Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jean Lloyd-Jones papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-2003
Creator: Lloyd-Jones, Jean (1929-)
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0066
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: State legislator from Iowa City and president of the Iowa Peace Institute.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 120) were donated by Jean Lloyd-Jones in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Jean Lloyd-Jones papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jean Lloyd-Jones, legislator, feminist, and peace activist, was born October 14, 1929, daughter of Lucille Thurston and John Emerson Hall. She attended the University of New Mexico from 1946 to 1949 and in 1951 received a B.S. in English from Northwestern University. She married Richard Lloyd-Jones of Mason City, Iowa, that year and moved with him to Iowa City, where he was a graduate student in English. He joined the faculty of the University of Iowa Department of English the following year. Jean Lloyd-Jones earned an M.A. in history from the University of Iowa in 1971.
Jean Lloyd-Jones' lifelong involvement in civic and political affairs began in 1955 when she joined the League of Women Voters (LWV). She served as president of the Iowa City LWV in the 1960s and as state president from 1971 to 1976. She was elected president of the Iowa City United Nations Association (UNA) in 1965 and again in 1967, and served as state president of the UNA from 1971-1975.
She was appointed to the state planning committee of Iowa 2000, a commission established by Iowa's Governor Robert D. Ray in 1976 to assess needs and planning priorities for the future, and served as program coordinator for Iowa 2000. Lloyd-Jones chaired the Iowa International Women's Year Meeting in 1977 and was elected as a delegate to the National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas the same year. She was appointed to the Governor's Task Force on Government Ethics in 1977. In the 1970s, Lloyd-Jones was very active in the effort to pass the Equal Rights Amendment.

Lloyd-Jones has filled paid positions in the state Democratic party, worked as party precinct committeeperson, and was on the staffs of various political campaigns. She worked on the campaign of Congressman Ed Mezvinsky in the 1970s. In 1976 Lloyd-Jones undertook her first (unsuccessful) campaign for State Legislature, and in 1978 she again ran, this time successfully. Lloyd-Jones served as State Representative from 1978 until 1989 and as a State Senator from 1989 until 1994.

Lloyd-Jones conceived, recruited board members, and served as president of the Iowa Peace Institute, a non-profit organization established in 1986 to "promote non-violent resolution of conflict through conflict management, global education, international development, and world trade." The Institute closed its doors after eighteen years and donated its assets to Grinnell College for the purpose of establishing a Peace Studies Program.

The Jean Lloyd-Jones Papers date from 1964 to 2003 and measure 9.5 linear feet.  The papers are divided into the following series:  Biographical, Equal Rights Amendment, International Women's Year, 1977, Iowa Peace Institute, League of Women Voters, Legislative Campaigns, Legislature, Public Service, Rocket Unlimited, Heartland Railroad Company, Iowa Sister State -Yamanashi, Japan, United States Senate Campaign, and Other Organizations and Activities. The bulk of the papers relate to Lloyd-Jones' work with the Iowa Peace Institute.

The Biographical series (1969-2003) includes nomination papers regarding Jean Lloyd-Jones' induction into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 2003 as well as, newspaper articles and materials relating to her education at the University of Iowa.

The Equal Rights Amendment series (1977-1978) includes material relating to state and national efforts to extend the ratification deadline for the amendment.  Most of the material consists of flyers and programs from events and related newspaper clippings.

The International Women's Year, 1977 series (1976-1977) consists of planning and publicity materials, correspondence, financial reports, press releases, newspaper clippings, memorabilia and final reports of the Iowa and National Women's Year Conventions.

The Iowa Peace Institute series (1984-1992) contains material relevant to the work and mission of the organization.  These include Administrative Records, including correspondence, committee minutes, financial and fundraising information, historical background of the organization, and information on staff; Conference material; Conflict Resolution materials; Global Education materials; Newsletters; Publications; Information about organizations with which the Peace Institute has worked cooperatively; Soviet-United States Outreach efforts by the institute; and notes and transcripts of speeches made on behalf of the institute by Jean Lloyd-Jones and other officers of the institute.

The League of Women Voters series (1964-1978) contains material used in the Juvenile Justice Project, including budget, conference planning materials, a project proposal, and the script of a videotape produced by the project; material from Iowa state and national conventions, including speeches and information packets; information on proposed state reapportionment in the 1970s; and the texts of speeches made by Lloyd-Jones as president of the LWV.

