Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1996
Creator: League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0205
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The league has been involved in various projects and studies throughout its history, reflecting changing political issues while maintaining a core concern for the community of Mount Vernon.

Alternate Extent Statement: One videocassette [V54]
Photographs in box 5

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 286) were donated by the League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon in 1995 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sixteen charter members began a provisional group of the League of Women Voters in Mount Vernon, Iowa, on June 3, 1948. In six months the league was granted full status when its ranks had grown to twenty-eight members. The league has been involved in various projects and studies throughout its history, reflecting changing political issues while maintaining a core concern for the community of Mount Vernon.

As a nonpartisan organization, the league has not endorsed individuals for office. It provided forums to meet elected officials and sponsored candidate debates promoting public awareness of political issues. The group supported bond issues for a community swimming pool in 1960 and a new high school auditorium and an addition at the elementary school in 1989. Throughout the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s, the league undertook surveys and studies of Mount Vernon development and local services. In 1990 and 1991 the group conducted a study of care for elementary and middle school students before and after school, identifying the needs of the community and presenting alternative ways of meeting those needs. The organization was renamed and recognized as the League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon in 1992.

The records of the League of Women Voters of Mount Vernon-Lisbon date from 1948 to 1996 and measure 3 linear feet. The records are arranged in three series Administrative, Community involvement and Programs.

The Administrative series (1948-1996) contains the league's by-laws, annual reports and fund raising records. Documents in this series describe the structure of the group and how it operates. The program planning folder provides insight into how programs are chosen for study and the local league's input in deciding state and national programs.

Local league actions such as surveys of garbage collection, housing needs and community recreation as well as reports on the school districts' compliance with Title IX requirements are part of the Community involvement series (1954-1991). The series includes correspondence between the league, the school board and local newspaper discussing meeting-scheduling conflicts and observance of the open-meeting law.

