Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Beverly Everett papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1856-2001
Creator: Everett, Beverly (1926-2001)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0148
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.

Alternate Extent Statement: 67 audiocassettes [AC125-AC191]
1 videocassette [VC52]
Photographs  in boxes 20, 23, and 30

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 216) were donated by Beverly Everett in 1994 and Lawrence Everett in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Beverly Everett papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Beverly George Everett, farmer, substitute teacher, speaker, writer, and professional volunteer, was born on January 28, 1926 in Janesville, Iowa to Floyd and Florence George. Her parents were dairy farmers and musicians so Everett and her brother, Neal, grew up surrounded by Iowa farmland and music. After graduating from Janesville High School, she attended Iowa State College (now Iowa State University) where she obtained a bachelors degree in institutional management in 1947. It was at Iowa State that she met her husband Lawrence Everett, who returned to college after serving in the army for three years during World War II. He graduated in 1948 with a bachelor's degree in farm operations.

After college they moved to New Sharon, Iowa where they set up farming a 300-acre spread. Five children were born there: Leslie, who became an agronomist; George, a medical doctor; Rebecca (Sinkler), a teacher; Gordon, a pastor; and Floyd, a farmer and National Guard Captain. All five completed programs at Iowa State University.

Everett 's education did not stop at Iowa State. She took various post graduate courses from the University of Iowa and the University of California, Berkeley. She also obtained teacher certification through William Penn College in Oskaloosa, Iowa. In 1984 she was awarded an honorary doctorate through Iowa Wesleyan College.

Beverly Everett's organizational work began at an early age in the 4-H. Several of her projects included planting a victory garden, redecorating her bedroom (featured in an article in Successful Farming, September 1941), and creating a record book that took second place in a National 4-H contest. She later became a 4-H club leader. In 1965, Everett was named a Master Farm Homemaker.

During the 1950s and 1960s, much of Everett's volunteer work centered around 4-H and the Farm Bureau. Through her writings and speeches she became known for emphasizing the importance of women's roles in agriculture. In one of her speeches she stated, "A great proportion of farmer co-operatives are forgetting to use the talents of women" (May 22, 1963, Speeches, Newspaper clippings and journal articles, 1960-1967). Also during this time she wrote a column entitled "The Distaff Partner" where she talked about various farm issues.

Beginning in the late 1960s, Everett became involved extensively in the American Association of University Women (AAUW). She started out as president of the Oskaloosa branch but soon moved up through the ranks to serve as President of the Iowa Division in 1976. As a key note speaker for AAUW, Everett traveled extensively throughout the United States giving talks and planning workshops for various AAUW branches and state divisions. Her speeches show a great interest in improving the status of women not only in the United States but throughout the world. In 1978, she became the AAUW representative to the United States National Commission for UNESCO. Through the National Commission she served as vice chair for the Status of Women Committee.

Appointed by President Gerald Ford in 1976 and reappointed by President Jimmy Carter in 1977, she also served as a commissioner to the National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year. She was chosen mainly as a representative of the rural women of the United States. She was the federal officer for five of the state meetings held before the National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas, in 1977. The Commission's goal for the conference was to have a "national gathering of women to talk about and act upon issues of concern to women." Topics covered included battered women, the Equal Rights Amendment, and women's education. It was the first such meeting since the Women's Rights Convention in Seneca Falls, New York, in 1848.

Being an active member in the United Methodist Church, she served on such committees as the Camp Fiscal Task Force, the General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, and the Iowa Area Conference Center Task Force. Through her own church, she served as chair of the Mission Committee which helped raise money for various missionaries throughout the world.

Everett traveled to various foreign countries through the efforts of the Overseas Development Council, the Church World Service, the AAUW, and the International Federation of University Women. Her trips included stops in Ecuador, Asia, and Austria. In each of these places, Everett was very interested in the status and role of women in the society, both social and economical. It was through her son Leslie, who worked for the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture as a maize breeder, that she was able to visit Cameroon, Africa. Here she got first hand experience in the different cultures present there and how these different societies treated women.

In 1983, Everett was nominated to the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. In the late 1990s, she was actively involved in nominating others, such as Ann Pellegreno and Denise O'Brien, for this same recognition.

