Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Elaine Szymoniak papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-2001
Creator: Szymoniak, Elaine (1920-2009)
Extent: 4.20 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0166
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 241) were donated by Elaine Szymoniak in 1994 and 1999.

Preferred Citation: Elaine Szymoniak papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Elaine Szymoniak, an Iowa state senator, former Des Moines City Council member and retired hearing and speech consultant, was born on May 24, 1920 to Hugo and Pauline Eisfelder in Boscobel, Wisconsin. In 1941, Szymoniak earned a bachelor's degree in education and speech pathology from the University of Wisconsin. She married Casimir (Chuck) D. Szymoniak in 1943: they reared five children together.

Szymoniak's degree and the deafness of both her parents led her to a career in speech therapy and later in rehabilitation. In the 1950s, after Chuck Szymoniak's discharge from the armed forces, the family moved to Des Moines, Iowa. In 1977 Szymoniak earned a master's degree in family environment, commuting to Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. She worked both part and full time as a hearing and speech consultant at the Iowa Department of Public Instruction for twenty-one years before her first campaign for public office.

Szymoniak won the election in 1977 for first ward city council member in Des Moines on her first attempt by defeating twelve-year incumbent Wallace Buss. At the time of her election, Szymoniak was the only female member of the city council. She unsuccessfully campaigned to become the mayor of Des Moines in 1979 and again in 1987. Following eleven consecutive years on the Des Moines City Council, Szymoniak set her goals on a different political office.

In the Iowa State Senate, Szymoniak has represented both the forty-second and thirty-sixth districts. Szymoniak's main areas of concern while serving in public office have been in health, education and human resources. This is reflected in the committees she has served on in the senate: Appropriations Committee on Human Services (vice-chair), Education, Human Resources (chair), Judiciary, Local Government and the Ways and Means Committee.

While acknowledging anguish on the issue, Szymoniak, a devout Roman Catholic, believes that abortion is a matter that should be left up to the conscience of the individual woman. A parental notification bill on abortion passed in the House of Representatives in 1994 and Szymoniak kept the bill in committee once it reached the Senate. A few lauded her for political savvy but most criticized the move as an attempt of three committee members to forestall legislation by denying the Senate an opportunity to vote for or against the bill. A 1992 Des Moines Register editorial endorsing her re-election summed up Szymoniak's political service: "Szymoniak has been an extremely hardworking, dedicated and conscientious lawmaker who is regarded at the Statehouse as one of the more effective legislators.

The Elaine Szymoniak papers date from 1974 to 2001 and measure 4.2 linear feet. The papers are arranged in five series: Audiology and speech pathology, Des Moines City Council, Political campaigns, Iowa State Senate and Personal. The papers document Szymoniak's professional and public life. The bulk of the collection is correspondence between Szymoniak and her constituents while in the Iowa State Senate.
 
Elaine Szymoniak's professional work as a hearing and speech consultant is represented in the Audiology and speech pathology series (1954-1986). In this series are reports produced by Szymoniak on the need for environmental noise control and two works written as part of her master's degree about hearing children growing up with deaf parents. Also of interest in this series are the legal briefs and materials regarding the issues of Title XIX Medicaid coverage of hearing aid costs and who should have the licensed ability to diagnose hearing loss.
 
Szymoniak has served as an elected official since 1977. The Des Moines City Council series (1977-1988 and undated) contains the papers from her tenure as the first ward city council member for Des Moines. The series includes topical files on local and national subjects that show her interest in various contemporary issues. However the majority of this series is made up of newspaper clippings chronicling Szymoniak's work on the city council. Also included are a copy of the minutes of Szymoniak's first city council meeting and letters from constituents with her response attached.
 
Szymoniak ran unsuccessfully for Mayor of Des Moines twice but won election and re-election as a state senator. The Political campaigns series (1979-1992) is divided by the two offices for which she campaigned. The Mayor of Des Moines subseries contains newspaper clippings, political mailings and Szymoniak's candidacy speech announcing her first campaign for mayor. In a letter in the Woman's campaign fund folder Szymoniak provides her own analysis of why she lost the election in 1979. The State senate subseries provides insight into Szymoniak's campaign financing and her integrity in dealing with a minor infraction of the disclosure law concerning the source of funding for political advertising. A report, "A Survey of Voter's Attitudes in Iowa's 36th District," commissioned by the Iowa Democratic Party, provides statistical data on voter's views on various topics of importance to the 1992 campaign. The series also contains various campaign buttons.
 
