Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ingleside Club (Mount Vernon, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1993-1995
Creator: Ingleside Club (Mount Vernon, Iowa)
Extent: 1.25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0207
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Program on feminism discussed by this book club in Mount Vernon, Iowa.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 288) were donated by Abbi Swanson in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Ingleside Club records, Iowa Women Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Ingleside Club is a book club that meets in Mount Vernon, Iowa. The club generally meets twice monthly. Usually, members discuss a chosen book at each meeting with one member acting as a designated reviewer. Occasionally, a meeting will focus on a more general topic, such as feminism, rather than on a single text.

The Ingleside Club (Mount Vernon, Iowa) records date from 1993 to 1995 and measure 1.25 linear inches. The records are arranged in three folders. The Club Calendar includes a booklet listing the year's meetings and a membership list. The Viewpoints on feminism folders include notes and reading materials from a club meeting held on April 17,1995 on the subject of feminism and femininity as well as a transcript from an episode of Firing Line on the topic of the women's movement.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: INGLESIDE CLUB

  • Series 1: INGLESIDE CLUB
  • Box 1:
  • Club Calendar - 1994-1995
  • Viewpoints on feminism: Notes - 1995
  • Viewpoints on feminism: Clippings - 1993-1995

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Ingleside Club (Mount Vernon, Iowa)

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
Book clubs
Books and reading
Feminism
Femininity

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Mount Vernon

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Archives

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations