Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-2007
Creator: Spencer, Lonabelle Kaplan (1925-2011)
Extent: 29.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0160
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts: In Boxes 9, 10, 11, and 39.

Arrangement: 1997 ACCESSION Boxes 1-11 2007 ACCESSION Boxes 12-41 2008 ACCESSION Boxes 42-65

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 233) were donated by Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer in 1994 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Lonabelle "Kappie" Kaplan Spencer, political activist and women's rights advocate, was born in 1925 in Owatonna, Minnesota, to Reuben and Florence Kaplan. Kaplan became involved in the Girl Scouts of America in 1932 at the age of seven. She attended Grinnell College, graduating in 1947 with a degree in physical education. Kaplan married Grinnell graduate Mark Spencer and the couple moved to Des Moines where they had four children: Greg, Gary, Carol, and Dane.

Kappie Spencer served in leadership roles in Girl Scouts for more than thirty years. In 1965 she was selected as a participant to the International Conference of Girl Scouts/Guides held in Acapulco, Mexico. She also served as a board member and in several leadership positions in the Moingona Council of Central Iowa Girl Scouts. In 1974, when Spencer learned that a hog lot was to be built near a Girl Scout camp, she supported efforts to regulate livestock odors and air quality. Through this activism and lobbying, she became more interested in state politics. Although Spencer lost a bid for the Iowa Senate in 1976, she became a successful lobbyist.

A prominent member of the American Association of University Women (AAUW), Spencer served as chairwoman of the legislative program committee at the state and national levels. Through the AAUW, Spencer worked for many women's causes including the federal Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) in the late 1970s and the Iowa ERA in both 1980 and 1992. Spencer gave speeches across the state and wrote many letters to the editor in support of the ERA. Spencer worked for several years to promote dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories. She also influenced Iowa newspapers to include the first names of husbands and wives in obituaries, anniversary announcements, and wedding announcements. She founded an organization called the National Gender Balance Project to encourage states to appoint equal numbers of men and women to boards and committees.

When Spencer's mother died in 1965, she and her sister were not allowed to access their inheritance as it was put into a trust, while her brothers received their inheritance outright. For thirty years Spencer publicized this form of sex discrimination and eventually lobbied for an amendment to the federal banking services bill that banned discrimination against women by financial planners, which passed in 1999. In 1985, Spencer bought a second home in Sarasota, Florida, and continued her activism for women's rights in both Florida and Iowa. In 1990 Spencer won the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice, an award given by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.

The Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers date from 1931 to 2007 and measure 29.75 linear feet. The papers were acquired and processed in three separate accessions in 1997 and 2007 and 2008.

1997 ACCESSION

The 1997 accession is arranged in seven series: American Association of University Women, Equality for women, International Women's Year, Girl Scouts, Politics, Photographs and Artifacts.

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) series (1976-1996) chronicles Spencer's work as chair of the legislative program committee nationally and at the state level. Spencer was instrumental in changing the national legislative newsletter to the Action Alert format. She also conducted workshops on the ERA and worked to make women's voices heard in the political realm.

The Equality for women series (1965-1996) covers Spencer's pursuit of equality for women in printed publications and the financial arena. It chronicles her work in three main areas: to end the discrimination against women in trust funds and in newspaper publications, and to promote dual telephone directory listings for women. The series includes extensive documentation of a project spearheaded by Spencer for the Iowa Division of the AAUW to influence Iowa telephone companies to include married women's first names in telephone directories.

The International Women's Year series (1977-1978, 1996) documents Spencer's work at the Iowa Women's Meeting, including her election as a delegate and attendance at the National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas, in 1977. The synopsis folder provides brief reflections on her activities and comments about the infighting between pro- and anti-ERA delegates from different states.

The Girl Scouts series (1964-1996) contains a scrapbook chronicling Spencer's journey as a representative to the International Conference of Girl Scouts/Guides in Acapulco, Mexico. It also includes newspaper articles covering Spencer's activities with the Girl Scouts of Central Iowa and awards given to Spencer for her service. In addition the series includes memorabilia concerning the Moingona Council Pow-Wow of 1973, held at Camp Sacajawea in Boone, Iowa.

The Politics series (1976-1996) contains papers related to Spencer's campaign for the Iowa Senate in 1976 and Mary Grefe's campaign for the Iowa House of Representatives in 1984. The series includes one folder of materials from Spencer's involvement with the Republican women's task force, and papers concerning her appointment to the Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference.

The Photographs series (1973-1984) contains photographs from two girls' summer camps that Spencer directed, campaign snapshots and proof prints, and her photo ID from the International Women's Year National Conference.

The Artifacts series (1963-1984) contains Girl Scout pins and badges, a campaign t-shirt and pins, and a tote bag Kaplan made for the National Women's conference.

2007 ACCESSION

The 2007 accession is organized to mirror some of the series used in the 1997 accession and to include five new series. The ten series in the 2007 accession are Personal, Equal Rights Amendment, Hog odor efforts, Grinnell College, Public writings, American Association of University Women, Equality for Women, International Women's Year, Photographs and Artifacts. Many items in the 2007 accession remain in Spencer's folders with her labels in the original order.

The Personal series (1992-2003) includes an extensive history and genealogy of the Kaplan family of Minnesota written by one of Spencer's relatives, and biographical information on Spencer from her ,em>Who's Who in America profile and other publications.

The Equal Rights Amendment series (1974-1999) documents Spencer's work to pass the federal ERA and Iowa's state ERA, which was rejected by voters in 1980 and 1992. The series includes records of the AAUW that relate to the ERA, records of the Iowa ERA Coalition and other organizations, newspaper clippings, correspondence, events, polling data, printed materials, mailings, and financial records. Spencer also collected materials from organizations against the ERA and wrote analyses of the amendments' defeats.

