Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-2006
Creator: University of Iowa Department of PE for Women
Extent: 37.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0106
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The department was established in 1924 and was a pioneer in the development of graduate study and professional training. The department existed until 2000 under a variety of names and organizations.
View Selected Items Online:University of Iowa Physical Education for Women

Alternate Extent Statement: 11 films [F1-F11]
5 videocassettes [V222, V224, V311, V380, and V354]
1 DVD [d0044]
Photographs in boxes 91-96 and map case

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright to many of the materials is held by the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 257) were donated by the Department of Sport, Health, Leisure and Physical Studies in 1995 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

In 1900 the Department of Physical Culture and Athletics had only one woman member, an assistant in charge of physical training for women. By 1924 the Department of Physical Education was established with four departments: inter-collegiate athletics, physical education for men, physical education for women, and intramural games. By that year every member of the women's staff was a graduate of a physical education school and a major field of study in Women's Physical Education was established. The women's physical education program became a pioneer in the development of graduate study and professional training. Elizabeth Halsey headed the department from 1924-1955. M.Gladys Scott, who received the first Ph.D. in women's physical education from the University of Iowa in 1937, succeeded Halsey as department chair from 1955-1974. Margaret Fox (1974-1978), N. Peggy Burke (1978-1987), Yvonne (Bonnie Slatton (1987-2000), and Susan Birrell (2000- ) followed in succession as department chairpersons.

The athletic/physical education departments were later reorganized in a variety of configurations including the Department of Physical Education and Dance (1976-1987), Physical Education and Sport Studies (housed within the Division of Physical Education) (1987-1993), the Department of Sport, Health, Leisure and Physical Studies (1993-2000), the Department of Health, Leisure and Sport Studies (2000-2001) and the Department of Health and Sport Studies (2001- ). Physical education is no longer offered as a field of study.

The Women's Athletic Association (WAA), an intramural organization with both an athletic and social focus, was organized in 1911 to "promote a spirit of fair play and sportsmanship among girls." The Association was comprised of various clubs, including Orchesis (dance), Seals (swimming) and others for outing, hockey, canoeing, archery, badminton, tennis, basketball, and handicrafts. The group sponsored tournaments, play days, classes in social dancing, and all-freshmen parties. In 1941, the name of the organization changed to the Women's Recreation Association (WRA). The WAA/WRA provided college women opportunities to participate in sports, either intramural or as a member of a sport club, as there were no varsity sport teams available for women at The University of Iowa until the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Intercollegiate athletics for women at The University of Iowa originated in the Department of Physical Education for Women in the late 1960s and early 1970s and maintained that association until 2000. This relationship stemmed from the philosophy of the women physical educators and the value they placed on education and women-centered and controlled sport.Begin text here:» In 1973, Christine Grant was appointed Director of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, a position she held until her retirement in August 2000. Following Grant's retirement, the women's and men's athletic departments were merged, ending Iowa's tenure as one of the few NCAA Division I schools to maintain a separate department and director of athletics for women.

Department Chairperson
1924-1955 Elizabeth Halsey
1955-1974 M. Gladys Scott
1974-1978 Margaret Fox
1978-1987 N. Peggy Burke
1987-2000* Yvonne (Bonnie) Slatton
2000- Susan Birrell

Department Name
1924-1975 Physical Education for Women
1976-1987 Physical Education and Dance
1987-1993 Physical Education and Sport Studies**
1993-2000 Sport, Health, Leisure and Physical Studies
2000-2001 Health, Leisure and Sport Studies
2002- Health and Sport Studies

* The Division of Physical Education was served by several different chairpersons, including Arnold Small, Alicia Brown, and Benjamin Hunnicutt. Bonnie Slatton's leadership began as chair of the Physical Education and Sport Studies Department within this division.
** The Department of Physical Education and Sport Studies was located within the Division of Physical Education. Other departments in this division were Exercise Science, Leisure Studies, and Dance.

The University of Iowa Physical Education for Women records date from 1900 to 2006 and measure 37.3 linear feet. The papers are arranged in fifteen series: Departmental history, Administrative correspondence, Intercollegiate athletics, Iowa City Field Hockey Club, P.E. Major Council, Professional organizations, World War II, Administrative records, Facilities, Publications, Photographs, Newspaper Clippings, Artifacts, and Films and audiovisual materials. The Women's Recreation Association (WRA) records are held in a separate collection-the University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women/Women's Recreational Association-at the Iowa Women's Archives.

The Departmental History series (1934-1999) contains university publications, correspondence, and three scrapbooks that document and reflect the social activities and departmental accomplishments achieved by both students and faculty of the Department of Physical Education for Women. Obituaries, eulogies and remembrances of deceased faculty and alumnus complete the series.

The Administrative Correspondence series (1916-1995) includes class schedules, newspaper clippings from the 1930s and 1940s, literature about gymnasium clothing from 1930 and 1964, a student-teacher report, and correspondence relating to the pros and cons of the physical education requirement. The administrative correspondence of three former department chairs: Elizabeth Halsey (1925-1955), M. Gladys Scott (1955-1974) and Margaret Fox (1974-1978) comprise the bulk of this series. Interfiled within their correspondence are those of persons serving as interim chairs, including Marjorie Camp and Miriam Taylor during Halsey's tenure.

The Intercollegiate Athletics series (1953-1997) traces the formal organization and development of intercollegiate athletics for women at The University of Iowa. In addition to administrative records, this series includes records from the university's Women's Intercollegiate Sport Committee (WISC), the statewide Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Committee (WIAC), and the national and state Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women organizations (AIAW and IAIAW). The Intramurals sub series consists primarily of records from the Big Ten Women's Intramural Conferences. At these conferences, women's physical educators discussed and debated the merits and logistics of offering intramural and extramural sport activities for college women. Supporting documents such as school intramural handbooks and surveys on women's sport programs are included.

The Iowa City Field Hockey Club series (1936-1974) documents the yearly activities of this club whose membership consisted of women's physical education faculty members, former students, and Iowa City residents. This series also contains records from the United States Field Hockey Association (USFHA) and the Midwest Field Hockey Association (MWFHA). The Iowa City Field Hockey Club hosted the Midwest Tournament in 1956 and 1962. They joined the student-run WAA Field Hockey Club in welcoming the Welsh Touring Team in 1936, and they hosted teams from Switzerland and Argentina for the 1963 USFHA International Tour. The Iowa City Field Hockey Club often practiced and played against the WRA Field Hockey Club (see the WRA Series).

The P.E. Major Council series (1922-1974) documents the activities and organizational structure of this group and the affiliated P.E. Majors (P.E.M.) Alumnae Association. This series includes the constitutions, minutes accounts, and correspondence, as well as their newsletter, "Major Matters," and information on banquets and social activities.

The Professional Organizations (1900-1997) series houses records from the variety of national, regional and state organizations to which department faculty members belonged. These organizations focused on issues and debates in the areas of physical education, health, recreation, intramurals and sport.

The World War II series (1941-1942) is comprised of materials relating to military leisure and recreation programs, the United Service Organizations (USO), and papers advocating specific wartime physical education and training programs for college women, naval aviation schools, and others. The USO file also includes two pieces of correspondence from Iowa students reporting on the USO and recreation opportunities.

The Administrative Records series (1916-2006) contains financial records, meeting minutes, course outlines and teaching material for skills and major courses. Included are academic requirements for undergraduate and graduate students, a departmental analysis, and research files that contain data, statistical analyses, and manuscripts written by both faculty and students. Margaret Fox's research and teaching materials were removed and placed within the Margaret Fox papers.

The Facilities series (1944-1979) includes a 1944 "Needs and Plans" report prepared by the department relating to building and equipment needs, and budgets and correspondence dealing with a proposed addition to the Women's Gymnasium (1951-1952).

A collection of periodicals, educational and government issued pamphlets, and teaching manuals pertaining to issues of health, physical education and recreation are located in the Publications (1914-1984) series. Shelved with the printed works collection are the 1927 through 1932 bound volumes of the Sportswoman, The Theory and Technique of Women's Basketball (1929) by Marjorie E. Fish, and the Girl Scout Song Book (1929) published by the Girls Scouts, Inc.

An extensive collection of Photographs (1906-2004) depict a wide variety of athletic activities, in addition to portraits of faculty and students, university buildings, children's classes, and departmental social events. Photographs of alumnus were collected for the department's centennial anniversary.

Issues pertaining to research conducted by students and faculty, and their achievements are located in the Newspaper Clippings series (1921-1989). Coverage of women's intercollegiate athletics completes the series. A wooden Volleyball Champs placard, unidentified wool basketball uniform and a blue tunic worn with bloomers comprise the Artifacts series.

The Films series (1933-1968) consists of reel-to-reel films of sporting events (primarily field hockey), instructional guides for sport and recreation, thesis/student projects and miscellaneous topics such as modern dance and posture.