The Beverly George Everett papers date from 1856 to 2001 and measure 12 linear feet, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1941-2000. The original accession was made in 1994, with a subsequent accession in 2001. These papers give insight into Iowa farm life and various organizations dealing with farmers. They also show the workings of many local and national women's organizations, particularly the AAUW.

The 1994 ACCESSION

The papers are arranged in six series: Personal, Newspaper clippings and journal articles, Organizations, Speeches, Photographs, and Miscellaneous audiocassettes.

The Personal series (1941-1994) contains correspondence and background information about Everett and her family. The correspondence includes letters written from Everett to her parents while she was a student at Iowa State. The more recent correspondence is mainly letters to and from friends and her children. The family history audiocassette is a recording of Everett where she recollects about her parents and the generations before them. Included here is information about her involvement in 4-H and the Rural Music History Celebration. The Iowa State College sub-series includes three scrapbooks that contain various photographs of Everett and her friends.

The Newspaper clippings and journal articles series (1960-1991 and undated) consists of articles written by Everett for farm and women's journals and for local newspapers.

The Organizations series (1953-1994 and undated) gives various information on the organizations where Everett volunteered. This includes minutes, notes on meetings, and conventions and conference material. Most of the series is about the AAUW. Several audiocassettes of conferences and workshops can also be found here. Of special interest is the history of the United Methodist Church Commission on the Status and Role of Women written by Everett. There are also two scrapbooks that contain newspaper clippings of Everett's work in the Farm Bureau and 4-H during the 1950s and 1960s.

The Speeches series (1960-1993 and undated) consists of drafts of speeches given by Everett to a wide variety of groups and organizations. Also included are newspaper clippings and journal articles about the events and the programs from the events themselves. There are audiocassettes of several of the speeches.

The Photographs series (1935-1986 and undated) contains photographs of family and friends. Photographs of the Rural Music History Celebration and the National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year are also included.

The 2001 ACCESSION

The papers are arranged in three series: Personal, Organizations, and Speeches.

The Personal series contains journals, newsclippings, family history and correspondence. Among the correspondence are Round Robin letters between fourteen couples who all graduated from Iowa State College around the time of Beverly Everett and her husband. All were active in the YMCA and YWCA. Their letters circulated amongst each other date from 1955 to 2001.

The Organizations series consists of various materials concerning organizations that Everett belonged to, including correspondence, minutes, convention materials, and publications. Most material concerns the AAUW, the IFUW, and the United Nations. Of particular interest is a journal of travel notes that Everett kept during a trip to Graz, Austria for IFUW's 26 th Triennial Conference in 1998.

The Speeches series consists of drafts of speeches given by Everett to various groups and organizations, as well as programs from various events where she spoke.
Judy Klemesrud Papers (IWA): This collection contains several articles written by Klemesrud on the National Women's Conference in 1977 ( box 2, Newspaper clippings, 1977).
 
Neil Bjurstrom Rural Music Collection (Iowa State University): This collection contains photographs, newspaper clippings, and committee reports on the Rural Music History Celebration organized by Beverly Everett and chaired by Neil Bjurstrom in 1986 (at Iowa State University).
 
North Madison Happy Pals 4-H Club (IWA): These scrapbooks contain photographs, newspaper clippings, and organizational records dated from the period when Beverly Everett was club leader, 1952 to 1972 (boxes 1 and 2, Scrapbooks).
 
Mildred Fox (Everett) papers (IWA): Fox was Beverly Everett's mother-in-law.
 
Ida "Belle" Bandfield Holden papers(IWA):  Holden was Beverly Everett's maternal grandmother.
 
Iowa Women's Archives Collection: Contains Beverly Everett's speech for the second anniversary of the archives.
 
Verda L. Williams papers (IWA): Everett is featured in "The Gift of Song," a video recorded on June 30, 1987 [VC:138].