The Hog odor efforts series (1968-2004) includes materials related to Spencer's support of state odor and air quality regulations. The series begins with the conflict between the Girl Scouts and the Ogden Sow Corporation over the proximity of a hog lot to the Girl Scout camp in Boone, Iowa. The series includes Spencer's letters of protest to the company and the state when she discovered there were no odor regulations, newspaper clippings, and records of her lobbying efforts and testimony to commissions. Materials from the state Odor Advisory Committee, which Spencer helped form, and the Air Quality Commission are also included as well as scientific studies on hog lots and air quality.

The Grinnell College series (1944-2000) includes Spencer's yearbooks, alumni materials, and her work as a class fund director, trustee, and reunion organizer. The Public writings series (1969-2004) includes Spencer's drafts and printed newspaper copies of letters to the editor and guest columns on a variety of topics spanning almost forty years. Many of the letters and guest columns appeared in the Des Moines Register. The series also includes testimony for commissions and public hearings, notes on her appearances on WHO talk radio, and correspondence with state and U.S. legislators.

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) series (1931-2001) includes issues of Action Alert, resource packets, programs, conference materials, and copies of older legislative programs starting in 1931.

The Equality for Women series (1946-2003) includes materials on Spencer's efforts to end discrimination against women by financial planners, and congratulatory letters after the federal banking services bill passed in 2000. Materials related to the National Gender Balance Project are included, as well as publications from the 1995 UN Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing, which Spencer attended to promote the National Gender Balance Project. A compilation of speeches from the conference, Look at the World Through Women's Eyes, is shelved in the IWA printed works. Kappie Spencer and the National Gender Balance Project are mentioned in the book The Deep Divide: Why American Women Resist Equality by Sherrye Henry, which is also shelved in the printed works. Newspaper clippings and materials from other women's conferences are included. The series concludes with information on the withdrawal of funding for Planned Parenthood of Iowa by two companies, AT&T and Pioneer Hi-Bred, after boycotts by pro-life groups.

The International Women's Year series (1976-1997) includes conference materials, newspaper clippings, and publications from the 1977 National Women's Conference in Houston that Spencer attended as a delegate. Materials in the Politics series (1974-1983) document Spencer's belief that the Republican Party had abandoned women's issues by not supporting the ERA, and her disapproval of the nomination and election of Ronald Reagan.

The Photographs series (1967-1997) includes photographs from Grinnell College reunions and conferences that Spencer attended. The Artifacts series includes stickers, balloons, buttons and t-shirts from the Iowa ERA campaign and items from Grinnell reunions.

2008 ACCESSION

Spencer wrote summaries of the series in the 2008 accession and these folders are included at the beginning of each series. The seven series in the 2008 accession are: National Gender Balance Project, Other Organizations, Florida Women's Consortium, Center for the American Woman and Politics (CAWP), Pre-Beijing Conference on Women, Beijing Conference on Women and Wills and Trusts.

The National Gender Balance Project series (1971-2004) contains reports and state by state files relating to Spencer's effort to get an equal number of men and women appointed to state boards and commissions.

The Other organizations series (1982-2006) includes "special information on many national women's organizations" which was "crucial to the launching and success of the National Gender Balance Project".

The Florida Women's Consortium series (1988-2007) details the organization that formed as a result of the National Gender Balance Project. As of 2008, the organization was losing members.

The Center for the American Woman and Politics (CAWP) series (1983-2005) includes correspondence and contacts that Spencer used to promote the National Gender Balance Project. Spencer got mailing lists and statistics from this organization.

The Pre-Beijing Conference on Women series (1987-1995) has materials relating to preparation for the global conference held in 1995.

The Beijing Conference on Women series (1980-2007) contains conference materials from the 1995 conference and information on women's issues. There are four subseries including Female Genital Mutilation, Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), Print materials and Newspaper clippings. For information concerning the Beijing Conference on Women, see previous accessions.

The Wills and trusts series (1946-2001) concerns Spencer's work regarding equitable distribution of inheritances along gender lines. Box 65 contains several books relating to financial subjects.

Two books are shelved in the IWA printed works collection: The Deep Divide: Why American Women Resist Equality by Sherrye Henry (1994) and Look at the World Through Women's Eyes: Plenary Speeches from the NGO Forum on Women, Beijing '95 edited by Eva Friedlander (1996).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW) - 1931-2001
Series 2: EQUALITY FOR WOMEN - 1946-2003
Series 3: INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S YEAR - 1976-1997
Series 4: GIRL SCOUTS - 1964-1996
Series 5: POLITICS - 1976-1996
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS - 1967-1997
Series 7: PERSONAL - 1992-2003
Series 8: EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT - 1974-1999
Series 9: HOG ODOR EFFORTS - 1968-2004
Series 10: GRINNELL COLLEGE - 1944-2000
Series 11: PUBLIC WRITINGS - 1931-2004
Series 12: ARTIFACTS
Series 13: NATIONAL GENDER BALANCE PROJECT - 1971-2004
Series 14: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS - 1982-2006
Series 15: FLORIDA WOMEN'S CONSORTIUM - 1988-2007
Series 16: CENTER FOR THE AMERICAN WOMAN AND POLITICS (CAWP) - 1983-2005
Series 17: PRE-BEIJING CONFERENCE ON WOMEN - 1987-1995
Series 18: BEIJING CONFERENCE ON WOMEN - 1980-2007
Series 19: WILLS AND TRUSTS - 1946-2001