The Legislative Campaigns series (1976-1980) contains material used in the first three of Lloyd-Jones' political campaigns.  This series includes candidate biography and questionnaire answers, advertising material, photographs, speeches, and press releases made during the campaign.

The Legislature series (1979-1985) contains material used during the first two terms Lloyd-Jones served in the Iowa Legislature.  The material includes background material and drafts of proposed legislation, study material on issues which might become the subject of future legislation, speeches, photographs, correspondence, and press releases.

The Public Service series (1977-1987) contains correspondence, minutes, publications, and reports of the various public posts held by Lloyd-Jones such as Iowa 2000, and the Governor's Task Force on Government Ethics.

The Rocket Unlimited series (1983-1986) consists of correspondence, business and financial records, press releases, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia pertaining to Lloyd-Jones' investment in the railroad excursion business.

The Heartland Railroad Company (1979-1981) series consists of a scrapbook.

The Iowa Sister State, Yamanashi, Japan (1995-2001) series relates to the exchange visits between Yamanashi and Iowa that Lloyd-Jones participated in.

The United States Senate Campaign (1992) series includes correspondence, scrapbooks, and a journal relating to Lloyd-Jones' unsuccessful bid for the U. S. senate in 1992.

The Other Organizations and Activities series (1971-1985) contains material reflecting Lloyd-Jones' wide range of interests and activities including her speeches, fund raising for an Iowa City shelter for victims of spouse abuse, entertainment for the Truman Club, and a Strategic Overview of Local Feminism report.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT
Series 3: INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S YEAR 1977
Series 4: IOWA PEACE INSTITUTE
Series 5: LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF IOWA
Series 6: LEGISLATIVE CAMPAIGNS
Series 7: LEGISLATURE
Series 8: PUBLIC SERVICE
Series 9: ROCKET UNLIMITED
Series 10: HEARTLAND RAILROAD COMPANY
Series 11: IOWA SISTER STATE, YAMANASHI, JAPAN
Series 12: UNITED STATES SENATE CAMPAIGN
Series 13: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General (3 folders) - 1989-2003
  • University of Iowa academic papers (2 folders) - 1969-1970, 1999
  • University of Iowa thesis statement - 1996
  • Series 2: EQUAL RIGHTS AMENDMENT
  • Box 1:
  • ERA Extension March, Washington D.C. - 1978
  • Newspaper clippings (2 folders) - 1977-1978
  • Box 2:
  • Remember the Ladies Day: General - 1978
  • Remember the Ladies Day: Newspaper clippings - 1978
  • Series 3: INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S YEAR 1977
  • Sub-Series: Folder of Quotes
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Contributions
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Coordinating Committee
  • Box 2:
  • Academic Credit for Conference Attendance
  • Box 3:
  • Financial Records
  • Governor's Proclamations - 1975, 1977
  • International Women's Year Logo
  • Meeting Minutes
  • Members' Biographies
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Press Releases
  • Report to the National Commission
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Coordinating Committee Conference
  • Box 2:
  • Contributors
  • Correspondence
  • Equal Rights Amendment Petition
  • Film Festival
  • Final Report
  • Financial Records
  • Mailing Label Masters
  • Newspaper clippings (2 folders)
  • Outreach: Applications
  • Outreach: Meals
  • Outreach: Meetings
  • Outreach: Transportation
  • Planning
  • Box 3:
  • Program
  • Publicity: Brochures
  • Publicity: Mailings to Iowa Women's
  • Publicity: Media Mailings
  • Publicity: Media Releases
  • Publicity: Public Service Announcements and Slides
  • Publicity: Radio and Television Interviews
  • Recommendations to the National Commission
  • Requests for Information
  • Thank You Letters
  • Workshops: Planning
  • Workshops: "International Interdependence"
