Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carrie Kelly Beatty papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1874-1999
Creator: Beatty, Carrie Kelly (1853-1925)
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0127
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Young woman who came to Hancock County, Iowa in 1868; her experiences were recorded in the book, A Prairie Rose, by Bertha E. Bush.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 413) were donated by Pat Baker in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Carrie Kelly Beatty papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Carrie Louise Kelly Beatty was born in New York in 1853 to Samuel Robert Kelly I and Mary MacDonald Kelly. She was educated at the Bedford Female Seminary in Rochester, New York. After her father died in 1856, Carrie Kelly's mother remarried. Carrie Kelly and her brother Samuel Robert 'Rob' Kelly II did not get along with their stepfather, so in 1868 when she was fifteen they both moved west to Iowa where their father had purchased land sight unseen before he died. Her experiences during her first year in Iowa were the basis for the book "A Prairie Rose" by Bertha E. Bush. In the fictionalized account, Carrie Kelly's name was changed to Rose Kellogg.

In 1880, Carrie Kelly married Samuel Bates Beatty at the Baptist Church in Clear Lake, Iowa. They raised four children, MacDonald 'Donald,NULL Zelda, Robert, and Clarence. They divorced for a time, but eventually remarried. In 1905, Samuel Beatty bought a casket company in Butte, Montana and the family moved there for a time. However, Carrie Beatty became homesick, so her husband bought back his business in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Samuel Beatty died in 1919, and Carrie Beatty in 1925 from an inoperable tumor.

The papers date from 1874 to 1999 and measure three linear inches. The papers contain biographical information about Carrie Kelly Beatty and her family, as well as copies of deeds to the Iowa homestead and materials pertaining to Hancock County. Also included in the collection is a photocopy of Bertha E. Bush's "A Prairie Rose," which was based upon Carrie Kelly's life.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CARRIE KELLY BEATTY

  • Series 1: CARRIE KELLY BEATTY
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information - 1999
  • Deeds - 1874-1875
  • Hancock County materials - 1875-1999
  • "A Prairie Rose" by Bertha E. Bush [photocopy] - 1910

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Beatty, Carrie Kelly, 1853-1925
Bush, Bertha E.

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Frontier and pioneer life
Women

Occupations:
Pioneers
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Hancock County
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Family Names:
Beatty family

Browse:
Nineteenth Century Women