Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1912-1985
Creator: Bushnell-Hamlin, Ella
Extent: 7.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0201
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Early suffragist and owner of Trident Publishing Company in Davenport, Iowa.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 282) were donated by Cindy Partington in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Ella Bushnell-Hamlin, portrait artist, musician, teacher, suffragist, and editor, was born Ella Grace Coney, married Jonathan Cline, divorced him, and changed her name legally to Ella G. Bushnell-Hamlin. Her name was taken from her mother's name, Martha Bushnell, and a long line of Hamlins on her father's side stemming from the Hamlins who came to England with William the Conqueror's army.

Bushnell-Hamlin edited both The Trident, a weekly magazine, between 1904 and 1910, and the magazine, Farm Gist. Later, she owned and operated Trident Publishing Company in Davenport, Iowa. She was also a schoolteacher in Atalissa, Iowa for a short time.

The Ella Bushnell-Hamlin papers date from 1912 to 1985 and contain 7 items. The bulk of the collection is photocopies of newspaper clippings. A section of a master's project on women's suffrage which discusses Bushnell-Hamlin and a photocopy of the "Iowa State Song" written by Bushnell-Hamlin are also part of the collection.
Copies of The Trident for the years 1904-1906 are held in the Special Collections Department, University of Iowa Libraries.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ELLA BUSHNELL-HAMLIN

  • Series 1: ELLA BUSHNELL-HAMLIN
  • Newspaper clippings and photocopies - 1912-1985

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bushnell-Hamlin, Ella

Corporate Names:
Trident Publishing Company

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women

Occupations:
Artists
Musicians
Suffragists
Teachers
Editors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Davenport
United States -- Iowa -- Atalissa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
Woman Suffrage Movement
Teachers and Teaching