Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sarah Hanley papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1975-2000
Creator: Hanley, Sarah (1931-)
Extent: 18.70 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0076
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa professor of history, feminist, and political activist.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 41

Access: Access is restricted.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 133) were donated by Sarah Hanley in 2008.

Preferred Citation: Sarah Hanley papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sarah Hanley, professor, historian, feminist and political activist, was born in 1931 near Boston, Massachusetts and married Henry Madden at age 21. Within four years, they had three kids. Until the late 1970s, Hanley was known as Sally Madden. She started her B.A. at the University of Pittsburgh at age 27 and moved to Cedar Rapids, Iowa with her family in the late 1960s. Hanley was one of the founding members of the Cedar Rapids Women's Caucus in 1971, which later became a chapter for the National Organization for Women (NOW). A chapter in Louise Noun's More Strong Minded Women provides details on Hanley's activism during the women's movement and her involvement in other civil and political issues. Hanley received her M.A. in history from the University of Iowa in 1970 and her Ph.D. in 1975. She made several research trips to Paris to study women's and legal history, including one for her dissertation in 1972. Hanley taught at Coe College in Cedar Rapids starting in 1969 and at the University of Iowa from 1977 to 2008, becoming a full, tenured professor in 1987. Hanley divorced Henry Madden in 1982-1983. She married University of Iowa American Studies professor Malcolm Rohrbough in 1986. She served as the Assistant Chair of the department from 1984 to 1985 and was Dean for Faculty of the College of Liberal Arts from 1987 to 1990, where she worked to get more women appointed as faculty and to ensure women went through a fair tenure process. As Dean, she also testified in the widely publicized Jean Jew sexual harassment case in 1990. Hanley also served as chair for the relatively new Women's Studies program from 1977-1980 and from 1982-1983. She became the first female history faculty to win the faculty scholar award in 1982. Hanley published several articles and book chapters including the monograph, The Lit de Justice of the Kings of France: COnstitutional Ideology in Legend, Ritual and Discourse (Princeton University Press, 1983.) . She was also active in many professional organizations and as a peer-reviewer for several scholarly journals. She worked to get equal rights and privileges for women in the academy until her retirement in 2008.

The Sarah Hanley papers date from 1900 to 2008 and measure 18.7 linear feet. The papers are arranged in ten series: Biographical, Women's Movement, Politics, Coe College, University of Iowa History Department, University of Iowa Women's Studies, University of Iowa Issues and Events, Paris Artists Community, Photographs and Artifacts.

Before donating the materials to the Iowa Women's Archives, Hanley separated and organized her papers, making notes on many of the original file folders. Her notes and organization have been preserved in this collection. Some letters and publications are written in French.

The Biographical series (1957-2007) includes family correspondence from Hanley's children, husband, mother and sisters. More biographical information can be found in an oral history interview with Hanley, located in the Publications subseries of the University of Iowa History Department series.

The Women's Movement series (1952-2008) consists of materials documenting the resurgence of feminism at mid-century through Hillary Clinton's 2008 presidential campaign. Speeches, newspaper clippings and radio and T.V. interviews detail Hanley's involvement with the Cedar Rapids Women's Caucus (forerunner to the local National Organization for Women chapter). Hanley also saved the first issue of Ms. magazine and other influential publications of the women's movement, including several books. A letter Hanley wrote to Pope Paul regarding his remarks on birth control in the Humanae Vitae encyclical can be found in the Articles and Letters folder. The oversized framed poster of a woman with a raised right arm is the one Sarah Hanley carried in the Boston Women's March in 1970.

The Politics series (1957-2008) contains correspondence, reflections and clippings on political issues ranging from social welfare to the Vietnam War. Hanley's FBI file, which documents her anti-Vietnam activism, is located in this subseries. Buttons from political candidates and causes Hanley supported can be found in the Artifacts series.

The Coe College series (1969-1970) includes course outlines and lectures from Hanley's Western Civilization II class as well as some administrative correspondence.

The University of Iowa History Department series (1959-2008) makes up the bulk of the collection and is divided into eight subseries: General, Professional Offices and Associations, Publications and Reviews, Awards and Grants, Interviews and Presentations, Correspondence, Courses, and Calendars.