  • Workshops: "The Older and Wiser Woman"
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Coordinating Committee Correspondence
  • Box 3:
  • General
  • Lloyd-Jones, Jean, Chair
  • Matthews, Norma, Conference Coordinator
  • National Commission on the Observance of the International Women's Year
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Women's meeting
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1977
  • Sub-Series: National Convention
  • Box 4:
  • Delegate Badge
  • Delegate Certificate
  • Iowa Delegates: List and Biographies
  • Iowa Delegates: Nominating Committee
  • Employment Law Poster
  • Issues Background
  • Newsletter: Daily Breakthrough
  • Newspaper clippings (3 folders)
  • Program
  • Sub-Series: Other state conferences
  • Box 4:
  • Final Reports (2 folders)
  • Information from other states
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Series 4: IOWA PEACE INSTITUTE
  • Sub-Series: Administrative Records
  • Box 4:
  • Advisory Committee - 1986-1988
  • Annual Report - 1989-1991
  • Box 5:
  • Auditor's Report - 1989-1991
  • Board of Directors: Correspondence, General (2 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Board of Directors: Correspondence, Memoranda from Robert Anderson (Executive Director) - 1989
  • Board of Directors: McDonald, John (President) Appointment - 1991
  • Board of Directors: Members - 1988-1990
  • Board of Directors: Minutes - 1987-1988
  • Board of Directors: Minutes - 1990-1991
  • Board of Directors: Retreat - 1988
  • Board of Directors: Retreat - 1991
  • Board of Directors: Retreat - 1992
  • Board of Directors: Updates - 1988-1989
  • Budget - 1987-1990
  • Committee Assignments - 1990
  • Communications Committee - 1988
  • Conflict Resolutions Committee - 1988
  • Conflict Resolutions Committee - 1991
  • Correspondence: General (3 folders) - 1987- 1989
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence: General (2 folders) - 1990-1991
  • Correspondence: Anderson, Robert (Executive Director) - 1988-1992
  • Correspondence: Boyd, Willard, (Director, Field Museum, Chicago) - 1988-1989
  • Correspondence: Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1987
  • Correspondence: International Outreach - 1987-1991
  • Correspondence: Iowa Department of Education - 1988
  • Correspondence: Lloyd-Jones, Jean - 1984-1991
  • Correspondence: McDonald, John (President): "Feedback" Memoranda From John McDonald to Jean Lloyd-Jones (3 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Correspondence: From John McDonald - 1989-1990
  • Correspondence: To John McDonald - 1989
  • Correspondence: Ray, Robert (Executive Committee Vice Chair) - 1987
  • Correspondence: Staff - 1989-1991
  • Education Consortium Steering Committee - 1987-1988
  • Executive Committee Correspondence: General - 1988-1991
  • Executive Committee Correspondence: Memoranda from Robert Anderson - 1988
  • Box 7:
  • Facilities Committee: General - 1987-1990
  • Facilities Committee: Photographs, undated
  • Financial Records (2 folders) - 1987-1991
  • Fundraising: General (2 folders) - 1986-1990
  • Fundraising: Buffet Supper - 1989
  • Fundraising: Institutional Development - 1990-1991
  • Fundraising: Peace shares: General - 1991
  • Box 8:
  • Fundraising: Peace shares: Correspondence - 1990-1991
  • Fundraising: Peace shares: Reception with John McDonald - 1988
  • Historical Background - 1987-1988
  • International Task Force, undated
  • Legislation - 1987-1989
  • Mailing Lists - 1985-1987, 1989
  • Newspaper clippings: Originals - 1987-1991
  • Newspaper clippings: Photocopies - 1987-1991
  • Nominating Committee - 1988-1991
  • Personnel Committee - 1988-1989
  • Personnel Policies - 1988-1991
  • Planning Committee: Correspondence - 1987
  • Program Committee - 1987-1988
  • Public Policy Mediation Center Advisory Committee - 1990
  • Public Relations - 1987-1991
  • Search Committee: CEO Search - 1988-1991
  • Search Committee: Correspondence - 1991
  • Staff: John McDonald - 1988-1990
  • Staff: Resumes, undated
  • United Nations Peace Messenger Award - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Conferences
