Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marie Schultz Meyer papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1993
Creator: Meyer, Marie Schultz (1918-1993)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0121
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Postville, Iowa, native who graduated from the University of Iowa School of Nursing in 1940.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 2 and 7.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 185) were donated by Mary Hubbard, Meyer's daughter, in 1993 and 1997.

Preferred Citation: Marie Schultz Meyer papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Marie Schultz Meyer was born February 9, 1918, in Postville, Iowa, to Elvin W. and Orma Meier Schultz. She attended West Grove School and then Postville High School from which she graduated in 1936. She then attended the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) School of Nursing, graduating in 1939. After graduation, Meyer worked at the University Hospital until 1941. Also during her nursing career, she was employed for two years at the Decorah Hospital and twenty years at the Community Memorial Hospital in Postville. On September 18, 1943, she married Willard C. Meyer. They farmed near Clermont until 1963 then moved to Postville. They had two daughters, Jean (Binfet) of Minnesota, and Mary (Hubbard) of Iowa City.

The Marie Schultz Meyer papers date from 1909 to 1993 and measure 1.5 linear feet. The papers are divided into eight series: Alumni Publications, Class work, Correspondence, Memorabilia, Miscellaneous, Newspaper and magazine clippings, Photographs, and Scrapbooks.

Alumni Publications series includes a journal, a directory, and newsletters put out by the University of Iowa alumni groups. The Class work subseries contains typed and handwritten notes, handouts, and note cards on several subjects though the actual class they came from is not named. Also included is a daily class schedule. The pamphlet appears to have been used by Meyer during her course of study. The correspondence subseries contains letters received by Meyer from the University of Iowa, the Iowa Board of Nurse Examiners, and various friends and classmates. Reunion correspondence contains both official letters from the University of Iowa Alumni Association and personal letters from classmates.

The Memorabilia series contains mainly small keepsakes from the 45th and 50th School of Nursing reunions. The postcards, though undated look to be from the late 1940s.

A point of interest in the Miscellaneous series is the poem written by Meyer and several of her friends. The Miscellanous series contains some autobiographical information about Meyer. The Grandparent Book contains information about Meyer's childhood and adult life. Newspaper and Magazine Clippings include acticles about friends and professors. The ISARN Bulletin lists Marie Schultz as having been certified as an registered nurse. The "Students in Service" includes several classmates.

The Scrapbooks ,which are the bulk of the collection, date mainly from 1936 to 1952. The books contain newspaper clippings of various University functions and of people from. Meyer's home town, invitations to social gatherings, church and school programs, and various personal memorabelia. Also included are personal correspondence, several State University of Iowa Nurses Alumni Newsletters , and the Alumni Journal for 1940. A point of interest is the 1942 scrapbook that chronicles the fourteen day trip. Meyer and four of her friends took out west. It includes a day by day itinerary and photographs, postcards, and guides to various sites.

Photographs include many pictures of friends and professors, the University of Iowa campus and various rooms and wards of the University Hospital. Identification of several of the people inthe reunion photos can be found in the photocopies of the 1936-1989 scrapbook. Also included in this series is one photograph album of Meyer's mother, Orma Meier Schultz, from her high school years.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ALUMNI PUBLICATIONS
Series 2: CLASS WORK
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: MEMORABILIA
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 6: NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE CLIPPINGS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: ALUMNI PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Alumnae Journal - 1941
  • Alumni newsletters - 1953-1956
  • Alumni newsletters - 1961-1962
  • Nurses Alumnae Association Directory - 1956
  • Series 2: CLASS WORK
  • Box 1:
  • Class handouts, undated
  • Class notes, undated
  • Note cards, undated
  • Paper, "The Nightingale Training School for Nurses, St. Thomas Hospital, London, England," undated
  • Pamphlet, Iowa State Department of Health - 1935
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Personal: Hazel Biederbeck - 1938
  • Professional - 1936, 1940-1941
  • Reunions: 40th - 1979
  • Reunions: 45th - 1984
  • Reunions: 50th - 1989
  • Series 4: MEMORABILIA
  • Box 1:
  • Postcards: University of Iowa - 1945-1949
  • Reunions (State University of Iowa School of Nursing): 45th
  • Reunions (State University of Iowa School of Nursing): 45th - 1984
  • Reunions (State University of Iowa School of Nursing): 50th - 1989
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Brochure, University of Iowa, College of Nursing, undated
  • Funeral program - 1993
  • The Grandparent Book, undated
  • The Iowa Biopsy [shelved in map case: drawer 3]
  • Iowa Biopsy April 1 - 1938
  • Iowa Biopsy March 24 - 1939
  • Iowa Biopsy April 5 - 1940
  • Iowa Biopsy April 18 - 1941
  • Nursing Progress Fund, Honor Role of Contributors - 1986
  • Poem, undated
  • Reprinted account of 1901 fire, Old South Hall - 1901
  • Reprinted article, "The Polio Years at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics," undated
  • Roster of Registered Nurses, Iowa - 1941-1942
  • Survey of Professional History of Alumnae of the College of Nursing - 1962
  • Series 6: NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • ISARN Bulletin, undated
  • Reunions: 45th - 1984
  • Reunions: 50th - 1989
  • "University Alumni and Former Students in Service," undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1983-1984, 1986-1987
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Photographs - 1936-1940
  • Reunions: 10th - 1949
  • Reunions: 40th - 1979
  • Reunions: 45th - 1984
  • Reunions: 50th - 1989
  • Box 7:
  • Photograph albums - 1936-1941
  • Photograph albums: Schultz, Orma Meier - 1909-1911
  • Miscellaneous - 1984, 1987
  • Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbooks - 1936-1939
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbooks - 1939-1941
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbooks - 1941-1942
  • Box 5:
  • Scrapbooks - 1942
  • Box 6:
  • Scrapbooks - 1932, 1943-1952
  • Box 7:
  • Scrapbooks [photocopied] - 1936-1989