Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Virginia Randolph papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1993
Creator: Randolph, Virginia
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0115
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Anamosa, Iowa, poet and niece of Elizabeth Wherry.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 179) were donated by Virginia Randolph in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Virginia Randolph papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Virginia Randolph is a poet of poetry and a resident of Anamosa, Iowa. She is the niece of newspaper columnist Elizabeth Wherry.

The Virginia Randolph papers date from 1929 to 1993 and measure .5 linear inches. The papers consist of a book of poetry by Randolph, a newspaper clipping written by Randolph, the autobiography of Randolph's grandmother, Ella Cripliver, and reminiscences by Randolph about her aunt Elizabeth Wherry. Photocopies of several of Elizabeth Wherry's "Country Air," columns, Wherry's obituary, and a photograph of Wherry are also included.
Elizabeth Wherry papers (IWA): Elizabeth Wherry was Randolph's aunt.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Randolph, Virginia
Wherry, Elizabeth
Cripliver, Ella

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women and literature

Occupations:
Poets

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Anamosa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Photographs
Personal papers
Memoirs

Browse:
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories