Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Betty Jean Furgerson papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1944-1995
Creator: Furgerson, Betty Jean (1927-)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0111
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Teacher, social worker, human rights commission director, and university regent from Waterloo.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 1 and 2.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 174) were donated by Betty Jean Furgerson in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Betty Jean Furgerson papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Betty Jean (B.J.) Furgerson, teacher, social worker, human rights commission director and university regent, was born on March 10, 1927. She was the second of five children of Lee B. and Lily Furgerson. Her father, Lee Burton Furgerson, practiced medicine in Waterloo for twenty-one years until his death in 1948. He was active in many community groups and was also the president of a savings and loan company at the time of his death. Lily Furgerson taught fourth, fifth and sixth grades in the Waterloo school district from 1952 to 1971, the first African American allowed to teach in that system.

Betty Jean Furgerson graduated from East Waterloo High School in 1945. She began her college life at Talladega College in Talladega, Alabama, in the autumn of 1945. Furgerson transferred first to the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) and then to Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa) where, in 1952, she earned her B.A. in secondary education with a concentration in art. Eighteen years later Furgerson entered the University of Kansas School of Social Work and acquired an M.S.W. in 1972.

Growing up, Furgerson developed a great appreciation for jazz. She and her family often traveled to Chicago and other locations to see various jazz bands. They developed lasting friendships with some of the members of the Duke Ellington Orchestra. The musicians often visited the Furgersons' home when they performed in or near Waterloo and exchanged correspondence with Betty Jean, her mother and her brother Lee while they were on tour.

Betty Jean Furgerson's work experience included several positions that drew on her abilities as an educator, social worker and leader. She first found employment as an instructor of adult crafts and children's art at the Waterloo Recreation Center. For two years she worked as an assistant in the health education department of the Waterloo YWCA before becoming a district advisor to the Conestoga Council of Girl Scouts in Waterloo, Iowa, from 1958 to 1967. She served as the director of Homemaking/Home-Health Aid Project with the Family Service League during the six months of the project's funding in 1967. Furgerson also directed parent education for the Black Hawk County Head Start program, including four and a half months as the acting director of education from 1967 to 1970. Upon returning to Waterloo following her graduate work at the University of Kansas, Furgerson served as the administrative coordinator for the Community Consortium, a group formed to provide support for the Waterloo school system's desegregation plan, for a year. In 1974, she became the director of the Waterloo Human Rights Commission, a position she held for the next eighteen years. As a leader Furgerson has served her local community and state on several boards in various capacities.

The Betty Jean Furgerson papers date from 1944 to 1995 and measure 6 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Personal life, Post-secondary education, Professional life, Iowa Public Television, State Board of Regents, Resource files, and Photographs.

The Personal life series (1944-1998 and undated) contains material that reflects Furgerson's interests in the arts and civic participation in her community. Included are correspondence that cover more than two decades of friendship between the Furgerson family and members of the Duke Ellington Orchestra. This series includes an extensive personal correspondence series. Included are greeting cards, graduation invitation and letters from friends and family. The greeting card collection is composed of Christmas, birthday, and thank you cards. Some of the cards contain extensive writing, but the majority of them are composed of a closing signature. Included are also a number of letters and a grade book for Furgerson's mother. The folder dedicated to Furgerson's elementary education contains some of her early report cards. This series also contains newspaper clippings about family members, which describe their involvement in Waterloo organizations and their achievements.

Furgerson's educational background is documented in the Post-secondary education series (1950-1974 and undated). The folders in the series are arranged by school, with the University of Kansas folders arranged by the class number assigned by the university. The concert programs from Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa) reflect Furgerson's involvement in the Dimensions in Jazz concert series.

The Civic and professional activities series (1947-1998), contains material that documents Furgerson's occupations, and reflects her commitment to civic participation. Most of the information relates to committees and commissions concerned with education. She was appointed to many of these by the Iowa Governor or state legislature. Furgerson has also been a member of numerous boards in local organizations. A portion of the materials reflects her tenure as director of the Waterloo Human Rights Commission from 1974 to 1992.

Betty Jean Furgerson served as the president of the Iowa Public Television Broadcasting Board. The papers in the Iowa Public Television series (1988-1995) document this role. The series contains information on funding for public television and the construction and implementation of the first two phases of the Iowa Communications Network (ICN). It also includes minutes from the 461 Task Force (named after House File 461) that was formed to study the consequences of converting the ICN to a public utility.