The Audiovisual materials series (1933-1998) includes CBS's broadcast of the 1991 NCAA final between Iowa and Vanderbilt, and a celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Iowa women's intercollegiate sports program that includes remarks by Christine Grant and University of Iowa President Mary Sue Coleman, an historical overview of women's sports at the University of Iowa and interviews with former University of Iowa women athletes.
In IWA: C. Pauline Spencer papers

Spencer was a 1923 graduate of the Department of Physical Education
for Women.




N. Peggy Burke papers

Burke was a department chair in the Department of Physical Education for Women.




Christine Grant papers

Grant was a graduate and faculty member of the University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women, and the director of Women's Athletics.




Geraldine Greenlee papers

Greenlee was a graduate of the Department of Physical Education for Women.




Margaret Fox papers

Fox was a department chair in the Department of Physical Education for Women.


Marcia Thayer

Thayer was a dance faculty member in the Department of Physical Education for Women.


University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women/Women's Recreation Association Records.


WSUI- Julie Englander, "100th Anniversary of UI Health and Sport Studies."

The WSUI records, which contain oral interviews with alumnae and faculty of the Department of Health and Sport Studies.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DEPARTMENTAL HISTORY
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS
Series 4: IOWA CITY FIELD HOCKEY CLUB
Series 5: P.E. MAJOR COUNCIL
Series 6: PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
Series 7: WORLD WAR II
Series 8: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
Series 9: FACILITIES
Series 10: PUBLICATIONS
Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 12: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 13: ARTIFACTS
Series 14: FILMS
Series 15: AUDIOVISUAL MATERIALS

