Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jo Rabenold papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-1983
Creator: Rabenold, Jo
Extent: 3.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0191
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City activist who collected lesbian and feminist publications during the 1970s and 1980s.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 272) were donated by Jo Rabenold through the Women's Resource and Action Center in 1994.

Preferred Citation: Jo Rabenold papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jo Rabenold lived in Iowa City during the 1970s and early 1980s. She was a political activist interested in a variety of causes, especially those regarding women and sexuality. She participated in many groups in Iowa City, including the Women's Resource and Action Center and the Lesbian Alliance. In fact, one acquaintance describes her as "a roving lesbian" who devoted her time and energy wherever needed.

The Jo Rabenold papers date from 1965 to 1983 and measure 3.75 linear feet.  The papers are arranged in eight series:  Action Studies courses, Clippings and resource files, Conferences, Events and leisure, Organizations, Publications, Political causes and Surveys.

Action Studies was a University of Iowa program founded in 1968 to ensure variety within University course offerings.  The Action Studies courses series (1965-1972) contains materials from courses in African-American studies and from a women's poetry reading.

The Clippings and resource files series (1972-1982) contains clippings files on various topics of interest to Rabenold.  Many of these files relate to the subjects of female sexuality--especially lesbianism--and feminism.  There are also files on discrimination, disabilities and weight prejuidice.

The Conferences series (1974-1982) consists of materials related to a variety of conferences held during the mid-1970s and early 1980s.  It includes handouts, promotional materials, and registration forms.

The Events and leisure series (1976-1982) contains materials primarily related to local events. The series includes flyers and posters for events such as book readings, dances and lectures.  There are also clippings on subjects such as Billie Jean King and local gay bars.

The Organizations series (1972-1983) incorporates information on various, primarily women's, organizations.  It includes materials about the Emma Goldman Clinic, the Gay Liberation Front, the Lesbian Alliance (LA), a few lesbian support services, the Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP), the Women's Coffeehouse and the Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC).  A large number of Better Homes and Dykes, the Lesbian Alliance newsletter, is included.

The Publications series (1971-1983) primarily consists of issues from a variety of gay and women's periodicals.  The periodicals are arranged alphabetically by title.  Blank lines have been left to indicate the separation between folders.  Most of the periodicals are from the 1970s and represent attempts at independent publishing, often by a collective.  Many were short-lived with narrow distribution.  The series also includes a few promotional materials about Common Lives/Lesbian Lives, a journal published in Iowa City, and some poetry chapbooks.

The Political causes series (1975-1982) covers several issues of interest to Rabenold, including: the Equal Rights Amendment, reproductive rights, and nuclear energy.  Most of the folders are comprised mainly of newspaper clippings; however, the protest letters and petitions folder contains several complaints written by Rabenold.  These include letters to Ms. Magazine and to Lynn Watson, author of Alimony, or, Death of a Clock.  Rabenold chastises Watson for using thinly-disguised descriptions of people and events from the Women's Coffeehouse.

