Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Patricia Filipowska papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1997
Creator: Filipowska, Patricia (1924-1993)
Extent: 5.90 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0147
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Poet and native of Burlington, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 15

Arrangement: The Well (Lexington, MA: R.E. Filipowski, c1993) is shelved with printed works, in the Iowa Authors Collection in the Special Collections Department, and in the general collection in the Main Library.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 214) were donated by Richard E. Filipowski in 1994 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Patricia Filipowska papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Patricia (Parker) Filipowska was born September 6, 1924 in Burlington, Iowa, the only child of Helen and Guerdon ("Spike") Parker. After graduating in 1942 from Burlington High School with honors in art and poetry, Parker studied art at the Art Institute of Chicago and writing and poetry at the University of Chicago. She subsequently enrolled at the Institute of Design in Chicago where she studied visual design and architecture. Many of her drawings and graphics are in the archives of the Chicago Historical Society.

While at the Institute of Design, Parker met fellow student Richard ("Filip") Filipowski whom she married in 1946. In 1950 Richard Filipowski was invited by Walter Gropius to organize and teach the course "Designing Fundamentals" in the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University. They moved to Cambridge, and subsequently to Lexington, Massachusetts, where they raised their three sons, Stefan, Matthew, and David.

By the mid-1970s, Filipowska had turned her attention more fully to poetry and in 1981 she enrolled in the Poetry Seminars conducted by Kinereth Gensler at Radcliffe College. For her pen name she chose neither her maiden name nor her husband's name but the Slavic feminine form of her husband's name, Filipowska. Almost all of the poetry that she wrote over the next twelve years was the result of her involvement in these seminars. By 1993 she had written over one hundred and eighty poems and her working drafts reveal the immense effort she put into their revision. At her death she left behind a manuscript of one hundred poems entitled, Original Draft Of Anthology Of Poems, culled from her collection. The poems themselves were fully realized; some had already been published. But she had not yet made the choice of how best to put them together to make unified wholes. Her husband engaged Kinereth Gensler, her seminar professor, to do the required arranging and editing. The result was an anthology of sixty-two poems selected from her original manuscript and published posthumously in 1993 under the title The Well . The work is in four sections. Two of them deal with her relationship to Iowa, while the others concern the disparate aspects of her life as a woman and her personal losses. According to Gensler, her professor, editor, and friend, "A primary force underlying Patricia Filipowska's poems is her enduring relationship with Iowa. She was deeply committed to poetry and to her work as a poet. She observed the world with cool curiosity and a passionate heart." Patricia Filipowska died of cancer on March 15, 1993.

The Patricia Filipowska papers date from 1930 to 1995 and measure 5.9 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Biographical materials, Calendars, Correspondence, Writings, Sketches and graphics, Family papers, and Photographs.

The first series, Biographical materials (1946-1994), is arranged alphabetically in five subseries. The first, Biography, includes clippings of book reviews from two Burlington, Iowa, newspapers and letters solicited by Filip Filipowski from Cay Burk, Ruth Feldman, and Beatrice Takeuchi giving their reminiscences of Patricia Filipowska. The second subseries, Letters to Myself, is a posthumously discovered private diary, dated October 28, 1974 to March 27, 1978, containing Filipowska's thoughts about her personal life, her relationship with her husband, Richard, and their ongoing problems with their son, David. It also reveals the intimacy she continued to feel for her artist friend in Burlington, Iowa, Robert Burrus. The third subseries, Poetry workshop materials, contains lists of poems submitted for review in various Radcliffe Poetry Seminars; class lists; course assignments and notes; and communications with fellow students. The fourth subseries, Travel, contains Filipowska's passports and miscellaneous travel receipts, gift lists, packing lists, and tourist brochures. The fifth subseries is an apparent separate diary in a commercially produced notebook entitled, A Woman's Notebook. It contains only two entries, dated January 12, 1980 and July 4, 1981, respectively.

The second series, Calendars (1980-1992), consists of thirteen appointment calendars that are as much diaristic in nature as they are records of activities and appointments.