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: ORGANIZATIONS
Series 3: SPEECHES
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 5: OVERSIZE
Series 6: 2001 ACCESSION

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information
  • Family history, undated
    AC125
  • General, undated
  • Obituary notices - 2001
  • Awards - 1982-1983, 1992-1993
  • Calendars - 1947-1949
  • Cameroon, Africa trip - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence - 1941-1943
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1944
  • Correspondence - 1945
  • Correspondence - 1946
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1947-1948
  • Correspondence - 1952, 1958, 1960, 1963-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1975
  • Correspondence - 1976-1979
  • Correspondence - 1980-1982
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1983
  • Correspondence - 1984
  • Correspondence - 1985
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Correspondence - 1988
  • Correspondence - 1989
  • Correspondence - 1990
  • Correspondence - 1991-1992
  • Correspondence - 1993-1994
  • Correspondence - 1998
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Diary - 1945-1946
  • Family finances reports - 1949-1956
  • Box 4:
  • Family finances reports - 1957-1965
  • Family finances reports - 1966-1971
  • Family finances reports - 1981-1985
  • Family information - 1940-1991
  • 4-H: Awards - 1943, 1946
  • 4-H: Record books - 1938-1946
  • 4-H: Reports - 1941-1944
  • Friends of family information - 1981-1984
  • George Williams College Camp - 1946
  • Honorary Doctorate, Iowa Wesleyan College - 1984, 1990
  • Iowa Master Farm Homemaker Awards - 1965, 1976
  • Iowa State College: Collegiate Methodist Church - 1947-1948, 1995
  • Iowa State College: Essay - 1944
  • Iowa State College: Iowa State Singers - 1947
  • Iowa State College: Memorabilia, undated
  • Iowa State College: Sororities - 1945, 1947-1948
  • Iowa State College: Veishea publicity, undated
  • Box 5:
  • "Janesville" Hi-Lite - 1941-1942
  • Lacey Methodist Church, 75th Anniversary - 1955
  • Miscellaneous notes - 1982
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1941-1949, 1965-1973, 1981-1998
  • Programs, musical - 1946-1954, 1960, 1971, 1993
  • Rural Music History: Bohemian Girl , ISU Opera Workshop, undated
    AC126
  • Rural Music History: College Week - 1987
  • Rural Music History: County Women 's Choruses, programs - 1986-1987, 1991, 1993
  • Rural Music History: 'Iowa The 'Singingest' State in the Union,' undated
  • Rural Music History: Notes
  • Rural Music History: Notes:'Bohemian Girl,' - 1935-1937
  • Rural Music History: Notes: Miscellaneous - 1937-1980
  • Rural Music History: Attendance and registration sheets - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Coordinating Committee - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Correspondence - 1981-1985
  • Rural Music History: Correspondence - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Correspondence - 1987-1991
  • Rural Music History: Expenses - 1985
  • Rural Music History: 'The Gift of Song' - 1987
  • Rural Music History: 'The Gift of Song' - 1987
    VC52
  • Rural Music History: "Market to Market" program - 1986
    AC127
  • Rural Music History: Newspaper clippings - 1985-1986, 1993
  • Rural Music History: Press releases - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Programs - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Resource and mailing lists - 1986
  • Rural Music History: Rural Music Day - 1986
    AC128-AC129
  • Rural Music History: Steering Committee - 1985
  • Rural Music History Week - 1986-1987
  • Box 6:
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1960-1977
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1980-1991
  • Series 2: ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 6:
  • Advisory Committee for Science and Society, National Science Foundation, report - 1980
  • Advisory Committees, Iowa State College (Iowa State University) - 1953, 1961, 1973
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW): AAUW Journal - 1971, 1974, 1977-1978
  • AAUW: American Fellowship Recipients - 1976-1977
  • AAUW: Awards - 1982-1984
  • AAUW: Biennial Convention - 1987
  • AAUW: Board of Directors - 1983-1985
  • AAUW: Colorado State Division, 57th Annual Convention - 1983
  • AAUW: Conventions - 1977, 1983
    AC130-AC134
  • AAUW: Correspondence - 1973-1984
  • AAUW: Educational Foundation - 1980-1985, 1989-1992
  • AAUW: Educational Foundation Achievement Award, acceptance speeches - 1980
  • AAUW: Educational Foundation, Friends of the Foundation - 1984
  • AAUW: Educational Foundation, Names Honored - 1976-1978, 1981-1984
  • AAUW: Equal Rights Amendment - 1976, 1980
  • AAUW: Georgia State Division, 46th Annual Convention - 1973
  • AAUW: Houston Convention - 1987
    AC136-140
  • AAUW: Illinois State Division, 59th Annual Convention - 1983
  • Box 7:
  • AAUW: International Relations - 1983-1984
  • AAUW: International Women's Conference - 1984
  • AAUW: International Women's Year - 1975
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, annual meeting - 1977
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, biennial convention programs - 1974-1978, 1982
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, biennial reports - 1972-1974
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, calendar of events - 1977-1978
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, conventions - 1976, 1988
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, correspondence - 1973-1986, undated
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, executive board - 1974-1978
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Iowa Coordinating Committee for International Women's Year - 1977-1978
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Iowa Leader Alert - 1975
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Iowa University Women - 1974-1984
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, manual - 1976
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, newspaper clippings - 1967, 1973-1983
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Oskaloosa Branch, newsletters - 1983-1992
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Oskaloosa Branch, newspaper clippings - 1966, 1977, 1987-1992
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Oskaloosa Branch, Public Information Chair - 1987-1990
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, Oskaloosa Branch, yearbooks - 1967-1968, 1973-1974
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, president's conference - 1982
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, president's session - 1976
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, programs - 1983
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, slide show program - 1977
  • AAUW: Iowa State Division, state membership chair - 1972-1974
  • AAUW: Kansas State Division, Bell Ringer Conference - 1976
  • AAUW: Kansas State Division, 24th Biennial Conference - 1973-1974
  • AAUW: Kentucky State Division, State Convention - 1973
  • AAUW: Legislative Program Committee - 1983-1984
  • AAUW: Memorabilia - 1983-1984
  • AAUW: Minnesota State Division, Rendezvous Day - 1977
  • AAUW: Mississippi State Division, 51st Annual Convention - 1977
  • Box 8:
  • AAUW: Missouri State Division, 41st Biennial Convention - 1983
  • AAUW: Missouri State Division, convention - 1977
  • AAUW: Missouri State Division, Division Board Meeting - 1973
  • AAUW: Montana State Division, 24th Biennial Convention - 1975-1976
  • AAUW: National conventions - 1975, 1977, 1987, 1989
  • AAUW: Nebraska State Division, 44th Annual Convention - 1974
  • AAUW: Nebraska State Division, convention - 1979
  • AAUW: Nebraska State Division, Quality of Life in Mid-America - 1975
  • AAUW: Nebraska State Division, Regional Conference - 1978
  • AAUW: New Mexico State Division, conference - 1975
  • AAUW: Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1980-1982, 1984, 1987
  • AAUW: Nominating Committee - 1989-1991
  • AAUW: North Carolina State Division, workshops - 1973-1974
  • AAUW: North Dakota State Division, 38th State Convention - 1974-1975
  • AAUW: Northwest Central Region, conference - 1984
  • AAUW: Ohio State Division, Board Meeting and Workshop - 1974
  • AAUW: Ohio State Division, 59th Annual Meeting and Convention - 1983-1983
  • AAUW: Oregon State Division, 50th Annual Convention - 1974-1975
  • AAUW: Overseas Development Council, Transnational Dialogues on Food and Development - 1976-1978
  • AAUW: Overseas Development Council, Transnational Dialogues on Food and Development, newspaper clippings - 1976-1980
  • AAUW: Overseas Development Council, Transnational Dialogues on Food and Development, seminar - 1974-1991
    AC142-AC144
  • AAUW: Pamphlets - 1977, 1981
  • AAUW: Peace Conference - 1983
    AC145-AC147
  • AAUW: Pennsylvania State Division, 54th Convention - 1982-1983
  • AAUW: Presentation schedules - 1976, 1977, 1986
  • AAUW: President-Elect, log - 1975-1976
  • AAUW: Program Development Cues - 1977-1978
  • AAUW: Promoting Individual Liberties Chair - 1990
  • AAUW: Rocky Mountain Region, Biennial Convention - 1978
  • AAUW: South Atlantic Region, Biennial Conference - 1978
  • Box 9:
  • AAUW: South Dakota State Division, Board Meeting and Workshop - 1977
  • AAUW: Southeast Central Region, Biennial Conference - 1973-1974
  • AAUW: Southwest Central Region, Biennial Conference - 1973-1974
  • AAUW: Speaker's Showcase, undated
  • AAUW: State Presidents Conference - 1976
  • AAUW: Texas State Division, 27th Biennial Conference - 1977
  • AAUW: Texas State Division, Directories - 1976-1977
  • AAUW: Texas State Division, Mid-Winter Action Conference - 1977-1978
  • AAUW: Texas State Division, Mid-Winter Action Conference, conference handouts - 1978
