Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nellie M. Gebers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991-1995
Creator: Gebers, Nellie M. (1901-1995)
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0189
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Artist, writer and teacher from Ira, Iowa who studied with Grant Wood.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright to portions of the collection has been transferred to the University of Iowa. Copyright to "They Called Her Ned" has been retained by the editor, Don Gebers: researchers may quote from it but anyone wishing to publish the entire manuscript must receive permission from Don Gebers.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 268) were donated by Jeanne Bellefeuille in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Nellie M. Gebers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Nellie M. Castor Gebers, artist, writer and teacher, was born on October 26, 1901 in Ira, Iowa. Gebers was a student of Grant Wood's and was said to have suggested the idea for Wood's 1934 painting, "Dinner for Threshers." In 1959 Gebers and her family moved to California. While in Iowa and California, Gebers taught painting in the public schools, in community adult education classes and in her own studio. She painted and taught all during her adult life until failing eyesight and health caused her to retire. Gebers died in Mountain View, California, in 1995.

The Nellie M. Gebers papers date from 1991 to 1995 and measure 1 linear inch.  The bulk of the collection is an autobiography originally written in longhand by Gebers towards the end of her life and typed and edited by her son Don Gebers.  The rest of the collection consists of an essay about old age and living in a nursing home, correspondence with the M. H. de Young Memorial Museum in San Francisco about Grant Wood, and an instructional guide on Gebers' process for the encaustic painting method.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: NELLIE M. GEBERS

  • Series 1: NELLIE M. GEBERS
  • Box 1:
  • Autobiography, "They Called Her Ned," edited by Don Gebers - 1994
  • Correspondence with M. H. de Young Memorial Museum - 1991
  • "My Method for Encaustic" [re: encaustic painting] by Nellie Gebers, undated
  • Essay on life in a nursing home, by Nellie Gebers - 1994
  • Obituary - 1995