Topics encompassing areas outside the local community are contained in the Programs series (1955-1993). The subjects covered include the federal government, resources and international relations. At the state level the Mount Vernon-Lisbon league studied the taxation process undertaken by the legislature and the judicial system's role in adult corrections, family court and the juvenile justice system.
League of Women Voters of Iowa (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT
Series 3: PROGRAMS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Annual reports - 1957-1989
  • Board minutes: vol. I - 1948-1950
  • Board minutes: vol. I - 1950-1953
  • Board minutes: vol. I - 1953-1954
  • Board minutes: vol. II - 1954-1955
  • Board minutes: vol. II - 1955-1956
  • Board minutes: vol. II - 1956-1957
  • Board minutes: vol. III - 1957-1958
  • Board minutes: vol. III - 1958-1960
  • Board minutes: vol. III - 1960-1962
  • Box 2:
  • Board minutes: vol. III - 1962-1963
  • Board minutes: vol. IV - 1963-1964
  • Board minutes: vol. IV - 1964-1965
  • Board minutes: vol. IV - 1965-1966
  • Board minutes: vol. IV - 1966-1967
  • Board minutes: vol. V - 1967
  • Board minutes: vol. V - 1968
  • Board minutes: vol. V - 1969
  • Board minutes: vol. V - 1970
  • Board minutes: vol. V - 1971
  • Board minutes: vol. VI - 1972
  • Board minutes: vol. VI - 1973
  • Box 3:
  • Board minutes: vol. VI - 1974
  • Board minutes: vol. VI - 1975
  • Board minutes: vol. VII - 1976
  • Board minutes: vol. VII - 1977
  • Board minutes: vol. VII - 1978
  • Board minutes: vol. VII - 1979
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1980
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1981
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1982
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1983
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1984
  • Box 4:
  • Board minutes: vol. VIII - 1985
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1986
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1987
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1988
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1989
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1990
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1991
  • Board minutes: vol. IX - 1992
  • By-laws - 1962-1990
  • Carrie Chapman Catt awards nominations - 1995
  • Change of league name - 1991-1992
  • Finance: Budget making - 1957, 1973, 1978-1988, 1991
  • Finance: Fundraising - 1969, 1974-1984, 1990-1992
  • History: Local league - 1968-1989, 1992
  • History: 75th Anniversary (national league) - 1995
  • Officers and directors list - 1994-1996
  • President's report and leadership training - 1974-1988
  • Membership recruitment - 1978-1979, 1984-1990
  • News releases - 1979, 1983-1985
  • Nonpartisan policy - 1977, 1983-1989
  • Observer program - 1975-1981
  • Program planning - 1975-1990
  • Structure and procedures - 1969
  • Series 2: COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT
  • Sub-Series: Activities
  • Box 5:
  • "Cities in Transition: Up or Out" program - 1977
  • Heritage days parade and photographs - 1990
  • "Know Your Town" newcomers event - 1966
  • Open-meeting law compliance - 1978-1986
  • Parks and Recreation Committee - 1980
  • Surveys: Garbage collection - 1962-1963
  • Surveys: Housing - 1977
  • Surveys: Recreational interest - 1974, 1981
  • School-age child care survey - 1989, 1991
  • [V54]: School-age child care seminar
  • Financing - 1961, 1976-1978
  • Organization study - 1967, 1982-1985
  • Planning and zoning - 1977-1979, 1981, 1991
  • Water fluoridation - 1957-1958
  • Sub-Series: Schools
  • Box 5:
  • Building bond referendums - 1968-1969, 1977-1979
  • Grant Wood Area Education Agency - 1977-1978, 1985
  • Reorganization study - 1986
  • School district reapportionment - 1982-1983
  • Title IX background information - 1978, 1980, 1984
  • Box 6:
  • Title IX compliance reports - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Voter service
  • Box 6:
  • Candidates debate (second congressional district) - 1990
  • Candidates forums - 1988, 1990
  • Candidates questionnaires - 1960, 1994
  • Education - 1954-1960, 1990
  • Meet Your Legislator program - 1980-1984
  • "This is Mount Vernon" pamphlets - 1957-1982
  • Voter's guides - 1954, 1956, 1978-1989
  • Series 3: PROGRAMS
  • Sub-Series: State
  • Box 6:
  • Constitution - 1960, 1967, 1970, 1972
  • Department of Transportation - 1978-1979
  • Election reforms - 1984
  • Home rule: County - 1976, 1978, 1985
  • Home rule: Regional government organization - 1964-1965, 1970
  • Judicial system: Adult corrections - 1982, 1986
  • Judicial system: Family court - 1978-1979
  • Judicial system: Juvenile system - 1975-1978, 1982
  • Judicial system: Unified trial courts - 1969, 1972-1973
  • Legislature: Correspondence and interviews with representatives - 1979-1981
  • Legislature: Legislative research council - 1955
  • Legislature: Reapportionment - 1955, 1959, 1961-1965, 1978, 1981
  • Legislature: Veto power, undated
  • Legislature: Iowa tax reform action coalition - 1977
  • Legislature: Property tax exemptions - 1980, 1988-1990
  • Legislature: School financing - 1979, 1987-1989
  • Legislature: Tax system study - 1982
  • Sub-Series: National
  • Box 7:
  • Freedom agenda program - 1955
  • Agriculture - 1988
  • Budget deficit - 1991
  • Campaign finance reforms - 1974, 1979, 1986
  • Congressional structure and practices - 1971
  • Elections: Early result projections - 1982, 1984
  • Elections: Electoral college reform - 1969-1970, 1977, 1979
  • Home rule for Washington D.C. - 1970, 1978, 1980-1981, 1985
  • Political accountability ratings - 1977, 1979, 1981-1983
  • Powers of the presidency - 1975
  • Reproductive rights - 1980, 1983, 1991
  • Tax code reform - 1986
  • Employment rights - 1978, 1983-1984
  • Equal rights amendment - 1972, 1975-1980, 1983
  • Health care reform - 1991-1993
  • Housing and community development - 1974, 1977-1978
  • Welfare community action programs - 1968, 1973
  • Welfare reforms - 1971-1972, 1978
  • Air quality - 1982, 1986
  • Energy conservation - 1980-1983
  • Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Environmental Quality - 1980, 1984
  • Land use - 1979-1981
  • Water quality - 1959, 1966-1968, 1970, 1977
  • International aid - 1970, 1974-1975, 1978
  • International aid correspondence - 1968-1980
  • Nuclear arms control - 1983
  • International trade - 1959, 1961, 1972, 1975, 1977
  • United Nations - 1977, 1979-1981