The Iowa State Senate series (1989-2001) comprises the bulk of the collection. This series consists primarily of correspondence between Szymoniak and her constituents. The letters are organized chronologically, with the originating letter and response together. Most of the letters from the public to Szymoniak are from 1994 when her subcommittee controlled an abortion parental notification bill in the senate. A 1991 statement Szymoniak made to the United States House of Representatives Subcommittee on Human Resources exhibits her concern for families and children.
 
The collection concludes with the Personal series (1986-2000) comprising Szymoniak's certificates and awards and the professional organizations to which she belonged.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH PATHOLOGY
Series 2: DES MOINES CITY COUNCIL
Series 3: POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS
Series 4: IOWA STATE SENATE
Series 5: PERSONAL

  • Series 1: AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH PATHOLOGY
  • Box 1:
  • Audiologist licensing - 1974-1983
  • Audiology magazine articles - 1954, 1986
  • Certificates of license - 1977
  • Environmental noise control and hearing loss reports - 1971-1979
  • Photographs of noise abatement display, undated
  • Title XIX Medicaid entitlement: hearing aid background information - 1977-1985
  • Title XIX Medicaid entitlement: hearing aid legal briefs (2 folders) - 1978-1980
  • Written works: Attitudes Toward Deafness: Children of Deaf Parents (master's thesis) - 1977
  • Written works: "Deaf Parents and Hearing Children" (report) - 1975
  • Series 2: DES MOINES CITY COUNCIL
  • Box 1:
  • Certificate of election - 1977
  • City of Des Moines annual reports - 1983, 1988
  • Constituent correspondence (2 folders) - 1978-1988
  • Minutes of Szymoniak's first city council meeting, January 2 - 1978
  • Box 2:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1981-1989
  • Newspaper clippings - 1977, 1981-1985
  • Questionnaire of city council members for the Des Moines Register - 1981
  • Speeches - 1974, 1979-1984
  • Topical files: Coalition against drug abuse - 1988
  • Topical files: Iowa Equal Rights Amendment - 1977-1980
  • Topical files: Mid-city library closing - 1985
  • Topical files: Nuclear arms race - 1983-1987
  • Topical files: Police - 1977-1981
  • Topical files: Rape - 1975-1985
  • Topical files: Self sufficiency - 1986-1988
  • Topical files: Women and work seminar - 1981
  • Topical files: Women in politics - 1979-1984
  • Woman of achievement award (YWCA of Greater Des Moines) - 1983
  • Series 3: POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS
  • Box 2:
  • Campaign buttons, undated
  • Mayor of Des Moines '79 campaign: Candidacy speech - 1979
  • Mayor of Des Moines '79 campaign: Condolence letters - 1979
  • Mayor of Des Moines '79 campaign: Flyers, undated
  • Mayor of Des Moines '79 campaign: Newspaper clippings - 1979
  • Mayor of Des Moines '79 campaign: Women's campaign fund - 1980
  • Mayor of Des Moines '87 campaign: Elementary school thank you cards - 1987
  • Mayor of Des Moines '87 campaign: Newspaper clippings - 1987
  • State senate, finance: Campaign contributions - 1991-1992
  • State senate, finance: Campaign finance disclosure commission - 1992
  • State senate, publicity: Candidate questionnaires - 1992
  • State senate, publicity: Political flyers: Challengers (Kathryn S. Freilinger and Kathy Keely) - 1992
  • State senate, publicity: Political flyers: Incumbent - 1992
  • State senate, publicity: Political flyers: Newspaper clippings - 1992
  • Box 3:
  • State senate, publicity: Photographs - 1992
  • State senate, publicity: Press releases - 1991
  • Public opinion: Election results: "A Survey of Voters' Attitudes in Iowa's 36th District" (report) - 1992
  • Series 4: IOWA STATE SENATE
