Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nancy V. "Rusty" Barcelo papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-2005
Creator: Barceló, Nancy V. "Rusty" (1946-)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0188
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Activist and administrator at the University of Iowa whose papers provide insight into Latino life and culture in Iowa and across the Midwest.

Alternate Extent Statement: 8 audiocassettes [AC860-AC867]
Photographs in boxes 13-14

Access: The papers are open for research with the exception of: personal correspondence and personnel files in Box 17.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 267) were donated by Rusty Barceló in 1999 and ensuing years.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Born in Merced, California on June 5, 1946, activist and administrator Nancy "Rusty" Barceló earned the Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Welfare and Corrections from Chico State University in 1969. Barceló arrived at the University of Iowa as a graduate student in 1970. In 1971 she and fellow students Antonio Zavalla and Ruth Pushetonequa founded the Chicano Indian-American Student Union (CIASU). Barceló earned her Master of Arts in Recreational Education in 1972. She left the University of Iowa to assume the position of Coordinator of Educational Opportunity Services at the University of Oregon from 1973 to 1975. After her time in Oregon, Barceló returned to the University of Iowa where, in 1980, she became the first Mexican-American to earn a doctoral degree from the university.

Following her graduation, Barceló was hired by the University of Iowa, where she served as Acting Director of Affirmative Action (1982-1983), Director of Summer Session (1981-1987), Associate Director, Opportunity at Iowa, (1987-1994), Assistant Dean (1981-1995) and Assistant Provost, Opportunity at Iowa (1995-1996). From 1996 to 2001, Barceló was Associate Vice President for Multicultural Affairs and the Chair of the Chicana Studies Department at the University of Minnesota. She left that position in 2001 to become the Vice President for Minority Affairs and Diversity at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Barceló is credited as the moving force behind the National Initiative for Women in Higher Education (NIWHE). Since moving to Washington, she has chaired Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS) and the Washington State Native American Advisory Board (NAAB). Her honors include establishment of the Rusty Barceló Award at the University of Minnesota that honors faculty, staff and students who, through their own work on campus, foster multicultural community building. In 2004, Barceló received the Ohtli award, a special recognition presented by the Mexican government to Mexicans or Latinos whose work has benefited Mexicans living abroad.

The Nancy V. "Rusty" Barceló papers date from 1946 to 2005 and measure 5 linear feet. The collection is organized into five series: Personal, Professional Career, Photographs, Family History and Artifacts.

The Personal series focuses on Barceló's youth, education and participation in sports, and includes correspondence with her family.

The Professional Career series is separated into several sub-series. The University of Oregon sub-series focuses on the years 1973-1975 during which Barceló held the position of Educational Opportunity Services Coordinator. The series includes reports prepared by that office, files documenting challenges faced by minority students and conflicts between groups on campus.

The sub-series University of Iowa represents the bulk of the collection and is arranged chronologically. This series reflects Barceló's career advances and her professional interests as well as her involvement with students on and off campus and with the larger community. The series illustrates the ways in which Barceló's work as student, administrator, community member and activist often intersected. Barceló's work for Opportunity at Iowa recruiting minority students to the University brought her into contact with Latino communities throughout the Midwest. As a result, the University of Iowa series is a rich source of information on Latinos and other minorities, not only in Iowa but in the Midwest. Materials documenting the history of Latinos in Iowa include a 1963 economic survey of Cook's Point, a Mexican-American community in the railroad yards of Davenport.

The University of Minnesota and University of Washington sub-series include correspondence, speeches and newspaper articles from 1996-2002.
The Northern New Mexico College sub-series includes articles, brochures, and inauguration ceremony ephemera relating to Barcelo's appointment as president of the college in 2010.
The majority of the Photographs are unidentified and undated. They include a wide range of social, academic and political activities.

The Family History series contains photocopies of legal documents and correspondence pertaining to Barceló's ancestors and their military service in Mexico. Due to their fragility, the original documents are closed.

