology, undated
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Introduction - 1961-1969
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Rough draft, undated (6 folders)
  • Box 15:
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Manuscript: Page proofs (2 folders) - 1973
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Research notes, undated
  • "Gudrid's Saga": Reviews - 1974-1976
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces" - 1963, 1964
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Correspondence with fans - 1963
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Correspondence with fans - 1964
  • Box 16:
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Correspondence with fans - 1965-1976
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations:
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations: Acknowledgment of sources, undated
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations: Copyright permissions: To be obtained, undated
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations: Copyright permissions: Granted permission to reprint - 1962
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations: Copyright permissions: Illustrations with figure numbers, undated
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Illustrations: Copyright permissions: List of figure sources and captions, undated
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Manuscript: Handwritten draft, undated (4 folders)
  • Box 17:
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Manuscript: Final draft: Chapters 1-8 - 1964
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Manuscript: Final draft: Chapters 9-17 - 1964
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Manuscript: Final draft: Chapter 18-notes - 1964
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Publicity: General - 1963
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Publicity: Transcripts of radio interviews - 1964
  • Box 18:
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Quotation permission request (2 folders) - 1962
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Quotation permission request - 1963
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Research notes, undated (2 folders)
  • "Fair Gods and Stone Faces": Reviews - 1963-1965
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America" - 1980
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Bibliography notes, undated
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Correspondence: Fan mail - 1964-1986
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Correspondence: Publisher - 1976-1979
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Illustrations: Captions and images, undated
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Illustrations: List of figures, undated
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Manuscript: Handwritten draft, undated (2 folders)
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Manuscript: Typed draft with editor's comments (2 folders) - 1980
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Manuscript: Galley proof - 1980
  • Box 19:
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Manuscript: Galley proof suggested revisions - 1980
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Research notes - 1958, 1975-1976
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Reviews - 1980
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Speaking notes, undated
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Television documentary narration script: Handwritten draft, undated
  • "Strange Footprints on the Land:Vikings in America": Television documentary narration script: typed draft, undated
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 19:
  • "The Growth of God": Manuscripts: Older version, undated
  • "The Growth of God": Manuscripts: Revised draft, undated
  • "The Growth of God": Research notes: General, undated
  • "The Growth of God": Research notes: Letter from Dolores R. Lear - 1972
  • "Talking With Tools:The Story of Writing": Lecture script: Handwritten draft, undated
  • "Talking With Tools:The Story of Writing": Lecture script: Revised draft, undated
  • "Talking With Tools:The Story of Writing": Manuscript: Chapter 1: The Dawning - 1979
  • Box 20:
  • "Talking With Tools:The Story of Writing": Serial article "Talking With Tools" (unpublished) - 1988
  • "This Raucous Voice": Manuscripts (2 folders) - 1977
  • "This Raucous Voice": Manuscripts (2 folders) - 1978
  • "This Raucous Voice": Manuscripts: Handwritten draft with sources, undated
  • "Up From the Apes": Manuscripts: Early draft (2 folders) - 1984
  • "Up From The Apes": Manuscripts: First version submitted for publication, undated (3 folders)
  • Box 21:
  • "Up From The Apes": Research notes - 1983
  • "Up From The Apes": Serial article, undated
  • "Yonder Stranger, Who Is He": Critiques - 1981-1985
  • "Yonder Stranger, Who Is He": Manuscript (4 folders) - 1982
  • Series 4: UNITED STATES WAVES
  • Sub-Series: Applications
  • Box 21:
  • Librarian for U.S. Army camp - 1942
  • WAVES commission - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence: Incoming
  • Box 21:
  • General - 1942
  • General - 1943
  • General - 1944
  • General - 1945
  • Frick, Bernard A. "Bunny" (brother) - 1942
  • Frick, Bernard A. "Bunny" (brother) - 1943
  • Frick, Bernard A. "Bunny" (brother) - 1944
  • Box 22:
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother) - 1942
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother): January-March - 1943
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother): April-July - 1943
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother): August- December - 1943
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother) - 1944
  • Frick, Minnie L. (mother) - 1945
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr. - 1942
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr. - 1943
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr. - 1944
  • Stewart, Helen - 1942
  • Box 23:
  • Stewart, Helen - 1943
  • Stewart, Helen - 1944
  • Stewart, Helen - 1945
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence: Outgoing
  • Box 23:
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents) - 1942
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): January-March - 1943
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): April-July - 1943
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): August-September - 1943
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): October-December - 1943
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): January-April - 1944
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): May-August - 1944
  • Box 24:
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): September-October - 1944
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): November-December - 1944
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): January-March - 1945
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): April-June - 1945
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): July-August - 1945
  • Frick, Dr. & Mrs. Herman C. (parents): September-November - 1945
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr. - 1942
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr.: January-April - 1943
  • Box 25:
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr.: May-August - 1943
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr.: September-December - 1943
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr. - 1944
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr.: January-June - 1945
  • Mann, Lloyd B. Jr.: July-November - 1945
  • Stewart, Helen - 1942-1945
  • Sub-Series: Departmental memoranda
  • Box 25:
  • Departmental memoranda - 1942-1944
  • Sub-Series: Training
  • Box 26:
  • Correspondence courses: Commerce and travel
  • Correspondence courses: Foreign intelligence - 1943
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Daily routine - 1942
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Organization of the Navy - 1942
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Naval personnel - 1942
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Naval history - 1942
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Ships and aircraft - 1942
  • Indoctrination notebook (disbound): Exam notes - 1942
  • Languages: French - 1943
  • Languages: Spanish - 1943
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 26:
  • On WAVES life - 1945-1954
  • Sub-Series: Work and social calendars
  • Box 26:
  • Chronological - 1943
  • Chronological - 1945
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 26:
  • College life, undated
  • Mexico scrapbook (disbound) - 1941
  • New York, New York, undated
  • Portraits [oversize shelved in map case, drawer 1] - 1918, 1927-1954
  • Publicity proofs - 1953, 1964
  • Snapshots - 1943-1945
  • Snapshots - 1948-1963
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Austria and Ireland - 1960
  • Box 27:
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Christmas trip (photographed by William Irwin) - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: France - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Berlin - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Burg Lauenstein and Faschung-Rottweil - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Munich, Bremen, Nurnburg and Faschung-Rottenburg - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Rhine river - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Rural Germany - 1959]
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Germany: Tubingen - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Greece - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Holland - 1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Italy - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Portugal - 1959
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Scandinavia - 1959
  • Box 28:
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Spain - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Switzerland, Liechtenstein and San Marino - 1958
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Turkey - 1960
  • Photographic slides: Europe: Yugoslavia - 1958-1959
  • Photographic slides: Iowa City - 1961, 1970
  • Series 6: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 29:
  • WAVES hat
  • Box 30:
  • Lacquer box with awards and pins inside