  • Box 3:
  • Constituent correspondence (2 folders) - 1989
  • Constituent correspondence - 1990
  • Constituent correspondence - 1991
  • Constituent correspondence (3 folders) - 1992
  • Constituent correspondence: General (2 folders) - 1993
  • Constituent correspondence: Inmate correspondence - 1993
  • Box 4:
  • Constituent correspondence: General (2 folders) - 1994
  • Constituent correspondence: Abortion parental notification bill (3 folders) - 1994
  • Constituent correspondence: Thank you notes - 1992, 1995
  • Constituent correspondence (3 folders) - 1995
  • Box 5:
  • Constituent correspondence (5 folders) - 1996
  • Constituent correspondence (2 folders) - 1997
  • Box 6:
  • Constituent correspondence - 1998
  • Constituent correspondence (2 folders) - 1999
  • Constituent correspondence - 2000-2001
  • Constituent correspondence: "Weird Letters" - 1989-1997
  • Hearing statement (United States House of Representatives Subcommittee on Human Resources) - 1991
  • Event Invites and Programs - 1986-2001
  • Iowa Ethics Commission - 1998-2001
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa Healthcare Summit - 1993
  • Newsletters with Elaine - 1990-2000
  • Newspaper clippings: Elaine related - 1989-2000
  • Newspaper clippings: Issue related - 1989-2000
  • Newspaper clippings: Urbandale News, From the Statehouse - 1989-1992
  • Newspaper clippings: Speeches - 1989-1994
  • Newspaper clippings: Syzmoniak Actions - 1998
  • Newspaper clippings: Syzomoniak Bills - 1997-1998
  • Newspaper clippings: 76th General Assembly Highlights - 1997-1998
  • Topical files: Abortion (2 folders) - 1989-2000
  • Topical files: Al Gore - 1999
  • Box 8:
  • Topical files: Acupuncture - 2000
  • Topical files: Alumni merit award nomination - 1993
  • Topical files: Audiology and Speech Pathology: General - 1993-2000
  • Topical files: Audiology and Speech Pathology: Board of Examiners - 2000
  • Topical files: Audiology and Speech Pathology: Occupational Hearing Loss - 1996-1998
  • Topical files: Baker, Nathaniel Burial Plot - 1996
  • Topical files: Board of Regents nominee rejection - 1994
  • Topical files: Child abuse - 1993-1995
  • Topical files: Child welfare - 1996-1998
  • Topical files: Death penalty: Correspondence (2 folders) - 1993-1995
  • Box 9:
  • Topical files: Death penalty: Correspondence - 1993-1995
  • Topical files: Domestic Abuse (2 folders) - 1995-1997
  • Topical files: Education funding - 1992
  • Topical files: Gambling laws - 1993
  • Topical files: Gay and lesbian issues - 1989-1998
  • Topical files: Healthcare (2 folders) - 1993-2000
  • Topical files: Healthcare reform - 1992-1995
  • Topical files: Helmet law - 1992-1999
  • Topical files: Human investment plan - 1992
  • Box 10:
  • Topical files: Human investment plan - 1991
  • Topical files: Infant mortality task force - 1992
  • Topical files: Iowa communications network (ICN) - 1993
  • Topical files: Iowa Family Support Act - 1994
  • Topical files: Parental notification bill: Correspondence - 1994-1995
  • Topical files: Parental notification bill: Draft statement - 1994
  • Topical files: Parental notification bill: General (2 folders) - 1995-1996
  • Topical files: Parental notification bill: Newspaper clippings - 1994-1995
  • Topical files: State employee job reclassification freeze - 1993
  • Topical files: Task force for responsible fatherhood - 2001
  • Topical files: Teenage pregnancy - 1995
  • Topical files: Welfare reform - 1993-1995
  • Topical files: Women's issues - 1989-1995
  • Topical files: Voting records - 1989-1992
  • Series 5: PERSONAL
  • Box 11:
  • General, undated
  • Certificates and awards - 1986-2000
  • Professional Organizations: Chrysallis Foundation - 1996-2000
  • Professional Organizations: Iowa Council for International Understanding - 1996-1998