The General subseries (1959-2008) consists of curriculum vitae, professional appointments, and department newsletters and policies. The Sarah Hanley-Malcolm Rohrbough timeline provides insight into how tenured professors balanced teaching and research duties with their personal lives. Information on appointing women faculty and ensuring fair tenure processes for women can be found scattered throughout the collection.

The Professional Offices and Associations subseries (1978-2004) contains information on Hanley's term as Dean for Faculty and her service on the Faculty Senate as well as her leadership positions for a myriad of professional associations.

The Publications and Reviews subseries (1974-2006) includes correspondence and reviews regarding Hanley's major scholarly works, including her book The Lit de Justice of the Kings of France: Constitutional Ideology in Legend, Ritual and Discourse (shelved in the IWA printed works collection). Hanley also reviewed history departments at other universities and potential publications for journals. A bound oral history interview with Hanley done by the University Archives is also in this subseries.

The Awards and Grants subseries (1979-2007) documents Hanley's numerous research trips and prizes she received for her scholarship.

The Interviews and Presentation subseries (1970-2007) includes speeches and lectures given by Hanley as well as conference programs from a variety of professional organizations.

The Correspondence subseries (1972-2008) consists of letters to and from history and women's studies faculty and members of professional associations and journals. Some personal correspondence is here, but the bulk of that is in the Biographical series.

The Courses subseries (1991-2007) involves syllabi and lectures developed and edited over time for a selection of Hanley's courses at the University of Iowa.

The Calendars subseries (1948-2007) details Hanley's day-to-day activities as a professor of history and law. Passports, ID cards and a collection of postcards provide insight into her travel and research activities.

The University of Iowa Women's Studies series (1973-2006) contains correspondence, curriculum and faculty information and lecture posters from the early years of the Women's Studies Program. Of note is a letter from May Brodbeck, Vice President of the university at the time, about the difficulties in starting a Women's Studies program. Several folders include resource files of women's issues both locally and globally.

The University of Iowa Issues and Events series (1950-2007) covers academic problems and scandals at the University of Iowa and in the national history community. Hanley called the Jean Jew sexual harassment case, "the worst scandal in my time here'', and she testified as Dean for Faculty at the trial. Of note is a report put out by the Women's Committee of the American Studies Association on the personal lives and professional careers of women in the mid-1980s found in the Women and the Academy folder.

The Paris Artists Community series (1975-2008) reflects Hanley's involvement with a ''singular group of friends in Paris from 1972 into 2008." Many of these individuals are renowned artists both in France and America.

The Photographs series (1999-2003) includes photographs of Hanley's trips to Paris and Jerusalem as well as a friend's visit to Iowa City.

The Artifacts series (1950s-2000) contains buttons, medallions and t-shirts from the women's movement and political campaigns. Many historical Democratic Party candidates are represented.
Malcolm J. Rohrbough papers (University of Iowa Archives). Hanley married Rohrbough in 1986.