  • Box 8:
  • Brochures - 1989-1990
  • Building Peace: 5th Midwest Conference - 1989
  • Conflict Resolution, "The Way Up" - 1988
  • Box 9:
  • Creating Peace - 1988
  • Dispute Resolution - 1987
  • In Search of Common Ground--Peace Within Islamic Traditions - 1988
  • International Conference of Peace Institutes - 1990
  • Iowa Arms Control Verification Conference - 1987
  • North American Conference on Peacemaking and Conflict Resolution - 1989
  • The Peace Agenda in Iowa IV - 1987
  • Peacemaking Institutions: 6th Midwest Conference - 1990
  • Soviet-American Women's Summit: General - 1990
  • Soviet-American Women's Summit: Photograph - 1990
  • University of Iowa Conference Center - 1988
  • Sub-Series: Conflict Resolution
  • Box 9:
  • General Materials, undated
  • Conferences and Workshops - 1987-1991
  • Conflict Clinic: General - 1988-1991
  • Conflict Clinic: Correspondence - 1987-1989
  • Conflict Clinic: Workshop - 1988
  • Conflict Managers Program - 1991
  • Correspondence - 1989-1991
  • Drake University Dispute Resolution Center - 1989-1990
  • Box 10:
  • Farmer-Creditor Mediation - 1989
  • First Mediation Project, Iowa City Sewer Dispute: General - 1988-1989
  • First Mediation Project, Iowa City Sewer Dispute: Newspaper clippings - 1988-1989
  • Iowa Bar Association - 1988-1990
  • Iowa Mediation Bill - 1990
  • Iowa Mediation Service - 1989-1991
  • Iowa Network of Conflict Management Educators - 1990-1991
  • Mediation Materials - 1987-1991
  • Newspaper clippings - 1982-1988
  • Resources - 1989-1990
  • Schools/Department of Education - 1991
  • Soviet-American Center - 1989
  • Soviet-American Working Group - 1989-1990
  • Statewide Officers - 1989
  • University of Iowa - 1990
  • Workshop Materials, undated
  • Sub-Series: Global Education
  • Box 10:
  • Activities - 1990-1991
  • Correspondence - 1991
  • Global Education Association - 1988-1991
  • Global Geography Museum - 1990
  • Box 11:
  • Global Views, Inc. - 1991
  • International/Global Work Group - 1989
  • Newspaper clippings - 1991
  • Secondary School Programs for Peace in Iowa - 1985-1986
  • Sub-Series: Newsletters
  • Box 11:
  • Newsletters - 1987
  • Newsletters - 1989-1991
  • Sub-Series: Programs
  • Box 11:
  • General - 1990-1991
  • African Delegation - 1991
  • Anglophone African Proposal - 1991
  • Focus Group - 1990
  • Foreign Political Leaders - 1990-1991
  • Initiatives For Creating Peace - 1990-1991
  • International Fellow Program - 1989-1991
  • Interns - 1988
  • Iowa Peace and Friendship Center - 1990
  • Partners in Development - 1990-1991
  • Program Proposals and Initiatives - 1988-1990
  • Public Policy Mediation Center Definitions - 1989
  • Speakers Bureau - 1988-1990
  • Sustainable World Project - 1990
  • Talloires Declaration - 1988
  • Three Year Goals - 1989
  • Three Year Goals - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Publications
  • Box 11:
  • John McDonald Environmental Paper - 1989-1990
  • Interim Report - 1988
  • Sub-Series: Public Policy Mediation Center
  • Box 11:
  • Director, Phillip Brown - 1989-1990
  • Sub-Series: Related Organizations
  • Box 11:
  • Miscellaneous - 1988-1991
  • Consortium on Peace Research, Education, and Development - 1989-1991
  • Iowa Peace Network - 1990-1991
  • Lombard Mennonite Peace Center - 1989
  • Peacelinks - 1988-1991
  • University of Iowa Key Internationals - 1985-1988
  • Box 12:
  • University of Iowa Resources Compatible to the Needs of the Iowa Peace Institute - 1986
  • Women's Action For Nuclear Disarmament - 1988-1991
  • Sub-Series: Resources
  • Box 12:
  • Articles and Pamphlets - 1986, 1988
  • Peace Studies Programs - 1986-1990
  • Sub-Series: Soviet-US Outreach
  • Box 12:
  • Directory of Iowa Experts in Soviet Affairs - 1989-1990
  • Iowa-Cherkassy Agricultural and Cultural Center - 1991
  • Iowa-Stravropol Exchange - 1989-1991
  • Iowa/USSR Farm Youth Exchange - 1989-1990
  • Newspaper clippings - 1989
  • Soviet-American Inter-Parliamentary Exchange - 1991
  • Sister State Initiatives - 1990
