Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Walling Family letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1991
Creator: Walling Family
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0124
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Oskaloosa family whose daughter Ivyl Walling Welton graduated from Grinnell College and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The letters are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The letters (donor no. 188) were donated by Mary Hamilton in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Walling Family letters, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary E. Knight, daughter of Immer Needham Knight and Sarah James Knight, was born December 13, 1869. She married Charles S. Walling June 28, 1893 and lived In Oskaloosa, Iowa where Charles Walling was manager and part owner of the Oskaloosa Daily Herald. The Wallings had two daughters, Ivyl, born in 1894, and Mary, born in 1911. Mary Knight Walling died July 15, 1935.

The Walling Family Letters date from 1919 to 1935. The collection consists of one volume of transcribed correspondence between Mary Knight Walling and her daughter Ivyl Walling Welton. A small number of letters by other family members is included. Ivyl Walling attended Grinnell College, majoring in music. She married Dale Welton June 25, 1918 in Tulsa, Oklahoma and established a home in that community. Ivyl Welton and her mother, Mary K. Walling, began writing these letters following Ivyl's move to Oklahoma.

The letters were compiled by Mary E. Walling Hamilton, younger sister of Ivyl Walling Welton. In an addendum Hamiltong ives biographical sketches of fifty people mentioned in the letters. This provides helpful context to the collection.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Walling, Mary Knight, 1869-1935
Welton, Ivyl Walling, 1894-
Hamilton, Mary E. Walling, 1911-
Welton, Dale

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Family life
Women

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Oskaloosa
United States -- Oklahoma -- Tulsa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Correspondence

Family Names:
Walling family