Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sarah C. Taylor papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1881-1907
Creator: Taylor, Sarah C. (1835-1907)
Extent: 13.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0140
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Papers, 1881-1907.13 items. Physician who ran the Taylor Sanitarium in Hamburg, Iowa for two decades around the turn of the century.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 207) were donated by Ed Mincer in 1994.

Preferred Citation: Sarah C. Taylor papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sarah Cosland was born in Boone County, Indiana, on October 4, 1835. She married Charles Taylor on December 25, 1854. The Taylors and their daughter moved to Fremont County, Iowa, by way of covered wagon in 1865, where they lived on a farm. In preparation for her medical practice Sarah Taylor read medical texts with local physicians, then spent two years of study in Indianapolis and attended the Women's College in Chicago. In 1881 she graduated from the Medical College, in Keokuk, Iowa and began practicing medicine in Hamburg, Iowa. She periodically continued her studies at Rush Medical College in Chicago. She built a sanitarium in Hamburg, operating it for over twenty years. Dr. Taylor possessed the first x-ray machine in southwest Iowa. She died in 1907 of pneumonia.

The Sarah C. Taylor papers date from 1881 to 1907 and consist of 13 items: a photograph of Taylor's medical diploma, a portrait of her, two letters from a patient in1904, receipts for medicines Taylor ordered, a prescription, a birth record listing all the births she attended in 1883, a short handwritten outline of her life, and her obituary.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Taylor, Sarah C., 1835-1907

Corporate Names:
Taylor Sanitarium (Hamburg, Iowa)

Dates:
1880-1889
1890-1899
1900-1909

Topics:
Women in medicine

Occupations:
Physicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Hamburg

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Browse:
Nineteenth Century Women