Jean Jew Justice Committee papers (IWA). Hanley testified as Dean for Faculty in the Jean Jew case.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: WOMEN’S MOVEMENT
Series 3: POLITICS
Series 4: SERIES 4: COE COLLEGE
Series 5: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA HISTORY DEPARTMENT
Series 6: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA WOMEN’S STUDIES
Series 7: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA ISSUES AND EVENTS
Series 8: PARIS ARTISTS COMMUNITY
Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 10: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Honors convocations, University of Pittsburgh B.A., University of Iowa M.A. - 1965-1967
  • Family, undated
  • Hanley in Louise Noun’s More Strong Minded Women - 1992-2002
  • Hanley, Anne; Hanley, Marilyn; Feeney, Mary - 1957-2001
  • Family letters to SH on research leave in Paris - 1983-1984
  • Family letters to SH on research leave in Paris (folder 2) - 1983-1984
  • Williams, Kathleen Madden - 1970-2001
  • Madden, Mark - 1982-1997
  • Madden, Mark - 1996-2002
  • Madden, Lynn M. - 1972-1999
  • Gardeniers, Ton - 1998
  • Hanley-Rohrbough wedding - 1986
  • Box 2:
  • Rohrbough, Malcolm - 1984-1999
  • Rohrbough, Malcolm - 1975-2007
  • Hanley, Marilyn (formerly Tobey) - 1957-1995
  • Hanley, Marilyn - 1976, 1986
  • Hanley, Mianne letters from France - 1963-2000
  • Hanley, Mianne, Boston Public Schools desegregation - 1970-1992
  • Cards - 2002-2006
  • Kufta, Nita, Pittsburgh - 1971-1980
  • Jones, Nora, New York - 2005
  • Series 2: WOMEN’S MOVEMENT
  • Box 3:
  • Cedar Rapids Women’s Caucus (forerunner to NOW) - 1970-1972
  • Cedar Rapids Women’s Caucus newspaper articles - 1971-1972
  • Speeches - 1964-1972
  • Radio and T.V. - 1970-1979
  • Radio and T.V. interview transcripts - 1970, 1972-1973
  • Articles, letters - 1966-1999
  • Articles - 1970-1972
  • Articles (folder 2) - 1970-1972
  • Women’s March, Boston - 8/23/1970
  • Discrimination, St. Botolph’s Club, Boston - 1987
  • Feminist movement - 1991
  • First Ms. Magazine - 1972
  • F magazine - 1978
  • Magazines - 1982, 1991
  • Ferraro, Geraldine - 1984
  • Clinton, Hillary campaign materials - 2008
  • Box 4:
  • Clinton, Hillary clippings - 2008
  • Women’s History as Women’s Education by Natalie Zemon Davis and Joan Wallach Scott - 1985
  • Event posters 1981-1982
    In map case
  • Books: The Second Sex, Simone de Beauvoir; The Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan; Sisterhood is Powerful, ed. Robin Morgan; The Dialectic of Sex, Shulamith Firestone
  • Women Artists: 1550-1950 - 1976
  • Liberation des Femmes - 1970
  • Les Frustres, Claire Bretecher - 1975
  • Box 5:
  • Sketchbook, Warjd Honegger Lavater - 1972
  • Goddesses, Mayumi Oda - 1981
  • The Dinner Party: a symbol of our heritage, Judy Chicago - 1979
  • Box 6:
  • Two Thousand Notable American Women, 5th Ill. Ed. - 1992
  • Oversize: framed posters
  • Boston Women’s March poster
    In map case. [orange background, woman figure, strong right arm through Women’s Movement emblem]
  • Women’s Studies Program, Lecture Series Posters. - 1978, 1979
    In map case. [They mark the years when the program became institutionally established with a non-recurring budget.]
  • Paris Posters
    In map case. [Include posters for Shirley Jaffe shows, French shows of women painters.]
  • Monticello College Foundation Poster
    In map case. [Foundation funds women in science.]
  • Series 3: POLITICS
  • Box 7:
  • Signal Mountain, Tennessee Welfare Council - 1957-1964
  • Corporation head gets around political issue - 1978, 2008
  • Vietnam War Memoire - 2008
  • Vietnam War - 1967-1969
  • FBI File, anti-Vietnam activities - 1968-2008
  • Vietnam, speech and petition - 1969-1970
  • National Priorities Day, Washington High School, Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1970
  • Operation Abolition - 1960
  • Civil Rights - 1969-1970
  • McCarthy campaign - 1968
  • Clinton, William; Gore, Albert - 1992-1999
  • Series 4: SERIES 4: COE COLLEGE
  • Box 7:
  • Coe College - 1969-1970
  • Coe College (folder 2) - 1969-1970
