Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Alice Sophia Brant papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1921-1956
Creator:Brant, Alice Sophia (1882-1956)
Extent:6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number:IWA0170
Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:Diaries of this homemaker and mother who helped manage the family's funeral home in Oelwein.

Alice Sophia Brant was born in 1882 to Edward Oren and Ida Josephine Paine. She later married Herb Brant and had seven children: Morris, Russell, Naomi, Randall, Lucile, Grace, and Gordon. Brant and her family kept a daily log of activities during their quarantine for smallpox in 1921. Brant kept diaries of daily activities and events over a twenty-five year span (1932-1956), during which time she kept house, raised her children, and assisted her husband with his management of a funeral home on Oelwein, Iowa. She died in Rochester, Minnesota in 1956.

The Alice Sophia Brant papers date from 1921 to 1956 and measure 6 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Diaries and Family information.

The Diaries series (1921, 1932-1956) consists of twenty-four bound calendar books containing daily entries written by Brant. These volumes span the years 1932 to 1956, with the exception of 1945. Also included is the diary of Naomi Brant, Alice Brant's eldest daughter, which chronicles the Brant family's activities while quarantined for small pox in 1921.

The Family Information series (undated) contains a transcription of Naomi Brant's diary as well as a list of names and relations referred to in Alice Brant's diaries. A biographical sketch of E.O. Paine, Alice's father is also included.

IWA printed works collection: Her Name Was Alice: Diary of Alice Sophia Paine Brant, 1932-1956 F629 .

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 245) were donated by Grace I. Spindler, Brant's daughter, in 1994.

Preferred Citation: Alice Sophia Brant papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5068
Curator:Kären Mason
Email:lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Diaries
Series 2: Family information

  • Series 1: Diaries
  • Box 1:
  • Naomi Brant - 1921
  • Brant family - 1932-1944
  • Brant family - 1946-1956
  • Series 2: Family information
  • Box 1:
  • General and photographs - 1901-2006

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Brant, Alice Sophia, 1882-1956
Brant, Naomi

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Family-owned business enterprises
Funeral homes
Smallpox
Quarantine
Women
Family life

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
Oelwein (Iowa)
Rochester (Minn.)

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Family Names:
Brant family
Brandt family