  • AAUW: Texas State Division, Summer Presidents Conference - 1978
  • AAUW: Topic Committee - 1972-1975
  • AAUW: Traveling expenses - 1972
  • AAUW: United Nations Seminar - 1984
    AC148-AC152
  • AAUW: United States National Commission for UNESCO, AAUW representative, "AAUW and the U.S. National Commission for UNESCO," undated
  • AAUW: United States National Commission for UNESCO, AAUW representative, correspondence - 1977-1981
  • AAUW: United States National Commission for UNESCO, AAUW representative, questionnaires - 1979-1982
  • AAUW: United States National Commission for UNESCO, AAUW representative, reports - 1978-1982
  • AAUW: Virginia State Division, 59th Annual Convention - 1982-1983
  • AAUW: Wisconsin State Division, 58th Annual Convention - 1978
  • Board of International Food and Agricultural Development, nomination - 1983
  • Chicago Council on Foreign Relations - 1978-1979
  • Church Women United - 1993
  • Church World Service: Appreciation Award - 1984
  • Church World Service: Asia tour, general - 1984-1985
  • Church World Service: Asia tour, journals - 1984
  • Church World Service: Asia tour, maps, undated - 1984
  • Box 10:
  • Church World Service: Iowa branch - 1985-1986
  • Church World Service: National Advisory Committee - 1983-1985
  • Church World Service: Pamphlets and journals - 1983-1985
  • Conference on World Affairs, 37th Annual - 1984
  • Farm Foundation - 1982-1983
  • First In the Nation in Education (FINE) Foundation - 1990-1991
  • 4-H: Awards - 1970, 1975
  • 4-H: Iowa 4-H Foundation - 1970-1976
  • 4-H: Miscellaneous - 1959, 1965, 1983-1985
  • 4-H: National 4-H Alumni Recognition - 1976-1977
  • FRIENDS of the Oskaloosa Public Library - 1991-1994
  • Fulcrum, Inc.: Correspondence - 1986
  • Fulcrum, Inc.: "A Declaration for the Land" - 1986
  • Governor's Commission on the Status of Women - 1969-1972
  • Hansen, Bill, [Campaign for Lieutenant Governor], Steering Committee - 1978
  • International Federation of University Women (IFUW): 18th Triennial Conference, Kyoto, Japan - 1974
  • IFUW: 21st Triennial Conference, Groningen, the Netherlands - 1983
  • IFUW: 22nd Triennial Conference, Australia - 1986
  • IFUW: 24th Triennial Conference, Palo Alto, California - 1992
  • IFUW: Northwest Central Regional Conference - 1973-1974
  • IFUW: "IFUW: Another View," undated
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, Hall of Fame, general - 1976-2000
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, Hall of Fame, Irma Winslow nomination - 1989
  • Iowa Confederation of Environmental Organizations - 1971
  • Iowa Department of Environmental Quality, Board of Certification - 1975-1979
  • Iowa ERA, seminars and speeches - 1980
    AC153-AC156
  • Iowa Farm Bureau Federation: Mahaska County Environmental Resources Committee - 1971-1975
  • Iowa Farm Bureau Federation: Newspaper clippings - 1968, 1971
  • Iowa Humanities Board - 1987, 1989
  • Iowa Peace Institute - 1985, 1991-1993
  • Iowa Sister States - 1991-1992
  • Box 11:
  • Iowa State University , University Extension service - 1987-1993
  • Iowa 2000 - 1974-1977
  • Iowans for WOI-TV, Inc. - 1992
  • Iowa State University Alumni Association: Correspondence - 1981, 1990-1991
  • Iowa State University Alumni Association: Council for Advancement and Support of Education, Alumni of the Year nomination - 1988
  • Iowa State University Alumni Association: Distinguished Achievement Citations - 1987
  • Jane Addams Conference Board - 1987-1993
  • Mahaska County Homemaker Health Aide Service, Inc. - 1970-1972
  • Mahaska County Republican Women, undated
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Commissioners and staff name lists - 1976-1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Committee meetings - 1977-1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Correspondence - 1976-1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: International Women's Year activities - 1976
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Meeting Manual - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, conference program and handouts - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, newspaper clippings - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, official briefing book - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, official report - 1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, slide show, undated
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: National Women's Conference, White House presentation of report - 1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Newsletters - 1977-1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Nongovernmental Women's Organizations, undated
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Notes
  • Box 12:
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Plan of Action Commissioners List, undated
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Press releases - 1975, 1977-1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Public Law - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Delegation Chairs, undated