  • Series 1: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW) - 1931-2001
  • Sub-Series: IOWA DIVISION
  • Box 1:
  • Computer camp for girls - 1984
  • Des Moines branch newsletters - 1976-1994
  • ERA newspaper clippings - 1979-1980
  • The Iowa University Women - 1978-1983
  • Legislative program committee chair notebook
    [contents removed from three-ring binder]
  • Notebook summary - 1996
  • Committee work - 1978-1979
  • Committee work - 1979-1980
  • Committee work - 1980-1981
  • Committee work - 1981-1982
  • Committee work - 1982-1984
  • Biennial conventions program books - 1978-1984
  • Executive board minutes - 1979-1982
  • Miscellaneous - 1977-1985
  • Box 2:
  • Workshop materials
  • Advocacy network - 1983
  • Agents of Change - 1978-1979
  • ERA - 1977-1980
  • ERA, VERA questionnaires [Victory for the Equal Rights Amendment] - 1980-1981
  • The Family After Equality Conference - 1980
  • Legislative kits - 1978-1981
  • Legislative workshop - 1981
  • Public affairs - 1982-1984
  • Title IX - 1977-1978
  • Women´s Vote Project - 1984
  • Sub-Series: NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
  • Box 2:
  • Association Legislative Program Committee (ALPC) work - 1980-1981
  • Association Legislative Program Committee (ALPC) work - 1981-1982
  • Association Legislative Program Committee (ALPC) minutes and reports - 1982-1983
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1980-1983
  • Shadow Council proposal to monitor the National Advisory Commission - 1982-1983
  • Travel visits - 1981-1983
  • Biennial conventions, Albuquerque, New Mexico - 1979
  • Biennial conventions, Boston, Massachusetts - 1981
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Education task force - 1982
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, ERA report - 1980-1982
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Issues briefing - 1983
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Legislative program committee - 1983
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Newspaper clippings - 1983
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Program book - 1983
  • Biennial conventions, San Francisco, California, Workshop "It´s a Man´s World. unless women vote!," - 1983
  • Newsletters, Action Alert - 1981, 1996
  • Newsletters, Action Alert - 1982
  • Newsletters, Action Alert - 1983, 1996
  • Newsletters, Leader in Action - 1981-1982
  • The New Federalism: A Washington Primer Division Legislative Program Chairs Advocacy Training - 1982
    [contents removed from three-ring binder]
  • The New Federalism: A Washington Primer Division Legislative Program Chairs Advocacy Training, Introduction - 1982
    [contents removed from three-ring binder]
  • The New Federalism: A Washington Primer Division Legislative Program Chairs Advocacy Training, Conference Information - 1982
    [contents removed from three-ring binder]
  • Box 4:
  • Association materials
  • Congress
  • Taking Action/Grassroots Action
  • Preparatory correspondence
  • Regional team training - 1982
  • United Nations Seminar Peace and National Security - 1982-1983
  • Series 2: EQUALITY FOR WOMEN - 1946-2003
  • Box 4:
  • Dual listings for women in telephone directories project, synopsis - 1996
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, correspondence (folder 1) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, correspondence (folder 2) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, correspondence (folder 3) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, correspondence (folder 4) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listings for women in telephone directories project, information - 1977-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, Iowa Commerce Commission testimony - 1981
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, newsletters - 1977, 1980, 1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, newspaper clippings (folder 1) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, newspaper clippings (folder 2) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, newspaper clippings (folder 3) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, phone company and legislative action - 1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, progress reports - 1982
  • Dual listing for women in telephone directories project, resolutions - 1977-1979
  • Media discrimination, correspondence - 1978, 1980
  • Media discrimination, newspaper clippings - 1976-1980
  • Media discrimination, petitions and resolutions, undated
  • Trust funds, account statements - 1965-1975
  • Trust funds, correspondence - 1965-1975
  • Trust funds, literature and newspaper clippings - 1965-1990
  • Trust funds, testimonies - 1989, 1990
  • Box 34:
  • Wills and trusts, correspondence and printed materials - 1973-2000
  • Wills and trusts, historical - 1946-2000
  • National media - 1999
  • Railroad Retirement Act - 1978-1982
  • White House Conference on Families - 1979-1980
  • Dual listings (folder 1) - 1976-1982
  • Dual listings (folder 2) - 1976-1982
  • Box 35:
  • Dual listings - 1976-1982
  • National Gender Balance Project, history - 1987-1999
  • National Gender Balance Project, miscellaneous (folder 1)
  • National Gender Balance Project, miscellaneous (folder 2)
  • National Gender Balance Project, Notes removed from the book, The Deep Divide
    [book shelved in print collections]
  • National Gender Balance Project, printed materials - 1995-1996
  • National Gender Balance Project, Beijing conference - 1995
  • National Gender Balance Project, California Women Get on Board: A Report from the California Board and Commission Project - 1989
  • National Gender Balance Project, 2nd Quarter Appointments Vacancy Report (Florida) - 1996
  • National Gender Balance Project,Women in Government: Carnahan Administration Appointments and Leadership Positions [Missouri] - 1999
  • National Gender Balance Project, Women in Government: New Ways to Political Power - 1993
  • National Gender Balance Project, A Simple Matter of Justice: Women´s Rights are Human Rights - 1996
  • National Gender Balance Project, Florida Commission on the Status of Women: Benchmark Study - 1996
  • National Gender Balance Project, Building on Beijing: United States NGOs Shape a Women´s National Action Agenda - 1997
  • Box 36:
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Promise Kept, Promise Broken? A Survey of Governments on National Action Plans to Implement the Beijing Platform - 1997
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Beyond Promises: Governments in Motion - 1996
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Female Genital Mutilation - 1996
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Bringing Beijing Back: Local Actions and Global Strategies - 1995
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Building the Global Community: The Next Step - 1995
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Women 2000 - 1997
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Women 2000 and Beyond - 2003
  • Beijing Conference Publications, America´s Commitment: Federal Programs Benefiting Women and New Initiatives as follow-up to the UN Fourth World Conference on Women - 1997
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Women´s Environment and Development Organization Newsletter - 1995
  • Beijing Conference Publications, UNIFEM in Beijing and Beyond - 1996
  • Beijing Conference Publications, UNIFEM Newsletter - 1996
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Florida Women Moving into the 21st Century - 1997
  • Beijing Conference Publications, Women´s Conference Circle, White House - 1996
  • U.N. Convention on Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) - 1996-2001
  • President´s Interagency Council on Women - 1996
  • Feminist Expo - 1996
  • Seneca Falls anniversary - 1996
  • International Federation of University Women - 1998
  • Box 37:
  • Planned Parenthood, AT&T withdrawal of support - 1990-1992
  • Planned Parenthood, Pioneer Hi-Bred withdrawal of support - 1992
  • Planned Parenthood, Press master list
  • Planned Parenthood, RU-486 - 1991-2000
  • Box 40:
    Oversize
  • National Gender Balance Project
  • Council of Presidents card files
  • Series 3: INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S YEAR - 1976-1997
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, synopsis - 1996
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, brochure and schedule - 1977
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, committee hearing - 1977
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, correspondence - 1977
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, delegates - 1977
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, newspaper clippings - 1977
  • Iowa Women's Meeting, program booklets - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, synopsis - 1996
  • National Women's Conference, Anti-ERA materials - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Conference rules of order and Public Law 94 enacting the National Commission on the Observance of International Women´s Year - 1975-1977
  • National Women's Conference, correspondence - 1977-1978
  • National Women's Conference, daily bulletins - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, newspaper clippings - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, patterns - 1977
    [oversized totebag shelved: box 9]
  • National Women's Conference, program book and proposed national plan of action - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, publicity - 1977
  • Box 37:
  • National Women´s Conference, Houston - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, newspaper clippings - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, newspaper clippings (folder 2) - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, newspaper clippings (folder 3) - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, conference materials (folder 1) - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, conference materials (folder 2) - 1977
  • National Women's Conference, Houston, conference materials (folder 3) - 1977
  • National Women´s Political Caucus
  • Proposed National Plan of Action - 1977
    [signed by Bella Abzug]
  • Box 38:
  • "...To Form More Perfect Union": Justice for American Women - 1976
  • Equal Rights Amendment: A Workshop Guide
  • Decade of Achievement - 1977-1987
  • Moving History Forward: An Update of the National Plan of Action of the National Women´s Conference - 1997
  • Series 4: GIRL SCOUTS - 1964-1996
  • Box 5:
  • Synopsis - 1996
  • Abortion controversy - 1975-1977
  • Awards - 1969-1978
  • Correspondence - 1966-1993
  • Day camp, general information packet - 1968
  • Box 6:
  • Camp craft activities - 1972
  • Event patches - 1963-1973
    [Artifacts in Box 11]
  • Newspaper clippings - 1964-1969
  • Newspaper clippings - 1973-1978
  • Pow-Wow, camp handbook - 1973
  • Pow-Wow, correspondence - 1973
  • Pow-Wow, national event consideration application - 1973
  • Pow-Wow, newspaper clippings - 1973
  • Pow-Wow, programs and newsletters - 1973
  • Troop consultant packet - 1967-1968
  • Box 8:
  • Scrapbook - 1965
  • Series 5: POLITICS - 1976-1996
  • Box 6:
  • Kappie Spencer for Iowa Senate, summary of campaign - 1996
  • Campaign files - 1976
  • #1 Campaign committee, organization, campaign plan, vita, GOP platform and campaign school notes - 1976
  • #2 Fundraising letters
  • #3 Publicity/press releases
  • #4 Precinct analysis and newspaper clippings
  • #5 Campaign appearances and speeches
  • #6 Mail-a-friend campaign
  • #7 Special file--R.A. Kaplan quote regarding his children and other special correspondence (family and friends)
  • #8 Personal correspondence
  • #9 Correspondence/newspaper clippings and Chiodo dirty campaign practices
  • #10 Fun stuff for youth squad
    [includes "Vote for KAPPIE SPENCER" T-shirts stored in artifacts: box 10]
  • Scrapbook - 1976
    [contents removed from three-ring binder]
  • Yard sign - 1976
    [oversize shelved in map case]
  • Box 7:
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, synopsis - 1996
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, endorsements - 1984
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, fundraiser skits - 1984
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, House District 84 voting history analysis - 1984
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, pamphlets - 1984
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, press releases and statements - 1984
  • Mary Grefe for Iowa House of Representatives, schedule and budget - 1984
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, synopsis - 1996
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, correspondence - 1977
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, final report - 1977
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, newsletters - 1977
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, newspaper clippings - 1977
  • Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, regional committee materials - 1976-1977
  • Republican women´s task force - 1976-1984, 1996
  • Box 38:
  • Senate race scrapbook (folder 1) - 1976
  • Senate race scrapbook (folder 2) - 1976
  • Bottle Bill - 1977-1980
  • GOP letters - 1975-1983
  • GOP/ERA - 1980-1983
  • Republican - 1974-1980
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS - 1967-1997
  • Box 7:
  • AAUW computer camp for girls - 1984
  • Girl Scouts Pow Wow `73 - 1973
  • International Women´s Year Conference - 1977
  • Iowa Senate campaign, scrapbook - 1976
    [photographs]
  • Iowa Senate campaign, snapshots and contact proofs - 1976