  • Soviet Women Delegation: General - 1990
  • Soviet Women Delegation: Newspaper clippings - 1990
  • Soviet Women Delegation: Photographs - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 12:
  • Background Material and Notes - 1983, 1985
  • Miscellaneous, undated
  • Colorado Peace Symposium - 1991
  • First Methodist Church - 1990
  • Grinnell Methodist Church - 1985
  • International Women's Day - 1991
  • Oaknoll - 1986
  • Oaknoll Forum on Nuclear Disarmament - 1988
  • Old Brick Lecture Series: "Teaching To Peace" - 1991
  • Peace Cairn Dedication - 1988
  • "Peace Institute and How It Can Contribute to the Climate for Conflict Resolution," undated
  • William Penn College Convocation - 1987
  • Press Conference - 1990
  • Box 13:
  • Rotary Clubs - 1990, 1991
  • Unitarian Universalist Church - 1987
  • John McDonald - 1990
  • "What Iowa Has To Gain From A Peace Institute" - 1987
  • Women Business Owners of Linn and Johnson Counties - 1988
  • Women of Trinity - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Stanley Foundation
  • Box 13:
  • Cooperative Projects - 1985-1991
  • Publications - 1984-1988
  • Newsletter: Middle America - 1990-1991
  • Newsletter: Teachable Moments - 1989-1991
  • Sub-Series: United States Peace Institute
  • Box 13:
  • General - 1984-1988
  • Conference in Iowa - 1985-1988
  • Grant Application--Regional Center for Peace and Conflict Resolution in Nicosia Cyprus - 1990-1991
  • In Iowa: General - 1984-1986
  • In Iowa: Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Newspaper clippings, not in collection - 1984
  • Sub-Series: Workshops
  • Box 13:
  • Avoiding a Nuclear Pearl Harbor - 1987
  • Cross-Cultural Communication - 1988
  • Education for the Global Community - 1988
  • Film: Many Voices, One Song by Louise Diamond - 1989
  • Insights into Perestroika Symposium - 1990
  • Iowa-Soviet Communications - 1987
  • National Debate For Peace in El Salvador - 1990
  • Peace and Justice Studies, William Penn College - 1989
  • Box 14:
  • Pragmatic Peacemaking - 1987
  • UNESCO Director General Dr. Frederico Mayor - 1990
  • Series 5: LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF IOWA
  • Sub-Series: Juvenile Justice Project
  • Box 14:
  • Budget and Expenses - 1975-1976
  • Conference Evaluations - 1976
  • Conference, "Juveniles and the Law" - 1976
  • Final Report - 1976
  • Local Leagues - 1976
  • Project Proposal - 1975
  • Videotape Script - 1976
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 15:
  • Meeting Entertainment - 1964
  • National Convention: President's Report (Lucy Wilson Benson) - 1970
  • Newspaper clippings - 1968, 1971, 1972
  • Publication, A Land Use Law For Iowa - 1974
  • Reapportionment - 1978
  • Reapportionment Law Suit - 1972
  • Simulation Game, Urbanity, undated
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 15:
  • General - 1968, 1974, 1976
  • On The League - 1971-1974
  • Background Material - 1961-1968
  • Sub-Series: State Convention
  • Box 15:
  • Information Packet - 1973, 1975
  • President's Report: Mary Dresser - 1969
  • President's Report: Jean Lloyd-Jones - 1971
  • President's Report: Jean Lloyd-Jones - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 15:
  • Photographs - 1968
  • Series 6: LEGISLATIVE CAMPAIGNS
  • Sub-Series: Campaign '76
  • Box 15:
  • Press Releases - 1976
  • Speeches - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Campaign '78-'80
  • Box 15:
  • Advertising - 1978-1980
  • Photographs and Contact Sheets - 1965-1980
  • Photographs, Selected Negatives - 1978-1980
  • Newspapers - 1978-1980
  • Radio - 1978-1980
  • Affidavit of Candidacy and Affiliation
  • Brochures
  • Expenses and Fundraising
  • Position Statements
  • Press Releases
  • Speeches and Background Material
  • Advertising
  • Affidavit of Candidacy
  • Box 16:
  • Campaign Committee
  • Candidate Questionnaires and Biographical Information
  • Expenses and Fundraising
  • Stickers
  • Series 7: LEGISLATURE
  • Sub-Series: Bills
  • Box 16:
  • Land Use: General - 1979-1985
  • Land Use: Background Materials, General - 1972-1981