The Artifacts series consists of materials pertaining to Barceló's activism, including a banner and a medal.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL CAREER
Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 4: FAMILY HISTORY
Series 5: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Vita, undated
  • Education - 1963
  • Family correspondence - 1982-1996
  • Student financial aid/grants and awards - 1966-1979
  • Marathon results - 1987, 1990-1991, 1998
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL CAREER
  • Sub-Series: University of Oregon
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1976
  • Minority Issues - 1975
  • Announcement, Educational Opportunity Services (EOS), undated
  • Diversity Programs - 1973-1974
  • EOS Issues - 1975
  • Native American Concerns - 1974-1975
  • Pres. Clark's response to Native American Proposal/Concerns - 1975
  • Recruitment, undated
  • Self-development Seminar/Study skills - 1973
  • Synopsis of EOS - 1975
  • News Clippings - 1973
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa Administration
  • Box 2:
  • Administrative Handbook
  • Affirmative Action - 1981-1990
  • Committees: Jane A Weiss Memorial Scholarship - 1981-1983
  • Committees: Accreditation - 1985
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Counselor Leadership Development Conference - 1976
  • Conferences/Symposiums: National Hispanic Feminist Conference, March - 1980
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Illinois Hispanic Women's Conference, October - 1981
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Networking Together III, August - 1982
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Women's Education: The Future, February - 1983
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Chicano Culture and its Mexican Roots-Draft, April - 1983
  • Conferences/Symposiums: The Way Up: Women in Higher Education, May - 1983
  • Conferences/Symposiums: American Association for Higher Education: Forum on Hispanics in Higher Education, March - 1984
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Cross-Cultural Projections of Women, October - 1984
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Hispanic Americans: Immigration and Education, March - 1985
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Beyond 1984: Technology, Training and Higher Education, - 1985
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Hispanic Leadership Conference, May - 1989
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Nebraska Women of Color Conference - 1985, 1992
  • Conferences/Symposiums: New Latin American Cinema II, October - 1986
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Displaced Homemakers Leadership Conference, May - 1988
  • Conferences/Symposiums: Articulation Conferences: Regents Committee on Educational Relations (RCER) - 1987, 1989
  • Conferences/Symposiums: A Look to the Future, March and April - 1988
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence (5 folders) - 1971-1996
  • Correspondence: Cards - 1984-1992, 1994
  • Correspondence: With Chicana writer Pat Mora - 1997-2000
  • Cultural Awareness - 1979, 1989-1993
  • Director, Summer Session - 1983, 1986
  • Educational Opportunity Programs-Short term training: Site reports
  • Educational Opportunity Programs-Short term training: University of Colorado - 1973-1974, 2000
  • Educational Opportunity Programs-Short term training: Marquette - 1974
  • Latin American Studies Program - 1989-1990
  • Minority Issues (state level): Minorities in Higher Education
  • Minority Issues (state level) Reports: Surveys and collected data
  • Minority Issues (state level) Reports: Cook's Point Economic Survey ( Davenport, Iowa) - 1963
  • Minority Issues (state level) Reports: The Hispanics: A Missing Link in Public Policy-The Official Report of an Hispanic Conference in Des Moines, Iowa October 12-13 - 1979
  • Minority Issues (state level) Reports: Minority recruitment at University of Iowa - 1994
  • Opportunity at Iowa: Creation of and announcement - 1987
  • Opportunity at Iowa: Minority Student Development Project, October '86-June '88 - 1986-1988
  • Opportunity at Iowa: Minority/Diversity, General - 1988-1989
  • Opportunity at Iowa: Structure retreat, October 12 - 1992
  • Opportunity at Iowa: Correspondence - 1988-1990
  • Special Support Services (4 folders) - 1969-1995
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches and Presentations: General - 1985-1996
  • Speeches and Presentations: Illinois Rehabilitation Institute, May 10 - 1989