  • Mary Grefe outside state capitol - 1984
  • Box 38:
  • Conferences - 1977-1985
  • Grinnell College reunions - 1967-1997
  • Series 7: PERSONAL - 1992-2003
  • Box 12:
  • Biographical information
  • The Kaplan Family History - 1992
  • Series 8: EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT - 1974-1999
  • Sub-Series: FEDERAL
  • Box 12:
  • State ERA Ratification - 1975-1983
  • GOP - 1976-1983
  • Gender Gap, Get Out the Women´s Vote (GOTWV) - 1980-1983
  • Religion - 1976-1981
  • Draft - 1979-1983
  • Military - 1979-1981
  • History/background (folder 1) - 1972-1982
  • History/background (folder 2) - 1972-1982
  • Of interest - 1975-1981
  • Miscellaneous newspaper clippings - 1978-1982
  • AAUW, task force - 1980-1981
  • Box 13:
  • AAUW Task Force (folder 1) - 1980-1983
  • AAUW Task Force (folder 2) - 1980-1983
  • AAUW Task Force (folder 3) - 1980-1983
  • AAUW Task Force (folder 4) - 1980-1983
  • AAUW Task Force press kit - 1981
  • AAUW organizational - 1981
  • AAUW - 1982
  • AAUW, Interim Committee (folder 1) - 1982-1983
  • AAUW, Interim Committee (folder 2) - 1982-1983
  • AAUW, Interim Committee (folder 3) - 1982-1983
  • Box 14:
  • International Coordinating Committee - 1983
  • Duplicated materials, undated
  • Box 15:
  • Crucial rulings - 1977-1982
  • Rescission status - 1979-1981
  • Rescission association mailings - 1977-1979
  • Anti strategy - 1980-1981
  • Defeat - 1980-1983
  • Reintroduction - 1981-1983
  • Boycott - 1977-1981
  • Extension - 1977-1981
  • Newspaper clippings - 1981
  • Personal - 1981
  • Of interest newspaper clippings, (folder 1) - 1982-1983
  • Of interest newspaper clippings, (folder 2) - 1982-1983
  • It´s a Man´s World - 1983
  • Congressional ERA letters - 1978-1983
  • Fundraising for unratified states - 1981-1982
  • Florida, newspaper clippings - 1977-1982
  • Florida, personal action - 1977-1981
  • Illinois, newspaper clippings - 1978-1982
  • Illinois, personal action - 1978-1980
  • Illinois, Chicago march - 1980
  • Missouri, newspaper clippings - 1976-1978
  • Missouri, personal action - 1980
  • North Carolina, newspaper clippings - 1977-1982
  • North Carolina, personal action - 1981
  • Oklahoma, newspaper clippings - 1975-1983
  • Other unratified states, newspaper clippings - 1978-1982
  • Other unratified states, personal action - 1976-1982
  • Pamphlets
  • Sub-Series: IOWA ERA 1980
  • Box 15:
  • General - 1976-1980
  • Lobbying and personal action - 1978-1979
  • Legislation - 1975-1979
  • Background - 1978
  • Newspaper clippings - 1978
  • History, originals - 1978-1979
  • Personal action (coalition) - 1978
  • Executive planner - 1978-1979
  • Newspaper clippings - 1979
  • Box 16:
  • Personal action - 1979
  • History - 1980
  • Personal action - 1980
  • Letters to the editor - 1980
  • Need for ERA - 1976-1978
  • Rural women - 1980
  • Religion - 1972-1980
  • Issues background - 1980
  • Homosexual marriage - 1974-1975
  • Coalition formation - 1977-1980
  • Personal - 1978-1980
  • County coalitions - 1979-1980
  • Governing board committee agendas and minutes - 1978-1980
  • Publicity - 1978-1980
  • Coalition network - 1977-1980
  • Voter survey and strategy - 1976-1980
  • Financial - 1979-1980
  • Rallies and fundraisers - 1978-1980
  • Box 17:
  • Fundraisers (folder 1) - 1978-1980
  • Fundraisers (folder 2 - 1978-1980
  • Events - 1978-1980
  • Speakers background - 1978-1980
  • AAUW travel visits - 1979-1980
  • Personal speaking - 1979-1980
  • Speaker´s packet
  • Hearings - 1977-1978
  • Rallies - 1977-1981
  • Bandwagon - 1980
  • Box 18:
  • Bandwagon, personal action - 1980
  • Newsletters and printed materials - 1978-1980
  • Anti propaganda - 1976-1980
  • Box 19:
  • Anti strategy
  • Right to choice - 1975-1978
  • Defeat - 1980
  • Sub-Series: PERSONAL
  • Box 19:
  • - 1980-1983
  • Correspondence - 1980
  • Caravan/bandwagon - 1980
  • Phyllis Schlafly - 1977-1992
  • Box 20:
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 1) - 1981-1984
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 2 - 1981-1984
  • Notes, undated
  • Miscellaneous
  • Girl scouts - 1977-1983
  • AAUW Action for Equality - 1980
  • Educational Equity: A Continuing Quest - 1982
  • Sex Bias in the U.S. Code - 1977
  • ERA Facts and Action Guide, At Ease with the ERA - 1979, 1986
  • Box 21:
  • Miscellaneous resources
  • Vermont ERA - 1986
  • Pro-ERA brochures - 1980-1992
  • Sub-Series: IOWA ERA 1992
  • Box 21:
  • General
  • National
  • Speech ideas
  • Anti
  • Phyllis Schlafly
  • Pat Robertson
  • Letters to the editor
  • AAUW Iowa ERA Action Kit
  • Radio and TV
  • Opposition
  • History and editorials
  • Betty Durden
  • Equality Campaign
  • Box 22:
  • Ellie Smeal
  • Cynthia Terrell, Iowa Equality Campaign
  • Campaign finance disclosure laws
  • Other states with ERAs
  • Analysis of 1980 defeat
  • Anti-ERA brochures
  • Anti-ERA tactics
  • Why need ERA?
  • Endorsements
  • Miscellaneous
  • Constitution, Yale Law Journal, "Abortion Neutral" language
  • ERA 1992 Coalition