The State Board of Regents series (1993-1995) documents part of Furgerson's six-year term as a regent from 1989 to 1995. Two subseries, Administrative records and Topical files , comprise this series. The Administrative records subseries contains meeting minutes which reflect the board's role as trustee of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Also included are the minutes of the banking committee and correspondence and material related to the search for two university presidents. The Topical files subseries contains papers on issues of particular interest to Furgerson. The primary topics of these materials are recruitment and retention of minority students and faculty and cultural diversity at the regents' institutions.

The Resource files series (1984-1997) contains documents that reflect Furgerson's interests in education and her involvement in civic activities. Included are national, state, and regional reports on the status of education. It also includes some material on Iowa economic trends.
Penny Thomas Furgerson papers (IWA): Penny Furgerson is the sister-in-law of Betty Jean Furgerson.
Lileah Furgerson Harris papers (IWA): Lileah Harris is the sister of B.J. Furgerson.
Martha Ann Furgerson Nash papers (IWA): Martha Nasha is the sister of B.J. Furgerson.
Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL LIFE
Series 2: POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION
Series 3: CIVIC AND PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
Series 4: IOWA PUBLIC TELEVISION
Series 5: STATE BOARD OF REGENTS
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL LIFE
  • Box 1:
  • Awards - 1976, 1983-1988, 1994-2000
  • Harris, Sarah: Art projects, undated
  • Cartoons, undated
  • Commencement programs - 1977, 1981, 1983
  • Correspondence - 1964-1983
  • Correspondence - 1984-1997
  • Childrens letters - 1993
  • Graduation invitations - 1978-1995
  • Greeting cards - 1940-1945
  • Greeting cards - 1973
  • Greeting cards - 1977-1978
  • Greeting cards - 1979
  • Greeting cards - 1980
  • Greeting cards - 1981
  • Greeting cards - 1983-1984
  • Greeting cards - 1985
  • Box 2:
  • Greeting cards - 1986
  • Greeting cards - 1992
  • Greeting cards - 1993
  • Greeting cards - 1994
  • Greeting cards - 1995
  • Greeting cards - 1996
  • Box 3:
  • Greeting cards - 1997
  • Greeting cards - 1998
  • Greeting cards, undated
  • Postcards - 1974-1996
  • Wedding invitations - 1985-1995
  • Elementary education - 1940-1945
  • Family newspaper clippings - 1961-1978
  • Family newspaper clippings - 1982-1998
  • Furgerson, Lily (mother): Correspondence - 1943
  • Furgerson, Lily (mother): Grade book - 1964-1965
  • Newspaper clippings of Marian Anderson - 1938-1945
  • Funeral service programs - 1996-1997
  • Household - 1973
  • Interests in the arts: Church recital programs - 1980, 1984, 1993, 1997
  • Interests in the arts: Hancher Auditorium programs - 1997-1998
  • Interests in the arts: High School music programs - 1941, 1943, 1981, 1991, 1997
  • Jazz music: Dave Brubeck Quartet autographed program and newspaper clipping - 1956
  • Jazz music: Duke Ellington Orchestra: Billy Strayhorn Memorial Concert - 1968
  • Box 4:
  • Jazz music: Correspondence with band members - 1956-1959
  • Jazz music: Correspondence with band members - 1960-1968
  • Jazz music: Correspondence with band members - 1970-1971
  • Jazz music: Correspondence with band members, postcards - 1958-1975
  • Jazz music: Duke Ellington Jazz Festival (Madison, Wisconsin) - 1972
  • Jazz music: Duke Ellington Jazz Society newsletters - 1959-1961
  • Jazz music: Itinerary - 1959-1960
  • Jazz music: Newspaper clippings - 1981, 1982
  • Jazz music: Newsletters - 1992-1998
  • Jazz music: Publicity, undated
  • Jazz music: Press releases, undated
  • Jazz music: Sacred concerts program and newspaper clippings - 1968
  • Jazz music: Various concert memorabilia, undated
  • Program announcements - 1984, 1995-1997
  • Theater: Gateway Dance Theater programs - 1974-1977
  • Theater:General programs - 1954-1955, 1968, 1970, 1975
  • Theater:Performing arts center: Hancher Auditorium - 1996
  • Theater:Search Committee - 1996-1997
  • Theater:Ted Mann Center - 1996
  • Box 5:
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Board of directors, undated
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Board meeting minutes - 1994
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Board meeting minutes - 1996
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Board meeting minutes - 1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Board meeting minutes - 1998
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Building a business case for CAF - 1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: By-laws - 1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Correspondence - 1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: "Cultivator" - 1993
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Financial statements - 1996-1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Notes, undated