The third series, Correspondence (1945-1994), includes letters to the editor, letters of rejection, and extensive letters from the Filipowski's son and daughter-in-law, Matthew and Yvonne Filipowski of Amsterdam and from Filipowska's parents, Helen and Guerdon Parker of Burlington, Iowa, as well as from many other friends and associates.

The fourth series, Writings (1940-1993), is comprised of six subseries. The first, Early writings, contains essays and poetry from Filipowska's student days at Burlington (Iowa) High School and the University of Chicago. The second subseries, Radcliffe Poetry Seminars, forms the heart of this entire collection. These 182 poems, each in its own folder, constitute Filipowska's working file. They are arranged by the author into thematic units such as Childhood, Iowa, Family, and Illness. Most are represented by multiple versions showing the author's efforts continually to revise and improve her art. It is this feature, above all, which will recommend this collection to the student of poetic composition. The third subseries contains three notebooks of poems assembled in various combinations by the author at different times. The first notebook, described internally by the author as "very old", is a group of sixty-four poems in simple numerical arrangement, most having extensive revisions. A second "red" notebook containing about one hundred and fifty poems, appears to be the author's first attempt at arranging her completed poems into thematic units, each again having extensive interlinear revisions. The third or "black" notebook is labelled Original Draft of Anthology of Poems , containing 100 poems as selected and arranged by Filipowska in anticipation of their eventual publication. The fourth subseries consists of poems submitted for the Grolier Poetry Prize from 1978 to 1987. The fifth subseries consists of the published anthology of poems entitled The Well , containing 62 poems as posthumously published in 1993. The sixth and last subseries is a collection of Miscellaneous gift verses and limericks.

The fifth series, Sketches and graphics (1944-1962) contain drawings done by Filipowska between 1952 and 1962 while living at the couple's first home in Lexington, Massachusetts. There are also two sketchbooks, the first dated 1944 to 1946, containing samples of her work from her student days at the School of Design in Chicago and the second, dated 1958 to 1959, containing self-portraits and other drawings.

The sixth series, Family papers (1991-1995), consists of Filip Filipowski's designs called "Pub drawings" and the memoirs of his own childhood in Canada entitled Terra Cotta Episodes 1927-1932.

