Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-2007
Creator: Stewart, Priscilla Ann Mabie (1926-)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0168
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Art historian and Professor who settled in Florida where she organized and directed a wild bird hospital.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 243) were donated by Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart in 1994 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart, art historian and professor, was born in Iowa City, Iowa, on September 21, 1926. Her father was Edward Charles Mabie, head of the University of Iowa's Speech and Dramatic Art Department from 1920 to1956.

Priscilla Mabie graduated from the University High School in 1944 and went on to earn a B.A. from the University of Iowa in art history in 1948. That same year she was awarded a certificate in Commercial Photography from the School of Modern Photography in New York City. She married Thomas Wilson Stewart in 1949, gained her teacher's certification and, when he graduated from law school in1951, moved to Florida. They settled in Bradenton, Florida, and she was hired as an art coordinator in local elementary schools. Stewart began teaching at the local junior college (later named Manatee Community College) in 1958 and attained the rank of full professor after she had earned an M.A. in Humanities in 1974 from the University of South Florida in Tampa and an Ed. S. in Art Education at Florida Atlantic in Boca Raton in 1981. She also organized and directed the Pelican PerchWild Bird Hospital in Bradenton from 1953 to 1985 which rehabilitates injured birds of all kinds. Stewart and her husband have no children.

The Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart papers date from 1932 to 2007 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Biographical and University School. The bulk of the papers consist of general records from Stewart's years in high school, including school newspapers, yearbooks, memorabilia and reunion materials.

The Biographical series(1993) contains a copy of Stewart's Who's Who in American Education entry.

The University School series (1932-1958, 1972-1994) is divided into two subseries, Elementary school and Junior high and high school. The Elementary school file contains typewritten materials of Mabie's work, a school newspaper and programs from school functions. The Junior high and high school files contain typewritten school programs, newspapers, correspondence, clippings, and yearbooks.
Edward Charles Mabie papers, University of Iowa Archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: UNIVERSITY SCHOOL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Who's Who entry - 1993
  • Iowa Alumni Quarterly, article - 1996
  • Foundation for Manatee Community College, article on Priscilla Ann Mabie Stewart - 2007
  • Series 2: UNIVERSITY SCHOOL
  • Box 1:
  • Elementary school: First grade project, school newspaper, programs from plays and concerts - 1932-1938
  • Junior high and high school: Programs from school plays, concerts, academic exercises - 1939-1944
  • Junior high and high school: U-Hi-Life [high school student newspaper Stewart edited] - 1942-1944
  • Junior high and high school: Correspondence and newspaper clippings - 1943-1958, 1979
  • Junior high and high school: Yearbooks - 1939-1944
  • Junior high and high school: Reunion programs and photographs - 1972-1994
  • Junior high and high school: Fiftieth reunion book [photocopy] - 1994