Guide to the Welch and Angrick Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1880-1995
Creator: Welch and Angrick collection
Extent: 3.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0095
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Material relating to the Heart of Hawkeye Council of Campfire Girls, The Woman's Christian Temperance Union, and the Iowa Department of the Woman's Relief Corps.

Administrative Information

Access: The collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Welch and Angrick Collection (donor no. 155) was donated by Maryjo Welch and William Angrick in 1993 and subsequent years

Preferred Citation: Welch and Angrick Collection, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Maryjo Welch and William Angrick purchase collections at auctions and later donate material relating to Iowa women to the Iowa Women's Archives.

The Campfire Girls organization was founded in 1910. Heart of Hawkeye Council of Campfire Girls is one of 230 local councils that,"...provides through a program of informal education, opportunities for youth to realize their potential and to function effectively as responsible, caring and self-directed individuals."(from the Encyclopedia of Associations 1995) The name of the organization was changed to Campfire Boys and Girls in 1979.

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union was an organization involved in effecting social change by making the sale and consumption of alcohol illegal. This group viewed drinking as the root of all family problems and societal ills.

The Iowa Department of the Woman's Relief Corps (WRC) was founded on July 8, 1884 as an auxiliary of the Grand Army of the Republic. The WRC was organized as a patriotic order to provide comfort and aid to Union veterans of the Civil War. The WRC, whose members were the wives and daughters of these veterans, also distributed patriotic material and flags to schools. Several women from Iowa served as national presidents of the WRC including: Jenny Iowa Berry (Box 1, WRC, National, History), Marie L. Basham, Elizabeth L. Kothe and Harriette G. McCollough (Box 1, WRC, National, Past presidents). For more information on the history of the WRC consult: History, Department of Iowa, Woman's Relief Corps, auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic, available at the main library.


Content Description

The Campfire Girls records (1950-1967) contain the program bulletin sent from the regional Heart of Hawkeye Council to the local leaders to guide activities that would be both educational and entertaining for the girls.

The Daughters of Mokanna records (1936-1950) contain a scrapbook of meeting minutes for the Iowa Club, Lazor Caldron number 45, Council Bluffs, Iowa, and a certificate of delegate's credential to the Supreme Session, Daughters of Mokanna.

The Des Moines Garden Club records (1960-1978) contain annual programs of club activities.

The Des Moines Women's Club records (1930-1980) contain annual announcements and programs of yearly activities and the personal club scrapbook of Susan Eddy.

The Federated Garden Clubs of Iowa records (1968) contain a program from the Creston Federated Garden Club.

The Iowa Broadcasters Association records (1995) contain a state directory.

The Iowa Jaycee Ette records (1968) contain the journal of the state board meeting.

The Junior League of Des Moines records (1971-1975) contain the club monthly newsletter, Call Board.

The Junior League of Waterloo-Cedar Falls records (1975-1976) contain the club monthly newsletter, League Log.

The Order of Pythian Sisters records (1923-1951) contain annual reports,convention programs,newspaper clippings,correspondence, and information on the Iowa Pythian Sisters home. The Philanthropic Educational Organization records (1949-1980) contain state convention programs, local chapter programs, and directories (1960, 1979) for Des Moines and West Des Moines chapter members.

Rebekah Lodge records (1916-1949) contain pamphlets and a ceremony and instruction booklet.

The Wakonda Ladies' Golf records (1967) contain an events calendar for the listed year.

The Women's Auxiliary to the American Academy of Neurology records (1971) contain a membership directory for the listed date.

The Women's Auxilliary to the Iowa Medical Society records (1961-1973) contain yearbooks for the listed dates.

The Women's Auxilliary to the Polk County Medical Society records (1961-1972) contain yearbooks for the listed dates.

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) records (1896-1958) include temperance speeches that give insight into attitudes about alcohol consumption at the end of the nineteenth century.

The Woman's Foreign Missionary Society records (1880-1933) include booklets on the Fiftieth Annual Report of the Des Moines Branch (1933), the First Decade of the Western Branch (Minneapolis, 1880), Hand bills (1919, 1925), and Missionaries of the Des Moines Branch booklet (1914). The Woman's Relief Corps records (1888-1957) are arranged under two headings Iowa department and National. Of interest is the history of Jenny I. Berry (Box 1, Woman's Relief Corps, National, History, 1944-1951 and undated). Berry's life provides information on national women's organizations and her role in the WRC and other groups. The correspondence of Marie L. Basham, a past national president, shows the inner workings of the corps and the political posturing done by various state corps to get their own candidate elected to national office.

The Helen Grundman papers (1928-1932) consist of two 4-H scrapbooks.

The Des Moines Ladies Band records (1923-1948) consist of a scrapbook documenting the career of the Des Moines Ladies Band, which performed from 1923 to 1928. About two-thirds of the scrapbook includes newspaper clippings, programs, correspondence, photographs, and other materials about the band and its members. The rest of the scrapbook includes articles on various topics.

Related Materials

Jessie Field Shaumbaugh papers (IWA): Shenandoah, Iowa teacher who became school superintendent for Page County, Iowa. She played a central role in the development of activities for rural youth and is referred to as the "Mother of 4-H."
Woman's Christian Temperance Union (IWA)
History, Department of Iowa, Woman's Relief Corps, auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Eddy, Susan

Corporate Names:
Camp Fire Girls
Daughters of Mokanna
Des Moines Garden Club
Des Moines Women's Club
Federated Garden Clubs of Iowa
Iowa Broadcasters Association
Junior League of Des Moines
Junior League of Waterloo-Cedar Falls, Iowa
Order of Pythian Sisters
Wakonda Ladies' Golf
American Academy of Neurology, Women's Auxiliary
Iowa Medical Society, Woman's Auxiliary
Polk County Medical Society, Woman's Auxiliary
Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Iowa
Des Moines Ladies Band
Rebekah Lodge
Woman's Foreign Missionary Society

Dates:
1880-1889
1890-1899
20th century

Topics:
Women and war

Occupations:
Collectors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Des Moines
United States -- Iowa -- Council Bluffs

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Artificial collections
Scrapbooks
Yearbooks

Browse:
Nineteenth Century Women
Rural and Farm Women
Women and War
Women's Clubs and Organizations