  • Series 1: DEPARTMENTAL HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Cultural Studies in Physical Education
  • Deaths: Alley, Louis E. - 1991
  • Deaths: Alumnus - 1988-1989
  • Deaths: Halsey, Elizabeth - 1974-1975
  • Deaths: Harris, Dorothy - 1991
  • Deaths: Homans, Amy Morris - 1934
  • Deaths: Homewood, Jean - 1961
  • Deaths: Gladys, M. Scott - 1990
  • Deaths: Sprague, Ann - 1974
  • Deaths: Taylor, Miriam - 1974
  • Degrees Granted - 1937-1967
  • Departmental Analysis
  • Departmental Restructuring - 1985-1986
  • Departmental Restructuring - 1989-1991
  • Faculty List - 1939-1968
  • Graduate Program
  • High School Recruitment - 1950-1952
  • Interview with M. Gladys Scott - 1988
  • In The News - 1959, 1999
  • Newsletters - 1947, 1978-1985, 1991
  • Number of Staff and Students - 1926-1955
  • Office of the Vice President of the United States - 1946, 1955
  • Papers: Kenyon, Gerald, "Social Science of Sport and Physical Activity" - 1966
  • Papers: Smithells, Philip, "The Status of Physical Education, A New Zealander's Viewpoint"
  • Papers: Wilson, Marjorie, "Changes in Status of American Women in the Last Fifty Years" - 1958
  • Papers: Unknown Author, "My perceptions of Physical Education and Recreation"
  • Press Releases - 1953-1962
  • Public Relations Strategy
  • Publications: Commencement Exercises - 1947
  • Publications: Course Bulletins
  • Publications: Graduate Program
  • Publications: Skills Handbook
  • Publications: Summer Session
  • Publications: Undergraduate Program
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook (5 folders) - 1952-1968
  • Box 96:
  • Scrapbooks - 1938-1948
  • Scrapbooks - 1963-1964
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Elizabeth Halsey
  • Box 3:
  • A - 1929-1952
  • American Association for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (AAHPER)
  • American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) Evaluation
  • Alumni Correspondence - 1942-1943
  • Alumni Correspondence - 1946-1952
  • Athletic Competition for Youths - 1952-1954, 1958
  • B (3 folders) - 1925-1955
  • Box 4:
  • Barnes, H.G. (Registrar) - 1939-1945
  • Barnes, Milford (Hygiene Department)
  • Bechler, Paul - 1946-1951
  • Belting, P.E. (Director of Physical Education) - 1925-1929
  • Bibliographic Notebook
  • Boy Scouts of America - 1936
  • Building Committee: Correspondence - 1943-1951
  • Building Committee: Plans
  • Box 5:
  • Burge, Adelaide - 1925-1942
  • C (3 folders) - 1929-1955
  • California (Field Hockey Umpiring Conference) - 1937
  • Camp, Marjorie - 1929-1935
  • Camp, Frances
  • Campus Planning Committee - 1952
  • Cobb, W.H.
  • Conference on Fundamentals of Bodily Skill - 1929
  • D
  • Dance - 1948-1949
  • Davis, Harvey
  • Box 6:
  • Dean of Liberal Arts: McGrath, Earl
  • Dean of Liberal Arts: Newburn, Harry
  • Dean of Liberal Arts: Stuit, Dewey
  • Department of Health Inspection Reports (5 folders) - 1952-1960
  • Dorcas, H.C. (3 folders) - 1927-1930
  • Box 7:
  • Dorcas, H.C. (4 folders) - 1930-1939
  • E - 1932-1954
  • Employment Services
  • Ensign, F.C.
  • Extension Division
  • F - 1929-1954
  • G (2 folders) - 1929-1950
  • Galiher, Charles
  • Gilmore, Eugene
  • Gould, Mabel
  • H - 1928-1930
  • Box 8:
  • H (6 folders) - 1931-1954
  • Hancher, Virgil
  • Hick Hawks
  • Hinman, Jack Jr.
  • Hockey Equipment
  • Humeston, F.E.
  • I - 1932-1936
  • Interchange of Teachers - 1948-1952
  • J - 1929-1948
  • Jackson Mill Report (Professional Preparation) - 1953
  • Box 9:
  • K - 1916-1951
  • Kay, George - 1927-1941
  • Keeley, Myrtle - 1937-1944
  • Kirby, Thomas
  • Knight, Frederic
  • L (3 folders) - 1919-1952
  • M - 1929-1952
  • Mahan, Bruce
  • Maruth, Charles
  • Mott, Frank
  • Mc - 1928-1952
  • Box 10:
  • McBroom, Maude
  • McCloy, C.H.
  • N - 1932-1952
  • O - 1932-1954
  • P (2 folders) - 1929-1955
  • Packer, Paul
  • Personality Rating
  • Physical Education and Athletics
  • Pieper, Ruth
  • Pownall, Fred
  • Publication: Development of Public Recreation in Metropolitan Chicago [Maps, 1900-1930 in mapcase] - 1940
  • Q - 1932
  • R (3 folders) - 1932-1952
  • Recreation Majors Core CourseRequirements - 1949
  • Box 11:
  • Recreation Position
  • Recreational Programs - 1937-1940
  • Registrar's Office
  • Report of the Graduate College - 1938
  • Rienow, Robert
  • S (5 folders) - 1928-1952
  • Schroeder, E.G.
  • Seashore, Carl
  • Box 12:
  • Smith, Arthur - 1928-1940
  • Staff - 1931-1948
  • Staff: Candidates - 1947-1955
  • Staff: Minutes (3 folders) - 1945-1952
  • Steindler, Arthur
  • Stoddard, George - 1930-1942
  • Student Progress
  • T - 1929-1951
  • Taylor, Miriam (25th year) - 1945
  • Teacher Training: Certification of Teachers
  • Teacher Training: "Criteria for Studying Democratic Practices in the Preparation of Women Teachers of Physical Education"
  • Teacher Training: Major Course Curriculum Studies
  • Box 13:
  • Teacher Training: Progress Report- Departmental Curriculum Study - 1949
  • Teacher Training: Study of Curriculum Revision: Department of Physical Education for Women - 1937
  • Teacher Training: Study of Curriculum Revision: Girls Physical Education - 1932
  • Teacher Training: Supply and Demand of Teachers - 1928-1929
  • Tuttle, W.W.
  • U-V - 1932-1947
  • University Library
  • Unknown Correspondents
  • W (3 folders) - 1928-1951
  • WAC Physical Fitness Tests
  • Wellesley Symposium - 1952
  • Wellman, Beth
  • Womens Gymnasium Equipment Budget - 1950-1952
  • X-Z - 1932-1936
  • Zuill, Frances - 1929-1935
  • Sub-Series: M. Gladys Scott
  • Box 13:
  • A
  • Academic Affairs
  • Box 14:
  • Aldrich and Aldrich
  • American Association of University Women
  • American Medical Association
  • Appleton-Century-Crofts
  • Archery
  • Audiovisual
  • B
  • Basic Science
  • Basketball
  • Beckman Instruments
  • Big Ten Lady's Physical Education Directors
  • Bowling
  • Box 15:
  • Budget
  • Business Office
  • C
  • Camping
  • Canoeing
  • College of Liberal Arts: Plans and Programs - 1965
  • Congressional Record Digest on Education
  • Cooperative Research Program
  • Costumes
  • Curriculum
  • D
  • The Daily Iowan
  • Dance: General (2 folders)
  • Dance: Fine Arts Festival
  • Dance: Midwestern Dance Symposium (2 folders) - 1962, 1967
  • Dormitories and Dining Service
  • E
  • Education, College of
  • Educational Placement Office
  • Educational Testing Service
  • Box 16:
  • Elementary School
  • Examination Service
  • Extension Division
  • F
  • Facilities
  • Fencing
  • Field House Additions
  • G
  • General (5 folders) - 1955-1956
  • Box 17:
  • General (5 folders) - 1956-1957
  • Girls Recreation Association
  • GRA Play day Report - 1968
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • H
  • Box 18:
  • Halsey, Elizabeth
  • Hockey (Field)
  • I
  • Instructional Development Programs - 1974
  • Interscholastic Athletics
  • Intramurals - 1955
  • Iowa Council of Physical Fitness (2 folders)
  • Iowa State Industries
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • Laundry Project
  • Liberal Arts Dean (2 folders)
  • M
  • Media Sources
  • Mens Physical Education Department
  • Box 19:
  • Minority Students - 1970
  • Moore Company
  • Mother's Day Arrangements
  • Movement Principles
  • N
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Education Association
  • National Institute on Girls' Sport, US Olympic Development Committee
  • National Womens Aquatic Forum
  • Nursing, College of
  • O
  • Office Organization and Work Assignments
  • Officiating Speech
  • P
  • PE Majors Scholarships
  • PhDs Granted - 1968
  • Peace Corps
  • Peer Review
  • Personnel Service
  • Physical Plant
  • President, University of Iowa
  • Provost
  • Publications, Scott
  • Publication Book Orders (2 folders)
  • Box 20:
  • R
  • Recommendations
  • Recreation
  • Recruitment Committee (Departmental)
  • Recruitment Study
  • Regional Study on Professionals in Physical Education, Health Education and Recreation
  • Registrar
  • Relaxation (Course)
  • Research Methods Textbook - 1949
  • Research Monograph - 1947-1978
  • Research Quarterly, Advisory Committee
  • Riding (Horseback)
  • S
  • Sailing
  • Saydel Consolidated School District, Evaluation
  • Scholarship Inquiries
  • Seals Club
  • Space Assignment
  • Sports Medicine, College of
  • Steinhaus, Arthur
  • Student Affairs
  • Swedish Gymnastics - 1949
  • Box 21:
  • Swimming
  • T
  • Tennis
  • Tests, Measurements (2 folders)
  • Box 22:
  • Theater
  • Tri-State Research Conference
  • U-V
  • Volleyball
  • W
  • Winsberg Tests
  • Work Study Program
  • Sub-Series: M. Gladys Scott and Margaret Fox [Fox papers were removed and placed in the Margaret Fox Collection]
  • Box 22:
  • A
  • Awards and Recognition
  • Box 23:
  • B (2 folders)
  • C (2 folders)
  • D
  • Departmental Executive Officers
  • E
  • Education, College of
  • Educational Policy Committee
  • Educational Development and Research
  • Extension Division
  • F
  • Facilities Planning and Utilization
  • Box 24:
  • Ford, Phyllis
  • G
  • Gift Letters
  • H (2 folders)
  • J
  • Intercollegiate
  • L (2 folders)
  • M (2 folders)
  • Box 25:
  • N
  • National Association for Physical Education of College Women Honorary Membership - 1975
  • Nesbitt, John
  • O
  • P
  • R
  • S (2 folders)
  • State Girls Recreation Association
  • "T"
  • Box 26:
  • "U"
  • "V"
  • "W"
  • "Y-Z"
  • Sub-Series: N. Peggy Burke
  • Box 26:
  • Halsey, Elizabeth - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Yvonne (Bonnie) Slatton
  • Box 26:
  • National Association for Girls and Women in Sport Award - 1988
  • Physical Education Requirement - 1993
  • United States Olympic Committee