  • Student admissions - 1970
  • Series 5: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA HISTORY DEPARTMENT
  • Sub-Series: GENERAL
  • Box 7:
  • Vita - 2008
  • Vita - 2004-2006
  • Box 8:
  • Vita - 1977-2002
  • Vita - 1996-1997
  • Vita - 1989-1990
  • Department policy - 1959, 1986
  • Department review and response - 1995
  • Professor promotion - 1986-1987
  • Department appointment-tenure - 1977-1985
  • Faculty appointment - 1972-1976
  • College of Law, courtesy appointment - 1994-2006
  • International Programs appointment - 2006
  • Tenure and promotion - 1992-1993
  • Sarah Hanley, Malcolm Rohrbough timeline - 1986-1994
  • Sarah Hanley, five-year peer review - 2006
  • Box 9:
  • Department brochure - 1991-1992
  • Rutgers University offer - 1989-1990
  • Outside job offers - 1978-1992
  • Smith College Search, president nomination - 1984
  • Research leave correspondence - 1996
  • Newsletters - 1978-1984
  • Newsletters - 1984-1995
  • Newsletters - 1996-2006
  • Problem appointing faculty women - 1987
  • History PhD Statistics - 1993, 2003
  • Aydelotte, William, biographical memoir - 1910-1996
  • Davis, Natalie - 1989
  • Freedman, James, UI president inauguration - 1982
  • Stone, Lawrence - 1990-1997
  • Lafore, Lawrence - 1973
  • Sub-Series: PROFESSIONAL OFFICES AND ASSOCIATIONS
  • Box 9:
  • Dean for Faculty, College of Liberal Arts - 1986-1989, 1990
  • Faculty Senate - 1981
  • American History Association, Life member, undated
  • AHA: Teaching Committee - 1990-1992
  • AHA Teaching Division - 1991
  • Box 10:
  • AHA Teaching Division election - 1991
  • AHA Modern Europe Section - 1988-1989
  • AHA Modern Europe Section, executive committee - 1987
  • Society for French Historical Studies, executive director - 1989-1992, 1993-1996, 1997
  • SFHS Robert Koren Prize, 16th Century Journal - 1986-1987
  • FHS-Koren Prize Committee - 1987
  • Gershoy Prize - 1990-1991
  • International Commission for the History of Representative and Parliamentary Institutions, secretary - 1979-1980
  • ICHRPI, Perugia - 1982
  • ICHRPI, Madrid - 1979-1980
  • CCWHP, coordinating committee women - 1978-1980
  • Societe Internationale des Feemes de l’Ancienne France (SIEFAR) - 2004
  • Sub-Series: PUBLICATIONS AND REVIEWS
  • Box 10:
  • University of Nebraska, History Department review - 2002
  • Texas Tech University, History review - 1999-2001
  • Colby College review - 1993-1994
  • Princeton Advisory Council - 1991-1995
  • University of Northern Colorado, program review - 1998
  • Press readings - 1980-1990
  • Press readings, DC Heath - 1987-1989
  • Box 11:
  • Press readings, Journal of Modern History - 1990
  • Manuscript evaluations, Oxford University Press - 1984-1990
  • Press readings, Sixteenth Century Journal - 1984-1990
  • Reviews, Hanley - 1976-1978
  • Reviews, Hanley - 1979-1984
  • Reviews, Hanley - 1985-1992
  • Book reviews, Hanley - 1995
  • Les Droits des Femmes ‘et la loi salique - 1994
  • Lit de Justice, French edition reviews - 1991
  • Lit de Justice, French edition - 1987-1991
  • Lit de Justice, French translation - 1988-1989
  • Lit de Justice, publication Princeton University - 1983
  • Lit de Justice, international reviews - 1984-1990
  • Lit de Justice, reviews - 1984
  • Box 12:
  • Journal of Modern History, “The Family, the State, and the Law…” - 2006
  • Law and History Review, “The Jurisprudence of the Arrets”, Surrency Prize - 2003-2004
  • French Historical Studies, “European History in Text and Film” - 2002
  • American Historical Review, “Social Sites of Political Practice..”, Mary Parker Follett Award - 1997-1998
  • Historical Reflections - 1997
  • French Historical Studies, “Engendering the State…”, Koren Prize - 1990
  • Annales, “L’Ideologie constit…” - 1982
  • Sixteenth Century Journal, “The Lit de Justice and Fundamental Law” - 1976
  • Women and Public Policy - 1974
  • Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages, “The Salic Law” - 1997
  • Encyclopedia, English edition, “The Salic Law” - 2002
  • Encyclopedia, French edition, “Loi Salique” - 1997