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Postcards, undated
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Project proposal - 1997
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Working draft business plan - 1996
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Gustavo Foppiani: Painting purchase - 1961
  • Visual arts: Cedar Arts Forum: Gustavo Foppiani: Test print, undated
  • Museum exhibition - 1997
  • Notes, undated
  • Passports - 1961, 1979
  • Receipts - 1969-1970
  • Nash, Theresa (niece): Resume - 1976
  • "The Wooden Horse", East Waterloo High School book of student writing - 1944
  • Series 2: POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION
  • Sub-Series: Talladega College
  • Box 5:
  • "The Talladega Student", March - 1946
  • Transcript - 1950
  • Sub-Series: Iowa State Teachers College
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa State Teachers College: Marian Anderson: Contralto concert - 1942
  • Iowa State Teachers College: "Dimensions in Jazz" concert programs - 1953-1958
  • Iowa State Teachers College: Pat Samson, newspaper column - 1974
  • Iowa State Teachers College: Transfer credit evaluation and grade reports - 1952-1954
  • Sub-Series: University of Kansas School of Social Work
  • Box 5:
  • Coursework: "Academic status and success", undated
  • Coursework: Evaluation of student's field work - 1971-1972
  • SW 268: Death: An Unusual Opportunity for Growth - 1972
  • SW 316: Analysis of an Influence report - 1972
  • SW 342: Research - 1972
  • SW 361-362: Differential Uses of Social Work Intervention - 1970-1971
  • SW 368: Crisis Intervention Bibliography - 1972
  • Commencement - 1972
  • Human relations committee - 1971-1972
  • List of first-year students - 1970
  • National Association of Black Social Workers pamphlet, undated
  • Neighborhood Youth Corps (NYC) project - 1971-1972
  • Resume - 1971
  • Social Work Day program - 1972
  • "Socio-psychological Implications of Black Separatism" by Barbara A. Sizemore, undated
  • Transcripts - 1970-1973
  • Series 3: CIVIC AND PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
  • Box 6:
  • Allen College of Nursing council minutes - 1994-1995
  • Cedar Valley's Promise: Child care/early education committee - 1998
  • Cedar Valley's Promise: Child watch program - 1997
  • Cedar Valley's Promise: Community planning team orientation - 1998
  • Cedar Valley's Promise: Correspondence, undated
  • Cedar Valley's Promise: Strategic plan: minutes - 1998
  • Whats Where in Parenting Directory" - 1998-1999
  • Community issues: "Black Enabler" - 1978, 1998
  • Community issues: "The Failure of the Talented Tenth", undated
  • Community issues: Martin Luther King, Jr. programs - 1984, 1998
  • Community issues: Newspaper clippings - 1973-1998
  • Community issues: "The Parker Tribune" newspaper, January 8 - 1979
  • Community issues: Untitled essay about racism by Ron Rhoadds, undated
  • Community issues: "The Waterloo District News" - 1998
  • Community issues: "The Waterloo Defender" newspaper, October 21 - 1996
  • Community issues: "The Waterloo Defender" newspaper, July 16 - 1971
  • Conferences: Democratic Party Organization and Policy - 1974
  • Conferences: Faces and Voices of Iowa" - 1997
  • Conferences: Fifth National Policy Institute - 1988
  • Conferences: Interracial adoptions - 1975
  • Conferences: National Conference of Black Lawyers - 1976
  • Conferences: Statistics of racial composition of Waterloo, Iowa - 1966
  • Conferences: Women's Front and Center Conference - 1994
  • Conferences: Women of the 90s: Partnership for Change - 1994
  • Conferences: Correspondence - 1967, 1972
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1976-1994
  • Correspondence - 1995-1998
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, March - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, April - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, May - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, May - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, June - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Agenda, July - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Correspondence, March-July - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Correspondence, August-December - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Correspondence - 1998
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Meeting announcements - 1997
  • Educational Excellence Commission: News release - 1997-1998
  • Educational Excellence Commission: Newsletters - 1996-1997
  • Education Excellence Commission: Newspaper clippings - 1991-1992, 1997
  • Education Excellence Commission: Notes - 1997
  • Education Excellence Commission: Report to the governor - 1997
  • Box 8:
  • Education Excellence Commission: Talking points - 1997
  • Girl scouts - 1947-1961
  • Head Start - 1967-1970
  • Higher Education Strategic Planning Council - 1994
  • Human Investment: Agenda, April - 1997
