Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1975-
Creator: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0174
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975 to recognize the contributions of Iowa women.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Items created or published by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women are in the public domain.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 254) were donated by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women. They are duplicates of records held by the State Archives in Des Moines, Iowa.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame was established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975. The Hall of Fame recognizes Iowa women who have contributed their ideas, talents, and skills to making a significant impact on society. The Iowa Commission, established in 1972, is a state government agency that seeks to assure equality for Iowa women. Each year a five-member selection committee appointed by the Commission receives nominations for the Hall of Fame and selects four inductees. The four inductees are honored at a special ceremony hosted by the governor of Iowa at the State Historical Society in Des Moines.

The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records date from 1975 to the present and measure 2 linear feet. They are arranged in three series: Annual Ceremonies and Booklets, Inductees, and Other Nomination Packets. An alphabetical list of inductees follows the finding aid.

The Annual Ceremonies and Booklets series includes the most current edition of the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame handbook, which contains a complete listing of all the women who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame with a brief biographical sketch of each. The handbook also includes updated information on inductees' activities in the years following their induction. Also included are programs from induction ceremonies and a few newspaper clippings announcing the names of the women to be inducted. Information on the winners of the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice, which is presented annually to one person at the Hall of Fame induction ceremony, completes the collection. The first recipient of the Wilson Medal, Governor Robert Ray, received the award in 1982

The Inductees series is organized by year and includes the nomination papers of all the women who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Each woman's nomination papers contain copies of the nomination form (including a list of accomplishments and the name of the person submitting the recommendation), a biographical sketch, and other pertinent information. Occasionally, recommendation letters, articles and photographs are also included. Within each folder, the papers are organized alphabetically by the inductee's last name.

The Other Nomination Packets series is arranged alphabetically. It includes nomination papers for women who were nominated between 1981 and 1988 but not selected for induction. Complete nomination files for all women who have been nominated but not inducted into the Hall of Fame are maintained by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.
Iowa Commission on the Status of Women records (IWA):  The organization that established and administers the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame awards.
 
"Celebrating Iowa Women" (IWA):  Notebook with information on the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women and the Cristine Wilson Medal of Equality and Justice. The notebook also includes biographical sketches of inductees from 1975 to 1995 and is shelved in the printed works collection.
 
Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women records (IWA):  The appointed commission that preceded the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.
 
Helen Gunderson photographs (IWA):  Black and white photographs of the seventy-fifth anniversary of the women's suffrage celebration parade (Des Moines, Iowa, September 1995) that followed the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame induction ceremony.
 
The Iowa Women's Archives holds the papers of several inductees and researchers should check the list of collections for specific individuals.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ANNUAL CEREMONY AND BOOKLETS
Series 2: INDUCTEES
Series 3: OTHER NOMINATION PACKETS