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Women's Conferences, Alaska - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Women's Conferences, Iowa - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Women's Conferences, Kansas - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Women's Conferences, Oregon - 1977
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: State Women's Conferences, South Dakota - 1977
  • National Rural Women Leadership Conference - 1978
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1971-1986
  • Oskaloosa People to People - 1974-1976
  • PEO Sisterhood, Chapter X - 1968-1972, 1980-1985
  • Planned Parenthood - 1990, 1992
  • Pope, Larry, State Steering committee, undated
  • Self Help Foundation - 1981
  • United Methodist Church: Camp Fiscal Task Force, general - 1980
  • United Methodist Church: Camp Fiscal Task Force, conversations - 1979
    AC161
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, commission members - 1982-1984
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, correspondence - 1984-1985
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, The Flyer - 1984-1985
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, handouts, undated
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, "History of the Commission" by Beverly Everett - 1974-1984
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, minutes - 1978-1984
  • United Methodist Church: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women, pamphlet, undated
  • United Methodist Church: Hawthorn Hill - 1978, 1980
  • United Methodist Church: Iowa Conference - 1980, 1986-1987
  • Box 13:
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, awards - 1963-1965, 1973
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, Christmas program director - 1955
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, mission committee, correspondence - 1992
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, mission committee, minutes - 1991-1992
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, mission committee, newsletters - 1992
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, newspaper clippings - 1979
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, Parsonage Study Committee - 1985
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church, New Sharon, Iowa, Rainbow Covenant skit - 1992
  • United Methodist Church: Ottumwa District - 1980
  • United Methodist Church: Rainbow Coalition - 1987
  • United Nations: International Women's Year, memorabilia - 1975
  • United Nations: Travel vouchers - 1983
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, annual report - 1982
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, correspondence - 1971, 1985, 1989-1992
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, International Women's Colloquium, general - 1990
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, International Women's Colloquium, colloquium working committee - 1990
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, International Year of Peace, leadership award - 1986
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, Mahaska County Chapter - 1983-1984
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1976, 1982, 1985
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, standing committees - 1993-1994
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, United Nations Day - 1976, 1982, 1984
  • United Nations: United Nations 1985 Women's Conference, National Consultative Committee - 1984
  • United Nations: Working Committee Chair - 1990
    AC162-AC164
  • United Nations: United Nations Decade for Women, Mid-Decade Forum, general - 1980
  • United Nations: United Nations Decade for Women, Mid-Decade Forum, slide show - 1980
  • United Nations: United Nations Decade for Women, Mid-Decade Forum, audiocassette - 1980
    AC165
  • United Nations: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), general conferences - 1978-1980
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Ad Hoc Committee on Future of Commission - 1983
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, annual meetings, attendance sheets - 1979-1980, 1985
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, annual meetings, summary minutes - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, background information - 1982
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, International Women's Colloquium
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, biographies of members, undated
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Commission on the Status of Women, report - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Commission on Nominations, report - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, conference report - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, correspondence - 1979, 1981-1984