  • Human Investment: Agenda, November - 1997
  • Human Investment: Agenda, December - 1997
  • Human Investment: Agenda, February - 1998
  • Human Investment: Agenda, May - 1998
  • Human Investment: Agenda, June - 1998
  • Human Investment: Budgeting for Results Handbook - 1997-1998
  • Human Investment: Correspondence - 1997-1998
  • Human Investment: Iowans Rating of Characteristics for State Government - 1997
  • Human Investment: Minutes
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1993-1995
  • Iowa Coordinating Council for Post-High School Agenda, April - 1997
  • Iowa Coordinating Council for Post-High School Agenda, December
  • Iowa Coordinating Council for Post-High School Agenda, October
  • Box 9:
  • Iowa Department of Education Strategic Planning Committee Agenda - 1991
  • Iowa Department of Education Strategic Planning Committee: Final recommendations - 1991
  • Iowa Department of Education Strategic Planning Committee: Midyear status report - 1990-1991
  • Iowa Department of Education Strategic Planning Committee: Race equality progress report - 1990
  • Iowa Women's Archives - 1995-1997
  • Iowa Women's Hall of Fame: Lynn Cutler nomination - 1998
  • KBBG-FM radiothon fund-raisers - 1992, 1994
  • Lily Fergerson Child Development Center - 1973, 1976, 1994
  • Military academy nominee selection committee - 1994
  • Multicultural Graduation and Recognition Banquet - 1998
  • PRISM Awards - 1997
  • Reader Advisory Board - 1997
  • State Judicial Nominating Commission newspaper clipping, undated
  • University of Northern Iowa Leadership Advisory Board - 1998
  • Waterloo Area Training Committee - 1998
  • Waterloo Council on Ministries Committee - 1998
  • Waterloo Human Rights Commission - 1974-1978, 1994
  • Waterloo Partners in Education Advisory Board - 1998
  • Waterloo public schools - 1972-1976
  • Whitis, Lindbergh, for mayor campaign treasurer - 1969
  • YWCA - 1997
  • Diamond Jubilee Committee - 1997
  • Series 4: IOWA PUBLIC TELEVISION
  • Box 10:
  • Appropriations vote for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) - 1994-1995
  • Conferences: Children's Defense Fund - 1997
  • Conferences: P.B.S. Capitol Hill Day - 1997
  • Correspondence - 1997
  • Foundation endowment - 1995
  • 461 Task Force minutes - 1995
  • Governor's budget hearing - 1994
  • Governor's culture coalition - 1994-1995
  • Iowa Communication Network (ICN) - 1994-1995
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Budget report - 1996
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: By-laws - 1968, 1987
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes - 1995
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes - 1996
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, February - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, April - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, June - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, July - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, August - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, September - 1997
  • Iowa Public Broadcasting Board: Minutes, October - 1997
  • Box 11:
  • Iowa Public Television Foundation: Agenda - 1997
  • Iowa Public Television Foundation: Budget hearing - 1997
  • Iowa Public Television Foundation: Endowment - 1995
  • Iowa Public Television Foundation: Minutes - 1996
  • Legal materials: Channel 30 at Davenport, Petition to deny - 1996
  • Legal materials: Correspondence - 1996
  • Legal materials: Broadcasting board mailings - 1996
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Amicus Brief - 1996
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Amicus Brief - 1997
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Petitioners Brief - 1997
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Respondents Brief - 1997
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Reply Brief - 1997
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: Summary opinion - 1996
  • Legal materials: Forbes v. AETN: U.S. Supreme Court brief - 1997
  • Iowa code for public broadcasting, undated
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Affidavits - 1996
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Amicus brief - 1996
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Appellants brief - 1996
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Appellants brief - 1997
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Appellees brief - 1997
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Correspondence
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Court of appeal decision - 1996
  • Marcus v. IPTV: Federal election commission - 1996
  • Newspaper clippings - 1996-1997
  • Notes - 1976, 1996
  • Public Broadcast Stations: Annual Meeting - 1997
  • Public Broadcast Stations: Board of directors and board committee assignments - 1996- 1997
  • Public Broadcast Stations: Volunteer Survey Results - 1997
  • Star School Program - 1994
  • Surveys of teachers and telecourse enrollment - 1993-1995
