Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Margaret Davis Collison papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-1990
Creator: Collison, Margaret Davis (1921- )
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0083
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Member of the Iowa Board of Regents who was also active in Roxanne Conlin's gubernatorial campaign of 1982.

Alternate Extent Statement: 2 audiocassettes [AC119-AC120]
Photographs in Box 7

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 140) were donated byMargaret Davis Collison in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Margaret Davis Collison papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Margaret Davis Collison, a Democratic party activist and member of the Iowa Board of Regents in the 1970s, was born in Missouri, the daughter of F.W. Davis. Collison received an Associate of Arts degree from Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri in 1940, and a B.S. in Nursing from Saint Louis University in 1943. It was here she met Robert M. Collison, and the two were married in 1943. The raised eleven children, in Oskaloosa Iowa, where the Collisons continue to reside.

Margaret Collison was chosen to sit on the Iowa Board of Regents in 1971. This body governs the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, the University of Northern Iowa, the Iowa School for the Deaf, and the Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School. During her tenure on the Board, Collison dealt with many issues concerning each of these institutions, from dormitory and dining provision to hiring administrators to collective bargaining for faculty. Her term ended in 1977.

Collison was active politically and socially as well. She was a member of the League of Women Voters of Iowa; the Board of Directors of the Oskaloosa Retirement Homes, Inc.; the Festival Guild of Ames, Iowa; and the Board of Curators of Stephens College. She was actively involved in Roxanne Conlin's unsuccessful gubernatorial campaign of 1982 as a coordinator of polling volunteers. She worked on an oral history project, "Conversations with Three Women of the Heartland"", a documentary of the lives of Mary Louise Smith, Dora Wilson, and Bernadine Pieper. Collison also attended and participated in numerous conferences, including ""Iowa in the World Economy"", ""The Way Up"" #I & II, ""Racism: A Women's Issue"", and ""Building Math Confidence"".

The Margaret Davis Collison papers measure 3.5 linear feet and date from 1937 to 1990. The papers are divided into three series: Personal, Board of Regents, and Political. The bulk of the papers document the issues occurring during Collison's tenure on the Iowa Board of Regents.

The Personal series (1937-1989) contains incoming and outgoing correspondence, newspaper clippings relating Collison's family and personal life, and several photographs. Also included are subject files detailing a large portion of Collison's non-regential activities, including conferences she was involved in and boards on which she served.

The Board of Regents series (1970-1981) consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence and of subject files which outline topics addressed by the Board. Papers concerning important issues dealt with during Collison's tenure including collective bargaining, credit by examination, dormitory and dining services, equal employment opportunity, and the Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School can be found in this series.