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, "A Critical Assessment of U.S. Participation in UNESCO" - 1982
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, executive committee roster - 1979, 1981, 1982
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, executive committee, summary minutes - 1980-1981
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, news release - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1978-1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, non-government organizations, cooperative action program - 1980-1981
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, non-government organizations, organizations list - 1983
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, resolutions and actions adopted - 1973, 1979-1981
  • Box 14:
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, roster of membership - 1983
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, special task force - 1980
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, correspondence - 1978-1982
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, meeting summaries - 1978-1980
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, members lists - 1978-1981
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, overview, undated
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, sectorial group report - 1983
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, speech, Koryne Horbal - 1980
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, sub-group - 1980
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Status of Women Committee, summary of activities - 1979-1981
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, summary of activities of permanent committee - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, USNATCOM, undated
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, United Nations World Conference on Women - 1979
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, "UNESCO & Women," undated
  • United Nations: UNESCO, United States National Commission for UNESCO, Women in Development - 1978
  • United Society Friends Women, Conference - 1971
  • White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs - 1975
  • Women's Military Memorial (for women veterans) - 1988-2000
  • World Food Conference - 1982, 1986, 1988
  • YWCA-Oskaloosa - 1972, 1974-1975
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 14:
  • AC167-AC191: Audiocassettes
  • AAUW: Cedar Rapids Branch, 50th anniversary, undated
  • Corning Farmer/Businessman Awards Banquet, undated
  • PEO program, undated
  • United States Institute of Peace, Conference, Iowa City - 1986
  • Various speeches, undated
  • Women's movement speech and interview with Makiko, undated
  • Awards - 1970, 1974-1985
  • Correspondence - 1960-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1979
  • Correspondence - 1980-1992
  • Drafts - 1960-1967
  • Drafts - 1968-1969
  • Box 15:
  • Drafts - 1970
  • Drafts - 1971
  • Drafts - 1972
  • Drafts - 1973
  • Drafts - 1974
  • Drafts - 1975
  • Drafts - 1976
  • Drafts (2 folders) - 1977
  • Box 16:
  • Drafts (2 folders) - 1978
  • Drafts - 1980
  • Drafts - 1981
  • Drafts (2 folders) - 1982
  • Drafts (2 folders) - 1983
  • Drafts - 1984
  • Drafts - 1985
  • Box 17:
  • Drafts - 1985
  • Drafts - 1986
  • Drafts - 1987
  • Drafts - 1988
  • Drafts - 1989
  • Drafts - 1990
  • Drafts - 1991
  • Drafts - 1992-1994
  • Box 18:
  • Drafts, undated (6 folders)
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1960-1969
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1970-1979
  • Box 19:
  • Newspaper clippings and journal articles - 1980-1991
  • Presentation schedules - 1971-1973
  • Programs - 1960, 1963-1969
  • Programs - 1970-1975
  • Programs - 1976-1979
  • Programs - 1980-1989
  • Programs - 1990-1993
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 20:
  • Organizations: General - 1968, 1976-1978, 1983
  • Organizations: National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year - 1976-1979
  • Personal - 1935, 1942, 1982-1983
  • Rural Music History Celebration - 1986
  • Rural Music History Proclamation - 1986
  • Series 5: OVERSIZE
  • Box 21:
  • 4-H scrapbook - 1955-1968
  • Box 22:
  • 4-H scrapbook - 1962-1968
  • Box 23:
  • 4-H record book - 1938-1943
  • Box 24:
  • Iowa State University Scrapbook - 1943-1944
  • Box 25:
  • Iowa State University Scrapbook - 1944-1945
  • Box 26:
  • Iowa State University Scrapbook - 1946
  • Series 6: 2001 ACCESSION
  • Sub-Series: PERSONAL
  • Box 27:
  • Calendars - 1962-1995
  • Correspondence - 1963-1978
  • Box 28:
  • Correspondence - 1980-1989
  • Correspondence - 1990-2001
  • Correspondence: Gitile Naituli - 1990-1991, 1997
  • Correspondence: Janesville High School classmates - 1998-2000
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Everett family history: "Leaves from a Young Lady's Journal" - 1856-1857
