Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Janice A. Beran papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1944-1998
Creator: Beran, Janice A. (1931-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0149
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. Materials relate to the history of sports and particularly the participation of women and African-Americans in Iowa sports.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 3

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the donor.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 217) were donated by Janice A. Beran in 1994 and 1998.

Preferred Citation: Janice A. Beran papers, Iowa Women's  Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Janice A. Beran was a professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. In 1992 she was the first to ever win the Central District Scholar Award from the Central District Association of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Beran has done extensive research on Iowa sport history, particularly on women and African Americans. Her research on the history of Iowa girls' high school basketball culminated in a book published in 1993, From Six-on-Six to Full Court Press: A Century of Iowa Girls' Basketball (Ames: Iowa State University Press) [available through the Main Library, or in Special Collections].

The Janice A. Beran papers date from 1944 to 1998 and measure 2 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Family History, Manuscripts, Reprints, Speeches, Commentary, Research Files, Girls' Basketball, and Iowa Girls' High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU). The papers primarily consist of published and unpublished articles, and research files concerning Beran's work on women and African-Americans in sport.

The Family History series (1998) consists of a family history written and published by Beran about her parents and family.

The Manuscripts series (1975-1993) contains manuscripts of articles written by Beran. Two of these manuscripts, "Playing to the Right Drummer" and "Iowa, the Long Time 'Hot Bed'of Girls' Basketball," are drafts of articles that were later published; reprints of these articles are in the Reprints series. The drafts are somewhat different from the final versions. A nearly complete manuscript for Beran's book From Six-on-Six to Full Court Press: A Century of Iowa Girls' Basketball, published in 1993, can also be found in this series.

The Reprints series (1981-1991) includes photocopied articles by Beran that were published either in journals, books, or both.

The Speeches series (1988-1993) consists of speeches presented by Beran at professional conferences, including the North American Society for Sport History and the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. One of her speeches was made in acceptance of the Central District Scholar Award.

The Commentary series (1993) is a newspaper article that Beran wrote just days after the announcement that the Iowa Girls' High School Athletic Union had voted to end six-on-six (six-player, "girls' rules") basketball.

The Research Files--Girls' Basketball series contains information Beran compiled while researching Iowa girls' high school basketball. These files include photographs and illustrations used in her book, From Six-on-Six to Full Court Press: A Century of Iowa Girls' Basketball, as well as newspaper clippings, oral history notes, personal correspondence, and information on girls' basketball in various Iowa towns and in other states.

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU) series (1944-1993) consists of publications and documentation produced by the IGHSAU, including the Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook (1944-1964), State Tournament Programs, a media press guide for the 1993 State Tournament (the last to feature six-on-six basketball), and Constitution-By laws for the IGHSAU. Some of the yearbooks are missing parts of pages.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY
Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
Series 3: REPRINTS
Series 4: SPEECHES
Series 5: COMMENTARY
Series 6: RESEARCH FILES -- GIRLS' BASKETBALL
Series 7: IOWA GIRLS HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC UNION (IGHSAU)

  • Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Family history by Jan Beran - 1998
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • Manuscripts
  • "The History of Physical Education for Women at Iowa State University 1868-1940" - 1975
  • "Playing to the Right Drummer:Girls' Basketball in Iowa, 1893-1927" - 1983
  • Manuscripts
  • "They Were a Perfect Match!Two Public Servants, Lou Henry Hoover and Herbert C. Hoover" - 1991
  • "Iowa, the Longtime 'Hot Bed' of Girls' Basketball," undated
  • Manuscripts
  • "Lou Henry Hoover and the Development of Women's Sports," undated
  • "Olan Guy Ruble," undated
  • Manuscripts
  • "C. Vivian Stoner Stringer," undated
  • "From Six-on-Six to Full Court Press:A Century of Iowa Girls' Basketball" [excerpts], undated
  • Series 3: REPRINTS
  • Box 2:
  • "The Iowa Girls' High School Basketball Tournament as an Institutionalized Ritual," in "Play as Context," edited by Alyce Cheska. New York: Leisure Press - 1981
  • "The Story: Six-Player Girls' Basketball in Iowa," in "Her Story in Sport: A Historical Anthology of Women in Sports," edited by Reet Howell. New York: Leisure Press - 1982
  • "Playing to the Right Drummer: Girls' Basketball in Iowa, 1893-1927," "Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport." Centennial Issue - 1985
  • "Daughters of the Middle Border, Iowa Women in Sport and Physical Activity, 1850-1910," "Iowa State Journal of Research," Vol. 62, No. 2 - 1987
  • "Diamonds in Iowa: Blacks, Buxton, and Baseball," "The Journal of Negro History," Vol. 75, nos. 3-4 - 1990
  • "The Turners in Iowa, USA: Promoters of Fitness and Shapers of Culture," in "Turner and Sport," edited by Roland Naul. New York: Waxman Munster - 1991
  • "Iowa, the Longtime 'Hot Bed' of Girls' Basketball," in "A Century of Women's Basketball: From Frailty to Final Four," edited by Joan S. Hult and Marianna Trekell. National Association for Girls and Women in Sport - 1991
  • Series 4: SPEECHES
  • Box 2:
  • "Networking in Sports, It Worked in the 1920s" - 1988
  • "Lou Henry Hoover, Former First Lady 1926-1930" - 1989
  • "Racism Rears Its Ugly Head in the Midwest: Football, 1923 and 1951" - 1990
  • "Max J. Exner, Naismith's Roommate, Pioneering Teacher, Coach, Public Health Physician" - 1991
  • Our Profession: Field of Dreamers, Field of Doers" - 1992
  • "Why Only in Iowa?" - 1993
  • Series 5: COMMENTARY
  • Box 2:
  • "Iowa Girls' Basketball Moves Through the Century," in The Daily Tribune, February 8 - 1993
  • Series 6: RESEARCH FILES -- GIRLS' BASKETBALL
  • Box 2:
  • Outline: topics for research
  • Appendices
  • Grant proposal, documentary film - 1993
  • Women's basketball timeline - 1917-1927
  • Survey of former players, questionnaire - 1979
  • Sports interests and attitudes: high school students, questionnaire
  • Magazine articles [includes "Sports Illustrated"]
  • "The Palimpsest," Special Girls' Basketball Edition, April - 1968
  • Excerpt on girls' basketball - 1897
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Correspondence and newspaper clippings from former players (2 folders) [includes essay about the Iowa State Normal School]
  • Oral history interview notes (Ruth Johnson and others)
  • Johnson, Ruth: Correspondence and documents from Central District Archives and Division of Girls and Women in Sport - 1990
  • Girls' basketball rules (2 folders)
  • National Federation of State High School Associations, Official Handbooks - 1972-1984
  • Iowa colleges: Iowa Wesleyan - 1945, 1946, 1953,1961
  • Iowa colleges: Drake University - 1990-1991
  • Box 3:
  • Iowa towns and teams: Cresco - 1922-1923
  • Iowa towns and teams: Grundy Center - 1935
  • Iowa towns and teams: Hampton - 1926
  • Iowa towns and teams: Lime Springs - 1935
  • Iowa towns and teams: Steamboat Rock - 1943
  • Other states: Georgia
  • Other states: Oklahoma - 1992
  • Other states: Louisiana - 1993
  • Other states: Illinois - 1992-1993
  • Other states: Miscellaneous
  • Photographs, pictures and illustrations for book (2 folders)
  • Photographs, State Tournament (2 folders) - 1993
  • Photographs, miscellaneous
  • Negatives
  • Series 7: IOWA GIRLS HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC UNION (IGHSAU)
  • Box 3:
  • State Basketball Tournament Official Programs [excerpts] - 1944-1965
  • State Basketball Tournament Official Programs - 1979, 1991
  • State Basketball Tournament: Hoop Scoop [press guide] - 1993
  • Personnel Entry Form Book and Constitution, By-Laws - 1990-1991
  • Honors Brunch - 1991
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Scrapbook (photocopy) - 1944-1945
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Scrapbook - 1947
  • Box 4:
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook (select photocopies from each year) - 1947-1950
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1951
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1952
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1953
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1954
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1955
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1956
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1957
  • Box 6:
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1958
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1959
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1960
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1961
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1962
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1963
  • Iowa Girls' Basketball Yearbook - 1964
  • IGHSAU annual basketball championship programs - 1964-1975