  • Changing Identities book chapter, “Identity Politics..” - 1996
  • Contextualizing the Renaiss: Returns to History, Hanley chapter - 1999
  • Cambridge University Press, “Constitutional Discourse in France” - 1987
  • Connecting Spheres, Hanley chapter, reviews - 1988
  • Connecting Spheres, Second edition - 1987
  • Connecting Spheres, Second edition - 1996
  • Rites of Power, “Legend, Ritual and Discourse…” - 1985, 1999
  • Rites of Power, reviews - 1986
  • Le Second Ordre, book chapter - 1999
  • Historians and Ideologues, book chapter - 2001
  • Monarchic State, book chapter - 1994
  • Discours Politiques article, University of Perugia - 1983
  • “French Constitution Revised”, undated
  • Encyclopedia Renaissance, Charles Scribner sons - 2000
  • Feminist Companion to French Literature - 1998
  • Box 13:
  • Sarah Hanley oral history interview by Linda Yanney for University of Iowa Archives - 2000
  • Newspapers - 1982-1993
  • Sub-Series: AWARDS AND GRANTS
  • Box 13:
  • ACLS travel grant - 1982
  • American Association of University Women, honorary fellow - 1980
  • American Political Science Association, Mary Parker Follett Award - 1998
  • American Society for Legal History, Erwin C. Surrency Prize - 2004
  • Arizona State University, Distinguished Visiting Professor - 1990
  • Awards, clippings - 1986-1987
  • Awards,miscellaneous - 1982-2003
  • Camargo Foundation, Cassis France - 1996-1997, 2006
  • Camargo Foundation, Cassis France - 1997
  • Camargo Grant and University of Iowa leave - 2003
  • Huntington Library Grant - 2004-2005
  • Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, member one - 1986
  • Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, member two - 1993-1994
  • Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton - 1983-1986
  • Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton-Hanley and Rohrbough - 1994
  • Box 14:
  • John Simon Guggenheim Grant - 1993-1994
  • John Simon Guggenheim Grant (folder 2) - 1993-1994
  • National Humanities Center - 1989-1991
  • National Humanities Center, Research Triangle Park, N.C. - 1990-1991
  • Princeton History Department, student research, undated
  • Shelby Cullom Davis Center, Princeton University - 1980-1981
  • Society for French Historical Studies, William Koren Jr. Prize, - 1989-1990
  • University of Iowa Central Investment Funds for Research Enhancement - 1998-1999
  • University of Iowa Faculty honors - 1983-2004
  • University of Iowa Faculty leave - 1979-1987
  • University of Iowa Faculty leave - 1980-1997
  • University of Iowa Faculty Scholar Award - 1979-1982
  • University of Iowa Faculty Scholar Award - 1982
  • University of Iowa Honors and teaching awards - 1988, 2006
  • University of Iowa leave - 2007
  • University of Iowa Old Gold Fellowship - 1982-1989
  • University of Iowa Professional awards - 1998-1999, 2004
  • University of Iowa Semester assignments and leaves - 1990-1995
  • Wenner-Gren Foundation, NYU Conference - 1988
  • Sub-Series: INTERVIEWS AND PRESENTATIONS
  • Box 15:
  • General
  • Women’s movement radio and T.V. interviews - 1970, 1972, 1973
  • T.V. and Radio talks - 1982
  • Humanities lecture, University of Iowa - 1985
  • Manon Lescant opera, pre-performance remarks - 1985
  • Speeches on academic matters - 1988-1991
  • University of Iowa speeches, President’s Club, Phi Beta Kappa, Weiss Memorial Scholarship - 1990
  • Conferrences
  • Conferences - 1980-1981
  • Conferences - 1981-1988
  • Society for French Historical Studies - 1983-1996
  • Eighteenth Century Conference, paper - 1985
  • Western Society for French History - 1986-1998
  • Box 16:
  • Social Science History Association - 1987
  • Social Science History Association - 1987, 1990
  • Conference papers - 1988-1989
  • American Historical Association - 1989
  • Conference papers - 1990-2007
  • State University of New York, Binghamton CEMERS Conference - 1994
  • American Historical Association meeting - 1995-1997
  • AHA Panel, “Who Owns History?” - 1996
  • Society for French Historical Studies - 1996-2004
  • Natalie Zemon Davis, conference honoring her retirement - 1997