The Political series (1966-1982) is made up of materials concerning Collison's political activity, the bulk consisting of items from the Roxanne Conlin gubernatorial campaign. These provide an interesting contrast to the Roxanne Conlin papers (also held by the Iowa Women's Archives), in that they present detailed activities of the people who performed the laborious work of the campaign, as opposed to the more formal materials of the candidate herself.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: BOARD OF REGENTS
Series 3: POLITICAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1962-1989
  • Newspaper clippings - 1971-1972, 1974, 1988
  • Advisory Board, College of Home Economics, Iowa State University - 1978-1979
  • Arts events - 1972-1975
  • Building Math Confidence Workshop - 1984, 1988
  • Carter Administration and the E.R.A. - 1979
  • Church newsletters and articles - 1970-1972, 1990
  • Citizens and Neighbors of C Ave. East - 1978
  • "Conversations with Three Women of the Heartland" Oral History Project - 1986
  • "Conversations with Three Women of the Heartland" Oral History Project, undated
  • Audiocassette AC119: "Conversations with Three Women of the Heartland" Oral History Project: Conversation with Dora Wilson, undated
  • Microcassette AC120: "Conversations with Three Women of the Heartland" Oral History Project: Conversation with Myrtle Elwood, undated
  • Creighton University Annual Commencement - 1977
  • Diocese of Davenport - 1971, 1981, 1983, 1986
  • Festival Guild, Ames International Orchestra Festival Association - 1972-1973
  • Festival Guild, Ames International Orchestra Festival Association - 1972-1973
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1974-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Humanities Board - 1982, 1986
  • Iowa in the World Economy Conference - 1984
  • Oskaloosa Retirement Homes, Inc. - 1977
  • Presidential Agenda Project - 1989
  • "Racism: A Women's Issue" Conference - 1985
  • Resume and family information, undated
  • St. Louis University School of Nursing Research Day - 1983
  • Stephens College - 1939, 1975-1989
  • Stephens College Notebook, undated
  • The Way Up (I and II) conferences - 1983-1984
  • Series 2: BOARD OF REGENTS
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1971-1972, 1975-1976
  • Academic Building Revenue Bonds - 1972-1974
  • Academic Planning Seminar - 1976
  • Affirmative Action - 1972
  • A.G.B. Questionnaire for Self-Study - 1977
  • Alcohol policy on campus - 1972
  • Auditors' Reports - 1971-1972
  • Auditors' Reports - 1975
  • Board of Regents--role, description, directory - 1971-1973, 1981
  • Budget - 1974-1975, 1977
  • Burge Hall, University of Iowa - 1972
  • Box 3:
  • Collective Bargaining - 1973, 1975-1976
  • Collective Bargaining - 1977
  • College of Criminal Justice Proposal - 1972
  • College of Engineering, Iowa State University - 1976
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1970-1971
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1971
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1972-1973
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1973
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1974-1975
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1976
  • College of Medicine, University of Iowa - 1976-1977
  • College of Veterinary Medicine, Iowa State University - 1971-1972, 1976
  • Committee on Education of the Multiply-Handicapped - 1971
  • Continuing and extension education - 1970
  • Continuing and extension education - 1975
  • Box 4:
  • Continuing education - 1971-1972
  • Continuing education - 1973-1976
  • Council for Agricultural Science and Technology Conference - 1976
  • Credit by examination - 1972-1973
  • Degree programs offered - 1971
  • Discrimination on campus - 1972
  • Dormitory and dining services - 1971-1972
  • Dormitory and dining services - 1973-1975
  • Dormitory and dining services: Newspaper clippings - 1973, 1975
  • Education Commission of the States - 1977
  • Employment relations - 1975
  • Equal Employment Opportunity - 1971-1973
  • Equal Employment Opportunity - 1975
  • Equal Employment Opportunity: Newspaper clippings - 1973
  • Equality of women: General - 1972, 1974-1975
  • Equality of women: Newspaper clippings - 1973-1974, 1976
  • Extension education - 1971-1975
  • Extension education - 1975
  • Box 5:
  • Faculty constitution, University of Northern Iowa - 1971-1972, 1975
  • Faculty/staff policies - 1972
  • Gateway Hills Project, Iowa State University - 1976
  • Governance - 1971-1973, 1976
  • Graduate study in Iowa - 1973
  • Higher Education Study Committee - 1970-1971
  • Higher Education Study Committee - 1971-1972, 1976
  • Institutional policies - 1972
  • Institutional statistics - 1972-1976, 1982
  • Insurance - 1972-1973, 1976
  • Interinstitutional Committee for Equal Employment Opportunity - 1972-1973
  • Interinstitutional Committee on Educational Coordination - 1973-1974
  • Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School - 1970-1972, 1976
  • Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School - 1977
  • Iowa City downtown traffic planning - 1972
  • Iowa Coordinating Council for Post-High School Education - 1976
  • Iowa Mental Health Authority - 1971-1972
  • Iowa Mental Health Authority - 1973
  • Iowa School for the Deaf - 1972-1973, 1976-1977
  • Iowa State University Stadium - 1976
  • Box 6:
  • Legal Action - 1972-1974
  • Legal Action - 1975
  • Legal Action - 1976-1977
  • Liaison-Advisory Committee on Transfer Students - 1975
  • Liberal Studies Degree Program - 1975
  • Library Statement, Iowa State University - 1976
  • Married student housing, University of Northern Iowa - 1972-1974
  • Medical issues [newspaper clippings] - 1971-1973
  • Merit System Pay Plan - 1972-1973, 1975-1977
  • Non-traditional education - 1973-1975
  • Nursing program, University of Iowa, undated
  • Organization and function of affiliated organizations of Regent Universities - 1975
  • Personal conduct/ethics regulations - 1973, 1975, 1977
  • Public Administration Service - 1972
  • Regional Educational Cooperation - 1973-1975
  • Residency and tuition status - 1970-1973
  • Special Education Committee - 1976
  • State Board of Regents legislative requests - 1973-1975
  • Stephen Ford legal case - 1971-1972
  • Student activity fee - 1971-1974
  • Student membership on the Board of Regents - 1971-1972
  • Box 7:
  • Student policies - 1970-1976
  • Title IX violations - 1976
  • Traffic and parking regulations, University of Iowa - 1971
  • Universities Program Abroad - 1973-1974
  • University of Iowa/Iowa State University football series - 1973, 1977
  • University of Mid-America - 1974-1976
  • Women in engineering - 1972, 1974, 1976
  • Women's issues in Iowa - 1970, 1974-1975
  • Women's Week - 1974-1975
  • World Food Conference, Iowa State University - 1976
  • Box 8:
  • Board of Regents scrapbook - 1972-1979
  • Series 3: POLITICAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Hughes, Harold E.
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1966-1967
  • Sub-Series: Common Cause
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Conlin, Roxanne Gubernatorial Campaign
  • Box 7:
  • Campaign personnel, undated
  • Canvassing - 1982
  • Interest group programs - 1982
  • Lists of volunteers' names - 1982
  • Mahaska County Democratic Platform Committee Report - 1982
  • Memoranda from campaign officials - 1982
  • Newspaper clippings - 1982
  • Notes, undated
  • Precinct Leaders' Handbook, undated
  • Polling Records: Democrats [who] Voted [in] '78 or '80 Primary Precincts Adams through Oskaloosa 2 - 1982
  • Polling Records: Democrats [who] Voted [in] '78 or '80 Primary Precincts Oskaloosa 3 through White Oak - 1982
  • Polling Records: Democrats [who] Voted [in] Some School or Muni[cipal] - 1982
  • Polling Records: Priority 3 Voters
  • Pollwatching
  • Voter registration kit - 1982
  • Box 8:
  • Gubernatorial Raw Audit, Iowa Democratic Party - 1982
  • Polling Records: Iowa Democratic Party, Registered Independents Not Surveyed Precincts Adams through Oskaloosa 3 - 1982
  • Polling Records: Iowa Democratic Party, Registered Independents Not Surveyed Precincts Oskaloosa 4 through White Oak - 1982
  • Targeting Formula, Mahaska County - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Political Caucus Spring Creek Precinct/Township, Mahaska County
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Women's Political Caucus
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1974, 1982
  • Sub-Series: League of Women Voters of Iowa
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1974, 1979-1980, 1985-1988
  • Sub-Series: Vogel, David Campaign
  • Box 7:
  • Literature, undated
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 7:
  • Personal - 1937, 1947, 1985, 1989
  • Noun, Louise [shelved in map case: drawer 2] - 1974