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics - 1984, 1995
  • Series 3: INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS
  • Sub-Series: Administrative Records
  • Box 26:
  • Office Administration (2 folders) - 1969-1975
  • Restructuring - 1973
  • Amana Refrigeration Donation - 1981
  • Sports Administration: Calendars and Schedules - 1970-1983
  • Sports Administration: Handbook for Intercollegiate Sports for Women - 1973-1974
  • Sports Administration: Team Budgets - 1971-1972
  • Sports Administration: Uniform and Equipment Inventory - 1973
  • Amateur Athletic Union - 1953
  • Sub-Series: Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW)
  • Box 26:
  • Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics for Women- Constitutional Committee Minutes - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1971-1973
  • Correspondence - 1981-1982
  • Directory of Charter Member Institutions - 1971-1972
  • Handbooks - 1978-1980
  • Iowa Chapter Constitution Proposal - 1974, 1977
  • Manuals: Tennis - 1981
  • Manuals: Student Leadership
  • Manuals: Public Relations
  • Newsletters - 1972-1973
  • Preliminary Operating Code - 1971
  • Speeches
  • Sub-Series: Board in Control of Athletics (BICOA)
  • Box 27:
  • Handbook - 1977
  • Meeting Minutes - 1985-1986
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 27:
  • Budget Summaries - 1981-1983
  • Travel and Recruiting - 1981-1982
  • Field Hockey Media Guides - 1992-1994
  • Men's Athletics - 1981
  • Printing Services - 1978-1983
  • Rowing Championship - 1997
  • Staff Meetings
  • Sub-Series: NCAA
  • Box 27:
  • Championship Handbooks - 1981-1986
  • Tournament Bids - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: Promotions
  • Box 27:
  • Amana VIP Events: Celebrity Softball Game - 1980-1985
  • Amana VIP Events: Professional and Celebrity Golf Tournament - 1981-1984
  • Correspondence - 1983-1987
  • Box 28:
  • Gold Card - 1982-1986
  • Women's American Basketball Association - 1984
  • Women's Basketball Attendance Record - 1985, 1986
  • Sub-Series: Sports Information Director (SID)
  • Box 28:
  • Big 10: Award Nominations - 1983-1986
  • Big 10: Basketball - 1982-1986
  • Big 10: Coaches Meetings - 1983-1986
  • Big 10: Correspondence - 1981-1987
  • Big 10: Media Contacts - 1982-1986
  • Big 10: Report Forms: Fall Sports - 1983, 1985
  • Big 10: Report Forms: Spring Sports - 1984-1986
  • Big 10: Schedules - 1984-1988
  • Big 10: SID Meeting - 1983, 1986
  • NCAA: Correspondence - 1981-1986
  • NCAA: Publication Blueprint
  • NCAA: Public Relations Manual - 1981
  • NCAA: Records and Statistics - 1974-1984
  • University News Service (UNS) and Office of Public Information (OPI): Activity Reports: Broadcast News Service - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Activity Reports: Health News Service - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Activity Reports: Humanities and Science - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Correspondence
  • Box 29:
  • UNS and OPI: Iowa Weekly Newspaper Survey - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Media Relations
  • UNS and OPI: Meeting Agendas and Notes - 1986-1987
  • UNS and OPI: Monthly Release Summary Reports - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Newsline - 1985-1986
  • UNS and OPI: OPI Photo Unit Weekly Report - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Weekly OPI Report - 1986
  • UNS and OPI: Winter Sports - 1983-1986
  • Correspondence: Christine Grant - 1983-1985
  • Box 30:
  • Correspondence: External (2 folders) - 1983-1987
  • Correspondence: Internal - 1981-1987
  • General: Intercollegiate Conference Minutes - 1985-1987
  • General: Student Athlete Forms
  • General: World Class Women - 1985
  • General: Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Committee (WIAC): Guidelines - 1969
  • General: Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Committee (WIAC): Minutes - 1968-1972
  • General: Women's Intercollegiate Sports Committee (WISC) - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: Intramurals
  • Box 30:
  • Big Ten Women's Intramural Conferences (4 folders) - 1964-1970
  • Big Ten Intramural Conference-Women's Meetings - 1971
  • Joint Meeting of Men's and Women's Big Ten Directors and Supervisors - 1970
  • Big Ten Intramural Programs for Women - 1968
  • Box 31:
  • Intramural and Recreation Handbooks, Other Schools (3 folders) - 1963-1971
  • National Intramural Sports Council Newsletter - 1968
  • Surveys on Big Ten women's Sports Programs - 1964, 1972
  • UI Intramural and Recreation Handbooks - 1967-1968, 1970-1972
  • Series 4: IOWA CITY FIELD HOCKEY CLUB
  • Box 31:
  • Annual Files (12 folders) - 1948-1966
  • Box 32:
  • Annual Files (5 folders) - 1966-1965
  • Financial Records: Bills and Receipts (2 folders) - 1956-1963
  • Financial Reports and Ledgers - 1950-1964
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Conference and Game Film Order Form - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Correspondence - 1961-1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Fundraising - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Iowa City Activities and Score Sheet - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Procedures and General Information on Tour - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Publicity - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Reports, Programs, Schedules - 1963
  • International Field Hockey Conference and Tours: Travel Schedule for Argentina - 1963
  • Membership Lists - 1953-1964
  • Midwest Field Hockey Association (MWFHA) Schedule
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Correspondence from Invited Teams - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Credential Badges - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Drawing Plan for Hockey Goal - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Housing Arrangements - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Information for Players and Officials - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Invitation Letter to Area Schools - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: MWFHA: Correspondence and Minutes - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: MWFHA: Tournament Regulations - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Newspaper Clippings      - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Planning and Organization - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City: Program, Rosters, Score Sheets - 1956
  • Midwest Tournament, Iowa City - 1962
  • Midwest Tournament, St. Louis - 1961
  • Box 33:
  • USFHA: Constitution and By-laws
  • USFHA: Pamphlet - 1922-1956
  • USFHA: Proposed Umpire - 1937
  • USFHA: Rules Memo - 1974
  • Welsh Field Hockey Tour - 1936
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 5: P.E. MAJOR COUNCIL
  • Box 33:
  • Annual Reports - 1961-1972
  • Banquet - 1951-1957, 1973
  • Big Sister-Little Sister Programs - 1955, 1971
  • Children's Classes - 1962-1963
  • Clinics: Cheerleading - 1957, 1962, 1970
  • Clinics: Swimming - 1947-1948
  • Clothing Catalogs - 1961-1971
  • Constitutions - 1941-1970
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1944-1971
  • Box 34:
  • Financial Records - 1945-1971
  • Account books (2 folders) - 1945-1963
  • Invoices and Bank Statements (5 folders) - 1964-1971
  • Financial Records: Reports - 1956-1970
  • Handbooks - 1958-1975
  • Library - 1959-1963
  • "Major Matters" (Newsletter) - 1961-1971
  • Box 35:
  • Minutes (4 folders) - 1942-1975
  • Open Houses (recruitment) - 1944-1948
  • Overnight - 1952-1962, 1969, 1971
  • P.E. Majors (P.E.M.) Alumnae Association: General - 1939-1949
  • P.E. Majors (P.E.M.) Alumnae Association: Constitution and By-laws
  • P.E. Majors (P.E.M.) Alumnae Association: Newsletters (2 folders) - 1939-1951
  • Play night reports - 1959-1961
  • Scholarships
  • Social activities - 1961-1974
  • Stencil
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 6: PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
  • Sub-Series: American Association of College for Teacher Education (AACTE)
  • Box 36:
  • AACTE general - 1950
  • Sub-Series: American Association for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (AAHPER)
  • Box 36:
  • Annual Convention: Programs
  • Annual Convention: Session Presentations (2 folders) - 1947, 1950
  • Board of Directors - 1953
  • Central District Association (CDAHPER): Constitution and By-Laws - 1947
  • CDAHPER: Correspondence - 1944-1948
  • CDAHPER: Council Meetings - 1943-1948
  • CDAHPER: Executive Committee - 1943-1946
  • CDAHPER: Financial Records - 1942-1946
  • College Committee on Physical Education and Athletics for Men - 1946
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1944
  • Iowa Chapter: (IAHPER): Correspondence (2 folders) - 1961-1967
  • IAHPER Newsletters - 1947-1967
  • Major Council Membership Certificate - 1961
  • Membership Lists - 1944-1948
  • Box 37:
  • National Association for Girls and Women's Sports (NAGWS): Affiliated Boards of Officials - 1976-1977
  • NAGWS: Alliance Assembly - 1978
  • NAGWS: Athletic Training Council - 1976, 1977
  • NAGWS: Board of Directors: Correspondence - 1975-1978
  • NAGWS: Comment on Title IX regulations (excerpt), undated
  • NAGWS: Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1975-1976
  • NAGWS: Directory - 1975-1976
  • NAGWS: Division for Girls and Women's Sports, Iowa chapter (IDGWS) - 1969-1970, 1974
  • NAGWS: "Media and the Woman in Sport" Working Conference - 1977
  • NAGWS: National Coaches Council - 1976
  • NAGWS: Newsletters - 1974-1976
  • NAGWS: Project proposal: "Leadership Education for Women in Athletic Administration through the Development, Dissemination and Implementation of a Model Program and Symposia on Athletic Administration" - 1976