  • American Society for Legal History - 1997
  • American Society for Legal History - 1998-2004
  • Amherst Conference: Prerogatives of Rule - 1999
  • Folger Institute - 2000
  • Berkshire Conference, History of Women - 2002
  • International Colloque, “Princesses and Political Power in the Modern Epoch” - 2003
  • Invites and Lectures
  • Iowa Humanities speech at Luther College - 1974
  • Invited lecture: University of Perugia, Italy - 1982
  • Invited lectures and papers - 1984-2003
  • Invited lectures: San Diego State University, Stanford University, University of Iowa Grad Conference - 1986-1989
  • Box 17:
  • Ohio State University, Distinguished Lecture series - 1987
  • Invited lectures: Kohlenberg Towne, Northeast Missouri State University, Buena Vista College - 1989
  • Invited lecture: Monticello College Foundation - 1989
  • Invited lecture: University of Bielefeld, Germany - 1990-1993
  • Invited lecture: University of California, Berkley - 1991
  • Invited lectures: Duke University, University of North Carolina, Grinnell College, University of Chicago - 1991-1992
  • Invited lecture: Harvard University - 1993
  • Invited lecture: Duke University, “What difference does Gender Make?” - 1995
  • Invited lectures: York University, Glendon College, Arizona State University, undated
  • Sub-Series: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence, two folders - 1972-1978
  • Professional activities, two folders - 1974, 1976, 1978-1980
  • Correspondence - 1977-1980
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence, five folders - 1980-1983
  • Professional activities - 1982
  • Correspondence, two folders - 1983-1984
  • Box 19:
  • Professional activities 1984-1985
  • Correspondence, four folders - 1984-1986
  • Cambridge book - 1986
  • Correspondence, two folders - 1987-1988
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence, five folders - 1987-1990
  • Professional activities, two folders - 1989-1992
  • Correspondence - 1991-1992
  • Re: Carolyn Heilbrun, mystery writer Amanda Cross - 1991
  • Re: Louise Noun, More Strong Minded Women - 1991
  • Box 21:
  • Correspondence - 1992-1993
  • Professional activities - 1987-1993
  • Correspondence - 1993
  • Institute for Advanced Study - 1993-1994
  • Professional activities - 1993-1994
  • Correspondence, two folders - 1994-1995
  • Professional activities - 1994-1995
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence, four folders - 1995-1996
  • Professional activities - 1995-1996
  • Box 23:
  • Professional activities - 1996-1997
  • Camargo Foundation, Cassis France, January-May - 1997
  • Correspondence, two folders - 1997-1998
  • Rites of Power book 1981-1998
  • Correspondence - 1998-1999
  • Professional activities - 1998-1999
  • Correspondence - 1999-2000
  • Professional activities - 1999-2000
  • Correspondence - 2000-2001
  • Box 24:
  • Correspondence - 2001
  • Professional activities - 2000-2002
  • Professional activities - 2003-2006
  • Correspondence, two folders - 2002-2008
  • Box 25:
  • Western Civilization II - 2003
  • Western Civilization II - 2006-2007
  • Western Civilization II - 2007
  • Western Civilization (part 1 of 4) - 2002
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 2 of 4) undated (folder 1)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 2 of 4), undated (folder 2)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 2 of 4), undated (folder 3)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Box 26:
  • Western Civilization (part 3 of 4), undated (folder 1)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 3 of 4), undated (folder 2)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 4 of 4), undated (folder 1)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Western Civilization (part 4 of 4), undated (folder 2)
    [items removed from binder]
  • The French Revolution and Human Rights - 2000
  • Women of Europe: supplement, the French Revolution - 1991
  • Box 27:
  • French Revolution, undated (folder 1)
    [items removed from binder]
  • French Revolution, undated (folder 2)
    [items removed from binder]
