Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-2002
Creator: Jackson, Marilyn E. (Harris)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0098
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Muscatine, Iowa, writer who taught writing to senior citizens.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.159) were donated by Marilyn E. Jackson in 1999 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Marilyn E. Jackson, writer and history enthusiast, grew up in Muscatine, Iowa, and attended the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) in Iowa City, Iowa. She grew up attending the First Presbyterian Church in Muscatine. In her later years, Jackson taught writing classes to senior citizens in West Liberty and Muscatine, Iowa. These classes were sponsored by the Muscatine County Commission on Aging, the Iowa Arts Council, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Jackson has published several articles regarding Iowa history. In 1982, The Iowan published her article on the Toolesboro Mounds.

The Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers date from 1931 to 2002 and measure 5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in six series: Biography, Peggy A. L. Shriver, Marie Tharp, Toolesboro Mounds, and Artifacts.

The Biography series consists of personal papers Jackson saved. Most of the personal papers are from Jackson's days as a student at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa). There are several compositions Jackson wrote for a "Modern Prose" class she took in 1946 that was taught by Carrie Stanley (for whom Stanley Hall is named). The 1945 pamphlet Code for Coeds gives rules, regulations, and suggestions for being a successful coed. There is also a brochure from the University Women's Association Vocational Conference of 1948 that suggests career choices for women and contains several period advertisements from local Iowa City establishments. The biography series also has papers concerning the First Presbyterian Church in Iowa City, Iowa, general correspondence, and materials Jackson collected for possible writing projects.

The Peggy A. L. Shriver series consists of a 2002 biographical update of Shriver and correspondence between Shriver and Jackson. Peggy Shriver was born in Iowa and earned a PhD from Central College in Pella, Iowa. She served in many staff and leadership positions with the Presbyterian Churh, US, the National Council of Churches of Christ, USA, and other national and international religious and peacemaking organizations. (Books by Shriver are shelved in the IWA printed works collection.)

The Marie Tharp series consists primarily of letters written by oceanographer Tharp to Jackson. It also contains handwritten notes Jackson kept regarding Tharp's life and experiences. The series contains an article Tharp co-authored in 1986 for Natural History , a 1999 article about the Lamont-Doherty Conservatory of Columbia University in New York where Tharp worked and did much of her oceanography research, and a 1999 article regarding Tharp's receipt of the Women Pioneers in Oceanography Award. This series also contains poems that Tharp's father, W.E. Tharp, gave to his daughter and a soil survey he authored in 1931 for Monroe County, Iowa, when he was working for the US Bureau of Chemistry and Soils. Marie Tharp attended school in Albia, Iowa, while her father conducted his soil survey of Monroe County. The poems and the soil survey, along with the Natural History article, are all mentioned by Tharp in two letters she wrote to Jackson on October 22, 1986.

The Toolesboro Mounds series consists of the research materials, notes, and drafts Jackson accumulated as she prepared an article on the ancient Indian burial site for The Iowan . The series contains correspondence dealing with the proposed article, secondary research materials Jackson collected, Jackson's handwritten notes, numerous drafts, and several photographs of the mound site that Jackson took herself.

The Artifacts series consists of a carbon paper box typical of the 1940s in which Jackson stored her essays and class assignments for the Modern Prose class she took at the State University of Iowa during her sophomore year, 1946-1947.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHY
Series 2: PEGGY A. L. SHRIVER
Series 3: MARIE THARP
Series 4: TOOLESBORO MOUNDS - 1981-1982
Series 5: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHY
  • Box 1:
  • Presbyterian Church - 1945, 1948, 1957
  • Louisa & Muscatine county history and miscellany - 1962
  • Correspondence - 1962
  • State University of Iowa (folder 1)
  • State University of Iowa (folder 2)
  • Series 2: PEGGY A. L. SHRIVER
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information - 2002
  • Correspondence with Jackson - 2002
  • Series 3: MARIE THARP
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1981-1987
  • Notes, undated
  • Oceanography - 1986, 1999
  • W.E. Tharp - 1931-1951
  • Series 4: TOOLESBORO MOUNDS - 1981-1982
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • Drafts
  • Notes
  • Research materials
  • Photographs
  • Series 5: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 1:
  • Carbon paper box