  • NAGWS: Research and General Profile of Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Program Health and Safety Services Survey, undated
  • NAGWS: "Remedial and Affirmative Actions" research notes - 1977
  • NAGWS: Position papers - 1975, 1976
  • NAGWS: Sports Library publications - 1975-1976, 1978-1979
  • National Girls Athletic Association (NGAA) - 1964
  • Box 38:
  • National Section for Girls' and Women's Sport (NSGWS): National Basketball Rules Committee: Rules Interpretations (9 folders) - 1953-1960
  • Nominating Committee - 1954
  • Box 39:
  • Research Council: Completed Research in HPER Committee - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Elementary School Health Research - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Executive - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Research Laboratory Program - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Research Quarterly: Advisory Committee - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Research Quarterly: Committee - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Research Quarterly: Editorial Board - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Sport Skills Tests - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Strength Development Research Review - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Fall Sports Research (football and soccer) - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Membership Committee - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Resource Committee - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: "What Research Tells the Coach about Baseball" - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: "What Research Tells Us about the Ideal Physical Education Program" - 1959-1960
  • Research Council: Youth Fitness Test Norms - 1959-1960
  • Box 40:
  • Research Section: Correspondence (7 folders) - 1946-1950
  • Research Section: Miscellaneous
  • Research Section: Publications Catalog - 1965-1978
  • Sub-Series: American Association of University Professors (AAUP)
  • Box 41:
  • Correspondence - 1935-1948
  • Correspondence: Membership Issues - 1935-1947
  • Iowa Chapter: Committee Appointments - 1947
  • Iowa Chapter: Iowa Conference - 1931-1947
  • Iowa Chapter: Lectures Announcements - 1946-1947
  • Iowa Chapter: Meeting Notices - 1928-1940
  • Iowa Chapter: Membership Lists - 1927-1947
  • Iowa Chapter: Minutes - 1920-1948
  • Iowa Chapter: Treasurer's Reports - 1935-1947
  • Iowa Chapter: University Constitution and codes - 1900, 1910, 1916
  • Iowa Chapter: Miscellaneous
  • Box 42:
  • Issues: Faculty Participation in University Government - 1944-1946
  • Issues: Salary and Retirement - 1924-1945
  • Issues: Universal Military training - 1944
  • Issues: Post-war education Program - 1944
  • National: Charter Letters - 1936-1948  
  • National: Reports and Minutes
  • National: Membership Campaigns - 1927-1947
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Sub-Series: Association for Higher Education
  • Box 42:
  • Association for Higher Education - 1954
  • Sub-Series: Athletic and Recreation Federation of College Women (ARFCW)
  • Box 42:
  • Administrative - 1960, 1962-1965
  • Annual Conferences - 1957, 1959, 1961, 1967
  • Constitution - 1957
  • Correspondence - 1945-1946
  • Iowa Chapter (IARFCW): Annual Files - 1957, 1961, 1963, 1965-1971
  • IARFCW: Constitutions - 1963, 1967
  • IARFCW: State Sportsdays - 1966-1970
  • National Joint Committee on Extramural Sports for College Women - 1959-1960
  • North Central Region Chapter (of ARFCW): (NCARFCW): Constitutions - 1962, 1964, 1966, 1968
  • NCARFCW: Meetings and Conferences - 1960, 1966, 1968, 1970
  • NCARFCW: Parliamentary Procedures
  • NCARFCW: "Spotlight" (Newsletter) - 1962
  • Sub-Series: Central Association for Physical Education in Higher Education (CAPEHE)
  • Box 43:
  • By-laws and Operating Codes - 1973-1990
  • Committees: By-laws - 1964-1990
  • Committees: Various - 1965-1984
  • Committees: Handbooks (2 folders) - 1988, 1989
  • Officers' Operating Codes - 1973-1984
  • Sub-Series: Other organizations
  • Box 43:
  • Central District Physical Education Association, convention - 1934
  • International Seminar on Biomechanics - 1973
  • Iowa Physical Education Association - 1941, 1946
  • Midwest Association of College Teachers of Physical Education: "Mid-Century Inventory and Realignment" - 1951
  • Box 53:
  • The National Section on Women's Athletics (NSWA) - 1948
  • Women As Leaders Conference (3 folders) - 1981-1990
  • Young Women's Christian Association - 1950
  • Sub-Series: National Association of Directors and Teachers of Physical Education for College Women (NADTPECW)
  • Box 43:
  • National Committee on Evaluation of Teacher Training Institutions - 1934
  • "Questionnaire on Competition" - 1944
  • Mailing List - 1944
  • Association Members: Central (2 folders) - 1944
  • Association Members: Eastern
  • Box 44:
  • Association Members: Eastern
  • Association Members: Midwest (2 folders)
  • Association Members: Southern
  • Association Members: Western
  • Non-Members: Central
  • Box 45:
  • Non-Members: Eastern
  • Non-Members: Midwest
  • Non-Members: Southern
  • Non-Members: Western
  • Sub-Series: National Association for Physical Education of College Women (NAPECW)
  • Box 45:
  • Articles of Incorporation - 1969
  • Biennial Business Meeting - 1951
  • Biennial Conference - 1958
  • Central Association (of NAPECW): (CAPECW): Annual Reports - 1950-1961
  • CAPECW: Application Form
  • CAPECW: Board of Directors Minutes - 1952-1972
  • CAPECW: Committee Reports: Nominations - 1952-1971
  • CAPECW: Committee Reports: Legislative - 1953, 1955
  • Box 46:
  • CAPECW: Committee Reports: Various - 1969-1971
  • CAPECW: Conferences (2 folders) - 1947-1969
  • CAPECW: Constitution and By-laws - 1952-1969
  • CAPECW: Correspondence (4 folders) - 1951-1974
  • Box 47:
  • CAPECW: Incorporation Documents - 1969
  • CAPECW: Membership: Elizabeth Halsey - 1936-1949
  • CAPECW: Membership Lists (3 folders) - 1952-1971
  • CAPECW: Membership Applications: Central (2 folders) - 1948-1949
  • CAPECW: Membership Applications: National - 1948-1949
  • Box 48:
  • CAPECW: Membership Cards: Central (4 folders) - 1948-1956
  • CAPECW: Membership Cards: National and Central (5 folders) - 1952-1957
  • Box 49:
  • CAPECW: Newsletters (2 folders) - 1956-1970
  • Box 50:
  • CAPECW: Operating Codes for Board Members - 1958-1973
  • CAPECW: Questionnaires
  • CAPECW: Treasurer's Records - 1951-1971
  • CAPECW: Committee on Research and Studies - 1954-1955
  • Eastern Association (of NAPECW): Conferences (4 folders) - 1954-1967
  • Eastern Association (of NAPECW): Newsletters (2 folders) - 1956-1969
  • Box 51:
  • Midwest Association (of NAPECW): Conferences (2 folders) - 1954-1967
  • Midwest Association (of NAPECW): Constitution - 1967
  • Midwest Association (of NAPECW): Newsletters (3 folders) - 1955-1968
  • Box 52:
  • Newsletters - 1951-1969
  • Questionnaire on Grading Practices
  • Report on Democratic Practices - 1949
  • Social Changes and Sports - 1956
  • Southern Association (of NAPECW): Conferences - 1954-1968
  • Southern Association (of NAPECW): Newsletters (4 folders) - 1954-1968
  • Box 53:
  • Western Society (of NAPECW): Conferences - 1957-1967
  • Western Society (of NAPECW): Newsletters - 1959-1963
  • Workshop - 1974
  • Workshop Report - 1956
  • Series 7: WORLD WAR II
  • Box 53:
  • "Outline of Physical Fitness Program for High Schools and Colleges"
  • Physical Fitness Club
  • "Physical Training Program for Naval Aviation Pre-Flight Schools"
  • "Suggested Wartime Curriculum Adjustments in Physical Education for College Women"
  • United Service Organizations - 1941-1942
  • Wartime Recreation Programs - 1941-1942
  • Series 8: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
  • Sub-Series: Affirmative Action
  • Box 54:
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1970-1978
  • General - 1969-1973
  • Status Reports
  • University Program - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Budget
  • Box 54:
  • Accounts: Journal - 1941-1945
  • Accounts: Ledger - 1941-1945
  • Budget Committee Minutes - 1963-1965
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1941-1974
  • Equipment Inventory - 1970-1971
  • Box 55:
  • Equipment Requests - 1954-1961
  • Insurance - 1969
  • Preparation of Annual Budgets
  • Proposed Budgets - 1941-1959
  • Receipts: Department of Drug Service - 1938-1939
  • Receipts: Merchandise - 1938-1940
  • Receipts: Merchandise Deliveries - 1937-1939
  • Receipts: Money Received - 1937-1939
  • Receipts: Physical Plant Job Orders - 1938-1939
  • Receipts: Purchase Orders - 1938
  • Receipts: Requests for Transfer of Funds - 1954-1957
  • Box 56:
  • Receipts: Salaries and General Expense (2 folders) - 1960-1974
  • Receipts: Travel Expenditures - 1953-1980
  • Receipts: Travel Vouchers - 1945-1974
  • Sub-Series: Committees and Meetings
  • Box 56:
  • Basic Skills - 1945-1975
  • Curricula and Instruction: Correspondence - 1944-1952
  • Curricula and Instruction: Minutes - 1945-1950
  • Curricula and Instruction: Reports - 1944-1949
  • Curriculum - 1955-1967
  • Departmental Executive Officers (2 folders) - 1953-1971
  • Educational Policy: Correspondence - 1950-1952
  • Educational Policy: Minutes - 1950-1960
  • Box 57:
  • Executive Committee - 1946-1960
  • Faculty Council - 1949-1960
  • Graduate Council - 1950-1953
  • Graduate College Faculty: General - 1950-1953
  • Graduate College Faculty: Manual of Rules and Regulations - 1950-1953
  • Graduate College Faculty: Meeting Minutes - 1951-1960