  • Speeches and Presentations: Text and transparencies-"500 Years of Hispanic Heritage" Sept. 20 - 1989
  • University of Iowa Foundation, "Iowa Endowment 2000" - 2000
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Act Institutional Self-Evaluation - 1978
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa: Organizations, Community and Professional
  • Box 5:
  • Allianza Hispana Politica de Iowa-(The Iowa Latino Political Corp.) by-laws, undated
  • Association for Women in Development
  • Chicano Studies organizations (3 folders)
  • Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute-Proceedings of the1993 Issues Conference - 1993
  • Box 6:
  • Council On the Status of Latinos, University of Iowa - 1991, 1995
  • Hispanic Association of Higher Education, Newsletter (includes essay by Barcel) - 1993
  • Latino, general - 1981-1993
  • League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) - 1981-1999
  • LULAC Women (Conferences) - 1980-1985
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender: Correspondence - 1990-1993
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender: Newspaper clippings - 1991-1993
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender: Report of the LGBT Student, Faculty and Staff Association draft - 1991
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender: Conference Program - 1994
  • Midwest Hispanic Network - 1980
  • Midwest Latino Scholars Network - 1987, 1988, 1990
  • Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social - 1991-1994
  • National Association of Chicano/Chicana Studies (NAACS) - 1996-1998
  • National Chicano Council on Higher Education - 1982-1983
  • Newsletters: LA Red/The Net - 1979-1987
  • Box 7:
  • Newsletters: Latino Institute Documentation and Research (LIDER) - 1983-1984
  • Newsletters: Miscellaneous (2 folders) - 1977-1996
  • Organizational Directories: General (Latino)
  • Organizational Directories: Directory of Hispanic Appointees, Reagan Administration July - 1982
  • Organizational Directories: Mid-American Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel (MEOPP) - 1977, 1987-1988
  • Proteus - 1988-1989
  • Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission - 1979-1982, 1987-1989
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1986-1998
  • Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC) 15th Anniversary Celebration, March 1 - 1986
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa: Student Organizations
  • Box 7:
  • Chicano Indian American Cultural Center (CIACC) and Chicano American Indian Student Union (CIASU), General - 1973-1987
  • Box 8:
  • CIASU Conference March 14-15 - 1980
  • CIACC and CIASU: Directory - 1973, 1974-1975, 1977-1981, 1992
  • CIACC and CIASU: Fact file - 1976-1982
  • CIACC and CIASU: Notes, Correspondence, Minutes - 1980-1982
  • CIACC and CIASU: Student contacts, undated
  • CIACC and CIASU: El Teatro Zapatista-scripts, undated
  • CIACC and CIASU: Managers' Reports - 1980
  • CIACC and CIASU: Nahuatzen, 2:1 (undated) and 3:1 - 1974
  • CIACC and CIASU: 10th Anniversary - 1981
  • Chicano Hispanic Association for Legal Education (CHALE) - 1985-1992
  • Latinos United for Graduate and Professional Advancement and Relations (LUGAR) - 1995-1996
  • Los Curanderos - 1984-1989
  • Sigma Lambda Beta Fraternity: Organizational Minutes, Constitution - 1985-1987
  • Sigma Lambda Beta Fraternity: Conference "Impact of Hispanic Culture in the US" April 2 - 1988
  • Box 9:
  • Latino Student Organizations (non-UI) - 1987-1994
  • Newsletters: "Noticias del Yunbe" Indiana University NW - 1982-1983
  • Newsletters: Miscellaneous sources - 1979-1990
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa: Issues in Education
  • Box 9:
  • Bilingual Education issues - 1978, 1980-1983, 1985
  • Indian/Indigenous Higher Education, undated
  • Press Release: Migrant Workers, undated
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa: Teaching/Mentoring
  • Box 9:
  • Courses taught; Exam Copy Requests - 1984
  • Summer Native American Institute, June 15-19 - 1992
  • "Topics in Women's Studies: La Chicana" Correspondence - 1992
  • Women Against Racism (WAR) - 1984
  • Women Against Racism (WAR) - 1990
  • Leal, Raymond: Chicano studies syllabi, essays - 1975, 1977
  • Student Projects: Castel, Joseph: honors thesis "Distorted Images of the Mexican-American in American Literature, Film, Television and Advertising" - 1987
  • Student Projects: Ferrera, Paul: film proposal/development "Mujeres" - 1985