  • ERA 1992 Coalition brochures
  • Fundraising
  • Letters to the editor and newspaper clippings
  • WHO radio, Jan Mickelson
  • Personal
  • Knoxville AAUW
  • Letters, unfavorable
  • Meeting minutes
  • Poll results
  • Box 23:
  • County Coalition Coordinators letters 1-5
  • Mailings, drafts and receipts
  • Tabloid drafts and planning
  • Tabloid expenses
  • Independent expenses ERA
  • Women´s Equality Report Committee, West Bank account
  • Receipts/backups
  • Campaign finance disclosure reports
  • Campaign finance disclosure codes
  • Bev Davis
  • Victoria Herring correspondence concerning Bev Davis
  • Defeat
  • ERA - 1993-1999
  • Sub-Series: AUDIOCASSETTES
  • Box 23:
  • Notes on audiocassettes - 1996
  • Interview with Linda Brigance on ERA (40 minutes) - 1996
    [AC1221]
  • ERA, undated (10 minutes)
    [AC1222]
  • Joe Wall speech on ERA at Grinnell College (40 minutes) - 1980
    [AC1223]
  • National Secretaries Association meeting, ERA debate between Kappie Spencer and Donna LePort (45 minutes) - 1980
    [AC1224]
  • Erma Bombeck radio advertisement for Iowa ERA, (30 seconds) - 1980
    [AC1225]
  • Sub-Series: OVERSIZE
  • Box 40:
    Oversize
  • Lobbying card files
  • Contacts card files
  • Series 9: HOG ODOR EFFORTS - 1968-2004
  • Box 24:
  • History - 2004
  • Letters to the editor - 1974-1978
  • Letters to the editor - 1995
  • Newspaper clippings mentioning Kappie Spencer - 1975-1980
  • Letters regarding Scouts vs. Hogs - 1974-1980
  • Miscellaneous, Scouts vs. Hogs - 1974-1975
  • Girl Scout camp newspaper clippings - 1974
  • Complaints, letters, petitions, calls - 1973-1979
  • Letters from network list - 1973-1979
  • Letters, bills, headlines - 1975-1979
  • Letters to Ogden Sow Confinement - 1974-1975
  • Box 25:
  • Air Quality Commission attempt - 1974
  • Personal action - 1974
  • Odor Control Advisory Committee (folder 1) - 1974-1976
  • Odor Control Advisory Committee (folder 2) - 1974-1976
  • Newspaper clippings re: odors - 1974-1977
  • Health - 1974-1975
  • Letters re: regulations
  • Letters on confined feeding and waste management - 1975
  • Department of Environmental Quality newsletters - 1975-1990
  • International Symposium on Livestock Wastes - 1975
  • Nuisance actions - 1970-1976
  • Iowa Air Quality Commission agendas (folder 1) - 1975-1977
  • Iowa Air Quality Commission agendas (folder 2) - 1975-1977
  • Box 26:
  • Iowa Air Quality Commission agendas - 1977-1979
  • Odor Control Advisory Panel agendas - 1975-1976
  • Various odor publications - 1974-1976
  • Legislation - 1977-1979
  • Land use, House File 505 - 1975
  • Letters to legislators re land use - 1975
  • Senate File 367 lobbying - 1975-1976
  • Odor regulations (folder 1) - 1968-2004
  • Odor regulations (folder 2) - 1968-2004
  • Odor regulations (folder 3) - 1968-2004
  • Odor regulations (folder 4) - 1968-2004
  • Testimony - 1973-1977
  • Hearings, newspaper clippings - 1976-1982
  • Hearings, February 19 - 1975
  • Hearings, April 10 - 1975
  • Box 27:
  • Hearings, September 16 - 1976
  • Hearings, December 16 - 1976
  • Hearings, Budget hearing, December - 1976
  • Hearings, April 13 - 1977
  • Hearings, July 12 - 1979
  • Hearings, Personal hearing testimony - 1975-1978
  • Southeast priority board
  • Southeast neighborhood meeting, February - 1979
  • Air Quality Commission action - 1974-1976
  • Formation of Odor Control Advisory Committee - 1975
  • Odor Advisory members in the news - 1975-1979
  • Odor study - 1974-1979
  • Odor Control Advisory Committee minutes - 1975-1976
  • Odor Control Committee recommendations
  • Odor Control Committee memorandum - 1974-1979
  • Aborted odor tour
  • Background - 1971-1977
  • Box 28:
  • Committee correspondence - 1975-1979
  • Air quality regulations - 1974-1975
  • Odor control - 1960-1972
  • Odor measurement techniques (folder 1) - 1963-1975
  • Odor measurement techniques (folder 2) - 1963-1975
  • Health and nuisance
  • Box 29:
  • Miscellaneous (folder 1) - 1969-1978
  • Miscellaneous (folder 2) - 1969-1978
  • Newspaper clippings, letters (folder 1) - 1975-2000
  • Newspaper clippings, letters (folder 2) - 1975-2000
  • Newspaper clippings, letters (folder 3) - 1975-2000
  • Newspaper clippings, letters (folder 4) - 1975-2000
  • Correspondence - 1974-1975
  • Publications - 1969-1975
  • Box 40:
    Oversize
  • Contacts card files
  • Box 41:
  • Research materials, Readings in Enivronmental Resources - 1974
  • Research materials, A Study of the Social & Economic Impact of Odors Parts II and III - 1971, 1973
  • Iowa law review article - 1971
  • Series 10: GRINNELL COLLEGE - 1944-2000
  • Box 30:
  • Grinnell Magazine and correspondence - 1972-1991
  • Grinnell Blue Book - 1996
  • The Cyclone (Yearbook) - 1944-1947
  • Class fund director, correspondence - 1973-2000
  • Box 31:
  • Class fund director, bulk mailings - 1973-2000
  • Class fund director, class giving background information - 1972-1999
  • Class fund director, conference - 1995
  • Class fund director, development office correspondence - 1972-1983