  • French Revolution, undated (folder 3)
    [items removed from binder]
  • Box 28:
  • French Revolution - 1994
    [items removed from binder]
  • French Revolution - 1997
    [items removed from binder]
  • History Colloquium: Law, Society and Politics in Early Modern Europe, undated * [items removed from binder]
    [items removed from binder]
  • Society and Gender in Europe - 1976-1989
    [items removed from binder]
  • Society and Gender in Early Modern Europe (folder 1) - 1978-1991
    [items removed from binder]
  • Society and Gender in Early Modern Europe (folder 2) - 1978-1991
    [items removed from binder]
  • Society and Gender in Early Modern Europe (folder 3) - 1978-1991
    [items removed from binder]
  • Box 29:
  • European History in Text and Film - 2006
  • Film Course - 1989-2002
    [items removed from binder]
  • European History in Text and Film (folder 1) - 2006
    [loose items from binder]
  • European History in Text and Film (folder 2) - 2006
    [loose items from binder]
  • Text and Film binder, undated (folder 1) * [items removed from binder]
    [items removed from binder]
  • Text and Film binder, undated (folder 2) * [items removed from binder]
    [items removed from binder]
  • Text and Film binder, undated (folder 3)* [items removed from binder]
    [items removed from binder]
  • Box 30:
  • History Workshop: Critical Theory and Interpretation (part 1 of 2) - 1991-1992
    [items removed from binder]
  • History Workshop: Critical Theory and Interpretation (part 2 of 2) - 1991-1992
  • Calendars, three folders - 1979-2007
  • Box 31:
  • Weekly organizers, three folders - 1975-1996
  • Box 32:
  • Weekly organizers 1997-2006
  • Box 33:
  • Boarding pass holder and IDs - 1996-2007
  • Passports - 1971-2006
  • Date books and miscellaneous cards - 1948-1995
  • Box 34:
  • Postcards, U.S., including Iowa City - 1973
  • Postcards, Princeton, New Jersey - 1980-1981
  • Postcards, U.S. west - 1986-1987
  • Postcards, Bibliotheque Nationale France, undated
  • Postcards, France - 1971, 1981
  • Postcards, Paris - 1972-1973, 1991-1992
  • Postcards, Paris, Jerusalem - 1983-1984
  • Postcards, Turkey, undated
  • Postcards, Germany, undated
  • Postcards, Madrid, September - 1979
  • Postcards, England and Italy - 1980-1981
  • Postcards, Italy, undated
  • Postcards, Perugia and Florence, September - 1982
  • Map case folder
  • Women’s movement calendar - 1978
  • Calendars - 2000, 2004, 2008
  • Series 6: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA WOMEN’S STUDIES
  • Box 35:
  • Brodbeck, Mayre: Women’s studies program - 1982-1983
  • Teaching and research: how scholarship is changed by demand for information - 1990
  • Clippings and correspondence - 1988-1992
  • Correspondence - 1990-1996
  • Anonymous letter and responses - 1980
  • Women’s studies, Sarah Hanley - 1977
  • Early courses - 1980, 1985
  • Women faculty searches - 1987-1988
  • Inclusion of women as a topic for study - 1982, 1988, 1989
  • Number of women on faculties - 1989-1990
  • Women faculty: problem making appointments - 1987
  • Extended faculty - 1998
  • Feminist scholarship speech - 1990
  • History, radio comments - 1982
  • Women and the human condition, speech - 1984
  • Women’s studies posters negatives - 1977-1980
  • 25th anniversary speech - 1999
  • 25th anniversary - 1998-1999
  • Remarks, Margery Wolf retirement symposium - 2001
  • Newsletter, press articles - 1987-1990
  • Iowa Women’s Day - 1978
  • American Historical Association “Who Owns History?” panel - 1996
  • Spectator, “Historians Must Remember Women” - 1983
  • Building Women’s Studies at Iowa - 1998
  • Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship, keynote speech - 1990
  • “Closing of the American Mind” responses to Alan Bloom - 1987-1998
  • American Association of University Professors, gender equity - 2006
  • Women in higher ed - 1988-1989
  • Women and public policy - 1973-1974
  • Box 36:
  • Feminism Lives poster, undated
  • Penn State, “Women’s Studies in the Academy” - 1999
  • Amicus brief to the Supreme Court, abortion rights - 1989-1992
  • Supreme Court abortion briefs - 1988-1989