The last series, Photographs (1930?-1994), contains 55 photographs, chiefly of Filipowska, beginning at about age six in 1930, but also including photographs of her husband Filip, their three sons, Filipowska's parents, and close friends and associates. Also included are photographs of Robert Burrus, Filipowska's artist friend of Burlington, Iowa, together with photographs of his art reliefs.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CALENDARS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: WRITINGS
Series 5: FAMILY PAPERS
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 7: SKETCHES AND GRAPHICS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biography - 1946-1994
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), October- April - 1974-1975
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), May-August - 1975
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), August-April - 1975-1976
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), April-August - 1976
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), August-December - 1976
  • Letters to Myself (private diary), December-August - 1976-1977
  • Poetry workshops - 1976-1989
  • Travel - 1946-1985
  • A Womans Notebook, January, 1980 and July - 1981
  • Series 2: CALENDARS
  • Box 2:
  • Calendars - 1980
  • Calendars - 1981
  • Calendars - 1982
  • Calendars - 1983
  • Calendars - 1984
  • Calendars - 1985
  • Calendars - 1986
  • Calendars - 1987
  • Calendars - 1988
  • Box 3:
  • Calendars - 1989
  • Calendars - 1990
  • Calendars - 1991
  • Calendars - 1992
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • Letters to the editor - 1973-1985
  • Letters of rejection - 1977-1992
  • Family: Filipowski, David - 1975-1986
  • Family: Filipowski, Matthew and Yvonne - 1971-1992
  • Box 4:
  • Family: Filipowski, Matthew and Yvonne - 1981-1984
  • Family: Filipowski, Matthew and Yvonne - 1985-1992
  • Family: Filipowski, Pat: To Richard Filipowski - 1945-1988
  • Family: Filipowski, Pat: To Helen and Guerdon Parker - 1982-1986
  • Family: Filipowski, Pat: To Beatrice Takeuchi - 1978-1987
  • Family: Filipowski, Richard (Filip): From Georgeanne Conant, Jan.-Apr. - 1997
  • Family: Filipowski, Richard (Filip): To Pat Filipowski - 1948-1991
  • Family: Filipowski, Stefan - 1961-1988
  • Family: Grupe, Ida ('Nana') - 1946
  • Family: Grupe, Lois - 1973-1991
  • Family: Parker, Helen and Guerdon ('Spike') - 1946-1972
  • Family: Parker, Helen and Guerdon ('Spike') - 1973-1974
  • Family: Parker, Helen and Guerdon ('Spike') - 1975-1976
  • Box 5:
  • Family: Parker, Helen and Guerdon ('Spike') - 1977-1992
  • General: A--B
  • General: Burrus, Alice and Robert
  • General: C--D
  • General: E--F
  • General: Foster, Shirley - 1982-1992
  • General: F--G
  • General: Gilberg, Doris - 1982-1985
  • General: Gilberg, Doris - 1986-1988
  • General: G--J
  • General: KN
  • Box 6:
  • General: Nunlist, Juli - 1982-1990
  • General: O--Sa
  • General: Sc--T
  • General: Takeuchi, Beatrice - 1978-1990
  • General: Tyler, Mary M. - 1980-1989
  • General: Victor
  • General: W--Z
  • Series 4: WRITINGS
  • Box 6:
  • Early writings: Essays: Burlington (Iowa) High School - 1940-1942
  • Early writings: Essays: University of Chicago - 1943
  • Poetry - 1940-1947
  • Box 7:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Snapshots of an Only Child - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Poppy - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Returning Mrs. Griffel's Casserole - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: The Birthday Party - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Hearing the Grandfather Clock - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: In This Heat I Think of Celestine - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: What to Say - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Missing Show and Tell - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: If the Word Is String - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: What Gertrude Meant - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: The Strangers - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: The Serious Summer - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Let Go - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Looking at a Fortune Cookie - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Schooling - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Childhood: Finding the Place - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: Myth - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: At the Airport - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: The Day Lilies of Golf Club Lane - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: Warning Signs - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: From the Levee - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: Japanese Silk Seen From the Air - 1981-1993
  • Box 8:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: Taking Leave - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: The Well - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Iowa: Flying Back Home to Iowa - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: One Afternoon - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: Sons - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: Squirrels - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: A Long Romance - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: Seeing You Long Distance - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: Great-Aunt Beebee - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: The Candle - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: The Rhinoceros - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: On Her Ninetieth Birthday - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: For Milo, Three, and Ilya, Six - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: Filing Her Nails - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: La Gioconda - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Family: In This Place - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Portraits: Telephone Call on a Snowy Night - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Portraits: The Unmarried Son to an Old Friend - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Portraits: The Caller - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Portraits: Talking Out Loud to an Old Lady's Son - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Apointment - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Going Under - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Shipwreck - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Monday Morning Tryst - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: The Amazons - 1981-1993
  • Box 9:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: The Gallery of Dr. Canzanelli - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: How It Happens - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Two Flights Up, Down With a Fever - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: The Day - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Identity - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Illness: Attaining Perfection - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Near the End of Autumn - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Fourth of July - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Answering Your Letter - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: July - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Word of His Death - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: That Day in May - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Learning From Memory - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Unease - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Degrees of Patience - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Taking Things Personally - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Clearings - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Word From an Unconceived Daughter - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Worry-Beads - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Thinking Back - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: Day Six - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Loss and Unease: What It Was Like - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Sunset - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Venetian Glass - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: A Poem on the Fresh Snow - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Circuit Hurt - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Course in Photography - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: The Bridge - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Great Mistakes - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Shaped Poems and On Art: Couple's Therapy - 1981-1993