  • Land Use: Background Materials: League of Women Voters - 1972-1979
  • Land Use: Legislative History - 1975-1976
  • Land Use: Legislative History - 1980-1981
  • Land Use: Speeches, General - 1974, 1975, 1980
  • Land Use: Speeches, Background Material: General - 1976, 1981
  • Land Use: Speeches, Background Material: Newspaper clippings - 1976-1981
  • Land Use: State Land Preservation Policy Commission Report - 1979
  • Liquor Control Act Amendment - 1986
  • Natural Resources - 1979
  • Railroad Facilities: General - 1987-1988
  • Box 17:
  • Railroad Facilities: Correspondence - 1979-1988
  • Railroad Financing: General - 1979-1984
  • Railroad Financing: Amtrak - 1986-1987
  • Railroad Financing: Correspondence - 1981
  • Railroad Financing: Newspaper clippings - 1980-1984
  • Reapportionment - 1981-1982
  • Correspondence - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Issues
  • Box 17:
  • Comparable Worth - 1982-1984
  • Medical Care: General - 1985-1988
  • Medical Care: Newspaper clippings, First day - 1979
  • Medical Care: Railroad Financing
  • Medical Care: General - 1984-1986
  • Medical Care: Legislative Research Report - 1985
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 17:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1979
  • Photograph, outside State House [shelved in map case] - 1982
  • Press Releases - 1979-1980
  • Box 18:
  • Scrapbook #1 clippings (2 folders) - 1978
  • Scrapbook #2 clippings (2 folders) - 1979-1982
  • Scrapbook #3 - 1979-1980
  • Box 19:
  • Scrapbook #4 (2 folders) - 1982-1983
  • Scrapbook #5 - 1991-1992
  • Speeches: Adult Forum at Trinity - 1990
  • Series 8: PUBLIC SERVICE
  • Box 19:
  • Governor's Task Force on Government Ethics - 1977-1978
  • Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation - 1984-1987
  • Iowa 2000: Conference Poster [shelved in map case] - 1977
  • Iowa 2000: Correspondence - 1977
  • Iowa 2000: Publications: The News Issue - 1977
  • Iowa 2000: Publications: The News Original Cartoons [shelved in map case] - 1977
  • Iowa 2000: Publications: Newsletter - 1976-1977
  • Iowa 2000: Publications: Reports - 1977
  • Johnson County Heritage Trust: General - 1977-1987
  • Johnson County Heritage Trust: Newspaper clippings - 1976, 1979
  • Series 9: ROCKET UNLIMITED
  • Box 20:
  • Business Records - 1984-1986
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Financial Records - 1984-1986
  • Issues: Branch Line Service: General - 1983-1984
  • Issues: Branch Line Service: Newspaper clippings - 1983-1984
  • Issues: Excursions - 1987
  • Issues: Railroads and Tourism: General - 1983-1986
  • Issues: Railroads and Tourism: Newspaper clippings - 1983
  • Memorabilia, undated
  • Newspaper clippings - 1984
  • Press Releases - 1986
  • Series 10: HEARTLAND RAILROAD COMPANY
  • Box 20:
  • Scrapbook - 1979-1981
  • Series 11: IOWA SISTER STATE, YAMANASHI, JAPAN
  • Box 20:
  • Women's delegation from Japan - 1995
  • Tour to Japan - 1999
  • Youth study abroad report - 1999
  • Box 21:
  • Sister State - 2000
  • Bus tour of young leaders from Japan to Iowa - 2000
  • Expenses - 2000
  • Governor's trip to Yamanashi - 2000
  • Box 22:
  • Information about Yamanashi - 2000
  • Overseas seminar report - 2000
  • Japanese-American Friendship Association - 2000-2003
  • Governor of Yamanashi visit to U. S. - 2001
  • International exchange seminar - 2001
  • International exchange seminar report - 2001
  • Series 12: UNITED STATES SENATE CAMPAIGN
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence - 1992
  • Box 23:
  • Correspondence - 1992
  • Journal - 1991-1992
  • Scrapbook #1 (2 folders) - 1992
  • Scrapbook #2 - 1992
  • Box 24:
  • Scrapbook #2 - 1992
  • Box 25:
  • Scrapbook #3 - 1992
  • Series 13: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES
  • Box 24:
  • Aid and Alternatives for Victims of Spouse Abuse - 1978
  • Speeches, women in politics - 1971-1984
  • Speeches, women's issues - 1974-1985
  • Speeches, general (2 folders) - 1979-1994
  • Strategic Overview of Local Feminism - 1978
  • Truman Club Entertainment's - 1979-1983