  • White House reception invitation - 1988
  • Box 12:
  • Executive searches: Director for multi-cultural education (UNI), July-August - 1995
  • Executive searches: University President (UI amd UNI) - 1994-1995
  • Guide pamphlet - 1994
  • Minutes: Banking committee - 1994
  • Minutes: Board of Trustees of University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Febuary- May - 1994
  • Minutes: Board of Trustees of University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, September-April - 1994-1995
  • General Board: Index - 1993-1994
  • General Board, March-May - 1994
  • General Board, June-July - 1994
  • Box 13:
  • General Board, September - 1994
  • General Board, October-December - 1994
  • General Board, February-March - 1995
  • Travel arrangements - 1994-1995
  • Athletics: Gender-equality report - 1994
  • Athletics: Recruitment and admission of student athletes - 1994-1995
  • Box 14:
  • Campus child care - 1995
  • Classroom policy draft revision - 1995
  • Education-equity advisory committee: Departmental response to recommendations - 1992
  • Education-equity advisory committee: Iowa higher-education strategic planning council - 1993
  • Education-equity advisory committee: Meeting agenda - 1994
  • Education-equity advisory committee: Commendations and recommendations - 1993
  • Education-equity advisory committee: On-site manual for school year - 1993
  • Education-equity advisory committee:Sexual harassment training manual, undated
  • Education-equity advisory committee: Status report - 1993
  • Leadership studies program (UNI) - 1993-1994
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: Affirmative action report - 1994
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: Affirmative action newspaper clippings - 1995-1996
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: African-American student attrition - 1972, 1993-1994
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: "A follow-up Study of Minority Students in Education Administration at Iowa State University from 1963 to 1993" M.S. thesis by Diana Laurice Mitchell, Iowa State University - 1994
  • Recruitment, Development and Support of
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: "Recruitment, Development and support of American Indian Students at the Iowa Universities", by Donovin - 1994
  • Minority student matriculation and attrition: "Recruitment and Retention of Students and Faculty of Color" by S.A. Clayton - 1994-1995
  • Strategic plan for Iowa State University - 1994-2000
  • Series 5: STATE BOARD OF REGENTS
  • Box 12:
  • Administrative records: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics: College of Medicine accreditation review - 1994-1995
  • Administrative records: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics: Regional physician-hospital organization briefing - 1994
  • Administrative records: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics: State-wide organized health care delivery system report - 1994
  • Correspondence - 1993-1995
  • Celebrations: George Washington Carver graduation centennial (Iowa State University) - 1993-1995
  • Celebrations: Second Swansea celebration (University of Northern Iowa) - 1993
  • Executive searches: Director for multi-cultural education (UNI), May - 1995
  • Executive searches: Director for multi-cultural education (UNI), June - 1995
  • Box 15:
  • The Annual Condition of Education Report - 1996
  • Building on Strengths - 1996
  • A Call to Action for American Educators - 1997
  • Curriculum and Instruction Model - 1996
  • Employees, Family and Education - 1997
  • The Final Report of the Task Force on Teacher Education - 1984
  • Final Report on Vocational Education in Iowa - 1997
  • First in the Nation in Education - 1984
  • A Five-Year Economic Development Plan - 1989
  • Integrating Rural Community Development - 1997
  • Iowa Economic Trends Report - 1989
  • Iowa Tests of Educational Development Report - 1997
  • Iowa's Future: A Quality Economy for Tomorrow - 1989
  • Measuring Results: An Overview of Performance - 1996
  • National Education Goals Panel - 1991
  • National Education Goals Panel: Discussion Document - 1991
  • National Goals for Education - 1990
  • National Standards for Family Involvement - 1997
  • New Iowa Schools Development Report - 1997
  • Box 16:
  • Office of School Readiness Report, undated
  • Quality of the Instructional Program - 1997
  • Renewing the Commitment - 1986
  • Splintered Vision, Executive Summary - 1997
  • State Plan - 1996
  • The State Plan for Educational Excellence - 1992
  • Teacher Preparation/Participation Task Force - 1988
  • What Colleges and University Leader Can Do to Help, undated
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 16:
  • Duke Ellington Orchestra, autographed, undated
  • Family and friends
  • Betty Jean Furgerson - 1955-1976
  • Betty Jean Furgerson - 1985-1997
  • Professional life - 1989-1998
  • Paul Winter Ensemble photograph, undated
  • Ferguson [sic], Kappa Alpha Phi - 1921