  • Everett family history, undated
  • Journals - 1991-1995
  • Journals: "Reflections from a Mother's Heart," undated
  • Iowa State College: General - 1946-1995
  • Iowa State College: Newsclippings - 1945-1993
  • Iowa State College: Miscellaneous - 1945-1993
  • Box 29:
  • Newsclippings - 1963-1995
  • Round Robins: Correspondence - 1955-1983
  • Round Robins: Correspondence - 1984-1990
  • Round Robins: Correspondence - 1991-2001
  • Round Robins: Family members - 1990-1997
  • Round Robins: Reunions - 1985-2001
  • Special Friends: Correspondence - 1953-1993
  • Box 30:
  • Special Friends: Funeral programs - 1967-1994
  • Special Friends: Newsclippings - 1952-1992
  • Special Friends: Miscellaneous - 1972-1990
  • Photographs, undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1985-1998
  • Sub-Series: ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 30:
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW): General - 1987-2000
  • AAUW: Correspondence - 1969-1979
  • AAUW: "Global Perspectives" - 1998-1999
  • Box 31:
  • AAUW: Newsclippings - 1967-1975
  • AAUW: Miscellaneous - 1973-1979
  • Art of Association Project: "Civic Leadership and the Humanities, Iowa," Waverly, Iowa - 2000
  • Art of Association Project: "Civic Leadership and the State Humanities Councils," Milwaukee, Wisconsin - 2000
  • Art on the Square - 1996
  • Boards and committees: State - 1981-2000
  • Boards and committees: National and international - 1953-1990
  • Friends of the Oskaloosa Public Library - 1993
  • International Federation of University Women (IFUW): General - 1998
  • IFUW: 26th Triennial Conference, Graz, Austria, general - 1998
  • IFUW: 26th Triennial Conference, Graz, Austria, travel notes - 1998
  • IFUW: 26th Triennial Conference, Graz, Austria, miscellaneous - 1998
  • IFUW: Booklets and newsletters - 1997-1999
  • Box 32:
  • IFUW: Miscellaneous chapters - 1995-1998
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame, award ceremony - 1983
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame, nomination materials, Denise O'Brien - 1998-1999
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame, nomination materials, Women, Food, and Agriculture Network - 2000-2001
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women: Iowa Women's Hall of Fame, nomination materials, Ann Pellegreno - 2000
  • Iowa Master Farm Homemakers Guild: General - 1996-2000
  • Iowa Master Farm Homemakers Guild: Awards (scattered) - 1965-2000
  • Iowa State University: 50th Reunion - 1997
  • Iowa State University: Alumni Association - 1976-1995
  • Iowa State University: Correspondence - 1971-1994
  • Iowa State University: Helen LeBaron Hilton recognition - 2000-2001
  • Iowa State University: University Extension, External Advisory Council for Continuing and Extended Education - 1999-2000
  • Iowa State University: Iowa Value Added Agriculture Caravan - 1999
  • Iowa State University: "Strengthening Families to Become the Best" - 2000
  • Box 33:
  • Iowa Wesleyan College: External Relations Committee - 1998-2001
  • Iowa Wesleyan College: Honorary Degrees Committee - 1998-2000
  • Mahaska County Agricultural and Rural Development - 1998-2000
  • Mahaska County Home Economics Club - 1970-1995
  • Mahaska County Homemaker Health Aide - 1980, 1988
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: General - 1977-1978
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Publications - 1976
  • National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year: Miscellaneous - 1976-1979
  • Box 34:
  • Oskiowa People-to-People - 1994-1997
  • PEO Sisterhood, Chapter X: Handbooks - 1966-1999
  • PEO Sisterhood, Chapter X: Miscellaneous - 1966-1999
  • United Methodist Church: Iowa Area, Conference Center Task Force - 2000-2001
  • United Methodist Church: Lacey United Methodist Church - 1980-1986
  • United Methodist Church: Ottumwa District Superintendency Committee - 1999-2000
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, general - 1986-2000
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, minutes - 2000
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, program reports - 1999-2000
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, publications, Forum - 1982-1991
  • United Nations: United Nations Association-USA, Iowa Division, publications, "Taking the Challenge of Climate Change" - 1999
  • United Nations: United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) - 1998-1999
  • United Nations: UNESCO - 1978-2000
  • United Nations: United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) - 1997-1998
  • United Nations: Miscellaneous - 1997-1999
  • Virginia Gildersleeve Fund for University Women, Inc. - 1998-2001
  • Box 35:
  • William Penn College: Music - 1949-1995
  • William Penn College: Peace Award - 1995
  • William Penn College: Miscellaneous - 1995
  • Miscellaneous - 1978-1998
  • Sub-Series: SPEECHES
  • Box 35:
  • General - 1979-2000
  • Programs - 1963-1995