  • News clippings - 1990-1992
  • France: Stasi committee on Muslim veils - 2001, 2003
  • France: Paris riots - 2005
  • Women and Islam - 2006
  • Islam: abuse of women, honor killings - 1997-2006
  • Governor’s Conference on Affirmative Action - 1975
  • Empowering Women, Monticello College Foundation - 1989
  • Iowa Women’s Archives - 1992-1993
  • Series 7: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA ISSUES AND EVENTS
  • Box 37:
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case - 1989-1992
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case, clippings and timeline - 1990-1991
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case, clippings 1990
  • “Jean Jew’s Case: Resisting Sexual Harassment in the Academy,” Martha Chamallas - 1994
  • Sexual harassment policies, undated
  • Sexual harassment, national clippings - 1989-1992
  • Hiring women faculty - 1987-1992
  • Pierre Pierce scandal - 2002, 2008
  • University Controversies - 1980-1983
  • Gay faculty member, Wabash College - 2002
  • Plagiarism of Hanley’s work, undated
  • David Schoenbaum, class dispute - 1994-1995
  • Jay Smith, false accusations - 1999
  • Ethics of reviewing, undated
  • Solbrig case - 1978
  • Male mentor models - 1986-1992
  • SAT bias against women - 1987-1989
  • Faculty review - 1991
  • Political science department, women faculty - 1993, 2008
  • Student disability claim - 1994-1995
  • California State, Chico, history department review - 1995-1996
  • Donald Deirdre McCloskey, transgender - 1995
  • History profession problems - 1985-1990
  • Box 38:
  • David Abraham, Weimar history controversy - 1984-1985, 1993
  • University Climate Survey - 2005
  • Women and the academy 1984-1989
  • Department tenure - 1998-2000
  • Student harassment case - 1996, 2008
  • UCLA Loyalty Oath - 1950
  • University of Iowa president search, faculty and board of regents dispute - 2006-2007
  • University of Iowa president search, clippings - 2006-2007
  • Department of history graduate program - 1992
  • Series 8: PARIS ARTISTS COMMUNITY
  • Box 38:
  • Correspondence, three folders - 1985-2005
  • Box 39:
  • Correspondence, Shirley Jaffe, two folders - 1975-2000
  • Correspondence, New York - 1981-1989
  • Biala/Brustlein, Janice - 2001-2008
  • Brustlein, Daniel/Alain - 2000
  • Francis, Sam - 1978-2008
  • Jaffe, Shirley - 1982-1997
  • Jaffe, Shirley - 1989
  • Box 40:
  • Jaffe, Shirley - 1981-1991
  • Jaffe, Shirley - 2000-2005
  • Hutchins, Alice and Hutchins-Puechavy Claudia (Holly) - 1982-2008
  • Mitchell, Joan - 1984
  • Mitelberg, Zuka - 1988-2008
  • Mitelberg, Zuka and Louis - 1970-2008
  • Box 41:
  • Café de la Paix fan - ca. 1900
  • Series 9: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 41:
  • Mitelberg, Zuka and Louis, photos of Alfred Dreyfus statue - 2003
  • Paris, Jerusalem, Iowa City - 1999, 2003
  • Series 10: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 41:
  • Women’s movement buttons, undated - 1986, 1989
  • Women’s movement buttons, undated
  • Women’s movement medallions - 1966, 1976
  • Political buttons, peace, undated
  • Political buttons, peace, undated - 1968
  • Political buttons, candidates - 1950-1969
  • Box 42:
  • Political buttons, candidates - 1960-1979
  • Political buttons, candidates - 1971-1979
  • Political buttons, candidates - 1981-1989
  • Political buttons, candidates - 1980-1999
  • Political buttons, candidates - 2000-2009
  • Political buttons, Democratic party, undated - 1972
  • Political buttons, undated
  • Gore-Lieberman campaign stickers - 2000
  • Clinton, Hillary artifacts - 2008
  • Box 43:
  • 200 Years is Enough to Ratify the ERA, March on Springfield, Illinois - 1976
    Box 43: t-shirts
  • Women running for women running for office - 1979
  • March for Women’s Equality, Women’s Lives, Washington D.C. - 1989
  • Keep Abortion Legal: Mobilize for Women’s Lives, Washington D.C. - 1989
  • International coalition for academic freedom and gender justice, Iowa - 1983-1990
  • Women’s Studies at Duke University, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.