  • Box 10:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: The Vanishing Point - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Hurt - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Intermission - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: On Route 425 in Late March - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Back Through the Door - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Ladder - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: In Another Life - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Out-Of-Body Travel - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: A Source of Light - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: The Red Dress in a Yellow Field - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: Dancing With the Cows - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: The Sign - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Dreams and Illusions: The Lake Again - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Sharing My Pillow With a Cat - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: O Cat - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Bliss - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Advice to Birds - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Appetites - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Downfall - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Bee - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: The Starfish - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Miscued in Mid-Winter - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Agelaius Phoeniceus - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Crow-Poem - 1981-1993
  • Box 11:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Backyard Midway - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Here It Is - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Maia in My Lap - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: Poem in September - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Creatures: What Is Left - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: Snow Scene Without the Letter S - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: Early Spring Words - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: According to Guinness - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: Small Sounds - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: Derivations - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: A Stanza - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Words, Sounds, and Writing: Rewriting After a Long Dry Spell - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: View of Christmas - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Earth - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Astronauts - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: February Thaw - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: An Old Hand - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Puzzle - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Mountainside Bath in Vermont - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: The Round Trip - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Paradox - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: On a Flexible Flyer - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Vacation Poem - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: The Norway Maple Saplings - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Landscapes and Seasons: Complaint - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: To E. P. - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: On Dismissing an Old Love - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: To the Dark Glasses - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: On the Beach - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: School Girl, Ticking - 1981-1993
  • Box 12:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: The Bizarre Bazaar - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Purple Ladders - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Far-Sighted - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Tea Room - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Closet Blues - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Learning From Memory - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: The Day - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: A Footnote - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: A Make-Shift Spring - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: The Royal Response - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Chelonia on a Log - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Forms and Light Verse: Counting to Five Hundred - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: The Actress - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Appointment - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Aspects of Democracy - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Belated Note to Her Son - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Birthday Morning - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: A Centipede - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Connection - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: A Day After a Light Snowfall - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Exercises - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Fishing - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Free - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Hank - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Hartshorn - 1981-1993
  • Box 13:
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Here I Am - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: If You Can't Stand the Heat - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Images - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: The Lineman Mutters - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Old Man's Song - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: On Sunday Morning - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: On Writing Poems - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: The Return - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: A School Girl Sings - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Simplicity - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Solstice - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Summary - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Thaw - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Three Moon Poems - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Time Machine - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Tunes for the Ides of March - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Under the Spell of Yard Work - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: The Unmarried Son in His Mother's House - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Valentines Day - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Virtual Volume - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: What Does Bother Me - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Words - 1981-1993
  • Radcliffe Poetry Seminars: Unclassified: Working It Out - 1981-1993
  • Notebooks: 'Very old' notebook
  • Notebooks:'Red' notebook
  • Box 14:
  • Notebooks: 'Black' notebook: Original Draft of Anthology of Poems
  • Grolier Poetry Prize
  • Grolier Poetry Prize submissions - 1978-1987
  • Published poetry: Manuscript list of published poetry - 1993
  • "The Well" [in printed works] - 1993
  • Miscellaneous gift verses and limericks
  • Series 5: FAMILY PAPERS
  • Box 14:
  • Filipowski, Richard: Pub drawings - 1991-1995
  • Filipowski, Richard: "Terra Cotta Episodes" - 1927-1932
  • Filipowski, Richard: Miscellaneous
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 14:
  • Burrus, Robert - 1930-1994
  • Filipowska, Patricia, and family (folder 1) - 1930-1994
  • Filipowska, Patricia, and family (folder 2) - 1930-1994
  • Filipowska, Patricia, and family (folder 3) - 1930-1994
  • Filipowska, Patricia, and family (folder 4) - 1930-1994
  • Series 7: SKETCHES AND GRAPHICS
  • Box 15:
  • Institute of Design, Chicago (folder 1) [some materials in map case] - 1944-1946
  • Institute of Design, Chicago (folder 2) [some materials in map case] - 1944-1946
  • Sketchbooks - 1952-1962
  • Sketchbooks: Self-Portrait and Drawings [shelved in map case] - 1958-1959

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Filipowska, Patricia, 1924-1993
Filipowski, Richard

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women

Occupations:
Poets
Artists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Massachusetts -- Lexington
United States -- Iowa -- Burlington

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Drawings (Visual works)

Family Names:
Filipowski family