The final series, Surveys (1976-1980), contains surveys about a variety of women's issues.  The lesbian health survey folder mainly involves a survey done by a physician at the University of Iowa Hospitals.  It includes a copy of the survey as well as a copy of a paper prepared from the survey findings.
Women's Resource and Action Center records (IWA)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ACTION STUDIES COURSES
Series 2: CLIPPINGS AND RESOURCE FILES
Series 3: CONFERENCES
Series 4: EVENTS AND LEISURE
Series 5: ORGANIZATIONS
Series 6: POLITICAL CAUSES
Series 7: SURVEYS
Series 8: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: ACTION STUDIES COURSES
  • Box 1:
  • African-American studies: Bibliographies and handouts - 1965, 1968-1969
  • African-American studies: Readings - 1966-1971
  • Women's poetry reading - 1972
  • Series 2: CLIPPINGS AND RESOURCE FILES
  • Sub-Series: Advertisement clippings
  • Box 1:
  • Advertisement clippings - 1973, 1978-1981
  • Sub-Series: Alternative resources and women's businesses
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1977, 1979-1980, 1982
  • Non-traditional occupations - 1977-1978, 1980
  • Women's land groups - 1980-1982
  • Women's networks - 1978-1979
  • Sub-Series: Consciousness-raising
  • Box 1:
  • Consciousness-raising - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Disabilities
  • Box 1:
  • Disabilities - 1978-1979, 1981
  • Sub-Series: Feminist issues
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1972-1982
  • Discrimination: General - 1974-1982
  • Discrimination: Female firefighters - 1979, 1981
  • Female sexuality - 1975, 1978, 1980-1981
  • Sexual harassment and violence: General - 1979-1982
  • Box 2:
  • Sexual harassment and violence: Rape - 1971, 1975-1981
  • Sexual harassment and violence: Joan Little - 1975
  • Sexual harassment and violence: Theater (Goona Goona) - 1981
  • Sexual harassment and violence: Youth - 1976, 1981
  • Women's liberation scrapbooks (2 folders) - 1968-1972
  • Sub-Series: FBI
  • Box 2:
  • FBI - 1972-1973, 1978
  • Sub-Series: Herstory
  • Box 2:
  • Herstory (feminist history)
  • Sub-Series: Gay and lesbian issues
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1970-1977, 1980-1981
  • Films - 1980-1982
  • Gay marriage - 1976
  • Gay rights legislation - 1976-1978
  • Lesbian health - 1975, 1982
  • Lesbian humor - 1979-1980
  • Lesbian relationships: General - 1975-1980
  • Lesbian relationships: Butch/femme - 1981
  • Lesbian relationships: Sado-masochism - 1979, 1981
  • Student Senate appropriations - 1973-1975
  • Transsexuals - 1971-1977
  • Obituaries and memorials
  • Alison Belding - 1981
  • Kathy Bertelson - 1981
  • Linda Knox - 1982
  • Jane Weiss - 1981
  • Box 3:
  • People: Rusty Barcelo - 1980-1982
  • People: Leona Durham - 1977
  • People: Barbara Ettleson - 1978
  • People: Susan Guenther - 1978
  • People: K.C. Lee [Coralville Car salesperson] - 1978
  • People: Tracy Moore - 1979
  • People: Jane Viemeister - 1979
  • People: Barbara Yates - 1977
  • Weight prejudice - 1978-1979, 1981-1982
  • Series 3: CONFERENCES
  • Box 3:
  • Iowa Women's Weekend - 1974
  • 1974 Midwest Gay Pride Conference - 1974
  • 1975 Midwest Gay Pride Conference - 1975
  • Midwest Lesbian Conference - 1976
  • Midwest Human Rights Conference - 1978
  • Women Against Racism - 1982
  • Women at Iowa - 1982
  • Miscellaneous (non-Iowa) - 1981
  • Series 4: EVENTS AND LEISURE
  • Box 3:
  • Dances - 1979, 1981
  • Gay bars - 1976, 1978-1980
  • Speakers and readings - 1978-1979
  • Women's music - 1977-1981
  • "Women producing Women" handbook [for producing benefits, cultural events, rallies, and demonstrations] - 1976
  • Women's sports - 1976, 1979
  • Women's sports: Billie Jean King clippings - 1981-1982
  • Miscellaneous - 1979-1981
  • Series 5: ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 3:
  • Emma Goldman Clinic: Clippings - 1973, 1975, 1978, 1981, 1983
  • Emma Goldman Clinic: Newsletters - 1979-1980
  • Emma Goldman Clinic: Pamphlets and handouts - 1973, 1976, 1978, 1981