  • Student Projects: Garcia, Teresa and Mark Hart: "Making a Vocational and Educational Choice" Project - 1978
  • Student Projects: Medina, Adriana: "Toward the Education of Gringo Teachers" article in Iowa Education Bulletin - 1979
  • Student Projects: Molina, Papusa: dissertation interviews - 1991
  • Student Projects: Nava, Elsa: "Los Tapones" "El Viejo" and comments, undated
  • Student Projects: Nunez, Grace: M.A. Thesis "Voices of a Different Color," undated
  • Student Projects: Youngbear, Jonathon: poems, undated
  • Student Projects: Unknown "Pa' El Professor Chicano" (in Spanish), undated
  • Box 10:
  • Organizational appointments - 1985-1987, 1991, 1993
  • Recognition and Awards: Certificates - 1988,1990-1992
  • Recognition and Awards: Jean Jew Women's Rights Award nomination, letter of support - 1994
  • Recognition and Awards: Outstanding Young Woman - 1981
  • Recognition and Awards: Ph.D. Announcement, Program - 1980
  • Recognition and Awards: 20-Year Recognition - 1989
  • Special Events-flyers and programs (2 folders) - 1972-1997
  • Miscellaneous notes, memos, and lists (2 folders) - 1980-1994
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 10:
  • Newspaper clippings (2 folders) - 1971-2005
  • Sub-Series: University of Minnesota
  • Box 11:
  • Administration: Transition, UI to UM - 1996
  • Administration: Correspondence: In-coming - 1996-2001
  • Administration: New Zealand Study Trip, September - 1998
  • Administration: Presentations - 1997, 1999-2000
  • Special Events - 1996-2001
  • Statistics on Minnesota Hispanics for presentations - 1990, 1996-1998
  • "Report on Faculty: Recruitment, Development, Retention" [to Board of Regents, February] - 1997
  • Report "Student Diversity" - 1988
  • Box 12:
  • Conference Proceedings: "Shaping A National Agenda for Women in Higher Education" March (2 folders) - 2000
  • Newspaper clippings, events notices - 1990-2002
  • Sub-Series: University of Washington
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence: Incoming - 2001
  • Correspondence: Cards (2 folders) - 2001
  • News articles and photographs - 2001
  • Speech, Bridging the Gap Breakfast, October - 2001
  • Sub-Series: Northern New Mexico College
  • Box 12:
  • Invitation and program: Inauguration - 2010
  • News articles, brochures: Inauguration - 2010
  • Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 13:
  • Family - 1976-1994
  • High school and college - 1964-1969
  • Rock Island Arsenal - 1986
  • London and South Africa - 1985
  • Barcelo as parade marshal, undated
  • Cal-State Chico, undated
  • Hospice and Meha puppy - 1970
  • Gay Pride March in Washington - 1993
  • Hispanic/Latino Senior Recognition Banquet, Rockford, Illinois - 1995
  • RAGBRAI (Register's Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa), undated
  • Women Against Racisim (WAR), University of Iowa Conference - 1980-1989
  • Gay Pride Rally, University of Iowa, undated
  • "Felicidades Mona," undated
  • Jean Jew Women's Rights Award, University of Iowa - 1994
  • Photo album pages, undated
  • Assorted photographs taken during years in Minnesota, undated
  • Unidentified (3 folders) - 1980-1989, 1993, 1995
  • Box 14:
  • Unidentified, 8x10s, undated (includes photo from first Chicano wedding at Chicano Native American Cultural Center)
  • Unidentified, undated (4 folders)
  • Photo albums, undated (4 folders)
  • Series 4: FAMILY HISTORY
  • Box 15:
  • Photocopies (2 folders) - 1906-1911
  • Box 18:
  • Closed: Family history [originals] - closed due to fragility - 1906-1911
  • Series 5: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 16:
  • Chicano rally banner, undated
  • Daniel Valdez CD, "Live Performance at the University of Iowa Chicano Conference" - 1973
  • Handmade recognition certificate presented to Barcelo, undated
  • Name tag from "Shaping a National Agenda for Women in Higher Education" for Barcelo, National Chair, undated
  • Medal, UMC celebrating women's achievements - 2001
  • Audiocassette tapes
  • Audiocassette AC865: La Chicana (Women's Workshop) - 1974
  • Audiocassette AC860: Chicana Conference, "The Historical Heritage of La Raza in the Midwest" - 1975
  • Audiocassette AC861: Chicana Feminism, Horizons Radio Program - 1980
  • Audiocassette AC862: Cherrie Moraga, "Women Against Racism" - 1982
  • Audiocassettes AC863-864: Nellie Wong, "Women Against Racism" - 1986
  • Audiocassette AC867: Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association - 1991
  • Audiocassette AC866: Winona La Duke, undated
  • Box 17:
  • Closed