  • Liberal Arts - 1944-1960
  • Miscellaneous - 1949-1960
  • Sub-Series: Basic Skills Curriculum
  • Box 57:
  • Content and Objectives - 1945-1960
  • Demonstration of Physical Education Activities - 1927-1934
  • Equipment Inventory and Requests - 1953-1954, 1974
  • Exemption Procedures, Results and Correspondence - 1945-1969
  • Box 58:
  • Freshman Conference Lectures - 1937-1954
  • General Education Requirements
  • Gymnasium Clothing - 1930, 1964
  • Motor Ability Test and Medical Restrictions - 1958-1959
  • Needs and Preferences - 1952-1953
  • Play Day and Women in Movement Exhibit - 1958-1969, 1974
  • Registration: General Procedures - 1951-1974
  • Registration: Physical Exam - 1938-1942
  • Registration: Testing Schedules - 1950-1960
  • Regulations - 1940-1954
  • Reports - 1945-1949
  • Schedule Cards
  • Archery - 1964-1978
  • Badminton - 1976
  • Ballet - 1971-1972
  • Basketball
  • Body Mechanics, Posture, and Relaxation - 1963
  • Bowling: Beginning - 1961-1969
  • Bowling: Instructor's Manual
  • Bowling: Intermediate - 1962, 1976
  • Canoeing - 1959-1961
  • Fencing
  • Field Hockey - 1971
  • Figure Control - 1974-1975
  • Golf: Beginning - 1959-1970
  • Golf: Exams - 1962
  • Golf: Grading Statistics - 1962
  • Gymnastics, Danish and Bertram - 1943-1949
  • Horseback Riding - 1941-1959
  • Miscellaneous - 1952-1959, 1974-1975
  • Modern Dance - 1963-1965
  • Box 59:
  • Movement Principles
  • Rhythmic Gymnastics I - 1972-1974
  • Rhythmic Gymnastics II - 1973-1974
  • Skating
  • Skiing: Course Content - 1972-1975
  • Skiing: Films - 1974
  • Skiing: Techniques - 1974
  • Swimming - 1944-1978
  • Swimming Evaluations
  • Synchronized Swimming - 1969
  • Table Tennis - 1942
  • Techniques - 1943-1946
  • Tennis - 1938, 1941, 1971
  • Track and Field
  • Woodworking
  • Surveys: Participation in Basic Skills
  • Surveys: Classes and Summary of Responses - 1945-1946
  • Surveys: Various Institutions and their Responses - 1958
  • Surveys: Interests and Questionnaire Summary
  • Surveys: Interests and Questionnaire Summary - 1958-1959
  • Surveys: Attitudes and Participation - 1968-1973
  • Testing: Information - 1945-1951
  • Testing: Entrance, Written and Physical Tests, Measurements - 1951-1952
  • Sub-Series: Curriculum General
  • Box 60:
  • Course Outlines and Objectives (7 folders) - 1947-1978
  • Course Schedules (4 folders) - 1921-1976
  • Departmental Curriculum Study: Evaluations by Majors (2 folders) - 1948- 1949
  • Departmental Curriculum Study: Evaluations by Graduates
  • Departmental Curriculum Study: Final Report - 1950
  • Box 61:
  • Entrance Examinations: American College Testing Program (ACT)
  • Entrance Examinations: Graduate Record Examination Program (GRE)
  • Entrance Examinations: Performance Predictions
  • Entrance Examinations: Test of English as a Foreign Language(TOEFL)
  • Enrollment: PE Courses - 1916-1925
  • Enrollment: PE Major Programs - 1951-1960
  • Enrollment: University of Iowa - 1940-1952
  • Facilities - 1940-1945
  • Grade Distributions (4 folders) - 1948-1975
  • Sub-Series: Graduate Program Curriculum
  • Box 61:
  • Academic Dismissal
  • Advanced Administration - 1951
  • Bloc Allocation Requests - 1968-1974
  • Catalog Copy
  • Comedy Skit - 1955
  • Box 62:
  • Comprehensive Examinations: PhD (2 folders) - 1956-1973
  • Comprehensive Examinations: Masters (3 folders) - 1956-1974
  • Computers - 1971-1972
  • Correspondence - 1967-1982
  • Courses Offered - 1969, 1974, 1982
  • Exams- Areas of Specialization - 1974
  • Graduate Committee: Admission Procedures and Criteria
  • Graduate Committee: Correspondence - 1961-1980
  • Graduate Committee: Minutes - 1944-1980
  • Graduate Committee: Proposals and Reports (2 folders) - 1937-1969
  • Box 63:
  • Graduate Handbook - 1972
  • GRE - 1975
  • Health Education Programs in Schools
  • Required Courses - 1960-1978
  • Requirements - 1938-1981
  • Research Projects - 1978-1982
  • Seminars - 1954
  • Student Appointments and Competencies - 1951-1972
  • Suggested Organization and Procedures for the Evaluation of Institutions
  • Supply and Demand for PhDs - 1975
  • Box 64:
  • Survey of Doctoral Programs in Physical Education
  • Test of Statistical Comprehension - 1968
  • Theses and Procedures
  • Sub-Series: Major Curriculum Study
  • Box 64:
  • Course Evaluations: Class Totals (3 folders) - 1948
  • Box 65:
  • Course Evaluations: Class Totals (3 folders) - 1949
  • Course Evaluations: Questionnaires (4 folders) - 1948-1949
  • Course Evaluations: Recommendations - 1948-1949
  • Final Report - 1950
  • General - 1948-1953
  • Sub-Series: Major Courses Curriculum
  • Box 66:
  • Administration of Physical Exams and Tests (2 folders) - 1930-1939
  • Articles on: Exercise Science
  • Articles on: Physical Activity - 1960-1967
  • Bibliographies - 1940-1973
  • Catalog
  • Coaching
  • Content and Objectives - 1943, 1974
  • Dance: Articles Against Housing Dance in
  • the PE Department - 1971, 1973
  • Dance: Correspondence - 1982-1984
  • Dance: Faculty Minutes - 1942-1984
  • Dance: Post-audit Review - 1983
  • Dance: Requirements and Recommendations - 1965-1974
  • Design and Maintenance of Facilities - 1970
  • Golf - 1977-1978
  • Health Program Curriculum
  • History and Principles of Physical Education - 1953
  • Methods of Physical Education - 1940-1975
  • Plans of Study - 1946-1960
  • Professional Women
  • Recreation Leadership: Therapeutic Recreation - 1950-1967
  • Students: Evaluations
  • Students: Names and Addresses - 1938-1958
  • Box 67:
  • Students: Student Teaching (2 folders)
  • Supply and Demand of Teachers
  • Surveys
  • Teaching of Dance: Modern, Folk, and Square Dancing - 1964, 1978
  • Teaching of Team Sports - 1961, 1969
  • Working Guides in Physical Education
  • Workshop for College Teachers of Physical Education - 1947
  • Sub-Series: Curriculum Requirements
  • Box 67:
  • Certifications, and Endorsements - 1954-1972
  • Department of Physical Education for Men: Graduate Program - 1974
  • Department of Physical Education for Men: Men's Department - 1945-1972
  • Extramural Activities - 1952-1955
  • Majors - 1952-1972
  • Minors - 1958-1965
  • Non-Departmental Courses
  • Sub-Series: Departmental Analysis
  • Box 67:
  • American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education: Evaluation Schedules in Physical Education - 1953
  • American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education: General - 1953-1954
  • American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education: Reports - 1949, 1953
  • American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education: Summaries and Staff Evaluations - 1953
  • Analysis of Program Recommendations - 1952-1968
  • Box 68:
  • Annual Report - 1962-1972
  • Basic Data - 1971-1972
  • Biennial Analyses of Needs and Departmental Reviews - 1971
  • Correspondence - 1951-1967
  • Facilities: General - 1961-1972
  • Facilities: Intercollegiate Athletics - 1973
  • Facilities: Requests - 1961-1972
  • Faculty: Comparison of Status Between Men and Women - 1955, 1972
  • Faculty: Institutional Comparisons - 1955-1957
  • Faculty: Job Analysis- Graduates - 1925-1932
  • Faculty: Salaries- Historical - 1945-1954
  • Faculty: Work Load - 1950
  • Major Council Evaluation [student evaluation of department] - 1948
  • Overview for the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education - 1963-1966
  • Policies
  • Program Planning - 1972
  • Questionnaire Summaries - 1945-1958
  • Reports: General - 1949-1969
  • Reports: Personal Expenditures - 1970-1971
  • Reports: Review Committee - 1974
  • Reports: Status - 1962, 1973
  • Skills Exemption - 1953
  • Summary of Departmental Priorities for Future Budgeting - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Faculty and Staff: General
  • Box 69:
  • Calendars - 1972-1974
  • Departmental Evaluation
  • Evaluations
  • Correspondence - 1941-1975
  • Forms and Reports - 1948-1952, 1960
  • General - 1940-1974
  • Handbook - 1952, 1972-1973
  • Job Applicants - 1971
  • Matron and Janitor Duties - 1945-1946
  • Meeting Minutes (3 folders) - 1939-1978
  • Motor Learning Research Grant Proposal - 1955
  • Personnel Data - 1940-1973
  • Sub-Series: Faculty and Staff: Research
  • Box 70:
  • "Army Boots and Grandma's Wash Day - A Story of Physical Education Research," SUI Staff Magazine - 1959
  • Frost, Lorraine - 1931
  • Halsey, Elizabeth, "The Status of the Physical Education Requirement for College Women" - 1952
  • Jean Homewood: Advanced Administration - 1952
  • Jean Homewood: Audiovisual Workbook
  • Jean Homewood: Dissertation - 1955
  • Jean Homewood: Certificates - 1938-1958
  • Jean Homewood: Girls Basketball Rules - 1954-1956
  • Jean Homewood: Tests and Measurements
  • Jean Homewood: Tests and Measurements Laboratory Manual - 1941
  • Jean Homewood: Thesis - 1935
  • Lyons, Marion, "Physical Education for Women" - 1919
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Achievement Examinations for Swimming Classes
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Achievement Examinations for Tennis Classes
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Analysis and Evaluation of Gait Films
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "An Interpretation of the Status of Research in Physical Education for Girls and Women in the United States in 1949" - 1949
  • Box 71:
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Data and Calculations - 1959
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Data Sheets for Statistical Analysis
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: "Effect of Fatigue on Certain Measures of Hand Function and Kinesthetics"