  • Series 1: ANNUAL CEREMONY AND BOOKLETS
  • Box 1:
  • Iowa Women's Hall of Fame booklet, current edition
  • Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice, current edition
  • Biographical sketches of inductees - 1975-1993
  • Programs from ceremonies - 1992-2010
  • Newspaper clippings - 1992-2010
  • Fundraising luncheons - 1992-2010
  • Series 2: INDUCTEES
  • Box 1:
  • Nomination Papers - 1975
  • Bloomer, Amelia Jenks
  • Miller, Ola Babcock
  • Wittenmyer, Annie
  • Nomination Papers - 1976
  • Glaspell, Susan
  • Hillis, Cora Bussey
  • Samuelson, Agnes
  • Sayre, Ruth
  • Nomination Papers - 1977
  • Binford, Jessie
  • Shambaugh, Jessie Field
  • Smith, Ida B. Wise
  • Smith, Mary Louise Epperson
  • Nomination Papers - 1978
  • Day, Jacqueline Armstrong
  • Houghton, Dorothy Deemer
  • Pendray, Carolyn Campbell
  • Suckow, Ruth
  • Nomination Papers - 1979
  • Doderer, Minnette Frerichs
  • Lee, Mabel
  • Odell, Mary Jane
  • Rosenfeld, Louise
  • Nomination Papers - 1980
  • Cunningham, Rosa E.
  • Grefe, Mary A.
  • Mansfield, Arabella
  • Williams, Catherine Gail
  • Nomination Papers - 1981
  • Adams, Mary Newbury
  • Conlin, Roxanne Barton
  • Garst, Mary
  • Noun, Louise Rosenfield
  • Nomination Papers - 1982
  • Anderson, Margaret "Peg" Stair
  • Anderson, Ruth Bluford
  • Hogrefe, Pearl
  • Smith, Jeanne Montgomery
  • Nomination Papers - 1983
  • Bedell, Virginia P.
  • Davis, Evelyn K. Scott
  • Everett, Beverly Beth George
  • Hilton, Helen LeBaron
  • Nomination Papers - 1984
  • Buchanan, Fannie Rebecca
  • Clarke, Mary Frances, BVM
  • Petersen, Mary Louise Anneburg
  • Sackett, Edith Rose Murphy
  • Nomination Papers - 1985
  • Black, Gladys B.
  • Griffin, Edna May Williams
  • Lawther, Anna B.
  • Murray, Alice Van Wert
  • Nomination Papers - 1986
  • Cothorn, Marguerite Esters
  • Glanton, Willie Stevenson
  • Parker, Jessie M.
  • Schramm, Dorothy
  • Nomination Papers - 1987
  • Davidson, Jolly Ann Horton
  • Fowler, Gwendolyn Wilson
  • Hoover, Lou Henry
  • Walker, Nellie Verne
  • Nomination Papers - 1988
  • Edmunds, A. Lillian
  • Lummer, Twila Parker
  • Murphy, Marilyn O.
  • Sullivan, Patricia Clare, RSM
  • Box 2:
  • Nomination Papers - 1989
  • Hill, Nancy Maria
  • Sievers, Georgia Anne Rogers
  • Swenson, Ruth Wildman
  • Wilson, Cristine Swanson
  • Nomination Papers - 1990
  • Coggeshall, Mary Jane Whitely
  • Fleming, Merle Wilna
  • Furgerson, Betty Jean 'BJ'
  • Riley, Glenda Gates
  • Nomination Papers - 1991
  • Jones, Mabel Lossing
  • Putnam, Mary Louisa Duncan
  • Staples, Marilyn Elaine Wright-Hauser
  • Tiffany, Lois Hattery
  • Nomination Papers - 1992
  • Harper, Virginia
  • Henderson, Helen Brown
  • Rubenstein, Eve Schmoll
  • Welch, Mary Beaumont Dudley
  • Nomination Papers - 1993
  • Anderson, Julia Faltinson
  • Eisenhower, Mamie Doud
  • Sudlow, Phebe W.
  • Wanatee, Jean Adeline Morgan
  • Nomination Papers - 1994
  • Benson, Milded Wirt
  • Eichacker, Lois Harper
  • Rush, Gertrude E. Durden
  • Villines, Evelyne R. Jobe
  • Nomination Papers - 1995
  • Brown, Sue M. Wilson
  • Campos, Mary Esther Domingues
  • Dieken, Gertrude
  • Stevens, Rowena Edson
  • Nomination Papers - 1996
  • Le Sueur, Meridel
  • Liffring-Zug Bourret, Joan Louisa
  • Murray, Janette Lindsey Stevenson
  • Wood, Mary E.
  • Nomination Papers - 1997
