Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Friendly Neighbors Club (Percival, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-2000
Creator: Friendly Neighbors Club (Percival, Iowa)
Extent: 9.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0178
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Social club organized in April 1935 by farm wives living southeast of Percival, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Friendly Neighbors Club records (donor no. 227) were donated by Jean Schobert in 1995 and 2000.

Preferred Citation: Friendly Neighbors (Percival, Iowa) Club records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Friendly Neighbors Club was organized in April 1935. The members were farm wives living southeast of Percival, Iowa. The meetings were originally held biweekly; members pieced quilt blocks, quilted, hemmed dish towels, or worked on other projects to raise money for the club. Each October the club held a fund raising sale, auctioning homemade food and crafts. The money was used to support county causes and needs of the Percival community and to purchase gifts for the needy. Special social events of the Friendly Neighbors were family potlucks, guest days, picnics, and card parties. Special celebrations were held for the 25th, 40th, and 50th anniversaries. The club ceased to exist after its sixtieth year in 1995 because of a decline in membership.

The Friendly Neighbors Club records date from 1935 to 2000 and measure 9 linear inches. The records consist of a club history, biographies, annual programs, minutes, treasurer's books, scrapbooks, photographs, and a guest book. These records provide a glimpse into the social lives of farm women during the mid-twentieth century and into the demise of this type of social organization.

The club history includes a typed reminiscence culled from handwritten records of the club. There is also a newspaper clipping based on the reminiscence. The annual programs list officers, committees, and meeting dates. The minutes chronicle the activities of the meetings: gifts exchanged, mystery boxes shared, games played. The treasurer's books record income from dues, fines, and sales and expenditures for gifts, prizes, and donations to community groups and private individuals. The disbound photograph album includes numerous photographs of club members at their meetings. The guest book lists members attending the 50th anniversary celebration on April 17, 1985. The oversize scrapbook includes thank-you notes received by the club, newspaper clippings, and other memorabilia.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Club history
  • Biographies
  • Annual programs - 1939-1996
  • Minutes - 1935-1937
  • Minutes - 1964-1974
  • Minutes - 1974-1979
  • Minutes - 1979-1988
  • Minutes - 1988-1993
  • Minutes - 1993-1999
  • Treasurer's books - 1948-1984
  • Treasurer's books - 1985-2000
  • Guest book from 50th anniversary, April 17 - 1985
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook [oversize] - 1956-1985
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbook (disbound) - 1980s-1990s
  • Photograph album (disbound) - 1940s-1990s