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: "The Effect of Reduced Circulation Upon Selected Measures of Hand Function"
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: "Effects of Relaxation Training on Hand Function"
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Flexibility Raw Scores
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Hand Function
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Interpretation of Hand Measurements
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Kinesthesis Correspondence
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Kinesthesis Testing
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: "The Relation of Kinesthesis to Certain Aspects of Hand Function"
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: "The Relationships of Hand Size and Fatigue to Selected Aspect of Hand Function"
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Army Study: Relaxation Training
  • Box 72:
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Basketball Film (2 folders)
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Bibliographies
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Body Mechanic Guidelines
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Correlation of Posture and Motor Ability
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Analysis: Calculations - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Analysis: Correlations - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Analysis: Doolittle Method - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Analysis: F Ratios - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Analysis: T-scores - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Data Sheets - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Low and High Efficiency Subjects - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Progress Report - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: "Fatigue Effects Induced by an Efficiency Test for College Women": Score Sheets - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Fear Reaction - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Flexibility and Anthropometric Measures - 1949
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Iowa Test of Motor Fitness: Data - 1961
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Iowa Test of Motor Fitness: Testing Guidelines
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Kinesthesis
  • Box 73:
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Modified Burpee Test
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Motor and Strength Tests
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Motor Ability and Skills Classes (2 folders)
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Photographs
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Publications
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Push and Pull Dynamometer Test - 1945
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Push and Pull Strength Data - 1941
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Research Equipment
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Strength Index Norms
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Survey of Vocational and Professional Plans and Interests of High School Girls and College Women
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Unidentified Data
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Unidentified Notes
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Voltmeter and Calorie Charts
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Schedules - 1951-1955
  • Scott, M. Gladys: Statements of Load Reports
  • Retirement parties - 2004-2006
  • Sub-Series: Recreation
  • Box 73:
  • Budget - 1970-1974
  • Liberal Arts Ladies Party Committee
  • Box 74:
  • MacBride Field Campus Advisory Committee (3 folders) - 1960-1966
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Correspondence - 1964-1974
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Minutes - 1964-1973
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Miscellaneous - 1967-1972
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Recommendations and Reports - 1968-1969
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Sub-committees - 1968-1974
  • Recreating Advisory Committee: Surveys and Questionnaires - 1968-1969
  • Recreation Education Program Advisory Committee - 1975
  • Sports Building and Fieldhouse Committee - 1967-1968
  • Swimming Pool Committee - 1967-1968
  • Women's Recreation Committee - 1965, 1972
  • Correspondence - 1968-1973
  • Box 75:
  • General - 1968-1973
  • Grant Proposal Operation Outlet - 1973
  • Intramurals - 1966-1974
  • Men's Recreation - 1964-1965
  • Proposed Ski Area - 1968
  • Purposes and Goals - 1973
  • Report of Recreation Survey - 1951
  • Surveys
  • Scheduling - 1968-1974
  • War Service Programs
  • What's Your Thing?
  • Sub-Series: Students: Alumni
  • Box 76:
  • Alumnae Job Analysis (2 folders) - 1949
  • Birth Rates and Marital Status - 1950
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1961-1988
  • Data on Graduates (2 folders) - 1931-1935
  • Data on Graduates - 1978
  • Data on Graduates, Undated
  • Physical Education Appointments - 1924-1934
  • Physical Education Appointments - 1936-1940
  • Physical Education Appointments - 1973-1976
  • Box 77:
  • Fifty Year Reunion - 1982
  • Roots and Wings Reunion - 1984
  • 100 Years on the Move Reunion - 2004
  • DVD: 100 Years on the Move Reunion [located in AV collection]
  • Reunions: Alumnus Profiles (5 folders) - 1920-1989
  • Box 78:
  • Reunions: Alumnus Profiles (2 folders) - 1990-2004
  • Sub-Series: Research
  • Box 78:
  • Atwood, Janet, "Selected Measures of Back and Abdominal Muscle Fitness of Elementary School Children" - 1955
  • Bontz, Jean, "Measuring Fundamental Soccer Skills"
  • Cunningham Phyllis, "Proactive and Retroactive Inhibition and Facilitation" - 1964
  • Dillon, Evelyn, Improving Instruction Survey - 1949
  • Gross Motor Learning Papers - 1964
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Camp Brochures - 1945
  • Box 79:
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Boys Camps
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Boys Private Camps
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Girls Camps
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Not Used in Study
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Organizations (2 folders)
  • Marquart, Blanche, Camping Questionnaires: Public Camps
  • Box 80:
  • Payne, Anne, "Transfer of Training from One Activity to Another"
  • Rogers, Marion, "An Evaluation of College Physical Education Activities for Women to Determine their Educational Potentials" - 1949
  • Sterling, Virginia, "Planning for Visual Education" - 1950
  • Toogood, Ruth, "A Survey of Recreational Interests and Activities of College Women" - 1930
  • Specialization Questionnaire
  • Water Pageant
  • Sub-Series: Summer Sessions
  • Box 80:
  • Budget: Courses - 1963-1973
  • Budget: Faculty Notification of Appointment - 1954-1976
  • Budget: General - 1964-1972
  • Budget: Proposals - 1962-1975
  • Budget: Recapitulation of Faculty and Staff needs - 1965-1971
  • Budget: Salaries - 1939-1974
  • Budget: Workshop Allocations - 1966-1976
  • Catalog - 1929, 1937, 1974
  • Cheerleading Clinic - 1957, 1973
  • Colloquium - 1960-1968
  • Conference on Physical Education - 1955
  • Correspondence: Halsey, Elizabeth - 1951
  • Correspondence: Scott, M. Gladys (3 folders) - 1955-1969
  • Box 81:
  • Correspondence: Fox, Margaret - 1970-1976
  • Course Approval Listings - 1966-1976
  • Enrollment - 1951-1975
  • Evaluations - 1963-1976
  • Film Rentals - 1968
  • Miscellaneous - 1964-1975
  • National Golf Foundation Workshop - 1976
  • Room Assignments - 1962-1976
  • Schedule of Courses (4 folders) - 1954-1982
  • Students - 1967-1971
  • Trend Analysis (2 folders) - 1967, 1969
  • Sub-Series: Title IX
  • Box 82:
  • Burke, N. Peggy, AAHPERD National Convention Speech - 1982
  • AIAW - 1974-1975
  • Committee Reports- Intercollegiate Athletics - 1974-1975
  • Correspondence - 1972-1977
  • Correspondence: Separate Physical Education Departments - 1975-1976
  • Department of Health, Education and Welfare: Annual Operating Plan - 1977
  • Department of Health, Education and Welfare: NCAA Comments - 1974
  • Department of Health, Education and Welfare: Reports - 1973-1975
  • Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Department - 1974
  • Lawsuit- Ingrid Gallo v. University of Minnesota - 1975
  • Minutes on Intercollegiate Athletics - 1974
  • Miscellaneous
  • National Association for Physical Education of College Women - 1974
  • National Publications - 1976-1981
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1974-1975, 1984
  • Project on the Status and Education of Women - 1975, 1977
  • Self-Assessment Checklist
  • Series 9: FACILITIES
  • Box 82:
  • Arena/Recreation Campaign - 1979
  • Arena/Recreation Campaign: Committee Correspondence
  • Arena/Recreation Campaign: Committee Folder
  • Arena/Recreation Campaign: Photographs
  • Calvin Hall
  • New Women's Gymnasium at Iowa State College - 1945
  • Recreation Building Renovations
  • Schedules
  • Women's Gymnasium: Artwork
  • Women's Gymnasium: Building Plans
  • Women's Gymnasium: Lost and Found - 1944
  • Women's Gymnasium: Needs and Plans Report - 1944
  • Series 10: PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series: International Relations
  • Box 83:
  • Air Force - 1943-1949
  • American Red Cross - 1948
  • Department of State - 1949-1950
  • Education and National Defense - 1940-1955
  • Federal Security Agency, US Office of Education - 1941-1943
  • Great Britain: Physical Education Training Schools - 1951-1952
  • Great Britain: Miscellaneous
