Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jeanne Bridenstine papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1996
Creator: Bridenstine, Jeanne (1923- )
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: IWA0187
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: First woman elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee in 1972.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 266) were donated in 1995 and subsequent years by Jeanne Bridenstine.

Preferred Citation: Jeanne Bridenstine papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jeanne Bridenstine, a mother of five and resident of Newton, Iowa, became active in Iowa politics in 1968 when she joined the Democratic Party in Jasper County, Iowa. Bridenstine was also a member of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus and the Iowa League of Women Voters. In 1972 she was elected chairperson of the Jasper County Democratic Central Committee and retained the position until 1974, when she was elected to a four-year term on the Jasper County Board of Supervisors. After an unsuccessful reelection bid in 1978, Bridenstine served two more terms from 1982 to 1990. She was elected chairperson of the board during her 1972 term. Bridenstine is married to Eugene Bridenstine, a school guidance counselor.

The Jeanne Bridenstine papers date from 1970 to 1995 and measure 1 linear foot. The papers are arranged in three series: Personal, Jasper County Board of Supervisors and Women in politics.

The Personal series (1993-1995) contains one item, Bridenstine's 1993 Christmas letter.

The bulk of the collection consists of the Jasper County Board of Supervisors series (1970-1991) that documents Bridenstine's role as a three-term county supervisor. The series contains materials from Bridenstine's campaigns for office, some administrative minutes and correspondence, records of two court litigation's against the board and unbound scrapbooks of extensive newspaper clippings spanning Bridenstine's terms of office. A bright orange binder contains the journal she kept during 1975 and 1976. As the only women supervisor on the board, Bridenstine received little cooperation initially from the other two board members. Carrying the bright folder and writing entries convinced the others to become more cooperative when they felt their adversarial comments and actions were being documented.

The Women in politics series (1971-1984) contains material pertaining to Bridenstine's involvement in the Democratic party and in women's political caucuses in her community and the state.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: JASPER COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
Series 3: WOMEN IN POLITICS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Christmas letter - 1993
  • Series 2: JASPER COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
  • Sub-Series: Campaign materials
  • Box 1:
  • Advertisements - 1974-1982
  • Biographical sketches - 1982-1986
  • Candidate profile booklet - 1982
  • Financial disclosure - 1986
  • News releases - 1974
  • Newspaper clippings, - 1982-1990
  • Posters, undated
    shelved in map case
  • Speeches - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1975-1978
  • Correspondence - 1987-1989
  • Sub-Series: County newspaper
  • Box 1:
  • Jasper County Free Press - 1973-1979
  • Jasper County Free Press - 1980-1991
  • Sub-Series: Jasper County Auditor vs. Jasper County Board of Supervisors
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1987-1990
  • Deposition exhibitis - 1987-1990
  • Legal briefs - 1988
  • Notes, undated
  • Speech, undated
  • Sub-Series: KCOB/KLVN Inc. and The Newton Daily News v.s Jasper County Board of Supervisors vs. Jasper County Auditor
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1975-1990
  • Depostion exhibits - 1975-1990
  • Depostion transcript - 1990
  • Box 2:
  • Legal briefs - 1989-1990
  • Newspaper clippings - 1990-1991
  • Sub-Series: Minutes
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1987, 1990
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 2:
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1970-1977
  • Unbound scrapbook
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1971-1981
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1973-1977
  • Unbound scrapbook, January-August - 1983
  • Unbound scrapbook, August-May - 1984
  • Unbound scrapbook, June-December - 1984
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1985
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1986
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1987
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1988
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1989
  • Box 3:
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1990
  • Unbound scrapbook - 1990
  • Series 3: WOMEN IN POLITICS
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1971-1974
  • Iowa Women's Political Caucus - 1973
  • Jasper County Women's Political Caucus newsletters - 1974-1975
  • Newsletters - 1974-1975
  • Newspaper clippings - 1974-1981
  • Poster "Vote Mondale and Ferraro" - 1984
    [shelved in map case]