  • Gay Liberation Front - 1972-1974, 1977
  • Lesbian Alliance: General - 1978-1981
  • Lesbian Alliance: Better Homes and Dykes - 1973-1977
  • Box 4:
  • Lesbian Alliance: Better Homes and Dykes - 1978-1980
  • Lesbian Alliance: Better Homes and Dykes - 1981-1983
  • Lesbian Alliance: Better Homes and Dykes: Announcements and cover art - 1976, 1979-1981
  • Lesbian Alliance: Social committee surveys - 1978
  • Lesbian support services - 1975, 1981-1982
  • Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP) - 1975-1977, 1979-1982
  • Women's Coffeehouse: Minutes - 1980-1981
  • Women's Coffeehouse: Organizational history and pledge drives - 1981-1982
  • Women's Coffeehouse: Signs, flyers, and calendars - 1975-1982
  • Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC): General - 1980-1981
  • WRAC: Bijou complaint - 1981
  • WRAC Newsletters - 1974-1975
  • Box 5:
  • WRAC Newsletters - 1976-1979
  • WRAC Newsletters - 1980-1981
  • Series 6: POLITICAL CAUSES
  • Box 5:
  • Campaigns and events - 1980-1981
  • Equal Rights Amendment (ERA): General - 1975-1977, 1979-1981
  • ERA: Phyllis Schlafly - 1977, 1980-1981
  • Nuclear energy - 1980
  • Protest letters and petitions - 1980, 1982
  • Reproductive rights - 1975, 1979, 1982
  • Series 7: SURVEYS
  • Box 5:
  • General - 1976
  • Lesbian health - 1978-1980
  • Series 8: PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series: Chap books
  • Box 5:
  • Chap books - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Common Lives/Lesbian Lives
  • Box 5:
  • Promotional materials - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Periodical issues
  • Box 5:
  • Aphra, v. 4:3 - 1973
  • Broomstick, v. IV:1 - 1982
  • Chicago Women's Directory - 1974
  • Chromo-Uri, Spring - 1974
  • Country Women, no. 18, 25, 29 - 1976-1978
  • Day Tonight/Night Today, March - 1981
  • The Gay Alternative, no. 6, 9-10 - 1974-1975
  • Gay-La, no. 8 - 1976
  • Hot Flash, v. 1:1 - 1981
  • Hysteria, v. 1:1-2 - 1980
  • The Ladder, v. 15-16 - 1971-1972
  • Box 6:
  • The Lavender Express, v. 4:4 - 1981
  • The Leaping Lesbian, v. 3:2-3, undated
  • Lesbian/Lesbienne, v. 1:1 - 1979-1980
  • Lesbian Connection - 1975-1976
  • Lesbian Connection - 1977-1983
  • Lesbian Connection: September '77-August '83 - 1977-1983
  • The Lesbian Feminist - 1976-1978
  • The Lesbian Tide - 1974, 1979, 1980
  • Lesbian Voices, v. IV:2 - 1981
  • Monthly Cycle, v. 1:12 - 1981
  • Motive, v. 32:1 - 1972
  • Mountain Loving, v. III:2 - 1978
  • Otherviews - 1982
  • Prime Time, v. 4:1,3; - 1976
  • So's Your Old Lady, no. 8 - 1975
  • Telewoman, undated
  • The Tide, v. 3:7 - 1976
  • Unicorn, v. 1:3 - 1981
  • We Got It, v. 1:8 - 1975
  • The Wishing Well, v. 7:1 - 1981
  • Womanfire, v. II:3 - 1976
  • Women as Women, December - 1974
  • Women's Liberation: Notes from the Second Year - 1970
  • Women's Network, no. 11 - 1981
  • Womynlovers, v. 1:2 - 1981
  • Box 7:
  • Amazon, v. 7:2 - 1978
  • Blazing Star, v. 4:3 - 1978
  • Distaff, v. 1:4 - 1973
  • Dykes and Gorgons, v. 1:1 - 1973
  • Everywoman, v. II:10 - 1971
  • The Feminist Connection, v. 1:10 - 1981
  • The Feminist Voice, v. 1:4 - 1971
  • Full Moon, no. 1 - 1972
  • The Furies, January - 1972
  • Gay Liberator, no. 40 - 1974
  • Gay Life, v. 3:33 - 1978
  • Lesbians Rising - 1977
  • Majority Report, v. 4:9 - 1974
  • New Directions for Women, v. 8:3 - 1979
  • New Women's Times, no. 6 - 1979
  • The Other Woman, v. 2:5-6 - 1974
  • Pandora, May-June - 1974
  • Plexus, v. 6:6 - 1979
  • Rhinocerus, v. 1:1 - 1974
  • Sister, v. IV:4, v. V:12 - 1975
  • Something About Women, v. II:3 - 1981
  • Spectre-6, January-February - 1972
  • Whole Woman, v. 1:6 - 1973
  • Women's Liberation, undated
  • Women's Press, v. 4:3 - 1974
  • Box 8:
  • Big Mama Rag - 1975-1978, 1981-1982
  • Box 9:
  • Gay Community News - 1978-1981
  • Gay Community News - 1982
  • Box 10:
  • Lavender Woman, v. 2:3, 5-6, v. 3:1, 4-5,v.4:5 - 1973-1975
  • Box 11:
  • The Lesbian Insider/Insighter/Inciter, no. 4, 9, 11 - 1981-1983
  • Box 12:
  • RAT, no. 16-24 - 1970-1971