  • International Education Assembly - 1943-1945
  • National Education Association of the United States - 1941-1950
  • National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis
  • The Rockefeller Foundation - 1946-1947
  • United Nations - 1946-1950
  • Box 84:
  • War Department - 1944-1946
  • "You Must Be Fit: The Official Physical Training Program of the Women's Army Cops" - 1943
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Physical Education
  • Box 84:
  • Adult physical fitness
  • American and Mid-West Physical Education Associations - 1931
  • Box 85:
  • Buildings - 1946-1948
  • Children and youth - 1945
  • Journal of Physical Education - 1947-1948
  • National Survey of the Education of Teachers - 1933
  • Nationwide university newsletters - 1947-1984
  • Physical Education Curriculum in Professional Schools - 1929
  • Physical Education, Health and Recreation Digest - 1935-1937
  • "The Physical Education Student's Handbook," undated
  • Pioneer educators - 1937, 1941
  • Recreation Leaders Laboratory - 1952
  • Resources - 1925, 1939
  • Rural youth - 1941-1942
  • Sub-Series: Physical Education for Girls and Women
  • Box 85:
  • Alice Allene Sefton, The Women's Division National Amateur Athletic Federation: Sixteen Years of Progress in Athletics for Girls and Women, 1923-1939 [shelved with printed works] - 1941
  • Independent Woman - 1946
  • Junior High - 1932
  • National Amateur Athletic Federation - 1926-1941
  • Box 86:
  • Pi Lambda Theta Journal - 1945-1947
  • Professions for Women
  • Senior high - 1925-1948
  • Sports Bulletin - 1946-1948
  • Standards in sports for girls and women - 1937
  • University bulletins
  • Women Sports [shelved with serials] - 1974-1978
  • Sub-Series: Physical Education for Men
  • Box 86:
  • Physical Education for Men - 1933, 1946
  • Sub-Series: Personal Health
  • Box 86:
  • Figure Control
  • Grooming - 1947-1955
  • Health
  • The Life Cycle Library - 1968
  • Menstruation - 1943-1968
  • Muscular Efficiency - 1921
  • Box 87:
  • Posture (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Senior Citizens
  • Box 87:
  • Adding Life to Years (4 folders) - 1961-1968
  • Miscellaneous - 1946-1963
  • Sub-Series: Sports and Outdoor Recreation
  • Box 88:
  • Art projects - 1957
  • Basketball - 1929, 1947
  • Board games - 1936-1937
  • Bowling (2 folders) - 1939-1941
  • Cheerleading - 1969-1972
  • Dance (2 folders) - 1937-1951
  • Hockey Field - 1964-1965
  • Box 89:
  • Industrial recreation - 1941
  • Nature oriented activities
  • Leisure - 1938
  • Red Cross Life Saving Methods
  • Singing games and play - 1914-1931
  • Sportswoman [shelved with printed works] - 1927-1932
  • Softball: Women's Professional Softball - 1977
  • Softball: Softball Rules - 1950
  • Softball: Women in Softball (2 folders) - 1973-1978
  • Softball: Woman's Softball (2 folders) - 1979-1980
  • Box 90:
  • Swimming and Diving - 1935, 1940
  • Tennis - 1939
  • Woodwork
  • Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Sub-Series: Reunion
  • Box 91:
  • Alumni: 100 Years on the Move (7 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Athletics
  • Box 91:
  • Archery
  • Badminton
  • Basketball (3 folders) - 1906-1942
  • Box 92:
  • Bicycling
  • Bowling
  • Calisthenics
  • Camping Skills
  • Canoeing
  • Cheerleading
  • Dance (4 folders) - 1920-1948
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Handicraft Club
  • Horseback Riding
  • Rifle Club
  • Box 93:
  • Seals Club
  • Skiing
  • Social Dance
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis and Table Tennis
  • Volleyball - 1924-1946
  • Box 96:
  • Track and Field
  • Field Hockey
  • Sub-Series: General Photographs
  • Box 93:
  • Banquet - 1953
  • Buildings
  • Cartwheel and Forward Roll Sequence
  • Children's Classes - 1935-1941
  • Classrooms and Laboratories
  • Competency Tests [Oversize: shelf 117/8]
  • Faculty and Staff
  • Box 94:
  • Group Portraits
  • Halsey Hall
  • Picnics and Social Activities - 1936-1940
  • Portraits - 1920-1935
  • Students
  • Women as Leaders Conferences - 1980
  • WRA
  • Negatives
  • Sub-Series: Slide Shows and Scripts
  • Box 94:
  • Project Adventure (2 folders) - 1978
  • Box 95:
  • Women's Sports Foundation
  • Women's Sports and Activities - 1900, 1973-1979
  • Series 12: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 95:
  • Departmental Development - 1951-1988
  • Exercise and Health - 1921-1989
  • Box 96:
  • Faculty Achievements - 1956-1989
  • Faculty Obituaries - 1961, 1974
  • Intercollegiate Athletics: Fall Sports - 1974-1975
  • Intercollegiate Athletics: Spring Sports - 1974-1975
  • Intercollegiate Athletics: Winter Sports - 1973-1976
  • Student Achievements - 1950, 1962
  • Women in the News - 1984
  • Series 13: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 97:
  • Basketball Uniform
  • Bloomers with Tunic
  • Volleyball Champs - 1967
  • Series 14: FILMS
  • Sub-Series: Instructional
  • f1:
  • Observing Basketball Skills: Picture dupe and sound negative
  • Officiating Girls' and Women's Basketball: Magnetic, sound, narrative
  • Officiating Girls' and Women's Basketball: Sound negative, edited wkpt (workprint?)
  • Officiating Girls' and Women's Basketball: Original negative, AB rolls
  • Women's Basketball: A Practice in Officiating: "A" Roll and UA sound negative
  • Women's Basketball: A Practice in Officiating: Black and white picture dupe and sound negative
  • f2:
  • Women's Basketball: A Practice in Officiating: Four film loops and B roll
  • Women's Basketball: A Practice in Officiating: Magnetic sound
  • Women's Basketball: A Practice in Officiating: Edited workprint
  • f9:
  • Observing Basketball Skills: Parts I, II, III (3 reels)
  • Basketball Rules for Girls
  • Unlabeled reel; subject: basketball [see notes for Reel 15]
  • Sub-Series: Sporting events
  • f2:
  • Danish gymnastics
  • Women's '68 Olympics (Les exercises imposes des 16e Jeux Olympiques Mexico section feminine) (b/w pix dupe negative) - 1968
  • f9:
  • Field Hockey: Irish Touring Team [see also videocassette 222] - 1954
  • Field Hockey: "D-43" (old) [see also videocassette 222]
  • Field Hockey: "D-45," October 15 (color) - 1936
  • Field Hockey: English field hockey (2 reels) [see also videocassette 224] - 1946, 1948
  • Field Hockey: Midwest Tournament, first part, (b/w) [see also videocassette 222] - 1933
  • Sub-Series: Thesis/student projects
  • f2:
  • Collins, Swimming (negative original)
  • f3:
  • Everett, Sport Skills Analyzed: Part I (pic. Original negatives, AB rolls)
  • Everett, Sport Skills Analyzed: Part I (original sound track negative)
  • Everett, Sport Skills Analyzed: Part II (observation scenes) (AB pic. negative, original-silent)
  • Higgins, Lynne: Volleyball Skills: AB rolls, edited picture workprint
  • Higgins, Lynne: Volleyball Skills: Interneg
  • Higgins, Lynne: DXN Golf Swing Study: Reel I
  • f4:
  • Lambert, Teaching Children Basketball: Original negative, AB rolls
  • Lambert, Teaching Children Basketball: Pic. Wrkpnt-mas-magnetic track
  • Lambert, Teaching Children Basketball: Sound track negative
  • Lent, Joann, Study of Synchronized Swimming (original negative)
  • Owens, Physical Education Procedures for Elementary Teachers(Original negatives, picture and sound)
  • Porter, Physical Education for Primary Grades (sound protection positive, original picture. negative) - 1956
  • f8:
  • Altman, Tennis (small reel)
  • Ashton, Bowling (small reel)
  • Cutter, Golf (small reel)
  • Fink, Golf (small reel)
  • Gund, Jan, Effect of Knee Trauma on Gait (2 small reels)
  • Homewood, Jean: Basketball thesis (2 reels)
  • Homewood, Jean: Golf
  • Homewood, Jean: Stickwork - 1954
  • Homewood, Jean: Outtakes - 1954
  • Modalone, Dance
  • Solleder, Golf
  • Stanicek, Golf
  • Steffy, Tennis
  • Veloz, Bowling
  • f11:
  • Higgins, Lynne: DXN Golf Swing Study: Reel II
  • Roberts, Jane, Uneven Parallel Bars (original negative) - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • f5:
  • Beginning Modern Dance for High School Girls
  • Original pic, negative, not edited
  • Magnetic sound, narration and effects
  • Iowa Test of Motor Fitness [see also videocassette 354]
  • Original negative, C roll
  • Original negative AB rolls
  • Narration - mas. mag; music-mas. Mag
  • Sound negative
  • f6:
  • The Language of Modern Dance
  • Original negative, unedited
  • Dupe negative, sound negative
  • Piano music for modern dance (magnetic original)
  • Posture for Poise
  • Black and white, dupe negative and rev. original
  • Posture in Action
  • Parts I, II, dupe negative, sound negative
  • Part I, AB original negative
  • f7:
  • Posture in Action
  • Split-Screen Sequence, original negative, AB rolls
  • Pic. wrkpt-1st sound track negative
  • Part II, original negative, AB
  • Puppets - Creative Work and Play
  • Original pix negative, A&B
  • Dupe negative, sound negative
  • Sub-Series: Unidentified films (small reels): [See notes for each reel number]
  • f10:
  • Reel 1, subject: basketball
  • Reel 3; subject: basketball
  • Reel 4 - 9, subject: gait/stride/jump measurements
  • Reel 23, subject: bowling
  • Reel 24, subject: gait
  • Reel 25, subject: field hockey stickwork
  • Reel 26, subject: field hockey stickwork
  • Reel 27, subject: unidentified
  • Reel 28, subject: unidentified
  • Series 15: AUDIOVISUAL MATERIALS
  • f11:
  • Videocassette: Iowa Test of Motor Fitness [V354] - 1954
  • Videocassette: Iowa vs. Vanderbilt NCAA finals [V311] - 1991
  • Digital and Videocassette: 25th anniversary celebration of Iowa women's athletics [2 copies of d0044] [V380] - 1992
  • Videocassette: Field hockey [V222] - 1933, 1936, 1954
  • Videocassette: Field hockey [V224] - 1946, 1948