Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the T. Anne Cleary papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-2001
Creator: Cleary, T. Anne (1935-1991)
Extent: 1.40 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0200
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa Vice President of Academic Affairs, American Psychological Association president, and expert in educational testing.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 4.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 587) were donated by Joyce Moore in 1999.

Preferred Citation: T. Anne Cleary papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Theresa Anne Cleary was born on December 12, 1935 in Shanghai, China. She attended Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and received a B.S. in Psychology in 1958. She proceeded to the University of Minnesota for her M.A. in Developmental Psychology and completed her Ph.D. in Psychology at the University of Illinois in 1964. Cleary served on the faculty of the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1966 to1972. In 1971, she became the Executive director of Examinations for The College Board in New York City. She remained with The College Board until 1978, serving as chief of its programming services division, vice president of planning and research, and as a research consultant, respectively.

In 1979, Cleary was appointed director of Evaluation and Examinations Service and Professor of Educational Measurement and Statistics at the University of Iowa. She was later named Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs. Throughout the 1980s, Cleary was active in the American Educational Research Association, where she served as vice president from 1982 to 1984. In addition, she served as president of the American Psychological Association from 1984 to 1985 and from 1986 to 1987. In 1983, Cleary's father Frank Cleary was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease and moved to Iowa City from Canada to be under her care. T. Anne Cleary was among the six shooting victims of disgruntled University of Iowa graduate student, Gang Lu on November 1, 1991. She died the following day at age 56.

The T. Anne Cleary papers date from 1964 to 2001 and measure 1.4 linear feet. They are arranged in the following series: Personal, Correspondence, Professional Activities, Speeches, Evaluation and Examination Services Department, Research, Publications, and Photographs.

The Personal series include per includes information about Cleary and her family, including papers regarding her care for her father Frank.

The Correspondence series includes personal correspondence to Cleary from friends and family, along with professional correspondence documenting her work at the University of Wisconsin, Evaluation and Examination Services, the University of Iowa, and various professional organizations.

The Professional Activities series contains materials from Cleary's trip to the Yucatan in Mexico and her executive responsibilities for the American Psychological Association and the American Educational Research Association. The Speeches series contains presentation slides and the text of a presentations Cleary made at a variety of venues.

The Evaluation and Examination Services Department series includes Cleary's reports, course materials, advising information, and departmental reviews from her position at the University of Iowa. Cleary's Research series includes her statistical analyses of University of Iowa student enrollment and academic performance records.