  • Bruner, Charlotte Hughes Johnston
  • Mullen, Margaret 'Peg'
  • Savery, Annie Nowlin
  • Webb, Beulah
  • Nomination Papers - 1998
  • Aldrich, Bess Streeter
  • Beran, Janice Ann Van Zomeran
  • Cutler, Lynn Germain
  • White, Maude Esther
  • Nomination Papers - 1999
  • Berg, Mary Jaylene
  • de Findlay, Rosa Maria Escude
  • Stein, Helen Navran
  • Szymoniak, Elaine Eisfelder
  • Box 3:
  • Nomination Papers (folder 1) - 2000
  • Clark, Betty Jean 'Beje' Walker
  • O'Brien, Denise
  • Nomination Papers (folder 2) - 2000
  • Swain, Adeline Morrison
  • Swanson, Margaret Boeye
  • Nomination Papers - 2001
  • Delworth, Ursula
  • Fowle, Phyllis Propp
  • Hughes, Phyllis Josephine
  • Pellegreno, Ann Dearing Holtgren
  • Nomination Papers - 2002
  • Campbell, Bonnie Jean Pierce
  • Follon, Sue Ellen
  • Jordan, Alice Yost
  • Ruedy, Shirley
  • Nomination Papers - 2003
  • Findley, Diana "Di" L.
  • Francis, May E.
  • Lloyd-Jones, Jean Hall
  • Toomey, Margaret Mary
  • Nomination Papers - 2004
  • Corning, Joy Cole
  • Evans, Mary Ann
  • Nash, Ruth Cole
  • Pederson, Sally J.
  • Box 4:
  • Nomination Papers - 2005
  • Hammond, Johnie Wright
  • LaBlanc, Brenda Hatwin
  • Schechter, Susan
  • Zimmerman, Jo Ann McIntosh
  • Nomination Papers (folder 1) - 2006
  • Eyerly, Jeannette Hyde
  • Grant, Christine Haston Barr
  • Nomination Papers (folder 2) - 2006
  • Paul, Dorothy M.
  • Sloss, Margaret
  • Nomination Papers (folder 1) - 2007
  • Gaines, Ruth Ann
  • Harvat, Emma J.
  • Nomination Papers (folder 2) - 2007
  • Hayden, Ada
  • Wimer, Connie Horton
  • Nomination Papers - 2008
  • Axel, Joan
  • Boatwright, Barbara
  • Engle, Hualing
  • Russell, Marilyn
  • Series 3: OTHER NOMINATION PACKETS
  • Box 5:
  • Andries, Anita M. Tiedt
  • Bateson, Bernice Gregg
  • Bitterly, Virginia Jean Huppe Parkinson
  • Boatwright, Barbara Moorman
  • Boddicker, Arlene Rayman
  • Borgen, Margaret Platt
  • Borschuck, Lo
  • Boyd, Susan Keuhn
  • Bullock, Sandra Lake
  • Choo, Chonghi
  • Clark, Susan V. Holley
  • Clause, Mary Kathryn "Molly" McCosh
  • Conklin, W. Charlene DeWitt
  • Davis, Enid Dygert
  • Cunningham, Marjorie Jean
  • DeLay, Jane Carey
  • Dieleman, Elsie Lucille Graham
  • Dunn, Catherine, BVM
  • Farrell, Carolyn, BVM
  • Fearing, Margery Ocano
  • Forker, Barbara E.
  • Box 6:
  • Gebhardt, Dixie Cornell
  • Gerst, Marlene
  • Gibson, Viola A.
  • Gitler, Josephine
  • Goldman, Katheryn June Parker
  • Gordon, Patricia Trudell
  • Hallagan, Mary Lawrence, RSM
  • Harmison, Norma J. Kelley
  • Ingels, Caroline Mary Wallace
  • Johnson, Miriam Pyle
  • Johnston, Judith Conlin
  • Keyes, Margaret Naumman
  • Klemm, Virginia Fredregill
  • Lenz, Sister Mary
  • Lewis, Faye Cashatt
  • Lipsky, Joan Miller
  • McGee, Elsie Fenton
  • Merritt, Jacqueline Fitzgerald
  • Molskow, Colleen Lee Connell
  • Nelson, Gladys Christine Chand
  • Neppel-Darrah, Peggy
  • Radell, Neva
  • Ray, Billie Hornberger
  • Robertson, Amy
  • Ross, Virgie Marie Feldman
  • Russell, Marilyn A.
  • Sandison, Charlotte Dallas Allen
  • Schodde, Ann Louise Olsen
  • Scott, Sandra Faye
  • Soper, Joanne Day
  • Tompkins, Jean Beattie
  • Ulassis, Sophia
  • Van Fosson, Theora June Ripley
  • Wier, Jeanne Elizabeth
  • Weissman, Sylvia Sloan
  • Whipple, Alice
  • Zwart, Elizabeth Clarkson (Elizabeth Metcalf)