Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Daughters of Ceres (Walnut and Webster, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1988
Creator: Daughters of Ceres
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0113
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Walnut and Webster chapter records of this social and benevolent club comprised of farmwomen.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 176) were donated by the Daughters of Ceres in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Daughters of Ceres records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Daughters of Ceres records measure 5 linear inches and date from 1898 to 1988. They are arranged in three series: Walnut Chapter, Webster Chapter and Miscellaneous. The records document the activities and concerns of this social and charitable club from the turn of the century to the 1970s. Moreover, they illuminate the social and emotional bonds that tied this group of women together throughout the years.

The Walnut Chapter records (1898-1923) consist of an annual program of activities for 1922 to 1923 and two secretary's books (minutes) for 1898 to 1921, with some overlap. The 1898-1921 book contains accounts of dues paid and other club expenses for 1898 to 1914.

The Webster Chapter records (1920-1988) are much more extensive, including four constitutions from different time periods, an almost complete set of secretary's books spanning the years 1920 to 1973, and a ninetieth anniversary memory book with a history of the Webster Chapter and personal reminiscences of members and their families.

The Miscellaneous series (1971, 1978-1979) includes a reprint from the Annals of Iowa about the history of the Martin Flynn Farm from 1845 to 1970. In addition, there is a Polk County Federation of Women's Clubs handbook for 1978 to 1979. The Daughters of Ceres was a member of the Federation and some Daughters served as president over the years.
Lucy Van Voorhis White papers (IWA):  This collection contains a letter written by Harriet Wallace Ashby White on December 1, 1911, inviting her to join the Daughters of Ceres. Enclosed with the letter is one Daughter of Ceres chapter's constitution. See Box 1; Correspondence; Incoming; Ashby, Harriet Wallace , 1911-1923.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WALNUT CHAPTERS
Series 2: WEBSTER CHAPTERS
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: WALNUT CHAPTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Annual program - 1922-1923
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1898-1906
    [original closed; photocopy available for research]
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1899-1921
    [includes financial reports, 1899-1919]
  • Series 2: WEBSTER CHAPTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Constitutions [removed from secretary's books] - 1920-1926
  • Constitutions [removed from secretary's books] - 1927-1931
  • Constitutions [removed from secretary's books] - 1956-1973
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1920-1926
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1927-1931
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1936-1944
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1944-1956
  • Secretary's books (minutes) - 1956-1973
  • 50th Anniversary - 1948
  • 75th Anniversary - 1973
  • 90th Anniversary, introductory speech - 1988
  • 90th Anniversary, memory book, original - 1988
  • 90th Anniversary, memory book, photocopy - 1988
  • Annual programs - 1947-1950, 1954-1960
  • Correspondence - 1927, 1961, undated
  • List of dues paid - 1945-1960
  • Newspaper clippings - 1948-1949, 1973
  • Photograph, undated
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • "The Martin Flynn Farm: From Public Land in 1845 to Living History Farms in 1970," Annals of Iowa (1971)
  • Polk County Federation of Women's Clubs handbook - 1978-1979