  • Honorary Marshall, commencement - 1997
  • Reunions - 1978-1997
  • Reunion planning and correspondence (folder 1) - 1996-1997
  • Reunion planning and correspondence (folder 2) - 1996-1997
  • Grinnell College 50th class reunion (40 minutes) - 1997
    [AC1220, shelved in audiocassette collection]
  • President's Club Weekend - 1991
  • Series 11: PUBLIC WRITINGS - 1931-2004
  • Box 32:
  • Letters to the editor (folder 1) - 1969-1998
  • Letters to the editor (folder 2) - 1969-1998
  • Letters to the editor (folder 3) - 1969-1998
  • Letters to the editor (folder 4) - 1969-1998
  • Letters to the editor (folder 5) - 1969-1998
  • Box 33:
  • Letters to the editor - 1999-2004
  • Testimony - 1981-2003
  • WHO talk radio - 1976-1992
  • Correspondence to and from legislators (folder 1) - 1974-2000
  • Correspondence to and from legislators (folder 2) - 1974-2000
  • Box 34:
  • Miscellaneous legislative - 1972-2001
  • National convention - 1997
  • Get Out the Women´s Vote Project - 1984
  • Committee on Women´s Issues resource packet - 1985-1986
  • Action Alert - 1981-1988
  • Programs and printed materials - 1978-1998
  • Legislative programs - 1931-1978
  • Series 12: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 9:
  • National Women´s Conference totebag - 1977
  • Box 10:
  • "Vote for KAPPIE SPENCER" T-shirts - 1976
  • Box 11:
  • Political pins and badges - 1976, 1984
  • Girl Scouts event patches - 1963-1973
  • Box 39:
  • ERA Signs
  • ERA T-shirts
  • ERA Tote bag
  • ERA Scarves
  • ERA Bumper sticker
  • ERA Buttons
  • ERA Balloon
  • ERA Cards
  • Home Economics in Business paper weight
  • Grinnell College Pennant
  • Grinnell College Beanie
  • Grinnell College Reunion nametag and ribbons
  • Series 13: NATIONAL GENDER BALANCE PROJECT - 1971-2004
  • Box 42:
  • Summary
  • Progress reports - 1989-1997
  • - 1988
  • (folder 1) - 1989
  • (folder 2) - 1989
  • - 1990
  • - 1991
  • - 1992
  • Box 43:
  • (folder 1) - 1993-1998
  • (folder 2) - 1993-1998
  • (folder 3) - 1993-1998
  • (folder 4) - 1993-1998
  • (folder 5) - 1993-1998
  • (folder 6) - 1993-1998
  • Box 44:
  • - 1999
  • - 2000-2004
  • Alabama - Arkansas - 1988-1992
  • California - 1988-1997
  • Colorado - 1988-1996
  • Connecticut - 1983-1003
  • Delaware - 1979-1991
  • Florida - 1989
  • Florida - 1991-1992
  • Box 45:
  • Florida - 1993
  • Florida - 1994-2000
  • Georgia - Indiana - 1986-1996
  • Iowa - 1971-1996
  • Kansas - Kentucky - 1989-2000
  • Louisiana - Minnesota - 1987-1995
  • Missouri - 1989-1999
  • Montana - Nevada - 1988-1991
  • Box 46:
  • New Jersey - North Carolina - 1981-1999
  • North Dakota - 1989
  • Ohio - 1987-1996
  • Oklahoma - Pennsylvania - 1989-1992
  • Rhode Island - Texas - 1989-1990
  • Utah - Vermont - 1989-1996
  • Virginia - 1986-1994
  • Washington - Wyoming - 1988-1998
  • Series 14: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS - 1982-2006
  • Box 47:
  • Summary
  • Business and Professional Women's Clubs - 1988-1989
  • Center for the American Woman in Politics - 1987-1991
  • Iowa Commission for the Status of Women - 1990-2006
  • Feminist Expo - 1996
  • Feminist Expo - 2000
  • Feminist Majority - 1989-2004
  • 50 States project - 1982
  • 50 States project - 1991-2002
  • National Association of Commission for Women folder 1) - 1988-1990
  • Box 48:
  • National Association of Commission for Women (folder 2) - 1988-1990
  • National Association of Commission for Women - 1996
  • National Conference of State Legislatures - 1989
  • National Organization for Women - 1988-1992
  • National Women's Conference Center - 1977-1989
  • National Women's Conference Center - 1991
  • National Women's Conference Center - 1992-1997
  • Box 49:
  • National Women´s Political Caucus - 1984-1991
  • National Women's Political Caucus - 1992-1994
  • National Women's Political Caucus - 1994-1996
  • Box 50:
  • National Women´s Political Caucus - 1997-2000
  • Suncoast Political Caucus - 1986-1995
  • Women in the Senate and House - 1992-1998
  • Women´s Environment & Development Organization - 1997-2002
  • Series 15: FLORIDA WOMEN'S CONSORTIUM - 1988-2007
  • Box 50:
  • Summary
  • History - 1988-1991
  • - 1988
  • - 1989
  • - 1990
  • - 1991
  • Box 51:
  • - 1992
  • - 1993
  • - 1994
  • - 1995
  • - 1996-1997
  • - 1998
  • (folder 1) - 1999
  • (folder 2) - 1999
  • - 2000, 2007
  • Board minutes - 1990-1991
  • Annette Van Howe - 1990-1998
  • Series 16: CENTER FOR THE AMERICAN WOMAN AND POLITICS (CAWP) - 1983-2005
  • Box 52:
  • Summary
  • - 1987
  • - 1988-1989
  • - 1990-1991
  • 1992-1993
  • - 1994
  • - 1995
  • - 1996-2000
  • Box 53:
  • - 2001-2005
  • Publications - 1985-1995
  • Publications - 1996-2001
  • Series 17: PRE-BEIJING CONFERENCE ON WOMEN - 1987-1995
  • Box 54:
  • Clippings
  • Conferences - 1994
  • Grinnell magazine - 1987
  • NGO Consultation - 1994-1995
  • Preparation - 1993-1994
  • Preparation (folder 2) - 1993-1994
  • Preparatory meetings, Kansas City - 1994
  • Pre-meeting - 1994-1995
  • Priorities conference in Iowa City - 1994
  • Print materials - 1995
  • U.S. Southeastern conference - 1994
  • Series 18: BEIJING CONFERENCE ON WOMEN - 1980-2007
  • Sub-Series: GENERAL
  • Box 55:
  • Abortion debate clippings - 1995
  • Citizen Ambassador program - 1995
  • Citizen Ambassador program (folder 2) - 1995
  • Delegates - 1995
  • Gender balance project - 1995
  • Letter-journal about conference - 1995
  • Packet of information - 1995
  • Registration - 1995
  • Special memories - 1995
  • United Stated delegation - 1995
  • Print materials - 1995
  • Print materials (folder 2) - 1995
  • Sub-Series: FEMALE GENITAL MUTILATION (FGM) - 1982-2007
  • Box 56:
  • Correspondence - 1996
  • Information - 1982-2007
  • Information kit - 1996
  • National Association of Commissions for Women - 1996
  • Women´s International Network - 1991-1996
  • Photographs - 1996
  • Box 57:
  • Contract with women of the U.S.A. - 1996
  • Background miscellaneous - 1995
  • Post conference - 1995-1996
  • Proceedings - 1996
  • Sub-Series: CONVENTION ON THE ELIMINATION OF ALL FORMS OF DISCRIMINATION AGAINST WOMEN (CEDAW) - 1980-2007
  • Box 58:
  • - 1980-1984
  • - 1995
  • - 1996
  • - 1997-2000
  • - 2001-2002
  • - 2003-2007
  • Sub-Series: PRINT MATERIALS - 1985-2004
  • Box 58:
  • "Women of China" - 1995
  • "The World´s Women" - 1990
  • Box 59:
  • Plans after Beijing Conference - 1996-1997
  • Plans after Beijing Conference (folder 2) - 1996-1997
  • Plans after Beijing Conference (folder 3) - 1996-1997
  • Proceedings at the Beijing conference - 1995
  • "Women 2000" - 1997-2004
  • Box 60:
  • Brochures from conference - 1995
  • China - 1985-2000
  • Environmental issuses - 1994-1995
  • Preparing for Beijing conference - 1993-1995
  • Miscellaneous - 1993-1995
  • United Nations report - 1995
  • Women´s issues - 1994-1997
  • Sub-Series: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS - 1995
  • China Daily - 1995
  • Forum - 1995
  • Miscellaneous (folder 1) - 1995
  • Miscellaneous (folder 2) - 1995
  • South China Morning Post - 1995
  • World Women - 1995
  • Series 19: WILLS AND TRUSTS - 1946-2001
  • Box 62:
  • Action information - 1999-2000
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) - 1980-1987
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) (folder 2) - 1980-1987
  • AAUW Florida branch - 1988
  • AAUW Florida branch - 2000
  • Background information - 1977-1995
    includes audiotape
  • Background information - 1999-2000
    includes audiotape
  • Box 63:
  • Caucus/workshop - 2000
  • Center for True Economic Priorities - 2001
  • Certified financial planner - 1995-2000
  • Drafting a QTip trust - 1989
  • Expenses - 1997
  • Financial contacts - 1995-2000
  • Grinnell College - 1988-1991
  • Iowa Commission of the Status of Women - 1989
  • Iowa´s White House Conference on Women - 1980
  • Florence E. Kaplan Trust - 1946-1995
  • Ruben Kaplan´s will - 1951-1980
  • Miscellaneous information
  • National Council for Women´s Organizations - 1986-2000
  • Older Women´s League - 1998-2007
  • Box 64:
  • Personal resources - 1979-2000
  • Print information about trusts - 1969-1985
  • Print information about trusts (folder 2) - 1969-1985
  • Taxes and estates - 1969-1977
  • Training materials, undated - 1987
  • "Understanding the Male Dominant System" - 1985
  • Wellesley College - research of Women - 1983-1987
  • "Who´s Money is it Anyway?" by Kappie Spencer - 1999
  • `Wills for Florida residents - 1983-1987
  • Women´s issues - 1987-1988
  • Box 65:
    Books
  • "Planning your Retirement," AARP, undated
  • "A Primer on Personal Money Management," AARP - 1991
  • Aksamit, Gary, "Preparing for Life´s Two Certainties: Death and Taxes" - 1979
  • Adams, Kathleen and Robert Brosterman, "The Complete Estate Planning Guide" - 1998
  • Breast Cancer Research Foundation, "Partners for Philanthropy" - 2000
  • Card, Emily W. & Adam L. Miller, "Managing your Inheritance" - 1995
  • Center for Prairie Studies, "Discovery" - 2000
  • Chesler, Phyllis, "Women Money & Power" - 1977
  • Collective Heritage Institute, "Bioneers Restoring the Earth" - 1999
  • Condon, Gerald M. & Jeffrey L. Condon, "Beyond the Grave" - 1995
  • Esperti, Robert A. & Renno L. Peterson, "Loving Trust" - 1997
  • Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence," Financial Safety Planning for Older Women" - 1999
  • Kossak, David A., "It is better to Gift than to Receive," undated (audio tape)
  • Lasser, J. K. "Your Estate and Gift taxes" - 1977
  • Life Insurance Marketing & Research Assoc., "What does she do now?" - 1975
  • Lumb, Fred A., "What every Woman Should Know About Finances" - 1979
  • Miscellaneous brochures
  • Morris, Virginia & Kenneth, "A Woman´s Guide to Investing" - 1997
  • Nauheim, Ferd, "Easy Ways to Build Family Finances & Reduce Risks & Taxes" - 1973
  • "Women, Money, and Financial Planning," (magazine) - 1986
  • Slepian, Anne and Christopher Mogil," Welcome to Philanthropy" - 1997
  • Udell, Bruce S., "Advanced Estate Planning," Undated
  • The Trust Reader - 1978
  • Worth magazine - 2001