The collection's Publications include papers and articles Cleary composed for professional conferences and academic publications. Photographs of Cleary with friends and family complete the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
Series 4: SPEECHES
Series 5: EVALUATION AND EXAMINATION SERVICES DEPARTMENT, UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
Series 6: RESEARCH
Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographies and vitae - 1964-1989
  • Newspaper clippings - 1981-2001
  • Frank Cleary - 1983
  • Paul Cleary curriculum vitae - 1981
  • Beneficiary statements - 1983
  • Map to home, undated
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Personal - 1968-1987
  • Professional, undated
  • Professional - 1964-1966
  • Professional - 1967
  • Professional - 1968
  • Professional - 1969
  • Professional - 1970-1971
  • Professional - 1972-1974
  • Professional - 1975-1979
  • Professional - 1980-1981
  • Professional (folder 1) - 1982
  • Box 2:
  • Professional (folder 2) - 1982
  • Professional - 1983-1984
  • Professional - 1985-1986
  • Professional - 1987-1988
  • Professional - 1989
  • Series 3: PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
  • Box 2:
  • American Psychological Association - 1985-1988
  • Conference on Cognition and Behavior, Maharishi University - 1982
  • American Educational Research Association - 1984-1986
  • Article Reviews: "Dealing with types of test biases when black students are concerned" - 1973
  • Article Reviews: "An investigation on test bias in Mexican-American students" - 1976
  • Article Reviews: "Caregivers'experience of nursing demented patients with feeding" - 1987
  • Committee to develop joint technical standards for educational and psychological testing, March 26-28 - 1982
  • University of Iowa Employee Assistance program - 1988
  • Directions for student flow and retention research in postsecondary education symposium, undated
  • Yucatan trip - 1982
  • Series 4: SPEECHES
  • Box 2:
  • To American Psychological Association on criterion referenced measures, undated
  • "Musingson measurement: Other Cleary models," undated
  • "Validity of cutoff score for certification," undated
  • "Standardized tests and public policy," speech outline - 1981
  • Presentation charts: Untitled and undated
  • Presentation charts:"DRP Reading Test," undated
  • Presentation charts: Alzheimer's disease, undated
  • Presentation charts: Student exit survey, undated
  • Presentation charts: University of Iowa admissions charts, undated
  • Presentation charts: Presentation on 1972 University of Iowa premed majors, undated
  • Presentation charts: Presentation on University of Iowa student retention, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Presentation charts: Study of University of Iowa pre-med majors - 1975
  • Presentation charts: Test bias seminar, presentation handouts - 1977
  • Presentation charts: University of Iowa ACT Reports and score study - 1978-1979
  • Presentation charts: "Presentation to the faculty of the college of education" - 1979
  • Presentation charts: "Analysis of the ACY class profile history tape for students entering in the fall of 1978," May 17 - 1979
  • Presentation charts: Untitled - 1980-1981
  • Presentation charts: Mathematics placement testing - 1981
  • Presentation charts: "Handouts to accompany comparing the IRT pre-equality and section pre-equating: A simulation study" - 1986
  • Series 5: EVALUATION AND EXAMINATION SERVICES DEPARTMENT, UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
  • Box 3:
  • Course materials: 7:P:150, Measurement for the classroom teacher, fall - 1980
  • Course materials: 7:P:255, Construction and use of evaluation instruments - 1982
  • Course materials: 7:P:257, Educational measurement and testing - 1982
  • Course materials: Drafts of classroom tests - 1983
  • Departmental reviews: Self-study - 1988
  • Departmental Review - 1988
  • College of Education self-study - 1988
  • Outreach programs - 1979
  • Timeline for development of SAC certification exam - 1981
  • University entrance testing - 1982
  • Report schedules - 1982
  • Candidate evaluations, coordinator of placement and proficiency testing - 1982
  • Item editing workshop - 1982
  • Minority student survey - 1985-1987
  • "Did you allow my dissent here?' speech by William Nibbelink - 1986
  • Placement and proficiency testing brochure - 1987-1989
  • Job hunting for Ph.Ds - 1989
  • Series 6: RESEARCH
  • Box 3:
  • University of Iowa enrollment patterns - 1974-1976
  • "Prediction of first semester freshman G.P.A." report - 1987
  • Freshman entrance data - 1979
  • Roy Muston research file - 1979
  • "UI resident freshmen as a percentage of Iowa students going to four-year colleges in Iowa" - 1979
  • "Demographic variables of sample returning questionnaire" - 1981
  • Enrollment statistics - 1983
  • Notes on adaptive testing, undated
  • Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • Untitled manuscript, undated
  • "How to validate a test that is used in selecting students that are ready for an introductory statistic course in the ideal situation," undated
  • "Response to Levi and Levine: Platonic true scores and error in psychiatric rating scales," undated
  • "An individual differences model for multiple regression," "Educational Testing Service" - 1965
  • "An exploratory study of programmed tests," "Educational Testing Service, Psychology Bulletin" - 1966
  • "Platonic true scores and error in psychiatric rating scales" - 1967
  • "Test bias: Prediction of grades of negro and white students in integrated colleges," "Journal of Educational Management" - 1968
  • "Reproduction of total test score through the use of sequential programmed tests," "Journal of Educational Management" - 1968
  • "A factor analysis of the medical interview rating schedule," drafts - 1969
  • "Current editorial policy: a type I error," drafts - 1969
  • Publication contracts - 1969
  • "The relationship between children's academic performance and achievement accoutability" - 1971
  • "The Madison Plan: A new approach to school district testing," draft - 1971
  • "Educational uses of tests with disadvantaged students," "American Psychologist" - 1975
  • Untitled draft - 1979
  • "Criterion-reference tests, latent trait analysis, and the assessment of reading comprehension" - 1979
  • "Clinical evaluation," "Evaluation and Examination Service" - 1980
  • "Student services at the University of Iowa in the 1980s," draft - 1979
  • "Gender-based differential item performance in mathematic achievement items," "Journal of Educational Measurement" - 1987
  • "Discussion:Testing the handicapped, legal, psychometrics, and educational issues," "The Score" - 1988
  • "APA reorganization fails: Where do we go from here?" draft - 1988
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 4:
  • Brother Paul's Ph.D. ceremony, University of Wisconsin-Madison, December - 1980
  • Wedding, Mr. and Mrs. Ping-Lin Chung, undated
  • Office work, undated